OpenRice Index
  
wenxi
This is wenxi living in Jurong West. I am a Executive, work in Clementi. I like to hang out in Clementi, Jurong West, Boon Lay. Japanese, Thai, Vietnamese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hawker Centre and Sushi/Sashimi, Zi Char, Ramen, Fish.
Member 493 First(s)
No. of Review1741 Review(s)
編輯推介數目58 Editor's Choice
Recommended37 Recommended
Popularity12017 View(s)
Replies in Forum4 Comment(s)
Upload Photos11284 Photo(s)
Upload Videos22 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant576 My Restaurant(s)
Follow39 Following
粉絲1971 Follower(s)
wenxi  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 1741 Reviews in Singapore
My birthday dinner Smile Apr 03, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant

Food
Teppanyaki on a hilltop - hmmm... the idea of having a birthday dinner over there feels good.
The last time I have been year it's like 10 years back, well... I would say that nothing has changed... the thing that only changes is perhaps their staff faces... I dont know... tongue
Let's take a look at what my treat is all about. smile

The "Ah Char" and Braised sotong are our starters after placing on our "bib/apron" provided by the restaurant.

 
Look what we had ordered! A specific cook for the night will go to the kitchen, prepare the ingredients for our dish and place it near the teppan.

 
The cook prepare the Venison (deer) meat before our eyes, professional! Since we are the first customer of the counter, he is polite to asked if we want "slow-cook" or "fast-cook" of course, we have chosen the slower way.

 
The fried olive rice was cooked by the kitchen and not our designated chef. Comes only in a bowl and yammy! It's delicious! Every mouthful of rice scoop up using my chopsticks, I get to see the olive substances in it. Smells good! * Thumbs up*

 
Scallops over the Teppanyaki is different. Scallops are fresh, soft and tangy feeling. For every of portion the chef cooked, he will place equally amount on my plate and on my friend's.

 
We have a choice of chawanmushi or miso soup. We ordered both. As for the miso soup, there is nothing special in particular. For chawanmushi, I like the ingredients inside, mushrooms and crab meat given were ample. Crab meat provided are those better in quality - Japanese ones, you can tell from the taste, it tastes different and the color is different from the local made ones we had from the super marts/markets.

 
This is not pork! Maybe the presentation doesnt looks good but this is definitely a must try! Foie Gras! A little oozey with a slightly crispy outside. A bite on it and it so silky on your tongue. It's sooooo good!

 
The way the chef cut the asparagus into pieces are too skillful for me to mention.

 
Teppanyaki mushroom filled with garlic. Soft, flavorful and great as usual!

 
Beansprouts were compliments from the restaurant.

 
After a few plates served, there were more customers and they ordered beef! There was big flame over our counter and this is where majority of the smoke comes about.

 
Desserts are compliments from the restaurant too. We have chosen honey dew sago and mango pudding. Nothing to shout about but honey dew sago is full of coconut's taste. sad . However we enjoyed our desserts over at the desserts corner - the staff will usually bring the customers over to this corner for desserts after the teppanyaki session.

 
Service
Service is definitely there - above average but not excellent. Once in a while, the waitress will come over to our seats and top up the tea for us. Also when we were seated surrounding the teppanyaki corner, they assist us to put the apron over our neck. Ha! I felt like a baby with a bib over my neck! tongue

Ambience
The hilltop restaurant does offer other cuisine like the indonesian cuisine at the other end of the restaurant. The chairs over there were not as comfy as the Japanese restaurant. Atmosphere looks abit run down and like the restaurants in the shows during the 70s / 80s. During the teppanyaki dinning it will be smoky of course as customers are seated in front of the cook.

Price
Quite a bomb, spending about over $100 and average of $60 per person. It's a good for experience and maybe it's located in Hill area, that is why price are abit steep.

Recommendation / Tips
A quiet place for dinner and usually after dinner, we will smell of smoke.
After dinner, we can walk up and down the hills, however do note that you may need to bring insect repellant as I'm bitten by the mosquitoes.
 
Date of Visit: Apr 02, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Great Hangout Place Smile Jan 16, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Restaurant | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

Food
Beef and Truffle Mushroom Pizza - I have never tried a pizza with beef and mushroom and surprisingly it is fantastic. You Should try this.

 
Calm Chowder with Bread - The soup tastes good and had an exceptional taste. Although the soup may looks thin and not the usual creamy kind. It is definitely worth your taste buds.

 
Toast with Otah - Was shocked when i see toast with otah in a western restaurant. A very different kind of experience. Otah tastes good as well.

 
Ambiance
Decorated with stuff from the 70s and 80s, it just make us feel so lay back dinning there. There are ample seats and place is rather spacious.

Service
Although there are no seats for 2 during dinner hours for us. They recommend us to sit at the bar counter. Speed is rather fast and they do follow ups to check if the food is alright. I like their service.

Recommendation
The toilets are outside the restaurant and you might want to bring some insect repellent while waiting for the toilet. The toilet has lemon grass fragrance which repels insects.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Beef with Mushroom Pizza
 
Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The Neighbourwok 街坊 Smile Oct 02, 2020   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Hawker Centre | Noodles

If you hear of the Dim Sum in Bukit Batok near the swimming pool, Lai Kee Poa Tin, you got to try out the Fried Prawn Noodle Stall there too. The Neighbourwok is located in the same coffee shop and selling 2 kinds of food, namely, Fried Prawn Mee and Satay. They have been operating for a few months since 28th June 2020.
Stall of The Neighbourwok

Stall of The Neighbourwok

 
Although they are relatively new in the neighbourhood, they are actually one of the best Fried Prawn Noodles in the district. The noodles were flavourful enough with "Wok Hei" taste and subtle sweet egg taste. Even though pork lards were being used in the process, the noodles were neither greasy nor "gelat". 
Fried Prawn Noodle - $4 (Small)

Fried Prawn Noodle - $4 (Small)

 
From strands of noodles to the thin strips of pork belly meat, they are generally well accentuated with the prawn broth. On a side note, their homemade Chilli had complimented the dish very well. 
Fried Prawn Noodle - $5 (Big)

Fried Prawn Noodle - $5 (Big)

 
The key components in a good plate of Fried Prawn Noodle consist of fresh prawns, pork lards bits, sotong, rich prawn broth, yellow noodles with thick white bee hoon, chilli as well as lime. 

On the other hand, the texture of the noodles is well kept in its shape, being still springy, unlike other places, you may find them already turning soggy when it is served to us. There are 3 types of meat to choose from, Chicken, Pork and Mutton. The cost of a per stick of Mutton Satay is $0.80 each while the rest costs $0.70 each. 
Satay

Satay

 
Satays are skewed to perfection, accompanied by aromatic chunky peanut sauce. To elaborate, the meat was thoroughly cooked, especially for Mutton, most places that we ate, the mutton satay was quite tough, dried and gamy. The Neighbourwok had actually done a good job by providing such satisfying satay.
 
Date of Visit: Sep 27, 2020 

Spending per head: Approximately $4

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Mikawa Yakitori Bar Smile Sep 27, 2020   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Bars/Lounges | Ramen | Sushi/Sashimi | Japanese BBQ/Teppanyaki

I came to know of Mikawa Yakitori Bar when we were discussing about good food in Bukit Timah estate with one of the friends. With the stretch of restaurants along Cheong Chim Nam Road, she highly recommends Mikawa Yakitori Bar. Well, after my first experience from this bar, I'm strongly agreeable with her honest comments.
Mikawa Yakitori Bar

Mikawa Yakitori Bar

 
Our appetizer comes with the popular Japanese egg roll and we have our Japanese Omelette served not the usual way. The exterior was charred grill and I'm kind of impressed by the sofa wobbly texture as I lend my jaws into the omelette. Awe! It really buys me at their first dish!
Tamagoyaki - $4.90

Tamagoyaki - $4.90

 
They have a few options for Japanese Stir fried rice. You can choose from Garlic, Salmon, Eel or Pork. We have chosen Unagi portion and every spoonful from the rice was tasty and satisfying. Hints of Wok Hei taste and for the price we are paying, its a go especially when they are not stingy on their Unagi. Bowl of fried rice is soft and every grain was significant in the bowl not sticking into each other.

Yaki Meshi Niniku/Sake/Unagi/ButaNiku - $10.90

Yaki Meshi Niniku/Sake/Unagi/ButaNiku - $10.90

 

Our Kushiyaki orders was served in a long traditional wooden board. Starting from left to right in the picture, Buta Bara $2.90 is their chef recommendation in which boneless pork belly with Onion makes up the stick while the one besides features Hotate Bacon Maki $3.90 with scallop wrapped inside the bacon. I thought it was quite special as I seldom come across such combination. Next will be a common combination of bacon and asparagus, Asparagus with Bacon Maki $3.20. Sasami (Tare / Mentai / Cheese) $3.20,  Chicken Breast Meat with a choice of sauce, mentai or even cheese. Tsukune (Tare / Mentai)  $3.50 which refers to chicken Meat Ball is part of the recommended items on the menu as well, patrons can has a choice of sauce or mentai over it. Last but not least, the chicken with leek and sauce, Negima (Tare / Shio) $2.90. It does comes with the choice of salt without sauce too.

Introduction of Skewers from Left to Right

Introduction of Skewers from Left to Right

 

Another addictive item on the menu will be none other than their grilled pork cheek. Not only was it tender that makes up part of the addiction, the Miso sauce was definitely a perfectly choice to dab those meat onto.

Tontoro Miso Yaki - $12

Tontoro Miso Yaki - $12

 
Here's our additional order as we felt that the food had scored above our expectation. We were kind of a little greedy thinking we should fill up our tummy more with their good food and we ordered their dragon roll. It was make up of fresh with Unagi, cucumber and tempura prawn that was served with a warm bite. 

Doragan Roru - $18.00

Doragan Roru - $18.00

 
As a whole,  Mikawa Yakitori Bar has showed us (patrons) that they take pride in its kushiyaki skewers and we are pleasantly surprised with the dining experience. Service wise, they are professional and friendly.
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Soi Thai Kitchen Smile Apr 29, 2019   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant

Lately, Soi Thai has been my frequently visited eatery. Having visited Soi Thai Kitchen in Tampines & Soi Thai Kitchen in Jurong West quite some years back, I'm glad that they are spreading the wings further creating more outlets offering more wallet-friendly authentic Thai Cuisine.

This is our all time favourite and with request of less spiciness so that we won't be swallowing down the chilli seeds. We prefer the clear version and customers can have the choice of chicken Tom Yam or Seafood Tom Yam Soup. 
Clear Tom Yam Soup 冬炎清汤 - $7

Clear Tom Yam Soup 冬炎清汤 - $7

 
Mango Salad is one of the recommendations in the menu. Its appetizing and too we requested for the less spicier version. Shredded mango is tossed with the peanuts, fish sauce, coriander, carrot, onions and lime juice. It's quite addictive and make a great side dish.
Mango Salad 芒果沙拉 - $6

Mango Salad 芒果沙拉 - $6

 
Their fishcakes come in a plate of four and is recommended to order especially if you have kids. Its fried and crispy at the exterior, different from the ones that most Thai Restaurant would serve. Fishcake is springy and great to go with their sweet chilli sauce.

 
If you are looking to order greens from their menu, the Stir Fried Kai Lan is of excellent choice. It is fried together in minced garlic and oyster sauce with slices of carrot.
Stir Fried Kai Lan 芥蓝炒蚝油 - $7

Stir Fried Kai Lan 芥蓝炒蚝油 - $7

 
 We simply love the Premium Fried Pork Cheek as its roasted to perfection, crispy outside with crunchy edges and was not too dry. Meat was chewy and best combination if you dip them into the given chilli sauce.
Premium Fried Pork Cheek - $12

Premium Fried Pork Cheek - $12

 
If you love the scent of basil, you may like to order this dish and pair along with rice. This is one of the popular ordered dishes among the diners especially if you are dining in a group and sharing dishes.
Basil Pork九层塔炒猪肉碎 - $7

Basil Pork九层塔炒猪肉碎 - $7

 
If you are going for individual portion, you can try ordering their Thai Fried Kway Tiao. The "Wok-Hei" together with the kiffir Lime had spelt a difference on the dish. Ingredients are simple slices of  carrot, chicken, Kailan and egg. 
Thai Fried Kway Tiao with Kai Lan 泰式炒粿条 - $6

Thai Fried Kway Tiao with Kai Lan 泰式炒粿条 - $6

 
A dish that you either like it or hate it. While I enjoy the fragrance of olive oil, I find that the dish is tastes great though it might looked plain without much ingredients.
Olive Fried Rice 橄榄炒饭 - $6

Olive Fried Rice 橄榄炒饭 - $6

 
The soft sweet savoury pineapple fried rice was a spot on. Ingredients lend a good texture with chewy raisins, crunchy cashew nuts and fragrantly prepared together with meat floss.
Pineapple Rice 黄梨炒饭 - $6

Pineapple Rice 黄梨炒饭 - $6

 
We had Red Ruby dessert to complete our meal. Glad that dessert tasted alright without having overpowering coconut milk taste with sago. What's more, I love the crunchiness of the rubies.
Red Ruby 红宝石 - $3

Red Ruby 红宝石 - $3

 
 The milk tea has subtle tea fragrant, not too strong and a good milk taste, likewise for the Ice Thai Green Tea, both level of sweetness is great.
Thai Iced Tea & Thai Ice Green Tea - $3 Each

Thai Iced Tea & Thai Ice Green Tea - $3 Each

 
Soi Thai Kitchen is serving authentic Thai Food at affordable pricing without GST charge. Basically that's the main reason why we are returning there so often! I guess its queue also tells us that its well-liked by many.
Thai Pan Fried Prawn Pizza 泰式虾披萨 - $10

Thai Pan Fried Prawn Pizza 泰式虾披萨 - $10

 
Stir Fried Clams with Thai Chilli Sauce泰式辣味啦啦 - $12

Stir Fried Clams with Thai Chilli Sauce泰式辣味啦啦 - $12

 
Squid with Lime Sauce 辣椒柠檬墨鱼- $10

Squid with Lime Sauce 辣椒柠檬墨鱼- $10

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0