OpenRice Index
  
chewyjas
This is chewyjas living in Clementi. I am a Administrator, work in Alexandra. I like to hang out in Alexandra, Clementi, Jurong West. Japanese, Singaporean are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Restaurant and Desserts and Cakes, Juices.
Member 112 First(s)
No. of Review265 Review(s)
編輯推介數目28 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity4801 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1032 Photo(s)
Upload Videos1 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant8 My Restaurant(s)
Follow29 Following
粉絲286 Follower(s)
chewyjas  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 265 Reviews in Singapore
Dessert on the eve of CNY Smile Feb 24, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Ice Cream and Gelato

 

 

 

 

 
Met up with my friends for reunion dinner on the eve of Chinese New Year, it was about 10.30pm and a lot of shops were already closed. Luckily, we found this shop selling Italy Gelato ice-cream still open and there's seats for us too. So we made this our dessert for the night. They have some rather interesting flavors like Moscato and baileys. The Moscato and baileys are very mild so even kids can have it. Unlimited toppings are allowed but if you put too much, the ice-cream will be too sweet. So don't be greedy, take just the right amount. Enjoy.
 
Date of Visit: Feb 09, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Mid-Week dinner at Owl Cafe Smile Jan 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Fusion | Café

Menu

Menu

 
Teh

Teh

 
Curry Chicken with Bread

Curry Chicken with Bread

 
Kaya Butter Toast

Kaya Butter Toast

 

 
OWL coffee is a household brand name and ever since they've opened a cafe called OWL Cafe at Star Vista, the curiosity in me tells me that I've got to try it. My friend who've eaten there also highly recommend this cafe. So, we arranged to have our dinner there on this mid-week Wednesday.

The OWL Cafe is a cozy place to hang out and their food are inspired by the culturally rich Straits Asian region. The cafe has got alfresco and air-conditioned seating to choose from. The moment we stood at the door, the attentive staff were already there to help us press open the automated door.

We ordered Curry Chicken with bread and kaya butter toast for sharing and I had a cup of teh. The teh (milk tea) has a strong and fragrant aroma. Tea lovers would love it. The curry chicken gravy is thick and rich with coconut milk and the meat is tender, it doesn't stick to the bones. Dip with the plain toast is another way to eat them. I also love their kaya butter toast and it's our sweet dessert. Will definitely bring my parents to try this cafe soon.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 23, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Weekend Hi-Tea Buffet Smile Jan 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood | Kids-Friendly

Look no further for a quiet place to enjoy a meal with friends or family. Zhou Kitchen at Far East Square is the right choice. Ordering starts from 3pm to 5.15pm for their weekend hi-tea buffet. Each person only cost $16.80 and a minimum of 2 person to go.

They have a wide range of dishes for ordering. From the common Shrimp dumpling to the more unique crispy fish skin with spiced powder. One can order as much as you think you can eat but do take note that any excessive wastage will be
charged as the normal selling price of the item.

After ordering, the waitress will serve the dishes. The serving time is quite fast maybe also cause there's not much crowd at this outlet. Without any MRT, this place is quite inconvenient to go to.

After trying almost 85% of the dishes in the menu, the following is a few must-ordered item picked out by me.
Braised Corn Broth with Minced Chicken

Braised Corn Broth with Minced Chicken

 
Deep-fried Chicken marinated with Prawn Paste  Sauce

Deep-fried Chicken marinated with Prawn Paste Sauce

 
Steamed Pork and Shrimp Dumpling

Steamed Pork and Shrimp Dumpling

 
Steamed BBQ Pork Bun

Steamed BBQ Pork Bun

 
Crispy Vegetarian Spring Roll

Crispy Vegetarian Spring Roll

 
Fried Buns

Fried Buns

 
Braised Homemade Beancurd with Vegetables

Braised Homemade Beancurd with Vegetables

 
Noodle

Noodle

 
Soup is tasty and it got me craving for another bowl. Dumplings are pipping hot and same goes to the bun. Fried bun is my favourite even without any gravy to go with, I still like it very much. Need to order some green vegetables to let the tastebuds take a rest from the fried dishes. Not forgetting the yummy noodle to complete the meal. Will definitely go back to try other dishes.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 19, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Souperlicious Dinner  Smile Jan 19, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant | Chinese Soup

Chanced upon this restaurant at a little corner which is not very visible if we just walked the interior of the shopping mall. We were greeted by the friendly staff when entering.
Menu

Menu

 
Saw that there was an opening special for a set meal at $9.90 that is available whole day and we ordered that.
Root beer Float

Root beer Float

 
Jambalaya Chicken

Jambalaya Chicken

 
Chicken Wing

Chicken Wing

 

The set meal consist of Jambalaya Chicken, which is stir-fried chicken spaghetti in spicy, peppery gravy. The sauce is very unique and flavorful and they've added hot dog, baby tomatoes and some veggies as topping. The chicken wings turns out to be quite delicious too.
Seafood Galore Bread

Seafood Galore Bread

 
My set meal comes with a very small bowl of mushroom soup and I love it so much that I ordered an additional soup - Seafood Galore with their signature homemade Bread, freshly made without any form of preservatives for $16.30. You can also order it without the bread for $13.80. Now, comes the interesting part, the bread is actually like a "bowl" to contain the soup in the middle. Usually we would dip the bread in soup but this time round, as I drink the soup, I can eat the bread as well. Love this concept. For my Seafood Galore, it's simply cauliflower soup base with fish cubes, clams, crab meat and corn with a hint of turmeric. Indeed a feast in this "bowl" of thick soup!! Definitely worth the price.
Shop Front

Shop Front

 
Overall, it's a nice experience. Highly recommend to try the yummy and healthy soup that are prepared and served without Pork, Lard or MSG.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 08, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Love the waffle with maple syrup  Smile Dec 17, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean

Waffle set

Waffle set

 
Killiney always reminds me of their coffee and breakfast set. It's quite amusing to find two half boiled eggs in a waffle set but that is what Killiney offers. The waffle with maple syrup is really yummy. If only they offers the whole big round of waffle cause I can't get enough of it. The service here is not that well. When the staff passed me the half boiled eggs, he did not passed me the pepper and soy sauce and I had to get it from another table.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 08, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0