OpenRice Index
  
wenxi
This is wenxi living in Jurong West. I am a Executive, work in Clementi. I like to hang out in Clementi, Jurong West, Boon Lay. Japanese, Thai, Vietnamese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hawker Centre and Sushi/Sashimi, Zi Char, Ramen, Fish.
Member 542 First(s)
No. of Review1728 Review(s)
編輯推介數目58 Editor's Choice
Recommended37 Recommended
Popularity11978 View(s)
Replies in Forum4 Comment(s)
Upload Photos11203 Photo(s)
Upload Videos22 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant565 My Restaurant(s)
Follow39 Following
粉絲1967 Follower(s)
wenxi  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 1728 Reviews in Singapore
A different kind of experience Smile Apr 23, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian | Buffet

It has been long in our mind to visit The Mango Tree in 112 Katong ever since
they had relocated from the Marine Coast at East Coast

Impressed by the varieties of food The Mango Tree offered from Naan to all other exquisite
dishes from a North Indian Cuisine. Having won the Singapore Top Restaurant awards for 2003 to 2005 by Wine & Dine, you wont go wrong visiting The Mango Tree. And a visit here will definitely change your perception about Indian food.

Head all the way into the restaurant and welcomed by a semi-auto doors which leads you to the lovely alfresco dinning area.
Ambience comes to a perfection where surroundings are dimly lighted with some glass candles on the table with bare minimum of noises.
A very good option, suitable for couples who wants to enjoy a romantic night over a simple indian cuisine. A windy place with a good overview of Katong's area.

 
A great Environment suggestion for group gathering especially! Ample of big tables are chairs are waiting for you to fill up the space. And we had 13 in a group for that night.

The Mango Tree not only provides In-House Restaurant Dinning, they do also provide catering and delivery

LEMON BASMATI RICE : $5.20 . Long thin grains of rice used with extreme sweet fragrance diffusing out of the rice.

 
MANGO NAAN -Tandoor roasted bread with butter: S$4.50. Having tried all their Naans (From Garlic, Butter, Mango, cheese, Machli) , each of them brings out a special individual taste of North Indian's cuisine. They are freshly made by the man on the spot. on can see him working on it through the transparent glass. As the restaurant name suggests, having Mango Naan is so being adventurous.

 
We ordered numerous of curry sauce to go along with all the naan ordered.

 

 
LASSI (Choice of Sweet, Salted, Mango, Strawberry, and Peach.): S$7.00. A popular and traditional yogurt-based drink which originates in the Punjab region. Mentioned by the water will cool one's mouth/body down after so much of spicy food.

 
KULFI (Mango or coconut ice-cream) :S$6.50. A popular frozen diary dessert described as traditional india subcontinent dessert. A different kind of ice cream eating experience.

 
A well decorated water basin to ease customer in washing their hands before and after their meal, shining with reflection matching the entire environment of an coastal north indian theme.

 
TMT (The Mango Tree) TANDOORI PLATTER - Chicken, Fish, Prawn Tikka, Chicken Kebab: S$24.00

 

 
After so much about its good, One bad thing about the menu is that there isnt any pictures illustrations and it makes one quite difficult to imagine the food without the snap shots on the menu.

Staff are quality trained, outspoken with good ability in introducing the North Indian Cuisine to customers easily on the go. We can tell the professionalism from their ablity to handle big group dinning like us. They are very attentive to our drinks and refilled the ice water promptly. Politeness is a must especially when customers are in the midst of conversation and when they want to clear the dishes. Yes, they had it.

Mr Chin (the boss) & his loving wife Reeny Kosman were present during the night. A happy & friendly couple who keeps the night smiling always.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Naans
 
Date of Visit: Apr 19, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $28(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Great Meal! Smile Jan 15, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Porridge/Congee | Dim Sum | Chinese Noodles

A great meal I've craved for after my trip from Europe!
Roasted meat is authentic and taste good with the sweet plum sauce! (I have ordered its Char Siew and Roast Duck Meat!) tongue

The Xiao Long Bao is way better as compared to its competitors! Love its piping hot juicy water savoury Bao on its first bite! You wont regret it!

Staff are attentive and fast!

I have ordered the Dumplings noodle too. Mee is of good taste and wont expand after soaking so long in the bowl!

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Roasted Meat
 
Date of Visit: Jan 13, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

My 2nd visit Smile May 14, 2013   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Desserts and Cakes | Pasta

Tucked in the far end corner of demsey hill, House is one of the perfect dinning choice to kept away from the bustle of the city.

 
Food
Steamy Tau Sar Pao was served as the first dish out of so many dish we ordered. Known for its softn and tender Pao Skin, this chinese Pao stands up very well on its own among the other western dishes on its menu.
Cost: S$2.50

 
The Red Latte was highly recommended on the menu to pair along with the Tau Sar Pao. Given a small jug of honey to adjust the sweetness right to their customer's preference.
Cost: S$6.00

 
Latte on the other hand was well crafted with flower on the top similar to the red latte. A brillant cup of latte off to a good start.
Cost: S$6.00

 
A stack of 7 Layer Pancake as one of their signature menu is worth the try.These pancakes are moist yet fluffy and its presentation simply steals the scene. Spread with nutella on each layer together in a mixture of fruits and nuts, this devilish combination seems so simple but tastes wickedly good. Tastes best while hot!
Cost: S$18.00

 
Savoury delights coming your way...

 
Served in bubbling bursting hotstone pot, the Asian Sliders brings alot of weight to the dish. Taro truffle fries are finely cut and quite unusual in the combination of Kong Bak Bao (pork belly bun). The sliced pieces of meat are thoroughly braised with premium soya sauce, penetrating deep into the pieces of prime pork belly. The fragrance smell of cinnamon has also give a big kick to this delightful pot of Asian goodies.
Cost: S$23.00

 
Pork belly is succulent with the aromatic herbs fragrance and goes very well under the soft tender and steaming hot buns. This is something to die for and definitely worth your calories.

 
Drizzled with salt, these thinly cut truffle fries are quite crunchy to our likings.

 
Pumpkin Risotto are quite impressive with grains clinged together and spatters of white light tasting cream over them. Sage leaves and pine nuts were included as well. The presentation had painted a change of season where leaves and grains are fallen onto the ground.
Cost: S$25.00

 
Service
Service is great and professional. Waiting time had been explained and customers seated are well taken care of. Staffs are attentive and have positive attitudes.

Ambience
Located just a stone throw away from the nature, you get to see greenery while sitting by the side of the glass. Enjoying the close touch with the nature while dinning. For those who enjoyed the nature can request for outdoor seatings.

 

 
Price
Price is abit steep due to its location and quality of food however, overall it explained that everything is worth paying for.

Recommendations / Tips
Do remember to make reservations before the visits.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Asian Slider
 
Date of Visit: May 11, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $50(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Back for good, finally! Smile Jul 17, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court | Chinese Soup

We have finally made it, made it to the Mixed Soup after a number of tries, ! I'm more than happy and contented for the day! The Mixed soup stall as well as most of the stalls in food court 6 is only opened during the semester. The stall is usually packed with a lot of students in the queue during lunch hours and food are sold out about 3pm daily. Mixed Soup Stall does sell prawn mee too but the noteable dishes are its awesome Zhu Zha Tang (Pig's Organ Soup) and braised delights. tongue

 
My usual "whack" from the stall is its Mixed Soup (Zhu Zha Tang). My ex-classmates and I would even go back once in a while as we miss the Zhu Zha Tang lots. Lunch today was topped with braised egg, Tau Pok with rice and altogether it costs, S$1.20 + S$2.50.

 
The braised gravy on the rice is perfectly great as they are not oily. Moreover, it has strong taste of herbs' fragrance. Soup is very appetizing, rich in flavors of suan cai (Sour vegetables) with free flow of Yan Siu (Chinese parsley).

Portion of Mixed soup generous, filled with 2 meat balls, a few slices of pig stomach, pieces of lean meat, fish cakes, toufu and cut tomatoes.

 
Opted for the Yam Rice at S$0.50 per bowl but it was not available. The cheery auntie apologized with a smile and we had no choice but to order the normal white rice at S$0.30 per bowl topped with some braised

 
Their home-made meat ball goodness! The meat ball is made up of minced meat mixed in garnishing and quite soft. smile If you like the meat balls, they can be ordered separately per bowl at S$2.00.

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mixed Soup (Zhu Zha Tang)
 
Date of Visit: Jul 17, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Another place for Orh Luak! Smile Jan 18, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Hawker Centre | Kids-Friendly

This stall is actually manned by an old couple. I always find it interesting to observe how loving old couples are! lol The old man will always take the order and the auntie will do the cooking on her wooden stool. tongue I like this stall because it is so specialized as it only sell one item and that is fried oyster. So believe me, a shop can survive so long by selling one dish, it's very obvious that this plate of fried oyster is of no ordinary stuff! I should say it is one of the best in this specific food in Singapore.

Food
This plate of fried oyster is wonderful. Not too oily and quite cripsy.Taste is not that bland too.
Comes with ample of egg and not too wet. Mix this with the given chilli and you will enjoy it. One of the best fried oyster i have eaten in singapore so far!

 
Service
See that auntie separate business from her personal meal time.
There is once i had seen that during her meal time, she will not take orders even though there is someone loitering at her stall, she just continue her meal at one of the hawkers table in front of her stall. The uncle usually serve the cook food to us, during peak hours, you may have to wait abit longer. Uncle will inform you roughly about the waiting time when you inform which is a very good thing.

Ambiance
As this is located in the hawker center. It's noisy.

Recommendation / Tips
Avoid peak hours
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Orh Luak
 
Spending per head: Approximately $5(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0