OpenRice Index
  
wenxi
This is wenxi living in Jurong West. I am a Executive, work in Clementi. I like to hang out in Clementi, Jurong West, Boon Lay. Japanese, Thai, Vietnamese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hawker Centre and Sushi/Sashimi, Zi Char, Ramen, Fish.
Member 542 First(s)
No. of Review1728 Review(s)
編輯推介數目58 Editor's Choice
Recommended37 Recommended
Popularity11978 View(s)
Replies in Forum4 Comment(s)
Upload Photos11203 Photo(s)
Upload Videos22 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant565 My Restaurant(s)
Follow39 Following
粉絲1967 Follower(s)
wenxi  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 51 to 55 of 1728 Reviews in Singapore
Kasahamida!  Smile Jun 15, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Korean BBQ

Food
The usual welcoming dishes from a korean cuisine, kimchi, fried egg, beansprouts to kick start the meal.
Side Dishes

Side Dishes

 
Chadol Duenjang Jjigae - SS$16.00
A traditional korean soybean paste stewed with beef brisket with the end product looking something like a bowl of Bibimbap. tongue

 
The rice was poured into the big bowl from the usual metal bowl awaiting for the stew to boil and pour over it.

 
The video on how it was mixed:

How Chadol Dounjang Jjigae was prepared

 


The end product after stiring and mixing the stew with the rice.

 
WooSamYeop - $28
Highly recommended on the menu by Celebrity Chew Paik Jong Wong. This thinly slided beef was specially marinated.

 
Samgyupsal (Grilled Pork Belly) - S$22.00
Even layers of fats well organised on the plate.

 
Succulent porked belly, comes in 2 versions - Crissy and non crispy, specially done up by the chef. Yums! Roll up the meat with the lecture given, add some kimchi, shredded leeks and dab some sauce to your preferred taste . It is believed that by having the wrap eaten up in one mouth will actually give one good fortune!

 
The pork belly and beef brisket was served! All curled up after cooking.

 
The chef had demonstrated the recommended way of eating the brisket by rolling it up and filled with some cooked shredded leeks.

 
Born-Ga Bulogogi - S$45.00
The best recommended dish on the menu by Chef Piak. Comes with beef brisket marinate with the in house Born-Ga's special sauce and boiled with vegetables (mushrooms, onions, enoki mushrooms), vermicelli and served like a korean way. If you like something sweet in the soup, this would probably be one of the better choices.

 
The mixed berries dessert drink (Omija) that closed up the meal. A sour bowl of drink, chilled and is prepared to help in digestion especially after a meaty meal.

 
Service
Excellent service from the guy who served us throughout. He was probably the team lead for the service section as the others were seen following instruction. Well-versed with the product knowledge, he explained the way he cooks and given us choices on how our food should be eaten and served. Alot of communication between us. Alot of "why" and "how" questions were thrown to him when he was serving our table, instead of getting frustrated by our "never-ending" questions, he had actually responded to us every detail in a friendly way. His sharing and service provided is definitely the best I seen so far from a generic restaurant like this. Thumbs up!

Ambience
In the restaurant, every table is equipped with vacuum to suck away the oil mist and grease from the restaurant. Apart from that, the environment is quite hot due to the nature of business. I was told that usually after a rain, customers will prefer the seats outside as the place is rather windy and cooling.

 
Price
A total damage of S$134.15 for 3 pax including 10% service charge and 7% GST. There are no preferred cards. Pricing was quite reasonable taking into consideration of its service and environment. However the wait was horrendous.

Recommendations / Tips
No reservations are considered. Just wait patiently - I had an hour wait before getting my seats.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Bornga Bulgogi
 
Date of Visit: Jun 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $45(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Bid Goodbye OK Jun 14, 2013   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Chinese | Coffeeshop | Rice | Kids-Friendly

Service & Ambience
My last visit before kissing goodbye to this famous duck rice eating house as they will be officially closed next week. The crowd was simply over the capacity of what the shops could cater, leaving tables of customers left waiting eagerly for their food and with some even decided to gave up the idea of queuing.

It took us 20 minutes to settle down despite having an empty table setup specially in front of their neighbor shop. We have difficulties in getting the chairs as all are either occupied or reserved. No one had attended to us even if we though we have been frantically waving countless times to catch attention, most probably they could not handle the current order. Luckily for Lim Seng Lee's neighbour's help, my order had prioritized with food served within a minute.

Food
The presentation of braised duck looks disorganized with portions of the meat not coated with the braised sauce and with loose pieces scatter around the plate. Meats looks dry.

 
Kang Kong standard is still very well maintained with the right amount of moisture and crunchiness.

 
2 porridge and 2 bowls of rice for 4 of us!

 
My first and also the last time trying their sambal Prawns. It was more of sweetness than spiciness. Loves the crunchy cucumbers and onions that comes along with the prawns.

 
Overall the total spending was roughly about S$45 for 4 pax including 3 cups of drinks.

Recommendation / Tips
Good Bye Lim Seng Lee braised duck, these noteworthy dishes will always be in my mind.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Braised Duck,Sambal Prawns,Kang Kong
 
Date of Visit: Jun 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $11(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tea time! Smile Jun 03, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop

Food
We were not contented with the cups of beverage that we had over breakfast in Amoy Street and decided to visit Nanyang Old Coffee for our coffee/tea fix, at the same time introducing the traditional coffee of Singapore to my foreign friend!

 
2 cups of Kopi O, 1 cup of Teh C and 1 cup of Kopi costs S$5.10 in total.
Kopi O , S$1.20/S$1.30 (Big/Small) is thick and rich in taste with packed with strong coffee aroma. Kopi, coffee with condensed milk, S$1.30 / S$1.40 (big/small) is so tailored made to Singaporean preference.

 
Likewise for Teh C, S$1.40/S$1.50 (Big/Small), taste of the tea is rich with slight flavor of evaporated & condensed milk!

 
My friend was telling me the traditional way of drinking coffee is bypouring the coffee onto the dish and sip them while they are hot. This method of drinking is better and easier to drink via the traditional cup as it cools down the pipping hot coffee.

 
Service
We hang around in the shop quite often and notice the changes of staff. The friendly and joyful lady was longer working there and the atmosphere was totally different. Relationship between cashier and customers (us) are just solely customer and customers and not as entertaining and friendly anymore.

Menu was placed on the table and once we are ready, we can order and pay over the counter and wait for the beverages to be served.

 
Ambience
Painted with red and brown furnishing, NAnyang old Coffee has a rustic looking ambience with olden days kind of wooden tools and tables, a total reminiscent of the era during our grandparents.

As we are seated towards the end of the dining area, the coffee museum which was just beside us had drawn my attention. It was an eye-opener and I get to see things from my childhood days.

 

 

 
Price
Price is relatively up the the market standard, considering the location and reputation of the Stall's traditional naming "Nanyang old Coffee".

Recommendation / Tips
Do visit the museum in the shop!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Tea C
 
Date of Visit: Jun 02, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $2(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

German Cuisine Smile May 23, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : German | European | Steaks and Grills

In celebration of my colleague's birthday, we have reserved the indoor seating for 4 pax. Greeted with a warm welcome by the staff as we walked up to Brotzeit. Reservation was make easy with their professionalism given a choice of outdoor/indoor seating. They have also make two calls (a one day before and few hours) before the reservation to confirmed our attendance. Service was prompt and above average.

Aranciata, S$4.50. Sparkling Orange drink poured from a can.

 
Apfelschorle (Sparkling Apple Juice), S$8.50. Imported from Germany, a refreshing cup of apple juice mixed with sparkling mineral water.

 
Hurray! Here's the feast for tonight! Tuck in!

 
Camembert (Breaded Camembert with Cranberry Sauce), S$12.50. Fried to golden perfection with cheese filled up, the cranberry yogurt like sauce makes a perfect pairing.

 

Wurstelplatte (Sausage Platter for 2)
, S$32.50. Comes with assorted flavours of authentic sausages: spicy chicken sausages, Nurnberger sausages, pork cheese sausages, Weisswurst and garlic pork sausage and my favourite sauerkraut. Dab the sausages with some mustard sauce and some sauerkraut and it goes perfectly.

 
Schweinshaxn (Pork Knuckle), S$36.00 are one of the top selling item from a german cuisine menu. This cripsy hind shank of grain fed pork were thick at the exterior especially on its skin is served with potato salad, sauerkraut and the delicious homemade sauce.

 

 
Spargel mit Lungenbraten (White Asparagus with Grilled Beef Tenderloin), S$46.50. This is only available with a limit period (promotional item) base on the white asparagus feast.

 
Kaspressknodelsuppe (onion soup), S$9.50. Quite translucent bowl of bland tasting onion soup, however the one that steal the show is its yammy cheesy dumping that had dived underneath the bowl of cut onion stripes.

 
Kaiserschmarren (Emperor's Cake), S$12.50. A great choice for after meal desserts! Shredded fluffy pancakes with rum and raisins paired with plum sauce.

 
Apfelstrudel (Apple Strudel), S$12.50 is served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Even though our stomachs have been filled with the scrumptious meal earlier on, we could not resists these alluring sweet treats coming our way. This non sweet version of strudel tastes great.. The icing sugar drizzled over it is sweet but not cloying.

 
The total damage for the night from 4 dinners.

 
Recommendation / Tips
It would be a great dinning experience to enjoy the German draft beers at their outdoor seating.
 
Date of Visit: May 23, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $55(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Meetup date! Smile Mar 16, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Restaurant

Food

Golden Idako is "shiokingly" good. While waiting for our friends to join us, we ordered this plate of fried idako. The sour taste plum like sauce is perfect blend for the soft fried idako. It may seems soggy after deep fried but its really good. Presentation wise, they are served stacking altogether in a cup. $10.80 well spent!

 
Baby Crayfish Salad for $15.00 is one of my favourite dish too. Crayfish are fresh. Leafy greens are good for health... Forget about the mayo and cream sauce it used. It is definitely worth one calories.

 
Deluxe Snack Platter is a good choice to start with especially eating with more than 1 friends. This plate costs $16.80. It has a variety of the fried snacks. Calamari are good, cheese sticks too. A contented meal we had!

 
Red Hot Chicken Spaghetti is delicious. A plate of it costs $19.00. The taste of the sauce doesn't over power the spaghetti, not too salty and perfectly suits our taste buds.

 
Mint Choc Frappe is good. It costs $8.50. You will have your mouth filled with Chocolate and some cooling effects of from the minty leaves.

 
Some compliments from the staff for being regular.

 
Service
Staff are friendly and quite prompt in their service. Morever, they will go over to the customers and gather feedbacks of the food.

Ambience
Love its environment. A very good place to chill out considering a Friday evening after work!

Price
Considering the service and food TCC provide, it is sometimes good to pamper oneself with such food especially over a gathering with friends. Chit chat sessions and so on...

Recommendations / Tips
Member discount card has 15% off.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Baby crayfish salad
 
Date of Visit: Mar 08, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0