OpenRice Index
  
dcs12m
This is dcs12m living in Tampines. I am a Residence Manager, work in Fort Road. I like to hang out in Arab Street, Beach Road, Boat Quay. Korean, Thai, Indian are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café and Zi Char.
Member 78 First(s)
No. of Review265 Review(s)
編輯推介數目14 Editor's Choice
Recommended9 Recommended
Popularity3664 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos7582 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant175 My Restaurant(s)
Follow28 Following
粉絲341 Follower(s)
dcs12m  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 265 Reviews in Singapore
Chicken Rice Cry Mar 14, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Hainanese | Zi Char | Chicken Rice

Staircase To Upper Floor

Staircase To Upper Floor

 
I've eaten in this outlet many times because I knew that they control the quality of "Zhi Char" food being served.
Supper

Supper

 
I actually wanted to order soursoup juice, but the waiter said that they only served limited choice of drink (a barley drink or lemon lime juice). There seems to be no waiting upon our order for drinks. After my first sip, I found this to be too thick and sweet. Service no longer like the day time so efficient.
Supper

Supper

 
People always loved Boon Tong Kee because of their famous Hainanese Chicken Rice and Signature Boiled Chicken. However, I found that it's chicken rice was not NICE ("Horribly") to be eaten and I did not know what is happening to my visit this time round. It might be possible for my friend and me to reach at wee hours (early morning 3.00 a.m.) because they close at 5.00 a.m. everyday.
Supper

Supper

 
All food were not worth to be paid except for this dish.
Supper

Supper

 
Last dish being served was our order of Sweet and sour fish and I could not enjoy the thin slices of fish because it almost take 30 minutes for it to be served.

I sincerely hope that the chef can improve his home-style cook food so that there will be more repeated treasure customers for visiting this outlet to eat.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Lime Juice,Pork Ribs,Steamed Chicken,Sweet and Sour Fish
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 08, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $16.67(Supper)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Japanese Buffet Dinner Cry Feb 25, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi | Buffet

I am writing this with great displeasure to inform of my recent experience at Chiso Zanmai (Japanese buffet situated at Central, Clarke Quay) because the soup-base (ramen) is soya only. I thought their Shabu Shabu buffet has kimchi or miso soup base when my girlfriend and me were at the counter on Sunday 7.00 p.m. because I unable to call through their hotline 6221 3177.

She simply asked us to top up $5/pax to enjoy unlimited servings on a choice of Sukiyaki/Shabu-shabu/Tonkotsu Hotpot for dinner with free flow meat and vegetables are included. There is free flow of drinks at only $1.90 which includes the standard available soft drinks and non-gassy drinks.

Therefore, my girlfriend made her payment first before our buffet started.
Counter

Counter

 
Based on the above picture, you can see that the lady at the counter was offering poor service to their customers.
Pig Organ Soup

Pig Organ Soup

 
However, it changed my rating on their services because the waitress was having confidence in serving their customers by rendering superior customer service "go the extra mile" for their customers. She knew that we did not like their Shabu-shabu soup, so she requested us to take out all the food inside the Hotpot and changed to Tonkotsu soup for our dinner. Subsequently, we tried to have the first sip of new soup, but left with a bad taste in our mouth and we decided not to do anything with our food in the hotpot.

Low quality or poor variety of food was being served. There are several sections spread in the buffet. There is cold section serving the salads and chilled tofu flavours.
Japanese Buffet Dinner

Japanese Buffet Dinner

 
The Hida Takayama Ramen has a robust Soy Sauce (Shoyu) soup Base that carries a distinct Wafu (Japanese) flavour.
Hida Takayama Ramen

Hida Takayama Ramen

 
It's bitter gourd with egg is not bitter and I really enjoyed it.
Bitter gourd with Egg (苦瓜炒蛋)

Bitter gourd with Egg (苦瓜炒蛋)

 
Chawanmushi

Chawanmushi

 
Latte

Latte

 
Mug Root Beer

Mug Root Beer

 
Nestea Iced Lemon Tea

Nestea Iced Lemon Tea

 
Egg Tarts

Egg Tarts

 
Fruit Platter

Fruit Platter

 
DIY vanilla soft-serve ice cream

DIY vanilla soft-serve ice cream

 
Conclusion: Chiso Zanmai is not value for money Japanese buffet restaurant without great ambience, not much nice food, less varieties and unreasonable price.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  DIY vanilla soft-serve ice cream
 
Date of Visit: Feb 23, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $38(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Definitely One Of The Worst Cry May 15, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Restaurant | Buffet

 

 

 
Ng Khim Kwee's Birthday

Ng Khim Kwee's Birthday

 
Despite its name, this buffet restaurant serves not only Japanese cuisine but Western and Asian dishes too.

Food
•Appertizers
•Dim Sum
•Lobster salad
•Teppanyaki
•Tempura
•Grilled items (meats)
•Sushi
•Sashimi
•Desserts

This is definitely one of the worst branches of Sakura that I have tried with my friends! I have been to the ones in Kallang Way & Tampines and they are quite good. Hence, due to the Bukit Panjang Plaza branch had been closed down, I immediately took a cab to Shaw Plaza for celebrating my ex-colleague's birthday since this is the nearest from my friend's workplace.

We were greated immediately by a waitress and were told that we had to pay in advance.

Setting is not bad, quite peaceful, not too crowded and you do not have to fight for your food. The food is hard, almost everything is hard.

Cold Cuts - Tend to be soggy as it has been left out for awhile. Desserts - they have little cakes, red bean soup, ice creams...Dim Sum was fishy and stale. Hainanese Chicken - Parts of it look like the chicken has been dreadfully hanging there for too long and hence a little too dry. Laksa - Very ordinary. Sushi was hard. Vegetable was not cooked properly and tasted raw.

The only thing I enjoyed was the grilled salmon.

It's too expensive and they have very limited food, but it's great for a party because they have very little people there. Service was horrible because staffs are slow to clear off used plates...

Very low quality food as we tasted them and regreted our choice of restaurant, so we decided not going to return to such lousy place...

But to my disgust, the food quality at Sakura is simply bad. It is really one of the worst that I have tried. I expect much more than this since the teppanyaki is one of the main highlights of their buffet. I have to say that I'm really disappointed about the quality of food. Moreover, the price per pax is very high......definitely not worth the money.

I recommend that you visit your local hawker center instead of spending $30 for dinner at this place. Food and value for money at your usual hawker center will definitely be much much better.

Conclusion: Birthday celebration turned in a Disaster.

Note: They do have lots of variety but unfortunately a lot of the food didn't taste fresh. If you are a raw food person, this is not the place for you too.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  International Buffet
 
Date of Visit: May 10, 2012 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dirty But Generous Portions Cry Oct 10, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Restaurant | Steamboat/Hot Pot | BBQ

Buffet

Buffet

 
My girlfriend recommended this place, so we went there by taxi.

When we reached there, 99% china patrons, very loud and digging on the food at the ingredient stand. I tell myself not to go again.

They had the steamboat soup as well as the hot plate for grilling.

The restaurant was quite dirty, floor sticky and greasy, but the portions generous.

Unlimited fish, pork slices, beef slices, the infinite crab you can have and also squid available for the big eaters like my girlfriend. They are all marinated. The marinated chicken is delicious and the lamb was good too. Even the dumpling is good after grilling it.

We took about 2 hours to cook and eat everything due to decent choices of food.

Eat all you can if you do not mind the place is very oily.

Conclusion: Although the food is ordinary, the place is very crowded and unhygienic. The place is smoky and the floor is very slippery. Utensils are oily. The air con is not serving any purpose as you won't feel the place being air conditioned. Therefore, you feel hot and have poor ventilation, food is nothing great. Basically good place for gathering of Chinese Nationals because they don't mind the place is dirty, food takes super long to refill and not fresh. Waste of money.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Thinly Sliced Pork
 
Date of Visit: Oct 02, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $23(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Poor And Slow Service Cry Aug 07, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Pasta | Halal

Mushroom Soup

Mushroom Soup

 
Pan Pizza Regular Curry Chicken

Pan Pizza Regular Curry Chicken

 
Spicy Seafood Parchment

Spicy Seafood Parchment

 
I suggested my colleague, Mr. Alvin Tan Soon Chiah to this Pizza Hut (Marina Square) because I had pizza hut lots of times at numerous places. Pizza Hut Singapore is now the largest pizza chain American (Halal certified) restaurant with 48 outlets.

My colleague and I went to this outlet. This is a promotion for NTUC Plus! Card Members enjoy a regular pan pizza for only $10! (U.P. $17.50) under Pizza Hut National Day Special campaign.

We went on 07 August 2011 (SUN) 5.00 p.m. for dinner. We had seated next to the order terminal because there is nobody queueing there. The food came very slowly. The service crews did not wear any smile or say "Thank you" when we tried to talk to them and after payment.

Service is important to us. Due to this kind of slow service, it is unlikely for us to return.

The pizza tasted okay, but pasta not that fantastic.

I like the ambience, not crowded with people and a relatively quiet place.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Appetisers - Baked Beef or Chikcen Meatballs
 
Date of Visit: Aug 07, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $17.63(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0