OpenRice Index
  
wenxi
This is wenxi living in Jurong West. I am a Executive, work in Clementi. I like to hang out in Clementi, Jurong West, Boon Lay. Japanese, Thai, Vietnamese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hawker Centre and Sushi/Sashimi, Zi Char, Ramen, Fish.
Member 542 First(s)
No. of Review1728 Review(s)
編輯推介數目58 Editor's Choice
Recommended37 Recommended
Popularity11994 View(s)
Replies in Forum4 Comment(s)
Upload Photos11203 Photo(s)
Upload Videos22 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant565 My Restaurant(s)
Follow39 Following
粉絲1967 Follower(s)
wenxi  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 36 to 40 of 1728 Reviews in Singapore
Liang Teh Time Cry May 14, 2013   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese

Drinks
Bought 4 bottles of Liang Teh with total amount of S$5.00.

I was kind of surprise to see that honey wheat grass costs S$1.00 now as this drink used to be one of the expensive ones among the liang teh. As far as I remember the taste of the wheat grass drink had changed totally. There were no strong grass smell like before.

 
Bought 2 bottles of water chestnut (S$1.50 each) and 1 bottle of winter-melon tea (S$1.00). I had an overdosed of sugar, they were simply too sweet for consumption!sad I had to dilute 1 bottle of the drink to 2 bottles of plain water. huffy

 
Service
The lady had thank me repeatedly. Perhaps, I'm the only customer who bought 4 bottles at one go.

Price
Price is reasonable.

Recommendation / Tips
There were no chilled drinks left for the flavors of drink I want and I have no choice but to buy whatever is available there. So be earlier to avoid disappointments.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  -
 
Date of Visit: May 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $1(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Satays? Lau Pa Sat? Cry May 13, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Hawker Centre | BBQ

Dinning in a group of 8 can be of great joy but when it comes to food/service that is not in favour of us, it's a headache.

Food
Disaster standard of food and service encountered. We have ordered more than 80 sticks of satay with a mixture of mutton, turkey, beef and chicken which was highly recommended by the satay guy.

As we were standing in the streets, the guy had arranged tables for us and placed his menu on the table indicating his territory presence to his competitors.

 
We bought 4 rice cakes and share among ourselves, each at S$1.00. The outlook of the rice cake was different from the common ones we had seen in the market.

 
The mass production of satay were divided into 2 places and share among 2 tables, each with 4 pax. We were disgusted by the satays as it was not at least 60% hot and we can feel the coldness on the satay sticks (cold from the fridge). After some discussions we decided to send back to the stall and ask them to serve warmer.

 
Despite having ordered different types of meats, their meat tasted the same and were very oily.

 
Although the satay sauce is oily, but its still on the average side.

 
Service
Very pushy service. Fierce marketing of food items especially with their mass order of satays for every tables. No doubt the guy has the talent of speaking a few languages, mandarin, hokkien and melayu, we were all shocked by his attitude towards the competitors of different food trade. With a group of 8, of course we are not having satays entirely for the night. I took the menu of BBQ seafood which was placed nearby and have a look. And when the satay guy came to take his order, he was quite furious about it and immediately took the BBQ menu off the table and shouted across the street rudely at the frayed lady and asked if she had given us the menu. He also commanded her to stay away from us. huffy We continued to explain that we took the menu ourselves and she has nothing to do with it. I have never encountered such incident in Singapore and will never agree with his gangster-liked behaviour as a hawker.

Ambience
Feel the stress, emotional fights and competitions among hawkers. The one who make the most buck out of the night is the winner with quality of food compromised. Its quite tedious to enjoy what we are eating when you feel like someone is staring at you while you are dinning as there are not enough seatings to cater for the incoming crowd.

Price
Standard pricing of satay.

Recommendation / Tips
Rahim sataty at Boon Tat Street? Think twice!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  -
 
Date of Visit: May 11, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Pineapple drink Cry May 12, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre

This packet of pineapple drink may seems very old school and reminds me of my childhood days when we feel very happy to have a packet of cold drink from the hawker center.

A selection of home made drinks were display on the counter, examples are Grass Jelly, Soya bean drink etc. All along their grass jelly is my favorite and I will purposely go to this stall even though I'm seated far away in the hawker centre.

This packet of pineapple drink is overly sweet and totally not sustainable to our taste buds. In the end, I have only drink a few mouthfuls and got it thrown away. sad I think they have over estimated the sugar level when making the drink.

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  -
 
Date of Visit: May 11, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $1(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Chicken Chop? Cry May 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre

Food
Recommended by my colleague, I decided to give Jun's Western food a try.
Ordered the grilled Chicken Chop at the price of S$5.80 - it's friday, and I just wanna treat myself better to another sinful meal. mad

This plate of chicken chop was lackluster in the presentation. Uninteresting pale piece of chicken chop lying among the coleslaw, vegetables, fries and baked beans.

 
Though drizzled with decent amount of black pepper sauce on the plain chicken may enhance it taste, still it could not cover the frozen odour given out from the meat.

 
Fries were soggy and not up to expectations. However I was told by my other colleague that it really depends on the timing when I purchased the food as the last round her plate of fries are pipping hot.

 
Coleslaw are reeked of thick mayonnaise smell and warm, doesnt taste refreshing enough as it was served warm. Baked beans are on the average.

 
The Overall, food is below par and nothing can be compared to the opposite stretch of western food stalls, perhaps just that the other western food was not halal certified.

Service
Thumbs down for its service, really. My colleague and I usually buy food from the same stall, and after we had ordered, she gave an abrupt answer with her stern look and said "come back in 10 minutes". As we are not sitting very near their stall, we make a return around 6 minutes later and found that the hostile woman is pressing on the bell repeatingly. The heat adds on when we requested to pay separately and with her giving a immediate reply with no small change. Beats me. After sharing my experience with my lunch mates, I came to know that the similar scene happened to my other colleague during her last round of purchase. huffy

Ambience
Alot of the office workers from nearby industrial parks will swarm in when the clock strikes 12pm. The crowd in Ayer Rajah Food Centre is unavoidable on most weekdays, lunchtime especially.

Price
Overpriced due to its quality.

Recommendation / Tips
Through this bad encounter and the negative words of mouth, it will be difficult for me to make a return purchase.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Nil
 
Date of Visit: May 10, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $6(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

:( Cry May 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese

Food
Taiwan xiao chi is one of the popular cuisine in Singapore and the launched of JCube with Eat at Taipei had gained a lot of consumer attentions and I am one of them.

Oyster Omelette Crispy but very oily and not to my liking.
Cost: S$7.50

 
Crispy Fried chicken drumstick was one of its recommended item in the menu. I'm utterly shocked with this piece of Overfried Drumstick . A total disappointment indeed to name this as recommended item.
Cost: S$7.90

 
The idea of having Stir-Fried Black pepper Beef Meal in such presentation may seems good but they have demolish my good impression as the beef are simply too hard to handle. Food are just below my expectations.
Cost: S$16.50

 
Vermicelli with Oysters & Pig’s Intestines maybe one of the best out of the four dishes I had ordered. However, the intestine are not cleaned thoroughly and with foul smell coming out of the organs. sad
Cost: S$7.20

 
Service
Service are rather slow.

Ambience
Ambience is good as it is located beside the ice skating ring. Cooling area if to sit closer to the ring.

Price
Over price and not worth the wait.

Recommendation / Tips
Nil.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Nil
 
Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0