OpenRice Index
  
wenxi
This is wenxi living in Jurong West. I am a Executive, work in Clementi. I like to hang out in Clementi, Jurong West, Boon Lay. Japanese, Thai, Vietnamese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hawker Centre and Sushi/Sashimi, Zi Char, Ramen, Fish.
Member 542 First(s)
No. of Review1728 Review(s)
編輯推介數目58 Editor's Choice
Recommended37 Recommended
Popularity11994 View(s)
Replies in Forum4 Comment(s)
Upload Photos11203 Photo(s)
Upload Videos22 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant565 My Restaurant(s)
Follow39 Following
粉絲1967 Follower(s)
wenxi  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 41 to 45 of 1728 Reviews in Singapore
Sheng Kee Desserts Cry May 05, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Chinese Desserts | Desserts and Cakes

Sheng kee, has always given me the impression that they are specialized in desserts like what their shop name tell us and it came to my surprise that they are also selling regular meals like roasted rice/noodles and others. Since we have taken our dinner, our stomach room is only available for desserts.

Food
Although we have ordered diffrerent desserts. The outlook and presentation tastes the same. Desserts doesnt give me the "whao" nor refreshing feel.

 

 
I would prefer my desserts to served chiller than what they gave us.
Lemongrass mango pearls Cost: $3.90
mango pearl grassjelly Cost:$5.30

Ambiance
Not many customers on a friday night. Ample of seatings are available. Although we are dinning in 2, we get to have the free choice of seatings for table of 4.

Service
Didnt expect slow Service. It had given me the impression that they have lost their menu focus, neither here nor there. It will be hard that I will make a return to sheng kee again.

Pricing
Comparing sheng kee with her competitor, they are overpriced and quality of ingredients is a far cry.

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  -
 
Date of Visit: May 03, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Visiting Old Town In a New Town Cry Apr 19, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Café | Kids-Friendly

The thought of having Old Town White Coffee's food will never be the same anymore. Good and bad.

Out of the whole booklet of menu, I had the Supreme Javanese Mee while my friend had the Supreme Nasi Lemak.

Ordering is made a breeze by indicating your orders on the slip of paper and pass them to the staff. You will receive a white slip which indicates "This is not a receipt".

 
The javanese mee, an resemblance of the malay's dish, Mee Rebus was placed on the table after sometime. I was like "whao", impressed by the varieties of toppings on my mee. Printed on the receipt as Set Lunch for $9.50 that comes with a drink. I was curious that why set lunch is still available for dinner. The big difference between Javanese Mee and singapore's usual mee rebus is more on the gravy that mixed with the mee. Javanese Mee's gravy are more towards a lighter side and doesnt taste as gluely as Mee Rebus.

 
My Javanese mee set comes with a handful portion of sambal cuttlefish, fresh and proportionally cut. Ikan Billis are found in the sambal as well. Tau pok were cripsy and seems to be toasted. Although the term "sambal" may sounds spicy, i had confirmed that it is not hot at all.

 
The chong pang nasi lemak which I had in Jurong Point yesterday turns out to be a disaster. Well... at least Old Town's is better but still, a disappointment. Condiments were almost identical to Javanese Mee, consisting of sambal cuttlefish, half hard boil egg, few pieces of crackers.

 
Nasi does not have much fragrance of lemak smell and worst the drumstick is a total disappointment. Overcooked of chicken meat has spoilt the dish. Damage: $10.50. for a set meal.

 
Ice Lemon Tea is and Ice Milk Tea comes together with the set. Milk Tea is bland with too much ice and lemon tea is abit sweet.

 
Staffs are quite on the ball and service is definitely ok.

Old Town? Perhaps I would reconsider.
With the kind of pricing, I can get a better and quality serving elsewhere.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  None
 
Date of Visit: Apr 19, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $12(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dinner Cry Apr 17, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Food Court | Hawker Centre

Food
Decided to explore the open air dinning area at Jurong Point. Not much food were left and we finally make CHong Pang Nasi Lemak as our choice. The choice of coconut rice with a piece of luncheon meat, curry vegetables , hotdog and 1 chicken wings costs $4.90. This plate of Nasi Lemak pulls down the standard of Chong Pang drastically. The chicken was soggy at the exterior and is extremely oily, this is the worst chicken wing that I had ever eaten. Even the fried luncheon meat is soggy too. They are just not very fresh.

 
The vegetables are soft but every piece is extremely big to fit into one's mouth.

 
Service
Service are of average standard. Nothing special in spectacular.

Ambience
The place is opened air but still very hot and full of foreigners. Alot of repeated varieties of food from the food courts in Jurong Point shopping mall.

Price
Pricing is pretty standard but the standard of food is really bad.

Recommendations / Tips
I will not recommend this place.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Nil
 
Date of Visit: Apr 17, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Wendy's Cry Apr 17, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Fast Food | Burgers and Sandwiches | Kids-Friendly

Food
Wendy's, the biggest chain of fast food restaurant in US and also the 3rd World's quick service hamburger company. I had tried Wendy's last year when it was newly launched in Singapore. It didnt leave me any good impression. If not for my pal who hasnt tried Wendy's, I would have taken another alternative for dinner.

We order the cod-fish burger and bacon with beef patty set meal which sums up to $17.55. $7.00 and $10.55 respectively.

 
Ice Lemon Tea (no upsized). Cups are printed with Wendy's logo and theme color.

 
We were discussing the fries, discussing which fast food chain offer's the best fries. The fries packaging claims that they uses sea salt which are generally healthy. The taste and texture of the fries are inconsistent, most of the fries were soggy while the rest are acceptable. Fries served was simply a disappointment as it is cold, not even warm.

 
Beef and bacon taste reminds me of Burger King's. It seems like a replica with double beef patty and smaller in size.

 
It took me sometime for them to prepare the cod fish burger. I admit that the cod fish patty is good and overall way better than Fillet O Fish though I'm Fillet O Fish lover. Patty was fresh, piping hot and yammy. The buns are full of bread smell.

 
Service
The lousiest fast food service I ever seen! There are no professionalism at work, kitchen were very noisy. Not sure if it was the culture but usually they will serve the burgers to you after they prepared. In this case, we were expected to collect our burger after long waiting time. It really makes me wonder why the No. 1 fast food chain in US is not doing well in Singapore.

Ambience
Limited seatings but there were only a few customers including myself. You can near more noise from the kitchen operations than the customers chit chatting.

Price
With such pricing, I will rather top up alittle more for Carl's Junior - I can have bigger portion of burgers, drinks and better service.

Recommendation / Tips
If I would ever return (less likely), I will only eat its cod fish burger.
Kopitiam cards are accepted in Wendy's.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  cod fish burger
 
Date of Visit: Apr 16, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Lor Mee Cry Apr 17, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Coffeeshop | Noodles

Food
$2.50 portion of lor mee is a little bit too little.
There were not much ingredients inside and I find that the uncle is abit too stingy.
Portion were miserable. The "Lor" was light and close to tasteless.

 
2 little Goh Hiong placed on top of the mee and a piece of thin slice of pork is all what we have in the bowl together with the yellow mee.

 
Although I ordered Mee but it comes mixed with a little bit kway tiao. I guess this is very common "add-on" one will receive from hawker centre.

 
Service
Service was quick. The uncle who prepares and cook the Lor Mee took my order down.

Ambience
There were a few in queues going for Sheng Huat's prawn mee. Crowded environment as usual due to peak hours where all office and industrial workers nearby west coast will come for food here as this is one of the closest hawker centre.

Price
Considering it price with miserable ingredients. I wonder how's the portion like for the $3 bowl.
Both quantity and quality doesnt match the pricing.

Recommendation / Tips
Since quite a number of people are buying its prawn mee, I will be back for it!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  -
 
Date of Visit: Apr 16, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $3

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0