OpenRice Index
  
wenxi
This is wenxi living in Jurong West. I am a Executive, work in Clementi. I like to hang out in Clementi, Jurong West, Boon Lay. Japanese, Thai, Vietnamese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hawker Centre and Sushi/Sashimi, Zi Char, Ramen, Fish.
Member 540 First(s)
No. of Review1722 Review(s)
編輯推介數目58 Editor's Choice
Recommended37 Recommended
Popularity11973 View(s)
Replies in Forum4 Comment(s)
Upload Photos11156 Photo(s)
Upload Videos22 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant559 My Restaurant(s)
Follow39 Following
粉絲1967 Follower(s)
wenxi  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 1722 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : English

If you are looking for some authentic Fish & Chips Flavours with the taste of British, do head down to the shop houses along Tanjong Katong Road or their other outlets.

 
Smiths offers Take-Away and dined in menu. Both menu were more or less the same.

 
The counter was pretty modern, sleek, metalic finishing with blue LED lights coming out from the under sides. British flags were hanging by the sides too.

 
The place was well ventilated as we hardly smell any greasy smell in the shop even though they were frying and preparing the dish at the end of the counter.

 
While waiting for the chef to fry the fishes in the oil, we had ordered some can drinks, self taken from the fridge. Each can was pretty expensive. sad

 
It's hardly that we get to see servings of Fish and Chips being wrapped up in paper. It really reminds me of someone who told me that the authentic Fish and Chips in London would have their Fish and Chips wrapped up in newspaper. To make the orders identifiable, the cod fish was indicated with "C" on its wrapper.

 
After having tried so many fish and chips in Singapore, indeed Smiths did have the closest match to the one I had in UK. Our servings were all paired with thickly cut fries. Condiments and sauces were already placed by the side for each table. Just help ourselves with it.
Cod Standard (180 - 200 grams) and Chips - $18

Cod Standard (180 - 200 grams) and Chips - $18

 
Fried to a golden brown perfection, the cod was coated with a thin crispy layer of batter and the fish meat was quite chunky. The length of the fish was about a 30cm long ruler. Furthermore, one can really taste the freshness of the fish. Break open the hot battered fish and enjoy a free facial steaming session. tongue
Cod Fish

Cod Fish

 
The Haddock was fried to golden brown as well but the size looked different. It is wider in shape.
Haddock Standard (180 - 200 grams) & Chips - $17

Haddock Standard (180 - 200 grams) & Chips - $17

 
Meat wise, they are moist and fresh too.

 
Dissecting of Haddock Fish in action!

Cut The Fish!

 


Overall, I find that this is a good Fish & Chips fix if we are looking for authentic taste from Britain though it may be pricy. The standard meal may be plain but there are sides available for add-ons. Service wise, its pretty average.

For full review and more photos, please visit http://www.umakemehungry.com/2013/11/smiths-authentic-bristish-fish-and-chips.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Cod Fish,Haddock
 
Date of Visit: Oct 27, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Antoinette Smile Nov 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | High Tea | Desserts and Cakes | Brunch

Tucked away from the bustling city and among the industrial area, Antoinette is one of the outstanding places which sells french pastries among all.

 
Painted with faint blue color, Antoinette facade had given us a classy outlook which reminds someone to pamper oneself especially over the weekend. Let's go!

 
As we swang opened the door, sweet little treats with attractive looking packaging were all lined up neatly on the shelves waiting to be picked home.

 
To the left of the cafe, there were a number of photo frames glued to the wall with different colors without any picture within.

 
Everything could be ordered to their menu except for its pastries.
Menu

Menu

 
Just in front of the cashier counters, customer can choose to have macaroons over the cakes. Customers were all pampered by the range of variety and colors to choose from.

 
Not only that, delicate cakes were all displayed on the chiller, Just walk over to them and have your pick. Each type of cake comes with a tagging, indicating its made.

 
The interior of Antoinette was very cosy with dainty victorian details, a very french theme with chandelier hanging from the ceiling. Its comfy plush cushioned chairs as well as those rattan made ones were good enough to make one spend additional time there chit chatting. Moreover the space between diners were great, allowing rooms for accessing and "spaces" to talk among ourselves.

 
Strawberry cake was amazing. The sponge cake was moist that literally melts with a little press from the tongue. The layer of fresh cream was light with ample of tasty strawberries. Overall, I find that the shortcake was delectable, giving off sweet strawberries scent. If you were to ask me to eat another 3 of it, I would be most happy to do so.
Strawberry Shortcake

Strawberry Shortcake

 
This cake is strongly advocate by our local TV program and is true to namesake. Super love this! A MUST Try and do make sure you had them before leaving.

In case you are wondering, what is the red stuff on its top, its actually a raspberry coulis that you can burst to get raspberry sauce all over your cake. The thought of its lusciousness and lightness of Earl Grey chocolate mousse base over the thick raspberry sauce oozing out with its crispy bits of chocolate (reminds me of Ferrero Roche) excites me.
Antoinette

Antoinette

 
Look at the video for burst of raspberry. Oohed!

Antoinette

 


The pot of Charming Medows was rather normal, nothing to shout about.
Tea

Tea

 
This place is very good for chit chats but may be a little pricy. But for this kind of ambiance and the delicate pastries, I find it worthwhile to pay a visit once in a while. However do ensure that you make reservations at least a week before to avoid disappointment.

For full review and more photos, please visit http://www.umakemehungry.com/2013/10/antoinette.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Antoinette,Strawberry Shortcake
 
Date of Visit: Oct 27, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

My Affair With Thai Food OK Nov 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai

Fancy for some Thai food around Clarke quay area? Check out Thai Affair located at one corner of the basement. Thai Affair offers a decent variety of dish from noodles to soup at a reasonable pricing.
Shop Front

Shop Front

 
A number tag was given upon ordering as each plate was whipped up from the kitchen based on order only, thus Food will be served to us whenever they were ready.
Tagging

Tagging

 
Utensils, sauces and serviette were self help over at this counter just beside their kitchen.
Self Help Counter

Self Help Counter

 
Lemongrass drink tasted standard. For those who like Thai beverages, they do sell Thai Ice Tea too.
Lemon Grass Drink - $2

Lemon Grass Drink - $2

 
Egg Fried Rice (Chicken) had packed the traditional taste of their home style fried rice with good prominent tastes of the fish sauce. Comes with a slice of cucumber and tomatoe. Pretty decent but would be better if they had control the amount of salt usage I the dish.
Egg Fried Rice - $6.50

Egg Fried Rice - $6.50

 
Moo Ping (Thai BBQ Pork satay) comes in a plate of 4. An appetizer to kick start our dinner. Pork on the stick was evenly grilled and was tender. The chili dip was a good compliment to the satay.
BBQ Pork Satay - $6

BBQ Pork Satay - $6

 
Phad Thai on the other hand looks tantalizing. Basic ingredients of a Phad Thai were all found on the dish. It does really smell of the Thai culture!
Phad Thai - $7

Phad Thai - $7

 
Pad Kee Mao (Chicken), a Thai version of stir fried Kway Teow that comes with a good amount of spice that keep the lips tingling. The dish contained a variety of vegetables, carrot, onions, corn, mushrooms, lime leaves etc. Tasty but a bit oily for me.
Pad Kee Mao (Chicken) - $6.50

Pad Kee Mao (Chicken) - $6.50

 
Considering it price and location. Thai affair is a fuss free dining and worth a try if you want to have simple meal like this in the mall. They are running 15% off ala carte items for UOB card holders, therefore do present them if you have one.

For more reviews visit chopstickhttp://www.umakemehungry.com/2013/10/my-affair-with-thai-food.html bowl
 
Recommended Dish(es):  BBQ Pork Satay
 
Date of Visit: Oct 25, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Morton's SteakHouse Smile Oct 24, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Bars/Lounges | Hotel | Seafood | Steaks and Grills

Nestled in the heart of Marina Bay area, Mandarin Oriental housed a legendary steakhouse, Morton's. It is located at 4th storey of the hotel, just opposite one of the popular buffet lines, Melt-The World Cafe.

The exterior of Morton's was a classic looking American steakhouse with wood panels as its background and its reputable name shining brightly under the warm orange lightings.
Morton's Steakhouse

Morton's Steakhouse

 
The ambience was cosy and quiet with the low lights revealing a coolness making a romantic place to perfect a date.

We made our entrance into Morton's and was warmly welcome by a group of servers who dressed in professional black coats.

 
In addition to their main restaurant, there were 2 private rooms which hold up to 10 pax per room and a dining room catering up to 20 pax.

 
Reservation was confirmed by a phone called on the actual day and this was the menu prepared on the table, specially printed to the birthday guy which states "Happy Birthday, ______!".

Our menu was further elaborated by the server in a well-rehearsed manner, introducing their popular dishes.
Customised Menu

Customised Menu

 
Yes! If you have heard about Morton's onion loaf, this is the one. This soft, fluffy and fragrant loaf was bigger than my palm's size accompanied by 2 bars of softened butter. It was placed onto our table before the orders. Addictive and a definite must try! However, remember not to eat too much before the mains, unless you had already catered more stomach room for others. smile
Onion Loaf

Onion Loaf

 
Confetti was placed on each table.
Butter

Butter

 
And each table was decorated with a little lamp with pepper and salt by the side.
Infused by the aroma of 5 kinds of onions crusted with Swiss cheese, this dish was indeed heavenly for a start. Our portion of Onion Soup was split into 2 based on server's suggestion which I felt very thoughtful.
Baked Five Onion Soup - $28.50

Baked Five Onion Soup - $28.50

 
Opted sautéed Brussels sprouts as Side dish for sharing. Portion was more than enough for 2 pax. Though it was a simple dish on the menu, the dish was delectable, added with bacon and shallots.
Sauteed Brussels Sprouts - $22

Sauteed Brussels Sprouts - $22

 
The plates of the main dish was warmed up before serving. Enjoy the grain-fed beef with done-ness near perfection. Expensive but well worth it. Every slice of the prime ribeye seduces with its succulent and tender meat bringing out a steak's full flavour with its charred outlook. In fact, no sauces was required. It will definitely pamper any hardcore carnivore with such juicy flesh!
Center-cut Prime Ribeye 16oz - $99.50

Center-cut Prime Ribeye 16oz - $99.50

 
After so much of its beefy business, let's talk about its Ocean Catch! Its Chilean Sea Bass (Fillet A la Nage) was palate pleasing accompanied by Jumbo Lump Crabmeat, Lemon Butter and crunchy Asparagus. I was rather surprised that the lemon given was grilled and felt warm as i squeeze its juice over the plate of tantalizing meal.
Chilean Sea Bass - $77

Chilean Sea Bass - $77

 
These sweet treats was introduced by the amicable waitress after our mains, unfortunately, there was hardly any room left for them. Well, we will be back!
Desserts

Desserts

 
Souffle (Grand Marnier), a complimentary dessert from Morton's for the birthday guy with a candle. Eggy with a delicate thin layer over its pillow soft fillings made up of unique blend of Grand Marnier liqueur citrus sabayon (egg yolk and sugar custard). Most importantly the dessert was not cloying. Its amazing how simple thing can be so glorious.

Birthday Surprise

 
Souffle - Birthday Complimentary

Souffle - Birthday Complimentary

 
Dining in Morton was really a good experience with its elegant interiors and service was impeccable with special needs well attended. Furthermore they were quite detailed with little actions well taken care of and make us felt close to heart.

We were presented with a hand decorated birthday card with our photo instantly printed which was a pleasant surprise to the birthday guy, making the event a memorable one in Morton's !

Overall, everything was good. My only gripe was that Photography was a challenge as the place was dimly lit. Nevertheless, this had create a very good atmosphere especially for special occassions. I would highly recommend this place if one is seeking for a good steak dinner, service and ambience.

Remember to do your reservations!

For complete photos Review, please visit http://umakemehungry.blogspot.sg/2013/10/mortons-steakhouse.html

bowl
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Baked Five Onion Soup,Chilean Sea Bass,Prime Ribeye
 
Date of Visit: Oct 20, 2013 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $140(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Authentic Hokkien Cuisine Smile Oct 18, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fujian/Heng Hwa | Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood

Walk along the Amoy street, this is the place where you will find hidden gems among the modern club house. There were a few authentic dialect groups cuisine at the area and Beng Hiang Restaurant serves quite a decent Hokkien style fare. Her facade was plain ordinary looking but filled with traditional old looking shophouse style as compared to its neighbours.

 
As we swayed into the restaurant, the strong woody smell gave us a good nostalgic feel somewhat back in the 80s. On top of that, the old school decors like red walls, carpets, Chinese paintings and lazy Suzy were a great reminiscent to those younger days.

 
Although it was a weekday night, when meal time comes, it gets packed. The atmosphere was noisy but enjoyable. It also served as a good place for after work dinner considering its ambiance and can hold big groups on their round tables.

 
All portions were small as we are dining in a group of 4 ladies. The Fish Maw Soup was the first dish of the night and was surprisingly good. A known good alternative to the Shark Fin Soup! As the menu suggest, the soup was thick with crab meat. This dish was indeed lip-smacking good with or without the additional vinegar.
Cost: $18
Thick Soup with Fish Maw & Crab

Thick Soup with Fish Maw & Crab

 
Generous ingredients was loaded and every mouthful was incredibly flavourful. Also, Crab meat was fresh and thick. If only there were extra servings and I could pop more than just 1 bowl!
Thick Soup with Fish Maw & Crab

Thick Soup with Fish Maw & Crab

 
Opted the Prawn instead of the usual Oyster Oyster Omelette, it was my first try and a wonderful choice. The omelette was deep fried to golden brown and was very crispy under-which with a distinct yellow layer from the egg, a total different experience like those we had from the Hawkers.
Cost: $12
Prawn Omlette

Prawn Omlette

 
The sweet and spicy chilli compliments them well!
Prawn Omlette

Prawn Omlette

 
When love and hates collide - Love the luscious slabs of braised pork meat that was cooked to a tender perfection but worry about the cholesterol intake? The umami rich braised pork was irresistible despite its sinful fat and cholesterol. Just heck it! Eat first then say! smile
Cost: $16
Kong Ba

Kong Ba

 
The Steamed Bread with Braised Brisket ("Kong Ba Bao") - 扣肉花包 was to die for! Yums!
Kong Ba Bao

Kong Ba Bao

 
The authentic kind of Hokkien Mee with its dark and sweet savoury gravy over the flat yellow noodles. This is the MUST-TRY dish for True Blue Hokkiens.
Cost: $7 (Small)
Hokkien Mee

Hokkien Mee

 
Every strand of noodles was lavished with its sauce and it crispy pork lards was the bonus that brought the dish to another level of aroma! Seafood is reasonably fresh and filling. Almost all tables had this dish on their table by default. So what are you waiting for?
Hokkien Mee

Hokkien Mee

 
Last but not least, we were served with little bowls of green bean soup, complimentary desserts from Meng Hiang. These bowls of dessert once consumed has beneficial elements in cooling down the body system. It was cooked together with little translucent sago and right amount of sweetness.
Dessert

Dessert

 
To sum up, Beng Hiang is definitely a Gem to the Hokkiens, holding up the traditional values. The restaurant is big enough conduct events like traditional Chinese wedding. Service was quite okay with the helpers promptly topping up our pot of tea even though they knew we were not be ordering anymore food. What's more, no service charge was required!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Fish Maw Thick Soup with Crab Meat,Prawn Omlette,kong ba
 
Date of Visit: Oct 17, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0