OpenRice Index
  
chewyjas
This is chewyjas living in Clementi. I am a Administrator, work in Alexandra. I like to hang out in Alexandra, Clementi, Jurong West. Japanese, Singaporean are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Restaurant and Desserts and Cakes, Juices.
Member 112 First(s)
No. of Review265 Review(s)
編輯推介數目28 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity4801 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1032 Photo(s)
Upload Videos1 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant8 My Restaurant(s)
Follow29 Following
粉絲286 Follower(s)
chewyjas  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 36 to 40 of 265 Reviews in Singapore
KL Ancient Hokkien Mee Cry Apr 24, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court

I was famished after touring the ArtScience Museum and so I came to the Rasapura Masters for some food. Spotted a few people eating this dark brown thick noodle and not too long after, I spotted the big sign "Kuala Lumpur Ancient Hokkien Mee" and the photo matches what they are eating. Placed an order and waited for about 10 minutes because they only cooked for one serving each time instead of one big portion and divide out. This dish is definitely not suitable for me. After a few mouthful, I felt that I can't eat anymore because it's too oily. There's not much ingredients only fishcakes, cabbages and alot alot of pork lard. A few of the cabbages are not cut properly and are added in as big chunks. Totally regret buying this and felt so uncomfortable after forcing myself to finish the whole plate. sad
Uncle frying my KL Hokkien Mee

Uncle frying my KL Hokkien Mee

 
Oily Hokkien Mee

Oily Hokkien Mee

 
 
Date of Visit: Apr 18, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $6.80(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Chewy Mini Satay Sticks Smile Apr 23, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Desserts and Cakes

Too full to eat the whole chewy junior puff or too embarrassed to share it with friends? Try this "Satay" Stick which is a great light snack to have after dinner. The bite size makes it easy to share with others too. The taste is the same as the original size ones but the skin is not crispy but sweet with the sprinkled chocolate. It's soft and chewy with the inside full of creams. Health conscious would be pleased to know that this is not fried but baked one.
Mini Chewy Junior Stick

Mini Chewy Junior Stick

 
 
Date of Visit: Apr 12, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $2.50(Supper)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

ORTU High Tea Buffet Smile Apr 22, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | Restaurant | Sushi/Sashimi | Buffet

I'm really lucky to be one of the ten OpenRicer who got the invitation for the first OpenRice Tasty Untion (ORTU) of 2012. The best part is we got to feast all we can for free and the fact that Plaza Brasserie is an award-winning buffet restaurant makes me look forward to this event even more. This is my first time eating here and when I got there, I was amazed by the posh ambiance and set up of the restaurant. We were brought into a more private dinning area, away from the hustle and bustle of the main buffet area and with soft music playing in the background.
Braised Sea Cucumber with Roast Pork & Mushroom

Braised Sea Cucumber with Roast Pork & Mushroom

 
With such a wide spread of dishes, I really don't know where to start from. Luckily, beforehand, we have followed Karen the MarCom Manager for a short tour. So I started with her favourite and recommended dishes. As they are currently having this Heritage Buffet Feast till 30 April, some of the dishes really are those traditional favourites. Dishes like Braised Sea Cucumber with Roast Pork & Mushroom, Braised Pork Balls with Mui Chye, Soft Shell Crab with Tobiko Mayo. These three dishes are the main highlights! The taste brings back memories of my grandpa's home-cooked meal in the past.
Chicken Shawarma

Chicken Shawarma

 

Another not to be missed dish is their Chicken Shawarma. The smile of this lady chef makes her counter very approachable. This dish is rather a great combinations of the crunchy, fresh veggie and soft, tender meat wrapped up together. Tasty indeed.
Salad

Salad

 
The salad corner is not to be missed too. With so many different kind of bread and dressings to choose from. My favourite here is the potato salad but be cautious to try small bites only as just the salad can make one quite full too.
Hanainese Chicken Rice

Hanainese Chicken Rice

 
Hainanese Chicken Rice is our local delights. The fragrance of the rice with the chicken rice chili, ginger and black sauce is so familiar and so nice.
Drunken prawn

Drunken prawn

 
Japanese Sushi

Japanese Sushi

 
Desserts

Desserts

 
Don't forget to try their drunken prawn, Japanese Sushi, and the spread of sweet treats available too. The drunken prawn soup is not too overwhelmed with the herbal taste and the Japanese sushi and sashimi are all very fresh. As for the desserts, I guess I needn't elaborate more. Look at the photos, tempting enough?
Carrot Cake

Carrot Cake

 
To end the events, each of us got a slice of their new addition of the dessert lists which is the carrot cake. This carrot cake is extremely moist and full or texture and the cream cheese frosting is yummy. I will definitely plan some of the celebrations at Plaza Brasserie in the near future. Once again, thank you OpenRice and Thank you Plaza Brasserie for this wonderful afternoon of High Tea Buffet! lol
 
Date of Visit: Apr 14, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Food Court | Porridge/Congee | Brunch

This claypot porridge was served with century egg, meat, anchovies, and peanuts, sprinkled with spring onions and sesame oil. The century egg and meat is only a small portion but the porridge is super hot and in a big portion. So much so that I alone cannot really finished it. After finishing the porridge, tend to feel very thirsty could be they've added lots of pepper to make it tasty.
Century Egg Porridge

Century Egg Porridge

 
 
Date of Visit: Mar 31, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $4.90(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

4-Course Vday Set dinner menu Smile Apr 06, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Kids-Friendly

Located along Tanjong Katong Road, this is one cafe that doesn't like to take itself too seriously but trust me, their food is seriously nice. The cafe is cozy and makes one feel very comfortable in with its baby blue and pink theme. The whole wall is filled with framed cartoon figures of Kyra and her random acts of cuteness.

I bought a Valentine's day set menu deal on a famous deal website and these are what is inclusive.

Starter
Cream of Mushroom Soup

Cream of Mushroom Soup

 
Cream of Mushroom Soup with Toasted Garlic bread. Mushroom soup is rich and savoury. Thumbs up.

Appertizer
Soft Shell Crab Creaser Salad

Soft Shell Crab Creaser Salad

 
Soft Shell Crab Creaser Salad. The soft shell crab is a bit too fried. So it's not to my taste and I didn't eat much.

Entree
Roasted Rosemary half Chicken

Roasted Rosemary half Chicken

 
Rosemary half Chicken. Stuffed with the chef's special stuffing, slow baked to a golden brown and served with a mixture of poached vegetable, baked potatoes and brown sauce. This is delicious although I had a hard time cutting the chicken.

Dessert
Baked Choco lava cake

Baked Choco lava cake

 
The yummilicious Chocolate Lava cake with Vanilla Ice Cream and Chocolate Syrup. I had high standard for chocolate lava cakes as I have tasted some really delicious ones and really bad ones too. The most common bad ones are because of the dryness of the cake. This one at With a Pinch of Salt has the right moisture right , with hot chocolate oozing out and the perfect combination of the cold vanilla ice-cream. This dessert really makes me wanted to go back for a second visit.

Overall, this cafe is suitable for all ages and they have been featured on TV programs too. Service wise is great too. Staff were attentive to our requests and also helped us to take photos.
 
Date of Visit: Feb 13, 2012 

Celebration:  情人節 

Spending per head: Approximately $25.00(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0