OpenRice Index
  
wenxi
This is wenxi living in Jurong West. I am a Executive, work in Clementi. I like to hang out in Clementi, Jurong West, Boon Lay. Japanese, Thai, Vietnamese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hawker Centre and Sushi/Sashimi, Zi Char, Ramen, Fish.
Member 540 First(s)
No. of Review1722 Review(s)
編輯推介數目58 Editor's Choice
Recommended37 Recommended
Popularity11973 View(s)
Replies in Forum4 Comment(s)
Upload Photos11156 Photo(s)
Upload Videos22 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant559 My Restaurant(s)
Follow39 Following
粉絲1967 Follower(s)
wenxi  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 1722 Reviews in Singapore
The Chop House Smile Dec 04, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Restaurant | Pasta | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches

The Chop House is located in Vivocity along the stretch of restaurant where Jamie's is located. To avoid the friday crowd, I had make a reservation about a week in advance. Reservation was made easy through the internet and process was rather customer orientated such that they had actually called me a day in advanced to confirm my booking and on the actual day again to check if I like alfresco dining or the indoors.
The Chop House

The Chop House

 
While stepping into the restaurant, I felt so welcomed the warmly lit cosy environment with chic designs and sturdy furnishings around. To the left where our drinks were all prepared and where the bar tenders do their mixing was pretty attractive with its racks filled with bottles of Alcoholic drinks as well as wine glasses.
Bar Counter

Bar Counter

 
It's kinda of scary to see a chopper on your table instead of the kitchen. Luckily, the bevel chopper on the menu was just an illustration. The real chopper is still in the kitchen.
Menu

Menu

 
Even the coaster was printed with "The Chop House " and the chopper.
Coaster

Coaster

 
The Drinks Menu was on a separated board, pinned and one can flipped them upwards just like flipping a traditional calendar.
Beverages Menu

Beverages Menu

 
We requested for Hot Water and they were served in the artistic red cups.
Hot Water

Hot Water

 
Our Beverages for the night was nothing alcohol to goes together with our main course. Drinks were pretty standard but I can say the pear juice was great, the drink was filled with the pear pulps.
Pear Juice - $8, Iced Lemon Tea - $5

Pear Juice - $8, Iced Lemon Tea - $5

 
A choice of chicken or beef. Claimed the best quesadillas in town. There were 4 slices, each with tomatoes and jack's cheddar cheese and they were folded into a bread tortilla. 3 kinds of sauce, guacamole, sour cream and salsa pico de gallo was served together. A good starter to go especially when its cheese is melted and tortilla is crispy.
Quesadillas - Chicken $15

Quesadillas - Chicken $15

 
It's burger time! Each of us ordered a set of burger which comes with tater tots (fried slices of potatoes or mini harsh-browns) in a steel basket. These bite sized harsh-browns were fried to crisp golden brown and gave off a loud crunch when chewed.

Patty were homemade and every meal was served in a wooden chop board. The Chop House Pork Burger being one of the recommended dishes was filled with homemade pork patty with an asian twist.
The Chop House Pork Burger $22

The Chop House Pork Burger $22

 
The buns had sandwiched chilli, apple-wood smoked bacon, ginger, pickles and coriander.
A Close Up of the The Chop House Pork Burger

A Close Up of the The Chop House Pork Burger

 
The patty melt comes with a half pound beef patty smothered with sauteed onions and Irish Cheddar Cheese. YUms!
Patty Melt - $20

Patty Melt - $20

 
Featuring the beef patty, crisp bacon, sharp cheddar cheese and the chop house BBQ sauce! The sauce tasted rather salty and was rather "biting" to my lips towards the end. The buns, however, was toasted and spread with a layer of butter. Together with the fragrance from the butter and crunch of the toast, it had given another level of texture to the burger.
BBQ Beef, Bacon and Cheddar Burger $25

BBQ Beef, Bacon and Cheddar Burger $25

 
All in all, their service, though friendly , it was lacking from the way a common diner would have expected. A little more attention to customers would be better like promptly clearing of emptied dishes and topping up of drinking water. Serving of drinks could be alot faster after ordering.

Food wise, perhaps the starring portion was its home-made patty and its overall presentation of serving on a heavy wooden chop-board with a silver basket of tater tots. It's a good experience for burger to be serving in such way instead of the conventional wrapped up burgers we got from fast food chains. However if you want cheaper version and free flowing of drinks, in my opinion, Carl's Junior will be the budget friendly alternative.

My adventure for the Chop House will not just stop at burgers and Quesidillas, I will be back for more, hopefully a better service rendered during the next round!

For more pictures and review, please visit http://www.umakemehungry.com/2013/11/the-chop-house.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Quesadillas - Chicken
 
Date of Visit: Nov 15, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Professor Brawn Cafe  Smile Dec 04, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Desserts and Cakes | Seafood | Steaks and Grills

I find it quite meaningful when Professor Brawn Cafe's Business has a cause which is we are actually helping by supporting Social Enterprises to fulfill a social mission of providing employment & social integration opportunities to Persons with Disabilities (PWDs) when we dine.
Utensils Container

Utensils Container

 
The founders of the cafe are parents and friends who want to make a difference to the special needs community by giving them a suitable job, showcase their talents, also to raise awareness to people around and getting contributions to support the cause. The character of professor brawn was actually created by a children with learning disability. The superhero, professor brawn had characters who is 'smart, kind and strong'.
Professor Brawn Cafe

Professor Brawn Cafe

 
The decors of the cafe had amused me with its welcoming and colourful chalk written wordings on the wall. Not only that, its interior was filled with lively bright colours such that everyone who walked pass will turn their head towards Professor Brawn Cafe.

 
The set dinner (6pm to 9pm) comes with Main course, soup of the day and House Drink. Soup of the day was Calm Chowder. It was served warm, cream based with calm bits and chopped celery (vegetables).
Soup of the Day - Calm Chowder

Soup of the Day - Calm Chowder

 
The server had gave us a bonus by offering us mushroom soup so that we do not have a repeat in our dinner menu. He was so thoughtful.

I like the mushroom soup as they were purely blended with tiny bits of mushroom filled throughout the soup which lends a good mushroom fragrance from every spoonful unlike most of the restaurant, they could have used the premixed powder in preparation of the soup.
Cream of mushroom

Cream of mushroom

 
Drinks was part of the meal and tasted rather standard from the typical syrup mixture with water. They were served in a tall hour glass glass.
Orange & Lime Juice

Orange & Lime Juice

 
This was one of the popular Main course for the night beside the enormous Fish & Chips. One glance through the restaurant and you will notice that many had grilled chicken thigh laid on their table. The grilled chicken was cooked to crisp golden brown with some burnt patches. Meat was tender enough and tasted refreshingly sweet with Orange marmalade. The grilled yummy thigh were stacked up on a bed of fluffy mashed potatoes while having salad as the appetizer, dressed sparsely with vinegar.
Grilled Orange Marmalade Chicken - $18.90

Grilled Orange Marmalade Chicken - $18.90

 
A close up on the chicken leg. Woot Woot! How can I resist?
Grilled Chicken Leg

Grilled Chicken Leg

 
Although I would prefer its rosti to be darker in color than its current faint yellow as seen, the first bite of it had took my taste buds! I thought Marche had the best rosti so far but I was wrong. Their sour cream was lighter, refreshing and left a tangy taste on my buds. The rosti was cramped into a rectangle size, about 1cm in thickness. Yummy!
Gourmet Sausage with Rosti - $16.90

Gourmet Sausage with Rosti - $16.90

 
For sausage, there were a few types we can choose from and I had the Swiss Cheese Pork Sausage. I had tried the pork version as I thought it is hard to come by such meat in a westernized cafe when most of them are halal certified. Well, how the taste? It was pleasant, long in length and had a textural bite.
Close up shoot

Close up shoot

 
Have some privacy dining at a cosy corner in the semi sphere like environment. Just too bad I came to realise this place after I had done with my dinner. Looks like somewhere great to romance a date in a mall after office hours. Ha! What else can I say?
Alternative dining area away from the shop

Alternative dining area away from the shop

 
The overview of the alternative dinning area

The overview of the alternative dinning area

 
Having dined in Professor Brawn Cafe was a killing two birds in one stone matter. It's food is reasonable and had "substance" while service was better than average, thoughtful and polite. It's also good to know that we are helping the needies by dining in Professor Brawn Cafe. Do lend your mouth by helping them to achieve this mission.

Do visit http://www.umakemehungry.com/2013/11/professor-brawn-cafe.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Grilled Orange Marmalade Chicken,Gourmet Sausage with Rosti
 
Date of Visit: Nov 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $19(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Seafood | Fine Dining

The idea of dining in Ocean Restaurant has been in my back of mind for a long time since I had visited the World Largest Aquarium since February this year but was turned down by the restaurant due to overwhelming responses - their seating were full.

Fortunately, my wish was granted when I received some RWS wining meal vouchers through a lucky draw by a Bank.

Probably due to its novelty of dining by the side of the world largest aquarium, it was rather hard to grab its dinner slot, thus we had confirmed dining during the lunch hours instead.

Entrance is located at basement carpark, for those who are not driving and not entering the aquarium, they can actually hop onto the buggy to get there. But if you are visiting the S.E.A Aquarium, you can access the entrance via there.
Ocean Restaurant

Ocean Restaurant

 
My favourite color is blue and naturally I'm drawn to such beautiful environment especially when the interior was filled with ocean blue as its backdrop.

 
Enticed by the dining environment and its spectacular view, everyone of us would have take out their mobile and had great pictures by the side of the glass panels.

 
How beautiful and amazing ambience with school of fishes swam across my vision at intervals. Having dine beside such view was a life enjoyment, perhaps better than any sky dining experience. Ups for the ambiance!

 
Dining set was already lined up on the table with the napkin rolled up. Just shortly we had seated, the servers showed their professions by placing the napkins onto our laps.

 
For the non alcoholic beverages, we had a glass of Ice Lemon Tea and Cranberry Juice to pair our lunch.
Ice Lemon Tea & Cranberry Juice

Ice Lemon Tea & Cranberry Juice

 
Fried Pork Seafood Roulade was yummy and reminds me of a cut section from Ngoh Hiong. Looks like a fusion of chinese and french cuisine. It was fried to golden brown crisp, made up of chicken egg yolk, sweet muscat vinaigrette and ginger oil. The roll packed a crunchy noise in every bite with the chestnuts fillings. the only let down of this dish was that the vinaigrette sprinkled on the appetizer was miserable.
Fried Pork Seafood Roulade - $24

Fried Pork Seafood Roulade - $24

 
When it felt wrong and ironical to have Sashimi with the live fishes swimming in front of you. It's just like telling the fishes "Look! I'm eating your pals!"

The pieces of yellow tail (hamichi) was prepared with Sake Mirin Emuslion. While I'm searching for wasabi, there was none and I found out that they tastes great even without those spicy raddish. The dish was rather refreshing with citrus juice from the grapefruit. Texture of the dish was enhanced by adding Avruga Caviar & pink radish ice.
Yellow Tail Sashimi - $24

Yellow Tail Sashimi - $24

 
Braised Boneless Wagyu was paried with celeriac Puree, Sauteed Mushroom and Caramelized Oat meal. Flawlessly prepared, the meat was crispy at the exterior with even wellness and filled with juiciness as I chewed. Light & satisfying indeed.
Braised Boneless Wagyu Short Ribs - $35

Braised Boneless Wagyu Short Ribs - $35

 
Slow cooked salmon was adorned by the popping fish orange roes on the small slab of rolled up salmon accompanied by cauliflower tempura, cream cauliflower and hazel nuts. The salmon was put under fire in slow process in such that the meat of the inner and outer was consistently cooked. It tasted abit raw and abit cooked. Just like the wellness of the beef, medium well.
Slow Cooked Salmon - $34

Slow Cooked Salmon - $34

 
Finally, the WoW reactions had come out from me. We looked at the desserts with wide opened eyes, it never disappoint. Vacherin had textures of Strawberry with Creme Fraiche. Presentation was lovely as it seems, just too bad that the portion was small.
Vacherin - $22

Vacherin - $22

 
Mont Blanc make up of hazelnut Meringue, Chestnut Paste and Vanilla Ice Cream. Artistically designed with a cross pattern with golden glittering color drawn on the plate which makes the dessert stands up and live up to its namesake.
Mont Blanc - $22

Mont Blanc - $22

 
Overall, I find that Ocean Restaurant Food was not as bad as I had read, I find them quite ok with a surprised in the desserts. How about it's service? Perhaps their service had improved over time, they were prompt in clearing away the emptied plates. For fine dining in Singapore, I find that it is a norm to be costly and if not for the winning meal vouchers I would not even have the chance to step into such restaurant given its moderate reviews. After handing in the $100 RWS Meal Vouchers, we still have to fork out about $60. Well, looking at the price tag and quality, it's unlikely I would make a return unless I had friends who wanted to visit this place.

A great place to dine, for ambiance

 


Notes:
(1) Reservations to be advanced to avoid disappointment
(2) Carpark fees are expensive. We parked about 1 hour sharp costing $11.
(3) Minimum spending of $38 ++ per person is required.
(4) Place was rather cold, wear abit more.
(5) No serving of plain water.

For complete reviews and pictures, please visit http://www.umakemehungry.com/2013/11/ocean-restaurant-dine-by-aquarium.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mont Blanc,Vacherin
 
Spending per head: Approximately $80(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Mad Jack OK Nov 12, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches

Mad Jack Cafes serve an Aussie styled fare and fusion food giving customers a promising meal with quality adopting its stringent food philosophy - No MSG, No Preservatives, No tenderizer and their money-back guaranteed policy.
Mad Jack Clementi

Mad Jack Clementi

 
MAD JACK in clementi had been opened a few months back and was rather new in the vicinity as they had shifted from Adams Road. Ambience was simple with about few groups tables spread out in the cafe. Service was prompt, the lady hurried out of the shop to wanting to explain the menu when she saw a group of us hanging out at her corridors. During our visit, there was only a table of 4 enjoying their lunch, dined-in.
Counter

Counter

 
Cover of its menu had illustrated the food origins with its national symbols like boomerang , kangaroo and koala bear.
Menu

Menu

 
Mad Jack had their crazy lunch deal at an attractive pricing with soup of the day and a drink to complete a meal.
Soup of the Day

Soup of the Day

 
Remember this is what MAD JACK had told us, "You dont have to be MAD to dine here, but it helps." Cranky but i like it. So let's grub!
Plate

Plate

 
Spaghetti on the other hand was overcooked and was rather soft. The Bolognaise sauce was standard, a good mixture of sauce with minced meat as well as mushrooms, nothing to rave about.
#152 Spaghetti Bolognaise Set - $10.90

#152 Spaghetti Bolognaise Set - $10.90

 
2 Pieces of thin grilled dory covered with great amount of butter sauce with mashed potatoes and fruits salad as sides. Decent but not to die for.
#155 Grilled Fish in Cream Sauce Set - $12.90

#155 Grilled Fish in Cream Sauce Set - $12.90

 
MAD Cow Burger was served with big cuts fries. Clear cut with just 2 items, fries and burger.
#151 MAD Cow & Chips Set - $9.90

#151 MAD Cow & Chips Set - $9.90

 
Burger looked appetizing with its sesame buns and beef patty sandwiched. The beef patty was make up of minced beef meat and tasted rather mushy its centre. Not forgetting its bun, its underneath was toasted with butter, leaving light yellow stains. With mayonnaise, tomato and shredded cabbages added complimenting the burger, it had summed a typical looking burger.
MAD Cow Burger

MAD Cow Burger

 
TiraMADsu was a letdown. No doubt that the layers of cakes sandwich between the cream were spongy, the richness of a standard Tiramisu and their mascarpone cheese was lacking.
#231 TiraMADsu (Slice) - $4.90

#231 TiraMADsu (Slice) - $4.90

 
Oreo cheese cake was abit of the dry side on its cheese layer, a far cry from our ideal taste of Oreo cake. In the end, we left more than half of the cake untouched even though we were sharing this in a group of 5.
#235 Oreo Cheese Cake - $5

#235 Oreo Cheese Cake - $5

 
If you are a health conscious diner, MAD JACK may just fit your choice if you are craving for some western cuisine. Moreover, MAD JACK is halal-certified and provides delivery service to certain areas in Singapore. Vegetarians, do not disappoint, MAD JACK had reserved a page on their menu for you.

For full review and more photos, please visit http://www.umakemehungry.com/2013/11/mad-jack.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  MAD Cow burger
 
Date of Visit: Nov 07, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $13(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Superstar K OK Nov 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Korean BBQ

While Korean BBQ has becoming more in trend nowadays, we can easily see a handful of Korean BBQ shophouses swarmed into areas like Tanjong Pagar and Super Star K is also one of them.
Super Star K

Super Star K

 


Can you see the coolness from the aircon? Placement of tables were carefully thought with ventilation pipes hanging ahead. Also,the dining area were divided into two sections in the restaurant leaving a comfortable walkway in the middle. On the sides of the walls, they had installed chalk boards for customers to scribbled on. Chalks were provided in the container, just put down your thoughts there.
Dining Area

Dining Area

 


A lot of Korean BBQ restaurant had adopted the use of extendable exhaust pipes which helped to suck away and minimise the BBQ scent on our clothing. Though it could not remove the smell entirely, I would say that at least the smell was not that heavy.
Ventilation Pipe

Ventilation Pipe

 


It's quite typical to enjoy so many side dishes in a Korean cuisine and just like any other Korean restaurant in Singapore a wide spread of complimentary dishes were provided from Ikan Billis, Kimchi, beansprouts, smashed potatoes and their kind of fish cakes.
Side Dishes

Side Dishes

 


Pork Belly tasted good without much marination. Fatty and juicy! Yums!
Cost: $18

 


This pot of steam egg was served later and was also one of the complimentary dishes. As we dug the egg, a lot of steam were seem evaporating . In fact, they were soft and quite tasty seasoned in good stock.
Egg

Egg

 


A light milky yet refreshing bowl of Ginseng Soup garnished with chopped spring onions. This is one of the korean dish I like as i find it special to have glutinous rice slowed cook with chicken till the meat was so tender and easily pulls off from the bone. Dont be mislead that this dish is actually a bowl of soup, the rice is quite filling actually.
Chicken Gingseng Soup

Chicken Gingseng Soup

 


A basket of fresh lettuce was given. For those who were puzzled, those lettuces were actually used to wrapped the BBQ meat before consumption. Though the BBQ meat were good enough to be consumed alone, the lettuce together with the condiments had packed the dining experience with Korean Culture. For additional kick, do wrapped those savoury meats with the leafy greens.

 


Being inside an authentic restaurant, how can we missed trying out the kimchi? The serving was enormous, perhaps too much for 2 of us to handle. Considering the price, I would say its price and with the amount of seafood given like mussels and squid, I would say price is explanatory. Personally, I felt that it was too floury with too much carbohydrates in the dish. After eating a few small pieces, I chose to swap and leave my stomach room for the meat instead.
Seafood Kimchi

Seafood Kimchi

 


Our grill was smeared with oil and black patches soon after barbaquing and the server had carefully detached the scalding hot grilled and took it back into the kitchen for washing.

 


The pork neck meat was quite thick and a different metal grill was used. The slab of meat was put to simmered on the grill for sometime. As it was thick, the amount of time taken was pretty long before it gets cooked.

 
Unbelievable! It's really worth waiting for. The pieces of meat tasted very closed to Char Siew! Love it lots!

 


Served By Korean Helpers,

 


Service wise, it's a little tricky here as most of them were Korean. Often we had misinterpret each others intention as their response were rather short. We requested for more water and chilli, their response was OK but items were not given eventually.

Overall, I find that having Korean BBQ in Singapore was rather expensive. I have not found a place to dine a Korean cuisine without burning a hole in the pocket. But still, considering the meat cuts and quality, they were still well worth the money.

For full review and more photos, please visit http://www.umakemehungry.com/2013/11/super-star-k.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chicken Ginseng Soup
 
Date of Visit: Nov 03, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $70(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0