OpenRice Index
  
dcs12m
This is dcs12m living in Tampines. I am a Residence Manager, work in Fort Road. I like to hang out in Arab Street, Beach Road, Boat Quay. Korean, Thai, Indian are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café and Zi Char.
Member 78 First(s)
No. of Review265 Review(s)
編輯推介數目14 Editor's Choice
Recommended9 Recommended
Popularity3664 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos7582 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant175 My Restaurant(s)
Follow28 Following
粉絲341 Follower(s)
dcs12m  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 31 to 35 of 265 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian | Restaurant | Curries

Lunch

Lunch

 
This place is not really accessible if you do not have a car, which I think of having been dining here since I was being deployed in Chantilly Rise. It just next to Mindef.

Fish head was very big and fresh, big as 5 people cannot finish the pot of fish, but the fish was very delicious! Every cook has their own unique taste, I believe this place too! Cannot find the same taste elsewhere!

For the fish head curry, the fish is very often fresh and they don't use a lot of coconut for their curry which is one of the reasons why I love it (maybe they use yogurt instead). Spicy level is 4.5/10, just nice!

Great food during this afternoon just now, both my friend and me had a very strong desire for a tangy fish curry. They do the whole banana leaf thing, which is always very pleasing. We were not disappointed after ordering the briyani rice as well that comes with 2 veges.

We completed our meal with a cup of Lime Juice =)

I'll try to order a Chicken Masala ($4.00) for our dishes, a Fish Curry during the next visit because I love the fish head curry and their chicken masala (It's fantastic due to the chicken meat is always tender and it's really tasty though might be a little too spicy for people who have low threshold for spicy food).

Conclusion: Die, die, Karu's must try. Free flow of poppadom, vegetables and curry (just the gravy) too! Karu's Indian Banana Leaf Restaurant is some serious tasty.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Curry Fish Head
 
Date of Visit: Jan 04, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $15.00(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Noodles

Barley

Barley

 
Noodle

Noodle

 
If you ever travelled on East Coast Road, I'm sure you would have came across Beach Road Prawn Noodle House LLP near Siglap. This prawn mee stall has mastered the art of pulling the crowd. Nevermind that the area has no decent parking facilities, people just can't seem to stop appearing.

They are crowded and famous for reasons I don't know and the fact that parking your car here is extremely difficult just makes the strong crowd almost spooky.

My friend (Mr. Roderick Tan of M/s RK Project & Maintenance Services) and I ordered 2 bowls of noodles and 2 glasses of barley. Although they got many staffs, we still need to wait for around 15 minutes (Super long to get our food, so call to order!).

The bigger sized prawns sliced in half got 4 pieces in each bowl. At $8.80 per bowl, it should be considered as reasonable.

After eating, I like the prawn mee with soup because the mee is moist and is evenly cooked. Since this is a great one meal dish, so I decided to bring my girlfriend on Sunday morning.

Conclusion: This is a very popular big prawn noodles stall and the crowd is forever strong due to it's very good prawn mee, but yet it didn't charm me because parking is difficult in that area so only go if you live nearby. Too much effort for parking woes to be worth it. Since they are located at the heart of Siglap/Katong, I'm just guessing that this could be a rich man's prawn mee.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Great Prawn Noodle (虾面)
 
Date of Visit: Nov 28, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $10.00(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

New Pizza Hut Texan Chicken Fest OK Nov 05, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Pasta | Halal

Regular Cheesy Bite Treats Pizza

Regular Cheesy Bite Treats Pizza

 
Cheese Baked Mushroom

Cheese Baked Mushroom

 
Regular Hawaiian Pizza

Regular Hawaiian Pizza

 
Pizza Hut has introduced their new Texan Chicken Fest.

Made with a tantalising toss-up pineapples, onions, red capsicums, turkey bacon and juicy chicken chunks on a bed of tangy Texan sauce.

Recently my girlfriend and I tried the new Texan Chicken Fest pizza with the Cheesy Bites with sausages and cornflakes to boot! I think it is the best pizzas in Singapore.

We believed that Pizza Hut still has their awesome Pizzas on the menu, so we takeaway a Regular Hawaiian Pizza.

I felt quite disappointed because I have not tried their Great Lunch Promotion until today during weekdays due to my work commitments.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Texan Chicken Fest
 
Date of Visit: Nov 03, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Love Singapore Food OK Oct 19, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hainanese | Coffeeshop | Chicken Rice

Signboard

Signboard

 
Dumpling Soup

Dumpling Soup

 
Prawns Roll

Prawns Roll

 
Roast Chicken

Roast Chicken

 
My girlfriend and I were walking around Middle Road (just off Selegie Road) and was wondering what to eat for supper, then we saw this shop.

I had tried on almost all the best Hainanese chicken rice in Singapore. Last night, my girlfriend decided to try Sing Ho Hainan chicken rice located at Middle Road (diagonally opposite Peace Centre).

She ordered the following food before going back to home by CityCab:
Chicken For 2 - $8.00
Fragrant Rice - $0.60
Prawns Roll - $6.00
Dumpling Soup - $6.00
Home Made Barley - $1.20

Compared with the other Hainanese chicken rice, I still prefer Five Star Hainanese Chicken Rice 五星海南鸡饭粥 (River Valley) and Sin Kee Famous Chicken Rice 新记出名鸡饭 over Sing Ho Hainan Chicken Rice In The City.

I enjoyed sitting by the road side, but she preferred to sit inside.

One thing we noticed that the plate of Roast Chicken and the fluffy chicken rice are quite nice, but a tad oily for my liking.

Reason for me to give Service as 1 out of 5 is the service crew just took away our condiments of chilli, garlic paste and dark sauce without asking our permission to another table.

Conclusion: This should be rated as 2 1/2 out of 5.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Fried Tofu & Chicken Rice
 
Date of Visit: Oct 18, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $10.90(Supper)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Steak House OK Aug 07, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Steaks and Grills

N. Z T-Bone Steak with Brown Sauce

N. Z T-Bone Steak with Brown Sauce

 
Slipper Lobster & Chicken

Slipper Lobster & Chicken

 
Its a budget place for steaks, but it doen't mean their food are fantastic. It was our group gathering, so we've decided to go somewhere near to have our dinner after office hours, so we landed in Jack's Place @ Bukit Panjang Plaza.

It was a nice cozy place. I was hungry at that moment, so decided to have a 350g NZ T-Bone. I actually wanted Medium rare for my T-Bone, but my T-Bone was served in a hotplate with medium done. It was disappointing as my steak was so tough, I had a hard time cutting up my steak.

Slipper Lobster & Chicken is grilled slipper lobster and chicken topped with choice of black pepper, sambal or mushroom sauce. However, my girlfriend chose the mushroom sauce.

After some time, my girlfriend, my ex-colleague and my friends finished our meals, the waiting staff wasn't attentive. Somehow or rather we have to wave our hands like clown to get their attention to clear our plates and ask for a bill. It was around 9 p.m., they don't seem to be busy. I wondered why service was so neglected?
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Daily Executive Set Lunch
 
Date of Visit: Aug 05, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0