OpenRice Index
  
wenxi
This is wenxi living in Jurong West. I am a Executive, work in Clementi. I like to hang out in Clementi, Jurong West, Boon Lay. Japanese, Thai, Vietnamese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hawker Centre and Sushi/Sashimi, Zi Char, Ramen, Fish.
Member 542 First(s)
No. of Review1728 Review(s)
編輯推介數目58 Editor's Choice
Recommended37 Recommended
Popularity11978 View(s)
Replies in Forum4 Comment(s)
Upload Photos11203 Photo(s)
Upload Videos22 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant565 My Restaurant(s)
Follow39 Following
粉絲1967 Follower(s)
wenxi  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 36 to 40 of 1728 Reviews in Singapore
Let's have chicken tonight! Smile Aug 18, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hainanese | Chicken Rice

Given a number of choices for dinner as we drove along the stretch of shop houses in Upper Thomson Road and out of all, we had decided to go for a healthier version of chicken rice, Chicken House, which was lauded for its luscious delicacies.
Shop Front

Shop Front

 
Look into the restaurant and you will see there are still alot of empty seats as we are rather early for dinner on a weekend. Helpers are all dressed in white polo tee with "Chicken House" in red on their back.
Inside the House

Inside the House

 
We were directed to a table next to a wall since we are dining in 3 as most of the bigger round tables were in the center of the restaurant. Food serving was amazingly fast, as the lady was taking our order, the plain rice and soup were already served on our table together with the tissues and utensils.

Food serving was made easier through the counter of kitchen in the restaurant. Take a look over at the square opening under the green signage, this is the place where the chef would ring the bell to alert the helpers when food is ready for serving.
Kitchen Counter

Kitchen Counter

 
Each table in the restaurant comes with a dish of seasoning. Customer will get to have their serving of spicy chicken rice chilli, sweet black sauce and blended ginger with the little saucers.
Seasonings

Seasonings

 
However, there was a gentle reminder pasted at the eyes level stating not to let them go into waste and we should take the amount of seasonings we required.
Do not waste Note

Do not waste Note

 
As the rice was served, I did not take any look as the lady was still taking order. I tried the soup and rice after she left our table. The soup is the essence from the chicken and was exceptionally tasty, we thought it was the magic of MSG but after drinking whole bowl of it, I was not thirsty.
Rice & Soup

Rice & Soup

 
The dish that steals the scene is this yellowish plate of half chicken. The shop promises that our meals are low in fat and cholesterol, given that kampong chicken was lean in nature, one can hardly find the layers of fat in them like what you find in a chicken rice stall.

The difference between the non kampong chicken is that they are injected with growth hormones which stimulates the growth for commercial purposes. On the contrary, kampong chicken are fed and reared without these stimulants and was healthier.

Being Kampong grown, they are generally thinner which means amount of meat may be lesser but they are firmer and of course better in serving!

Cost: $12.00 for half chicken
Kampong Chicken

Kampong Chicken

 
A simple dish, Ipoh Beansprouts that goes well with a plate of meat (kampong chicken), accompany the smooth and not greasy chicken with its crunchiness bites of the sprouts garnished with fried and spring onions and a little bit of sliced chilli.
Cost: $4.00
Beansprouts

Beansprouts

 
Vegetables like Xiao Bai Cai are also good to go with a plate of meat. They were drenched with light soya sauce and tastes crunchy as well.
Cost :$$4.00
Vegetables

Vegetables

 
The Chicken Ngoh Hiang was deep fried to a nice golden brown color and was cripsy on the outside and succulent on the inside accompanied by the sweet tasting sauce.
Cost: $4.00
Chicken Ngoh Hiang

Chicken Ngoh Hiang

 
Total of the meal together with 3 cups of cold barley sums up to $31.45 for 3 of us. Average spending is about $10.00 per head and I would say is money well spend for such quantity and quality of food!
Spendings

Spendings

 
Note:
(1) To avoid additional costs, one can return those packets of hand towels provided.
(2) There are limited parking lots, parking in diagonal and parallel is required if you are in front of the shop houses. Be early to avoid disappointment.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Kampong Chicken
 
Date of Visit: Aug 17, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

True Blue Xing Hua Cuisine Smile Aug 13, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Coffeeshop | Seafood | Zi Char

I was introduced to this place for its authentic Xing Hua's Cuisine of Putien (not the restaurant but a place in china eastern coastline of Fujian province) at an affordable pricing. Xing Hua Seafood Restaurant was was located in one of the run down eating houses located in the intersection of Race Course and Perumal Road. If you are tired of those highly commercialized Xing Hua Dishes in the malls/restaurants, I suggest that if you don't mind the lacking ambience, this truly Heng Hua Style dishes may just fit the bill.
Extra One Eating House

Extra One Eating House

 
Unfortunately, clams were not available during my visit and there goes my vongole dishes! sad

Mum's dialect is Heng Hua and immediately as this fried Mackerel slices was served on our table, it gave me the kind of familiarity and good feeling of home cooked food. Fish was well fried with little grease seen and filled with the aroma of ginger. The scent from the ginger had also to cover up the nature fishy smell of a mackerel. Each quarter of the meat was well defined and its flesh was rather tender under the crispiness of the fish skin tastes with some pinch of salt. I find it so irresistible and had them consumed using my bare hands!

Cost: S$6.00
Fried Fish

Fried Fish

 
Oyster egg was my favourite after the fried Mackerel! We was given such a big plate, with egg beat and mixed together in onions and oysters, moisture contents was well handled. Simply love the eggy smell and the taste of the oysters.

Cost: S$8.00
Oyster Egg

Oyster Egg

 
Xing Hua Lor Mee is not those conventional Lor Mee with brown thick gravy and braised meat we found in hawker centres. On the contrary, soup based are make of seafood and looks clear. Thick white Bee Hoon was used instead of the traditional yellow noodles. Soup tastes refreshing with pieces of fried fish cakes, cabbages, mushrooms and prawns.

Cost: S$4.00
Lor Mee

Lor Mee

 
The bowl of seaweed Soup was big and filled with shreds of dark green seaweed afloat. Soup tastes of tomatoes, eggs with the sweetness of oysters included. Although it was a simple dish, I find it rather refreshing.

Cost: $8.00
Seafweed Soup

Seafweed Soup

 
Xing Hua Bee Hoon was one of Pu Tien's signature dish. It came in a generous serving of Bee Hoon that even 2 stomachs cant handle them. Xing Hua Bee Hoon marks the difference from the usual Bee Hoon by its delicate and fine strings of Bee Hoon. The dish was filled with prawns, pork belly, mushrooms, cabbage, chye sim and eggs with a slight sprinkling of garlic oil to enhance the fragrance of the dish.
Cost: S$4.00
XIng Hua Bee Hoon

XIng Hua Bee Hoon

 
We was given a handwritten receipt by the servers when the last dish had arrived at our table. Having also tried the mall's Xing Hua Cuisine, this pricing and quantities of food are much more convincing.
Receipt

Receipt

 
Dining experience in Extra One Eating House was something I long for. The place where we were dining was separated by a railing with drainage beside the road (about a Metre away as I looked down into the drain from the platform that I'm dining). Once in a while, it just feels good to dine beside the road watching and enjoying the surroundings as such views from coffee shops are getting lesser in Singapore.

Waiting time was still alright as the dishes comes in staggered timings, about 5-10 minutes apart from each other.

It looked rather quiet during the National Day Evening when I was there with some foreign workers and police officers around, if you are planning for Xing Hua Cuisine I suggest you to dine in pair or a group for safety reasons.

Another good thing about the place that it is within walking distance to the MRT station and there are ample of open air parking lots available, one can just simple "watch" over the vehicle while dining. smile
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Fried mackerel,Lor Mee,Oyster Egg
 
Date of Visit: Aug 09, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Holiday Breakfast Smile Aug 09, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop

What could have turn a public holiday into such an enjoyable one? My answer will be just a meal down Casuarina road but of course not the Casurina Curry as it was overly crowded. A marvelous breakfast choice made even though it was quite a heavy meal and sacrificing the sleep hours in such a cooling weather especially during a rainy day but they are all well paid off.

Looking at its fruits drink on the menu, there were a handful of interesting drinks we can choose from and we had shortlisted the Bitter gourd with honey (Left) as well as the HK Style Yam Ice (Right). Bitter gourd drink tasted bitter in nature however taste was still bearable with the honey sweetening the entire drink while the Yam Ice was filled with yam's fragrance and coconut's milk, tasted close to a bowl of Bo Bo Cha Cha. Nice!
Our Drinks

Our Drinks

 
Kway Teow was clustered , sticking back to back and seemed hard to separate but it's just the small matter as they used lesser oil, making the plate non greasy. I had it well mixed with the sauce and taste wasn't that bad afterall. Most importantly, the chicken meat sweetness tastes special and uncommon from the usual shredded chicken I had. It was smooth, tender and juicy, well done! Vegetables via the sides were not the usual Xiao Bai Cai and what was given tasted crunchy.
Shredded Chicken Kway Teow

Shredded Chicken Kway Teow

 
Shredded Chicken Kway Teow (Close Up)

Shredded Chicken Kway Teow (Close Up)

 
Salute to this plate of Hong Kong Style Wan Tan Mee, even its soup tastes very rich with prawns flavours. Yellow Mee is absolute different from our usual thin yellow noodle and it gives hints of prawns flavour too in every strand of them. Mee was Q and springy doused in the light soy sauce and with big dumplings placed on top of them. Dumplings looks appetizing especially in its plump and crumpled looking translucent skin.
Wan Tan Mee with Soup

Wan Tan Mee with Soup

 
Wan Tan Mee

Wan Tan Mee

 
If you have tried Victor's Kitchen Carrot Cake, this is pretty similar. The "cha wan mushi" look-alike dish was actually its carrot cake. When seen from far, I thought they are selling some pudding. The softness cum its springy texture had blown me away. Dont worry, you definitely get to taste the bits of carrot in your cake. It was simply more than heaven! I will highly recommend this!
Carrot Cake

Carrot Cake

 
Char Siew Chee Cheong Fun is one of best sellers of Chef Chair Lao Ban. Not only that it is freshly made on the spot but also of its soft and thin skin that encase the ingredients properly. They were divided into smaller pieces with each of them doused with sweet soy sauce, sprinkled with cut spring onions and sesame seeds.
Char Siew Chee Cheong Fun

Char Siew Chee Cheong Fun

 
Char Siew Chee Cheong Fun (Close Up)

Char Siew Chee Cheong Fun (Close Up)

 
Chicken Shredded Porridge was a bonus to our breakfast (we are almost full) as we did not want to waste a trip down not trying its "Must-Try" dishes. Famous for its bowl size, we had ordered one bowl to try out. Fell in love with the softness and the mini cut fried fritters that comes with it. Those who don't enjoy roasted peanuts in the porridge will find it disturbing to consume when you have to bite the hard crust of them with the spoonful of congee. Shredded Chicken meat was exactly the same as the Kway Teow we had, and perfect!
Shredded Chicken Porridge

Shredded Chicken Porridge

 
The drink and noodle stall will sum up the business nature of Chef Chair Lao Ban's. The place is brightly lited with table and chairs well organized inside and out of the shop.
Inside the Shop

Inside the Shop

 
They had only a row of tables available for dining due to limitations of the pathway outside its shop.
Front View of Stall

Front View of Stall

 
Usually the shops' van will be parked in front of their stall and it's less likely we can get a good parking lot like this.
Front View Blocked by its Van

Front View Blocked by its Van

 
I find it funny to see the typical Hong Kong Man in his 30s wearing tee shirt and jeans, making his rounds to check if his customers' was served. Bald and carrying a big belly walking about and once in a while you will get to see him pulling his jeans all the way up way above the waist line, looking "different". And while he was walking again, his belly pushed his jeans and adjustment of jeans repeats. tongue. Anyway Chef Chair's service was prompt and better than average standards.

There was no receipt given and total cost of our breakfast (2 pax) is S$25 which we find it pretty reasonable for an Authentic Hong Kong Meal in Singapore.

Notes:
(1) For those who are dining in, just take a seat and servers will come to you while for those who are taking away, they are required to queue in front of the stall.
(2) They are selling Zi Char too but not in the morning.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Carrot Cake,Shredded Chicken Noodles,Porridge,Wan Tan Mee
 
Date of Visit: Aug 08, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $13(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food & Ice Cream. Smile Aug 07, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Ice Cream and Gelato | Pasta | Steaks and Grills | Halal

Swensen, the 1st place that won my heart for its delicious ice cream sundae during my childhood days. I remember then dining in Swensen of Changi Airport was such a big thing for me lending sweet memories as I rarely had the chance to travel so far, enjoying such expensive ice cream in restaurant through a family outing. Well, those were the days...

IMM had recently expanded its merchandise sizing and Swensen had relocate its unit, giving a new outlook throughout its entire restaurant.
Stall Front

Stall Front

 
As it was revamped, the place was well organized, having dining area is constructed in L-shaped with big mirrors placed along the walking aisles, portraying a spacious environment through our vision. The so-called "Swensen Lamps" are hanged above the tables and under the colorful glass shades of these tiffany lamps, it gave customers a warm & casual atmosphere.
Dining Area at the entrance

Dining Area at the entrance

 
Even the exterior design of the Swensens looks great!
Dining Area

Dining Area

 
Frankly speaking I had banned IMM's Swensen over the years due to my bad experience of their Banana Boat but I'm glad their service had somehow improved over these years.

Opted the Caesar Salad with breaded chicken. Never had I had such a big bowl of romaine lettuce before with its big fork and spoon that makes me feel like a giant munching on big leaves. Caesar Salad was refreshing especially with its dressing tossed with crunchy ingredients, letting off a good punch to my stomach.
Cost: S$12.00
Caesar Salad with Breaded Chicken

Caesar Salad with Breaded Chicken

 
Customer can choose over the plain Caesar Salad at S$10.00 or with breaded chicken/fish or with smoked salmon at additional cost. While I had the golden brown breaded chicken with my salad. Yum yum!
Breaded Chicken From Salad

Breaded Chicken From Salad

 
And Egg and Parmesan cheese is part of the Caesar salad too.
Eggs from the Salad

Eggs from the Salad

 
Cornflake Chicken? It must be a Swensen's creation! What a combination! This dish was actually back by popular demand. Enjoy the tender and juicy chicken generously coated with cripsy golden cornflakes giving off an extra gritty texture to the boneless meat!
Cost: S$15.50
Crispy Cornflake Chicken

Crispy Cornflake Chicken

 
Close up on the cornflakes

Close up on the cornflakes

 
Salted Gula Melka Heaven (New) - Sweet or salty? We have it mixed. An absolute perfect choice for the night with these rich creamy scoops of ice cream accompanied with almonds chip, chocolate balls and chocolate morsels. A "must-eat" to me even though I'm rather full after the mains. Totally irresistible!
Cost: S$9.90
Salted Gula Melaka Heaven

Salted Gula Melaka Heaven

 
Ordering Slip

Ordering Slip

 
Our total damage for the night!
Receipt

Receipt

 
Notes:
(1) Current Promotion - Enjoy 10% off total bill using ANZ Credit Card with the cost of the meal over $50 in single bill.
(2) Home delivery ice cream cakes are available.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Salted Gula Melaka Heaven
 
Date of Visit: Aug 06, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $22(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Bark Bark!  Smile Aug 05, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Seafood | Burgers and Sandwiches

Lauded for its excellent ambience in the east and away from the hustle and bustling city lives, the Bark Cafe is a definite choice to romance your date. smile We marked this place as our last stop before heading back to the west and called it a day.

As we approached the shelter after parking the car, the neon lighted signage of The Bark Cafe's led us to the entrance.
Let's Go

Let's Go

 
We came to the counter stand where it showed "Please Wait to be Seated" and started browsing through its menu which was placed on the stand. After flipping repeatedly through the menu, there was still no one attending to us, we decided to walked into the cafe ourselves.
Please Wait To Be Seated

Please Wait To Be Seated

 
As we walked into the cafe, the servers then noticed us and gave us a warm welcome with a free selection of seatings. We had the same magazine looking menu on our tables.
The Bark's Menu

The Bark's Menu

 
Ordered a jug of cranberry juice instead of having each a cup as we find it more economical to share this way. Servers are rather prompt in refilling our cups with the jar from time to time.
Cost: S$12.00 / Jug or S$4.50 / Glass
Jug of Drink

Jug of Drink

 
The pool table is located just beside our dining table. Customers can pay a sum and get to enjoy a pool game whilst waiting for their meal.
Pool Table

Pool Table

 
Crayfish Hor Fun's portion is just good enough for two. This wok-fried Kway Teow was fried to a perfection where you can actually taste the charred in them, accompanied with daily sea catch crayfish & seafood covered with its superior egg sauce essence. Dont miss this out!
Cost: S$17.90
Cray Fish Hor Fun

Cray Fish Hor Fun

 
Seafood like the "Sotong" (Squid) is delicately cute to a pleasing appearance, a bite of it simple discloses its chewy and Q tasting feeling.
Sotong

Sotong

 
Many of the hawker who prepared the the Hor Fun nowadays had actually forgotten that this is the most important area that makes a plate of Hor Fun Stands up but the bark cafe did it! Enjoy the charred smell of every mouthful of Hor Fun Tossed in the great tasting egg sauce essence. Yums!
Hor Fun

Hor Fun

 
Bark's Cafe Speciality Chicken is also voted one of the must tries dishes. Similar to our local "Har Cheong Kai" (Prawn Paste Chicken), it goes best even without any sauce. Be prepared to move your 10 fingers as they are pipping hot and finger licking good!
Cost: 3 Pieces - S$8.90
6 Pieces - S$15.90
Chicken Wings

Chicken Wings

 
Chapel Beef Stew has its beef knuckled steam and baked to a chewy softness with tomato, potato & vegetables served with french toast. Enjoy the meal with the crunchy and crispy toast dipped into the sweet sauce.
Cost: S$17.90
Chapel Beef Stew

Chapel Beef Stew

 
Garlic

Garlic

 
I did try the song dedication and when asked, this is only applicable on their live band nights during Monday and Tuesday.
Song Dedications

Song Dedications

 
Overall, their service is good and they will come changing our dirty plates in exchange for a new one. I will recommend this place especially you just want to laid back and have a relaxing weekend meal.

Recommendations
(1) For those who are mosquito-proned like me, equipped yourself with some mosquito repellent before dining.
(2) Located beside the Changi Chapel & Museum, the carparks lots are rather limited, be early to avoid disappointment.
(3) A very good place to throw your events.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Cray Fish Hor Fun
 
Date of Visit: Aug 04, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0