OpenRice Index
  
wenxi
This is wenxi living in Jurong West. I am a Executive, work in Clementi. I like to hang out in Clementi, Jurong West, Boon Lay. Japanese, Thai, Vietnamese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hawker Centre and Sushi/Sashimi, Zi Char, Ramen, Fish.
Member 542 First(s)
No. of Review1728 Review(s)
編輯推介數目58 Editor's Choice
Recommended37 Recommended
Popularity11994 View(s)
Replies in Forum4 Comment(s)
Upload Photos11203 Photo(s)
Upload Videos22 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant565 My Restaurant(s)
Follow39 Following
粉絲1967 Follower(s)
wenxi  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 1728 Reviews in Singapore
To receive or not to receive? Cry Jul 24, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Halal | Buffet

As I pass by another department in my company, I was offered some catering food as they ordered too much. Not to disappoint my colleague, I have accepted a few portions and distributed them to my department.

I was given a piece of Pandan Kueh (middle), Char Siew Pau (Left) and some pancake with stuffing.
What's inside the Kueh Kueh?

What's inside the Kueh Kueh?

 
Out of curiosity, I opened the pancake and take a look at its fillings. Quite interesting indeed. It was a combination of chopped beans, carrots and mushrooms. I quickly fold them back and pop it into my mouth. Not bad though it was cold.
Kuehs & Pau

Kuehs & Pau

 
I took the Pandan Kukueh, give a big bite. All I can say is that I'm full of regret. Hardened and tastes artifical and decided to threw the leftovers away.

I had the char siew pau as the last, it was hardened as well, my colleagues told me to peel the pau's skin off so it will be softer but after peeling everything, it was still as hard. It contains mocked char siew and was tasteless, we couldn't finish them and send them off to the bin!
 
Date of Visit: Jul 24, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hokkien Noodle Not? Cry Jul 20, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fujian/Heng Hwa | Hawker Centre

The smallest plate of Fried Hokkien Prawn Noodle available costs S$3.00, followed by $4 for medium and $5 for large. Opted for the smallest version as my lunch. Fortunately, I had hit on the correct timing whereby they had just prepared a wok of Hokkien Noodle, thus my waiting time was less than a minute.

The plate of Hokkien Noodle was served with the right amount of water contents in it, moist and slippery. I believed that the ratings of such delicacy would most probably be defined based on the concentration and amounts of prawn stock it was cooked with. If we were to grade this plate of noodle against this basic criteria, it will fare a miserable 4 marks out of 10 as the sweetness was not up to par. Even though fried pork lard were added to enhance its fragrance and the semi spicy chilli was mixed in to cover out the porking smell from the belly, that doesn't makes the plate delicacy stands up. It's competitor who is just located behind their stall is seen to have much more business.
Fried Hokkien Prawn Noodle

Fried Hokkien Prawn Noodle

 
Close up

Close up

 
Dinning in a hawker centre during weekends are of a different experience than dinning in malls and restaurants. Sometimes you get to feel the warmth of fellow Singaporeans sharing the same table as you and the next moment we were talking as if we knew each other for long, talking about anything under the sun, and this time round I had such of one encounter which is exchanging of hawker food views with her! smile Interesting!
 
Date of Visit: Jul 20, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Zui Kueh Cry Jul 18, 2013   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Coffeeshop

"Zui Kueh" (Steamed Rice Cake) for breakfast! Finally something different from the stall as I have been having Chee cheong fun as breakfast for the past 2 weeks. 4 pieces of zui kueh was topped with preserved radish. I guess the success of a zui kueh dish depends on its toppings as they are almost tasteless. There is no chilli given and the amount of radish provided was stingy. Miserable! The portion of radish toppings with the sesame seeds is only sufficient for half the dish and for the rest of the 2 Zui Kueh, I had to pop them my throat and they tasted like plain rice cakes. The good thing about these zui kueh was that they were not oily.
Zui Kueh

Zui Kueh

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 18, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $1(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Overpriced Cry Jul 14, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop

Ordered a cup of cold and warm barley for S$2.60 altogether. S$1.30 for a cup like this is simply not worth it. The drink was home-made however the owner took too much water into brewing and all we could taste was a diluted solution. I can merely count 3 barley grains in my drink, it's pathetic.

The lady was rather prompt in her service. She took our order immediately when we sat down.
Barley

Barley

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $2(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

:( Cry Jun 12, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Dim Sum

A box of Fatty Pau from Teck kee containing 2 big chicken paus and 8 small char siew paus. tongue

 
Everything tastes weird without the warmth from the paus, blame it to my forgetfulness as I forget to reheat them as i was struggling with my morning rush. Pau skin tastes bitter and comes with weird taste and feels a little hard from the exterior.

 
Big chunk of chicken meat has been wrapped. Still managed to feel the crunchiness of some vegetables added though.

 
Char Siew was finely chopped and well processed. Sweetness and tenderness has been well maintained with rich flavours. However the food was rather saltish this time round.

 
Overall my parents and I felt very thirsty after eating them. Perhaps the quality will be well maintained if it was to be served warm after all!
 
Date of Visit: Jun 12, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $1(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0