OpenRice Index
  
elgenahearts
This is elgenahearts living in Punggol. I am a Secretary , work in Macpherson. I like to hang out in Bugis, City Hall, Dhoby Ghaut. Japanese, Korean, Multi-Cuisine, Nonya, Western, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hotel, Restaurant, Café, Bakery and Buffet , Desserts and Cakes, Dim Sum, Korea food.
Member 1 First(s)
No. of Review7 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity292 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos108 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant7 My Restaurant(s)
Follow64 Following
粉絲80 Follower(s)
elgenahearts  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 7 Reviews in Singapore
BRUNCH AT THE HANGAR Smile Sep 04, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | Café | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches

 
The Hangar is a Aussie styled cafe with an industry concept interior design that specialize in coffees, sandwiches and salads. Situated at the far end of Arab Street making it a perfect hang out venue away from all the crowd. A nice cozy cafe to catch up with your friends while enjoying the good coffees and food that are served in The Hangar.

 
The shredded chickens were tender, the curry get absorbed into the shredded chickens quickly making it more delicious. The Organic Buckwheat Soba were cooked perfectly maintaining the chewy texture. The curry was quite mild yet rich, good to go for people who cannot take too spicy food. Not forgetting about those who love a extra kick of spiciness, they had thoughtful topped a extra spoon of chili paste for you.

 
You will never go wrong with Norwegian Smoked Salmon. All of us enjoy the velvety and creamy scrambled eggs that goes along with the Norwegian Smoked Salmon. The homemde Dill Aioli perfectly accompaniment the whole dish.

 
The plate was over populated with the bacon, pork sausage, sauteed mushroom, saute cherry tomatoes, sunny side up, sour bread and the spicy bake beans. The sunny side up reflected my mum style of golden brown egg brim. The pork sausage was very juicy and tender. Instead of the usual sweet ketchup bake beans, the hint of spiciness make the bake beans extra appetizing.

For full review check out : http://www.elgenahearts.com/brunch-at-the-hangar/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Organic Soba Curry Noodles,The Hangover
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 01, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese Soup

For the month of September, The Soup Spoon launched their Souper Inspiration Japan. Souperchef Anna had come out with 3 different Japan themed soups, “Japanese Style Vegan Sweet Potato Curry”, “Nikujaga Wasabi Beef Stew” and “Salmon Head Touyu Nabe” using the different types of stable or comfort Japan food.

 
The combination of both Japanese purple sweet potato and orange sweet potato chunks. The sweet potatoes were soft but not mushy. One thing I love about Japan curry was that usage of roasted apple in their curry bring out the natural sweetness. The other key ingredient was honey. It gave the curry the sweetness and also help to tame the spiciness.

 
The main highlight of the stew is the seiyo wasabi that was added in to give the whole concept a twist. Surprisingly, the combination was really good.Souperchef Anna also added Konnyaki which tasted like jelly but with a firmer texture. Knnoyaki is know for its almost zero calories and high in fibre.

 
The soup stock was made with salmon head, soya milk, shiro miso. I like the light yet rich combination of the soup broth. The Ichigo Tsukune Balls combining prawns, mentaiko, yamaimo, ginger and tofu together. The Ichigo Tsukune Balls were very flavorful and springy, how I wish they can have more Ichigo Tsukune Balls in the soup.

 
The grounded black sesame powder mixed with the light fluffy chiffon cake was irresistible. The layer of Black Sesame Butter cream was great in adding the slight sweetness to the overall taste. 

For full review check out : http://www.elgenahearts.com/the-soup-spoon-september-souper-inspiration-japan/

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Japanese style Vegan Sweet Potato Curry,Black Sesame Cake
 
Date of Visit: Sep 01, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Scrumptious Dinner Smile May 26, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Dim Sum

Taking about having Dim Sum for dinner or supper.
Other then Dim Sum at 126 Eating House at Geylang, Swee Choon Tim Sum Restaurant will always be in the Dim Sum Supper List.
After hearing and reading a lot of rave reviews from my friends and fellow bloggers. I brought my boyfriend there for dinner.

 
Located at the heart of Jalan Besar, in the district of Little India, Swee Choon Tim Sum Restaurant had always been popular among Singaporeans and tourists. Swee Choon Tim Sum Restaurant opened for business in 1962 and had been around for more then 50 years.
Swee Choon Tim Sum Restaurant served a combination of both Hong Kong and ShangHai Dim Sum. They provides both air- conditioned as well as alfresco dining in the back alley.
If you are want to dine in the air conditioned part of the restaurant, I will advise you to be there early especially for dinner time to beat the queue.
If you are hungry when you reached the restaurant like me, you can skip the queue by choosing to sit at the non air-conditioned part of the restaurant or the alfresco dining.
Personally, I prefer the alfresco dining in back alley even though the lighting was quite bad for photo taking. I like the feeling that you are not dinning in the modern Singapore, it kind of bring you back in time when people dine at the road side.

 
Fried Mee Sua
This is one of Swee Choon's Signature dish, Fried Mee Sua. This plate of Fried Mee Sua may look easy to cook, however it requires a lot of skills. Normally, Mee Sua has this very soft texture and easily broken. The chef did a pretty good job in frying this plate of Mee Sua as the each strain of noodle is so springy and fragrant. The shredded cabbages and bean sprouts added crunch to the noodle. The most critical part that the chef had passed was that the plate of Mee Sua is not oily at all. I had also been not a lover toward carbohydrate, but this time round I really cannot stop eating the Fried Mee Sua.

 
Mee Sua Kueh
Other Mee Sua dishes by Swee Choon and also their Signature dish. However, this time round, I am not very impress with the Mee Sua Kueh. The Mee Sua Kueh is a creative version of carrot cake. The top layer is Pan Fried Crispy Mee Sua and the bottom layer is soft Mee Sua with Kueh. I feel that the Mee Sua Kueh was quite greasy. Not sure isn't that I had left it on the table for quite a while. My boyfriend did not really like it too. We both find the texture is too soft.

Find out more details: http://www.elgenahearts.com/scrumptious-dinner-at-swee-choon-dim-sum-restaurant/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Fried Mee Sua,Steamed Salted Egg Yolk Custard Bun,Law Mai Gai,Portuguese Egg Tart
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 22, 2015 

Celebration:  紀念日 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

JIA LE HONG KONG ROASTED FOOD Smile May 26, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Coffeeshop | Roasted Meat

The most difficult question to answer everyday will probably be ” Where do you want to go for lunch? ”
Deciding where to dine at the same area five consecutive days was really a hassle. The greatest thing about lunch time is when you spotted new dining place.
Having lunch in my office area was kind of boring as we are situated in the industry area where food choices are limited.

 
Recently, Jia Le Hong Kong Roasted Food had open their outlet near my office. We decided to had our lunch there.

 
According to my knowledge, Jia Le Hong Kong Roasted Food had one outlet in Marina Square’s food court and Marina Bay Sand’s food court.
Jia Le Hong Kong Roasted Food is famous for their Sucking Pig and Roasted meat. Master Chef Charles had more then 25 years experience in Roasted Food.
I am unsure whether this outlet which I had was the main or franchise.

 
Nevertheless, the Char Siew and Roast Pork Rice never failed me and my colleagues.

For the price of $3.50, we all felt that the Char Siew and Roast Pork Rice was valued for money due to the huge portion.
The serving of the Char Siew and Roast Pork was generous too.
Jia Le Hong Kong Roasted Food emphasis on Charcoal grill which is also the most traditional method of roasting.
The Char Siew was not too fatty yet juicy. Most importantly, the meat is not dry. I love the slightly sweet and burnt taste of the Char Siew.
As for the Roasted Pork Slices, I like that the skin, meat and fats are evenly distributed. You don’t feel the oiliness and sickness in your mouth.
Other then that, the skin was very crispy which was a huge plus point for me.

 

 
Overall, We don’t mind dinning a few times a week at Jia Le Hong Kong Roasted Food as they provide quite a variety of food.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 22, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Criollo Cocoa Cafe Smile Jun 16, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Burgers and Sandwiches

Thanks to OpenRice invite or not I will never discover this hidden cafe in the Level 2 Orchard Gateway overlooking the Somerset Junction.
If you are looking of a quiet place to chill out after all the shopping spree or a heart to heart session with your girlfriends. Do check Criollo Cocoa Cafe out.
At Criollo Cocoa Cafe, they serve all day breakfast, burgers, pastas and dessert at a affordable price. Most importantly, there no service charge and GST. You can also enjoy free Wi-fi from Orchard Gateway.

 

 
The home styled Big Breakfast include 2 scrambled eggs, served with chicken sausage, sautéed mushrooms, bacon (Pork or Turkey), hash brown, butter toast and fresh fruits in sweet yogurt. The scrambled egg was creamy but abit too heavy on salt. The chicken sausage, bacon, hashbrown was normal. I love the concept that they added in the fruit yogurt to round up the wholesome breakfast platter.
However, I will not pay the usual price of $16.90 for the big breakfast set. I have to make sure my money and calories intake is worth the amount I paid. Other reason was that I can simply whip up the Big Breakfast at home at a much lower cost.

 
I love Portobello Mushroom! The Grilled Portobello mushroom accompanied with onions, capsicum, cheese, lettuce and sliced tomato was making me hungry for it. The overflowing of sauce and mayonnaise made it look super appetizing. I simply cannot wait to sink my teeth into the burger. The moment when we cut into the burger, the juice of the Portobello Mushroom oozes out. It will be perfect if the ratio of the Portobello Mushroom and the Bun is almost equal.
I will recommend you to try out their Portobello Burger. It will be a dish that you will definitely return for.

 
A combination of the western pasta and our local favorite dish, Laksa. This is one of my favorite dish in the whole tasting event. The al denti spaghetti coated with the special Laksa sauce along with the fresh seafood simply explode in your mouth. The special Laksa sauce was done perfectly with the hint of spiciness and the sweetness of the coconut milk. They were also generous with the seafood.

 
In my concept of Mixed Grilled Platter was a plate filled with different kinds of grilled meat and a must order for meat lover. This dish was really a disappointment. The Grilled chicken and beef on skewers was dry and tasteless. The black pepper chicken sausages was still alright as it was black peppered. I do not understand why there was coleslaw and the pile of Arugula doing in a mixed grilled platter. Sadly to say out of the whole platter, I prefer the straight cut fries.

 
A great way to end the dinner with Chocolate Waffles. Instead of those huge fluffy and thick waffles, their Cocoa flavored waffle was thinner but softer yet rich. Accompanied by the Homemade Chocolate Gelato was so irresistible. For a price of $9.90, this chocolate waffle is definitely worth the price and the most value for money dessert in Orchard.

For full review, do check out : http://www.elgenahearts.com/criollo-cocoa-cafe/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Portobello Burger,Seafood Laksa Pasta,Chocolate Waffle
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 11, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0