OpenRice Index
  
chewyjas
This is chewyjas living in Clementi. I am a Administrator, work in Alexandra. I like to hang out in Alexandra, Clementi, Jurong West. Japanese, Singaporean are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Restaurant and Desserts and Cakes, Juices.
Member 112 First(s)
No. of Review265 Review(s)
編輯推介數目28 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity4801 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1032 Photo(s)
Upload Videos1 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant8 My Restaurant(s)
Follow29 Following
粉絲286 Follower(s)
chewyjas  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 265 Reviews in Singapore
Tastes of Asia food at Sentosa Cry Jul 01, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Indian | Vietnamese | Multi-Cuisine

Personally, I felt that it's a great idea to have a restaurant that sells Asia food at our hottest tourist attraction spot in Sentosa instead of just having the usual fast food restaurants. This way, tourists from all over the World can get to try the unique flavours of Asia food too. For myself, I've also decided to try the food here instead of getting the fast food.

 
I ordered a Ayam Penyet set which looks delicious on the menu. It was a BIG mistake and a great disappointment when the food arrived. This dish should just be renamed to be called Chicken Drumstick rice instead. They served the Ayam Penyet using our usual Chicken Rice and with the chicken rice orange chili sauce. This is definitely not what I'm expecting. The most unique features of Ayam Penyet is their Sambal belacan chili that can jerks tears out not this type of Chicken Rice Chili sauce. sad So even though the chicken rice is rather tasty and the chicken drumstick is yummy, I felt cheated.
$6.80 Ayam Penyet

$6.80 Ayam Penyet

 
Asked for some black sauce and the young lad told me they don't have but we didn't believe him so we asked another female waitress and she went to get for us. Another downpoint here is there is totally no reception once inside the restaurant. If you want to make a call, you better make the call outside before coming in. Bad experience.
 
Date of Visit: Jun 03, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

KL Ancient Hokkien Mee Cry Apr 24, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court

I was famished after touring the ArtScience Museum and so I came to the Rasapura Masters for some food. Spotted a few people eating this dark brown thick noodle and not too long after, I spotted the big sign "Kuala Lumpur Ancient Hokkien Mee" and the photo matches what they are eating. Placed an order and waited for about 10 minutes because they only cooked for one serving each time instead of one big portion and divide out. This dish is definitely not suitable for me. After a few mouthful, I felt that I can't eat anymore because it's too oily. There's not much ingredients only fishcakes, cabbages and alot alot of pork lard. A few of the cabbages are not cut properly and are added in as big chunks. Totally regret buying this and felt so uncomfortable after forcing myself to finish the whole plate. sad
Uncle frying my KL Hokkien Mee

Uncle frying my KL Hokkien Mee

 
Oily Hokkien Mee

Oily Hokkien Mee

 
 
Date of Visit: Apr 18, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $6.80(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Poor service and tasteless food Cry Aug 24, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Café

We decided to grab a quick bite as we were only left with 30 minutes before we have to check in to our flight. Most of the cafes and restaurants were quite crowded except this. There's only a handful of foreigners inside. So we guess service should be fast enough. How wrong were we?
Chiller

Chiller

 
We grab 3 sandwiches at the chiller and proceed to the counter. We stood there for quite sometime while the two staffs at the counter had their back on us, minding their own business. Finally we can't wait any longer and call out to them.
Sandwiches

Sandwiches

 
The three sandwiches all cost the same whether it's Ham & Cheese, Egg Mayo or Tuna. At the price of $4.20, it doesn't taste any better compared to those sold in 7-Eleven! In fact, it's so dry that I need to get some water.
Lemon Chicken & parmesan Ciabatta

Lemon Chicken & parmesan Ciabatta

 
Their Lemon Chicken & Parmesan Ciabatta is not any much better. It's plain, dry and almost tasteless with the rough meat of the chicken. It's quite hard to swallow. The waiter just took it out, put on the plate and serve but it takes them like 5 minutes to serve us this item. It's not cheap either, it cost $10.50! So expansive!

 
Date of Visit: Aug 16, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $7.50(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Awful Vegetarian Fried Prawn Mee  Cry May 28, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Hawker Centre | Vegetarian

I seldom give bad review but this time I really can't find anything that is nice for this dish. Encounter some problem with the service too. I actually ordered (5) Veg, Crispy Noodle (Su4 Sheng1 Mian4) but the moment they served me yellow noodle, I knew something was wrong. So I asked them, and the two aunties said they heard me saying (Su4 Xia1 Mian4) which should be Veg Prawn Noodle. So looking at the list, it should be $2.50 so I ask for the $0.50 naturally. Then, they changed their statement to say they've cooked (Su4 Chao3 Xia1 Mian4) Veg Fried Prawn Noodle which is so different from what I wanted to ordered. Not wanting to create a scene and after some persuasion from the two aunties who gives me a thumbs up for the dish, I decided to give it a try.

Oh gosh, the vegetarian fried prawn noodle is tasteless! From the noodles to the ingredients added inside. Even the green chili couldn't help to make this dish any better. My colleague who tried it also say so. It's totally blend and it's like I'm just chewing rubber.

I might try their other dish but definitely not this dish again!
The list of dish

The list of dish

 
Bad! Vegetarian Fried Hokkien Mee

Bad! Vegetarian Fried Hokkien Mee

 
 
Date of Visit: May 27, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $3.00(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The soup is like plain water Cry May 19, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court | Seafood | Chinese Soup | Noodles

Perhaps due to the fact that I've eaten too many nice fish soup, the fish soup here definitely seems to score one of the lowest as compared to those that I've eaten before. Firstly, the fish is not fresh enough, I can still taste the fishy taste of the fish. It's purposely sliced until quite thin too. I've eaten cheaper with thicker slices of fish at other place before. The worst things is their soup. It just too blend. I have to add the whole lot of the chili padi into the soup to add some spice into it. That didn't help much too as I've really lost my appetite after eating half a bowl.
Plain fish soup

Plain fish soup

 
 
Date of Visit: May 07, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $3.50(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0