OpenRice Index
  
elgenahearts
This is elgenahearts living in Punggol. I am a Secretary , work in Macpherson. I like to hang out in Bugis, City Hall, Dhoby Ghaut. Japanese, Korean, Multi-Cuisine, Nonya, Western, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hotel, Restaurant, Café, Bakery and Buffet , Desserts and Cakes, Dim Sum, Korea food.
Member 1 First(s)
No. of Review7 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity298 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos108 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant7 My Restaurant(s)
Follow64 Following
粉絲80 Follower(s)
elgenahearts  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 7 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese Soup

For the month of September, The Soup Spoon launched their Souper Inspiration Japan. Souperchef Anna had come out with 3 different Japan themed soups, “Japanese Style Vegan Sweet Potato Curry”, “Nikujaga Wasabi Beef Stew” and “Salmon Head Touyu Nabe” using the different types of stable or comfort Japan food.

 
The combination of both Japanese purple sweet potato and orange sweet potato chunks. The sweet potatoes were soft but not mushy. One thing I love about Japan curry was that usage of roasted apple in their curry bring out the natural sweetness. The other key ingredient was honey. It gave the curry the sweetness and also help to tame the spiciness.

 
The main highlight of the stew is the seiyo wasabi that was added in to give the whole concept a twist. Surprisingly, the combination was really good.Souperchef Anna also added Konnyaki which tasted like jelly but with a firmer texture. Knnoyaki is know for its almost zero calories and high in fibre.

 
The soup stock was made with salmon head, soya milk, shiro miso. I like the light yet rich combination of the soup broth. The Ichigo Tsukune Balls combining prawns, mentaiko, yamaimo, ginger and tofu together. The Ichigo Tsukune Balls were very flavorful and springy, how I wish they can have more Ichigo Tsukune Balls in the soup.

 
The grounded black sesame powder mixed with the light fluffy chiffon cake was irresistible. The layer of Black Sesame Butter cream was great in adding the slight sweetness to the overall taste. 

For full review check out : http://www.elgenahearts.com/the-soup-spoon-september-souper-inspiration-japan/

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Japanese style Vegan Sweet Potato Curry,Black Sesame Cake
 
Date of Visit: Sep 01, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

BRUNCH AT THE HANGAR Smile Sep 04, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | Café | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches

 
The Hangar is a Aussie styled cafe with an industry concept interior design that specialize in coffees, sandwiches and salads. Situated at the far end of Arab Street making it a perfect hang out venue away from all the crowd. A nice cozy cafe to catch up with your friends while enjoying the good coffees and food that are served in The Hangar.

 
The shredded chickens were tender, the curry get absorbed into the shredded chickens quickly making it more delicious. The Organic Buckwheat Soba were cooked perfectly maintaining the chewy texture. The curry was quite mild yet rich, good to go for people who cannot take too spicy food. Not forgetting about those who love a extra kick of spiciness, they had thoughtful topped a extra spoon of chili paste for you.

 
You will never go wrong with Norwegian Smoked Salmon. All of us enjoy the velvety and creamy scrambled eggs that goes along with the Norwegian Smoked Salmon. The homemde Dill Aioli perfectly accompaniment the whole dish.

 
The plate was over populated with the bacon, pork sausage, sauteed mushroom, saute cherry tomatoes, sunny side up, sour bread and the spicy bake beans. The sunny side up reflected my mum style of golden brown egg brim. The pork sausage was very juicy and tender. Instead of the usual sweet ketchup bake beans, the hint of spiciness make the bake beans extra appetizing.

For full review check out : http://www.elgenahearts.com/brunch-at-the-hangar/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Organic Soba Curry Noodles,The Hangover
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 01, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | Buffet

In conjunction of Singapore 50, The Square @ Novotel Clarke Quay is launching a Peranakan themed Buffet Line by Chef Kishen for the month of August.
Every month, The Square will launch a different themed buffet line. For the month of July, it was "Sweet Indulgences" by Chef Sin Siak featuring his cakes and desserts creations.

 
I am honour to be invited through Open Rice to have the first insight and taste of the upcoming Peranakan Buffet Line as well as the chance to try out the July "Sweet Indulgences".

What will be the first dish you can think of coming to Peranakan cuisine?

For me is Ayam Buah Keluak!

 
To aid the eating experience, the chicken was not stuff into to Buah Keluak Shell.
The tender and juicy chicken accompanied with the nutty flavor from the Buah Kelauak made a perfect combination. If they could be lighter on salt that will be perfect.

Babi Pongteh, stewed pork with fermented soya bean.

 
I love the potatoes and mushrooms which had absorbed all the savoury sauce. The sauces goes perfectly well with rice.

 
For the Devil Curry, Chef Kishen uses fresh ingredients like Chilli Padi, Turmeric and other herb to cook up the base of the Devil.
The chicken had absorbed the fragrance of the different condiments making it extra tasty.

 
The Nonya Style Assam Fish was served in both steam and deep fried styled.
It does not have much of the Assam taste of sourness with hint of spicy. It will be great if the gravy can be more flavorful.

 
For Bakwan Kepiting, Chef Kishen had substituted the traditional crab meat with chicken.
I love the firm and springy texture of the meatballs. However, the soup base was on a saltier side which I believe can be improved on easily.

 
The super crunchy Kueh Pie Tee cup filled with appetizing mixture of turnips, prawns and eggs made a good end or start to the meal.

Other than the Special Peranakan Menu, THE SQUARE also be serving the resident dishes at the buffet line.
THE SQUARE served a good combination of Asian and Western food including some local delights like Laska, Rojak etc

 
Oysters Fritters is an amazing accident creation by Chef Jimmy. The lightly tempura coated oyster simply burst in flavor when you bite into it.
The special sauce combination of both spicy and salty brought out the sweetness of the oyster.

 
Chicken Shawarma is one of the must eat item on the buffet line. The well marinated chicken slices was succulent. The veggies added crunch and made the wrap super delicious.

 
The laska did not disappoint me, the laska gravy was surprisingly thick and flavorful. The light fragrant of the coconut milk linger in your mouth after every mouthful of gravy.

The bee hoon was cooked perfectly too. Most importantly, you can choose your favorite ingredients you like for your laska.

 
This is the best Risotto I ever had. Those that I had before was either overcook or under cook, however the chef did it perfectly. The risotto rice was nicely incorporated with the creamy mushroom sauce. Every grain of Risotto rice was bursting with flavors.

 
The Durian Pengat was their signature desserts and it a definite must try. The Durian Pengat was rich yet light, I wonder how the chef achieve the amazing texture. Instead of the normal sugar, the chef used Gula Melaka to bring out the flavor of the Durian Pengat. Apart from the richness of the durian, you are able to taste the light sweetness and fragrant of the Gula Melaka.

For full review on the Pernakan Buffet by The Square @ Novotel Clarke Quay, do check out at http://www.elgenahearts.com/peranakan-buffet-at-the-square-novotel-clarke-quay-for-august-only/

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Risotto,Ayam Buah Keluak,Kueh Pie Tee,Durian Pengat
 
Date of Visit: Jul 29, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $58(Dinner)

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Criollo Cocoa Cafe Smile Jun 16, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Burgers and Sandwiches

Thanks to OpenRice invite or not I will never discover this hidden cafe in the Level 2 Orchard Gateway overlooking the Somerset Junction.
If you are looking of a quiet place to chill out after all the shopping spree or a heart to heart session with your girlfriends. Do check Criollo Cocoa Cafe out.
At Criollo Cocoa Cafe, they serve all day breakfast, burgers, pastas and dessert at a affordable price. Most importantly, there no service charge and GST. You can also enjoy free Wi-fi from Orchard Gateway.

 

 
The home styled Big Breakfast include 2 scrambled eggs, served with chicken sausage, sautéed mushrooms, bacon (Pork or Turkey), hash brown, butter toast and fresh fruits in sweet yogurt. The scrambled egg was creamy but abit too heavy on salt. The chicken sausage, bacon, hashbrown was normal. I love the concept that they added in the fruit yogurt to round up the wholesome breakfast platter.
However, I will not pay the usual price of $16.90 for the big breakfast set. I have to make sure my money and calories intake is worth the amount I paid. Other reason was that I can simply whip up the Big Breakfast at home at a much lower cost.

 
I love Portobello Mushroom! The Grilled Portobello mushroom accompanied with onions, capsicum, cheese, lettuce and sliced tomato was making me hungry for it. The overflowing of sauce and mayonnaise made it look super appetizing. I simply cannot wait to sink my teeth into the burger. The moment when we cut into the burger, the juice of the Portobello Mushroom oozes out. It will be perfect if the ratio of the Portobello Mushroom and the Bun is almost equal.
I will recommend you to try out their Portobello Burger. It will be a dish that you will definitely return for.

 
A combination of the western pasta and our local favorite dish, Laksa. This is one of my favorite dish in the whole tasting event. The al denti spaghetti coated with the special Laksa sauce along with the fresh seafood simply explode in your mouth. The special Laksa sauce was done perfectly with the hint of spiciness and the sweetness of the coconut milk. They were also generous with the seafood.

 
In my concept of Mixed Grilled Platter was a plate filled with different kinds of grilled meat and a must order for meat lover. This dish was really a disappointment. The Grilled chicken and beef on skewers was dry and tasteless. The black pepper chicken sausages was still alright as it was black peppered. I do not understand why there was coleslaw and the pile of Arugula doing in a mixed grilled platter. Sadly to say out of the whole platter, I prefer the straight cut fries.

 
A great way to end the dinner with Chocolate Waffles. Instead of those huge fluffy and thick waffles, their Cocoa flavored waffle was thinner but softer yet rich. Accompanied by the Homemade Chocolate Gelato was so irresistible. For a price of $9.90, this chocolate waffle is definitely worth the price and the most value for money dessert in Orchard.

For full review, do check out : http://www.elgenahearts.com/criollo-cocoa-cafe/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Portobello Burger,Seafood Laksa Pasta,Chocolate Waffle
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 11, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Enjoy homecooked Japanese food Smile Jun 06, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Bars/Lounges | Café | Sushi/Sashimi

Situated along the Mohamed Sultan Road, there a humble Japanese restaurant which serve homecooked Japanese Food which better then mom's cooking.

 
Ippin Cafe Bar was opened in October 2014 by Ms Ayumi Fujishiro.
Ippin Cafe Bar is a cozy cafe where can be your hidden hangout, an unassuming lunch/dinner spot, a seat at a sake bar or weekend chill out place.
In Ippin Cafe Bar, they serve home styled classic Japanese food.
Be sure that, you will be able to find your comfort food in Ippin Cafe Bar.

 
Yakisoba Set ($12 Nett)
Yakisoba is a Japanese daily food. It's like our normal Chinese Fried Noodle which most of our mom will cook. The buckwheat noodle was flavored perfectly with their Ippin's savory sauce.
I love the combination of the cabbage and carrots in the Yakisoba. The crunchiness of the cabbage had enhanced the taste of the dish.

 
Oyakudon Set ($15 Nett)
Oyakudon is one of my favorite Japanese main course. The egg was silky and paired nicely with the tender chicken bite. Even though, I prefer rice with more sauce, I felt that they had too much dashi as the rice was literally soaking in them. It will be great if the dashi was just right.
For a Oyakudon Set at $15 Nett with Miso Soup and Hojicha Pudding, I will definitely be back for it.
The oysters which are served in Ippin Cafe Bar are from Hiroshima Prefecture where they are famous for their oysters in Japan. Rest assure on the quality of the oyster.
To be true, this is the first time I tried oyster. Previously, I always felt that oyster have a very strong fishy smell and slimy. This time round I kind of enjoy the both cooking method of oysters served by Ippin Cafe Bar.

 
Deep Fried Oyster Set ($24 Nett)

 
The oysters were lightly coated with bread crumbs batters making it crispy on the outside. I like the light wasabi egg mayo.
It does not have much of the wasabi taste, but the little pieces of egg white chunks had leveled the wasabi mayo. How I hope they sell the wasabi egg mayo.

 
Grilled Oyster & Veggies in Ponzu Butter Sauce Set ($20 Nett)

 
Here the big juicy oyster which Ippin Cafe Bar served. The oysters are grilled in Pongzu (Yuzu vineger) butter. Along with the grilled vegetables, the oyster was indeed have a refreshing taste.
Both the oyster sets are served along with Hatcho Miso Soup, Nikujaga pork and potato stew, Salad and Houjicha Pudding.
To pair along with the oysters dishes that we are having, we had Sakae.

 

 
The Sakae was smooth and refreshing. According to the person in charge, the sakae will taste slightly different when you drink from the wooden cup.

 
What best to go with seafood other than Sakae is Beer. I tried their Kanazawa Hyakumangoku Beer Koshihikari Ale. The beer is make with Koshihikari, one of the most famous and delicious type of Japanese Rice.
The beer is very light and smooth. It had a slightly nutty and sweetness it in. Perfect for the hot and humid weather recently.
Overall, Ippin Cafe Bar is a great cafe bar to chill and relax while enjoying good Japanese food with your friends. Other than dinning, you are also able to have a little shopping spree at Ippin Cafe Bar. They offers various Japanese products and condiments.

For full review: http://www.elgenahearts.com/ippin-cafe-bar-enjoy-homecook-japanese-food/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Deep Fried Oyster Set,Oyakudon Set
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 30, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0