OpenRice Index
  
dcs12m
This is dcs12m living in Tampines. I am a Residence Manager, work in Fort Road. I like to hang out in Arab Street, Beach Road, Boat Quay. Korean, Thai, Indian are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café and Zi Char.
Member 78 First(s)
No. of Review264 Review(s)
編輯推介數目14 Editor's Choice
Recommended9 Recommended
Popularity3655 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos7579 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant174 My Restaurant(s)
Follow28 Following
粉絲342 Follower(s)
dcs12m  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 264 Reviews in Singapore
Charcoal Thai BBQ And Steamboat Cry Aug 14, 2017   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Buffet | Mookata

Jasmine Green Tea

Jasmine Green Tea

 
Thai Milk Tea

Thai Milk Tea

 
Cracker

Cracker

 
Mixed Vegetables Platter

Mixed Vegetables Platter

 
Mookata Set

Mookata Set

 

We had reserved a table of two by using Quandoo mobile app since Charcoal Thai restaurant is a popular place for the younger crowd because of the great location. Therefore, my girlfriend and me walked into this restaurant after finished watching A Family Man in Shaw.


Average Thai ice milk tea was being served as I thought it was a free flow, which the waitress initially told us before we made an order and did not mention free flow drinks only applicable for buffet.

The highlight of this restaurant is Charcoal Thai BBQ and Steamboat with the choice of chicken broth or tom yum soup base, recommended for 2 pax by the waitress. We ordered for the chicken soup base.

The Mookata Set's meat platter contains marinated pork and chicken slices on top of cabbages. Although the portion is quite generous, the meat will stick on the hotpot when grilled especially our luncheon meats had to be eaten in reduced slices because the bottom part had to be screeded off.

We understood that raw egg was provided to dip the meat in before grilling it, but I decided to cook it as half boiled egg inside the soup portion.

Sausages and crab meat were not attractive to us because only 4 pieces were given.

Regarding it's vegetable platter with standard set of vermicell, cabbage and mushrooms, two pieces in small portion of baby corns were being given instead of the whole complete piece of baby corns unable to made our soup in sweetness mode.

The restaurant's call button on our table no. 15 seems to be malfunction because I had pressed for service more than 10 times, but no sound alert being triggered. I suspected the waitress had deactivated our table call button service because we did not order for their buffet dinner. We did not order it's buffet because we do not want to waste food and we felt that it's Mookata set was just enough for our dinner. Due to the unavailability of service crews, I had to top up the peanut sauce and soup by going to their preparation corner for DIY way. I really do not know that why were we being paying for 10% service charge with such kind of substandard service being treated us last evening.

I found that the restaurant is pretty small for all staffs' action to greet and serve all customers with smiling faces. Unfortunately, such expectation cannot be fulfilled. I really hope that all of Charcoal Thai's staffs must attend WDA-Approved Programmes for Professional Development before starting work in the restaurant as the best policy to be implemented in making it simple and easy for customers to return in having their satisfactory meal experiences there.

Thank you for taking the time to read my review!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mookata Set
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 13, 2017 

Spending per head: Approximately $28.75(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food & Beverages Cry May 06, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Kopi O

Kopi O

 
Ice Lemon Tea

Ice Lemon Tea

 
Garlic Bread

Garlic Bread

 
Chicken Soup

Chicken Soup

 
Hainanese Pork Chop

Hainanese Pork Chop

 
Chicken Chop Mushroom Sauce

Chicken Chop Mushroom Sauce

 
Han's standard had dropped tremendously because it's Hainanese Pork Chop not nice de... not pork because it's like chewy gum.

My colleague and me chose to eat at this restaurant because it's just right beside Cold Storage.

Inconsiderate people are working in this outlet because the lady cashier did not smile and greet customer. The waitress served each food and activated the alert device once, then half a minute, it activate again for collecting another dish. Why not she one shot served all food and then activate the alert device?

I found that it's chicken chop mushroom sauce has too much gravy, but no mushrooms.

A cup of Kopi-O (black coffee) cannot be drunk because they had prepared and kept it for too long.

Although the lunch is not nice, I liked it's clearing facility because all the dish collectors are employed by Food Republic.
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 06, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $12.90(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Eating Cry May 03, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Seafood | Zi Char | Kids-Friendly

Orange Juice

Orange Juice

 
Chinese Tea

Chinese Tea

 
Fresh Thai Coconut

Fresh Thai Coconut

 
Crispy Bun

Crispy Bun

 
Crab

Crab

 
Red Garoupa

Red Garoupa

 
Asparagus

Asparagus

 
Since House Of Seafood 螃蟹之家 still pride itself on its fresh seafood, and popular dishes like chilli crab, black pepper crab, stir-fried prawns and steamed garoupa. My friend kept telling my mother & me that the food at House of Seafood is nice and she is treating us to Dinner last evening. Therefore, I decided to use Chope mobile app for reservation our dinner last evening 6.30 p.m. after watching Friend Request at Golden Village, Yishun outlet.

We took a while to find the restaurant which is located on the third floor. The directional signs put up by the restaurant along the way are useful. The captain gave us the menu of a la carte seafood dishes. My friend felt disappointed because they had no promotion going on at this outlet after checking with the captain.

Crabs have always been one of my favourite foods around Singapore. The meat of the crabs comes off very easily which means they are cooked to perfection! Great job on that!

One of my worst dining experience of the year must be the red garoupa in this restaurant because the fish is too big for my mother and my friend to eat and the fish fillet were not very fresh. Teochew style steamed 潮州式蒸 garoupa supposed to have red skin, but they served it with black skin. The service crew did not serve 2 bowls of white rice upon finishing all the dishes half-way. We have to remind them in serving.

Paid $242.10 for 3 adults for microwaved food was very expensive, so this restaurant deserves a negative star rating because my mother and me saw the kitchen crew poured the cooked rice into big container manually by removing all rice from a big piece of cloth. Disgusting!

Conclusion: Over-rated seafood as their award winning crab restaurant with all the photographs of famous people on their surrounding walls as compared with Jumbo and Long Beach. When the crab was served, we were shocked at how small the crab was because it's seemed to be 700g, but charged us 1.3kg on their Receipt.

Lastly, I shall consider again going to their other outlets to dine and will never go back to this outlet due to the taste abnormal to me except for their sambal chilli sauce, which served by using big spoon.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Crab
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 02, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $80.70(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dim Sum Cry Jun 06, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Hotel | Dim Sum

Drink

Drink

 
Super Soup of The Day

Super Soup of The Day

 
Sweetheart Egg

Sweetheart Egg

 
Bowl Rice with Sauteed Chicken and Mushroom

Bowl Rice with Sauteed Chicken and Mushroom

 
Braised Chinese Mushrooms and Beancurd

Braised Chinese Mushrooms and Beancurd

 
Chicken Chop with Prestige Onion

Chicken Chop with Prestige Onion

 
Chicken Fillet with Szechuan Spicy Sauce

Chicken Fillet with Szechuan Spicy Sauce

 
Curry Fish Ball (5 pcs)

Curry Fish Ball (5 pcs)

 
Fish Ball Salad

Fish Ball Salad

 
Fried Chicken Wings And Pan Fried Bean Curb Roll (vegetarian)

Fried Chicken Wings And Pan Fried Bean Curb Roll (vegetarian)

 
Pan-fried Carrot Cake

Pan-fried Carrot Cake

 
Pork with preserved eggs Porridge

Pork with preserved eggs Porridge

 
Shanghai Meat Dumpling (limited 2 pcs per pax)

Shanghai Meat Dumpling (limited 2 pcs per pax)

 
Steamed Barbecued Pork Bun (4 pcs)

Steamed Barbecued Pork Bun (4 pcs)

 
Steamed Flour Roll with Barbecued Pork And Sticky Rice Wrapped In Lotus Leaf

Steamed Flour Roll with Barbecued Pork And Sticky Rice Wrapped In Lotus Leaf

 
Steamed Salty fish and Minced Pork

Steamed Salty fish and Minced Pork

 
Steamed Shrimp and Pork Dumpling

Steamed Shrimp and Pork Dumpling

 
Stewed Egg Plant with Minced Meat

Stewed Egg Plant with Minced Meat

 
Sweet and Sour Pork with Pineapple

Sweet and Sour Pork with Pineapple

 
Luncheon Meat & Egg with salad

Luncheon Meat & Egg with salad

 
Luncheon Meat Sandwich

Luncheon Meat Sandwich

 
Marinated Meat Combination

Marinated Meat Combination

 
Grass Jelly with Mixed Fruit

Grass Jelly with Mixed Fruit

 
Nourishing Soup + Authentic Hong Kong Dim Sum Buffet + Free Flow Drinks except soft drinks and alcoholic drinks. After purchasing vouchers from Superdeals at $37.60 for my girlfriend and me, we decided to go have dinner last evening. Anyway, GST and service charge were not included in our vouchers plus the wet towel. Unfortunately, the service crews never served us appertiser snack, which I felt not reasonable to charge $3.00/pax for Peak Hour Surcharge with this kind of service being provided. Therefore, the total price came up to $52.00.

I do not recommend this place any more because the choice were limited. Dim sum items were few and very basic. The Shanghai Meat Dumpling (xiao long bao) was a 1x order. There was no har gao and other items as compared to Wah Lok Restaurant in Carlton Hotel. Shanghai's xiao long bao meat dumplings (for four) are terrific. It was a little bland and dry.

Steamed Shrimp and Pork Dumplings with Fish Roe (魚子滑燒賣) was quite nice although it wasn't the best that we've eaten.

Nothing impressive at all for the amount we ate except marinated pork meat combination and it's signature steamed barbecued pork bun (barbecued pork stuffed into a bun deserves its very own shoot-out there), it's cheaper to eat at other restaurant based on the above food that we ordered. It was very difficult to call their hotline because it was always busy and I had to book a table for 2 through the PA of director in Old Hong Kong group.

Since I hate Bad service, so I have to spread this review to the whole world being the reason for not able to automatically refill our drinks.

I just wanted to eat to my fill, then go off and will not return.

FYI: The corn in the Super Soup of The Day was sour and this mean that the chef in their kitchen kept this for many days. The slightly bitter and cool grass jelly mixed with the syrup is the worst dessert.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Drink,Super Soup of The Day,Sweetheart Egg,Bowl Rice with Sauteed Chicken and Mushroom,Braised Chinese Mushrooms and Beancurd,Chicken Chop with Prestige Onion,Chicken Fillet with Szechuan Spicy Sauce,Curry Fish Ball (5 pcs),Fish Ball Salad,Fried Chicken Wings And Pan Fried Bean Curb Roll (vegetarian),Pan-fried Carrot Cake,Pork with preserved eggs Porridge,Shanghai Meat Dumpling (limited 2 pcs per pax),Steamed Barbecued Pork Bun (4 pcs),Steamed Flour Roll with Barbecued Pork And Sticky Rice Wrapped In Lotus Leaf,Steamed Salty fish and Minced Pork,Steamed Shrimp and Pork Dumpling,Stewed Egg Plant with Minced Meat,Sweet and Sour Pork with Pineapple,Luncheon Meat & Egg with salad,Luncheon Meat Sandwich,Marinated Meat Combination,Grass Jelly with Mixed Fruit
 
Table Wait Time: 3 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 22, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $26(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Burgers and Sandwiches

Counter

Counter

 
Clam Chowder Soup

Clam Chowder Soup

 
Grilled Rib Eye Steak

Grilled Rib Eye Steak

 
Pan Seared Halibut Fillet

Pan Seared Halibut Fillet

 
Mixed Fruit Waffle

Mixed Fruit Waffle

 
It was Mother's Day and I decided to treat my mum to a meal at this restaurant after having a good rest for the whole day.

This is my first time at Empire State, very good experience after having 3 Course Meal at S$29.99/set because that does not include Service Charge and 7% G.S.T.

The food is great, but not for hygiene because the floor is very dirty and slippery and their front entrance. In addition, the waiter just used a cloth to wipe the tea spoons in front of diners after serving desserts without any tea spoon being served.

Although their price is of the usual market price, their service is bad because the waiter have to collect payments at 9.28 p.m. before desserts being served.

Therefore, not worth it to have dinner in this restaurant and I felt sorry for not able to have a good gift to my mother.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Clam Chowder Soup,Grilled Rib Eye Steak,Mixed Fruit Waffle,Pan Seared Halibut Fillet
 
Table Wait Time: 60 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 11, 2014 

Celebration:  母親節 

Spending per head: Approximately $33.58(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend