OpenRice Index
  
dcs12m
This is dcs12m living in Tampines. I am a Residence Manager, work in Fort Road. I like to hang out in Arab Street, Beach Road, Boat Quay. Korean, Thai, Indian are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café and Zi Char.
Member 78 First(s)
No. of Review265 Review(s)
編輯推介數目14 Editor's Choice
Recommended9 Recommended
Popularity3664 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos7582 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant175 My Restaurant(s)
Follow28 Following
粉絲341 Follower(s)
dcs12m  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 61 to 65 of 265 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Spanish | Paella | Brunch

Received invitation from OpenRice Singapore for food tasting sessions via e-mail dated 05 March 2015 1.44 p.m. because it was opened to 7 OpenRice/OpenSnap members only.

When I walked inside the restaurant located in the Bukit Timah neighbourhood at 6.45 p.m., all of us were being self introduced and dinner will be served from 7.00 p.m. onwards.

Therefore, I managed to snap some photographs while waiting for the waiters/waitresses to be served.
Kitchen

Kitchen

 
There is a sufficient selection of European type of wnes.

There is a sufficient selection of European type of wnes.

 
Cakes In The Refrigerator

Cakes In The Refrigerator

 
For making paella.

For making paella.

 
This is the most authentic home-style Spanish restaurant I've had so far in Singapore. Interiors are spanish-homely and cozy.
The flavour of the lemon was nicely balanced.

The flavour of the lemon was nicely balanced.

 
It tastes very much like a festive drink.

It tastes very much like a festive drink.

 
Today's Menu - It boasts a full-fledged menu of Spanish home-style dishes and desserts.

Today's Menu - It boasts a full-fledged menu of Spanish home-style dishes and desserts.

 
Chef Edward Esmero was born in the south of Philippines.

Chef Edward Esmero was born in the south of Philippines.

 
We were greeted warmly by the executive chef himself and we knew that My Little Spanish Place is expanding. To mark turning four and half years old, this restaurant has introduced a Jamon Bar showcases legs of Jamon flown in from Spain, which are carved with each order.
Offering five different types of Spanish ham.

Offering five different types of Spanish ham.

 
A hands-on carving session with the specialist - Various types of freshly carved Spanish hams.

A hands-on carving session with the specialist - Various types of freshly carved Spanish hams.

 
Spanish Ham: Top - Iberico (18 months) and Bottom - 5J (30 months).

Spanish Ham: Top - Iberico (18 months) and Bottom - 5J (30 months).

 
Serving of warm bread.

Serving of warm bread.

 
We had their famous aged hams and manchego with warm breads as starters. The dried meats were very good. They were all beautifully presented and tasted exquisitely. The restaurant was generous with their bread.
I enjoyed these little croquettes.

I enjoyed these little croquettes.

 
Chunks of Jamon ham according the smooth, creamy croquette filling with depth and flavour.

Chunks of Jamon ham according the smooth, creamy croquette filling with depth and flavour.

 
Spanish Staff Served The Food

Spanish Staff Served The Food

 
Service staff was courteous and the manager was knowledgeable.
Prawns cooked in garlic & olive oil. Soak up the seafood flavours with thick slices of rustic bread.

Prawns cooked in garlic & olive oil. Soak up the seafood flavours with thick slices of rustic bread.

 
Garlic Mushrooms suitable for vegetarians. It looks small and simple.

Garlic Mushrooms suitable for vegetarians. It looks small and simple.

 
Traditional Spanish Egg Omelette - cooked with potatoes is the most commonly served dish in Spain.

Traditional Spanish Egg Omelette - cooked with potatoes is the most commonly served dish in Spain.

 
The Spanish omelette was tasty, but again we weren't aware that the serving size was really small.
Encountered a new classic dish with saffron rice, chorizo, seafood and red capsicum - Great flavour.

Encountered a new classic dish with saffron rice, chorizo, seafood and red capsicum - Great flavour.

 
Paella was very good though I'd wished the portion is a bit bigger.
Feeling adventurous, tried the literally black rice arrived in its pan, fresh off the stove.

Feeling adventurous, tried the literally black rice arrived in its pan, fresh off the stove.

 
Churros con Chocolate, Home made Strawberry Ice Cream And Chocolatta.

Churros con Chocolate, Home made Strawberry Ice Cream And Chocolatta.

 
Group Photo and thank to Chef Edward for providing great food.

Group Photo and thank to Chef Edward for providing great food.

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Paella de la casa,Mini Dessert Platter,Jamon and Cheese Platter
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 10, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $35(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Halal Certified Smile Nov 19, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Portuguese | Steaks and Grills

Menu

Menu

 
Sparkling Apple

Sparkling Apple

 
1/4 Hot Peri-peri Chicken with smashed potato

1/4 Hot Peri-peri Chicken with smashed potato

 
Coleslaw

Coleslaw

 
Corn

Corn

 
Sauces

Sauces

 
Roasted Pita Bread

Roasted Pita Bread

 
I told my friend that one of the signature dishes in this Portuguese Restaurant was the now famous flame-grilled Peri-Peri Chicken while we were queuing to wait for our table during lunch time. The waitress took so long to come in taking our order after letting us to sit down for looking at their menu.

This would be the worst service after visiting this place with my friend for lunch during a weekday because we had been waiting for our meal to be served and the place wasn't much crowded. Although I have not been to Nando's, I must admit that it's food gets better because I saw their menu has complete set as compared to Malaysia branch.

The main course was the Peri-peri chicken with side dish. The 1/4 chicken was done well, tender and has a good level of moisture (nice and juicy) because all Nando's chicken are marinated for 24 hours in their secret sauce until that flavour goes right through to the bone.

We also tried the Hummus with Roasted Pita Bread. It has a slight sour after finishing to the traditional dish. The pita was also quite fluffy, which is a refreshing change.

Conclusion: Dining with quality food after working hours as dinner in relaxed environment. Remember to try the Peri Peri sauces packed by the bottles as shown in above photograph because I love them so much.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Coleslaw,Corn,1/4 Hot Peri-peri Chicken with smashed potato,Sauces,Sparkling Apple,Roasted Pita Bread
 
Table Wait Time: 75 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 07, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $25.00(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Perfect For The Warm Weather Smile Sep 22, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Chinese Desserts | Desserts and Cakes

Menu

Menu

 
Bandung Flavour

Bandung Flavour

 
Durian Pudding

Durian Pudding

 
Official Receipt

Official Receipt

 
After having lunch at Pizza Hut with Mr. Keith Te this afternoon, we decided to search for a cafe serving local desserts.

I saw the waitress served our order and displayed very nice, which are perfectly available for eating.

The bandung ice is rich in bandung flavour accompanied by toppings like atap chee and its sweetness is right for my taste. The snow ice had a delicate texture and was airy between layers. The paper-thin ribbons were neatly stacked in layers. It is indeed a dessert extremely pleasing to the eyes and taste buds alike. However, my friend did not like it, so never bother to finish it.

Durian Sawdust Pudding was very yummy and cheaper because it costs S$5.30.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Bandung Flavour,Durian Pudding
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 22, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $5.40(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Smashed Fried Chicken Smile Sep 18, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indonesian

Counter

Counter

 
Menu

Menu

 
Tea Iced With Milk

Tea Iced With Milk

 
Crazy Soda

Crazy Soda

 
Ayam Penyet Set

Ayam Penyet Set

 
Bawal Penyet Set

Bawal Penyet Set

 
Taufu Telur

Taufu Telur

 
Nazri Bin Sujae

Nazri Bin Sujae

 
Ayam Penyet Ria is an Indonesian restaurant chain specialising in Ayam Penyet (Smashed Fried Chicken in Malay). Ayam Penyet Ria, a fast-food style self-order Indonesian restaurant is one of the most popular ayam penyet cafes in Lucky Plaza. Since this restaurant is halal certified, my ex-colleague and me went to eat lunch together.

There was ample seating place as the restaurant has another unit in second floor, so we ordered our food and drinks at one go.

I liked their Indonesian Iced Tea with Milk.

The Ikan Penyet (Flatten Fish) Set comprised of a plate of plain rice and a plate filled with ikan bawal, kangkong, fried beancurd, beancake, raw cabbage and cucumber, batter crumbs & sambal chilli.

My ex-colleague requested me to take another small plate of sambal chilli at the corner. After eating his Ayam Penyet Set with sambal chilli for a while, he realised that their sambal chilli was incredibly spicy yet addictive.

The nicely spiced batter and those crumbs was quite good as compared with Long John Silver's.

The Tauhu Telur (Fried Bean Curd & Egg) was a little different from the other Indonesian restaurants. The peanut sauce for tauhu telur in this restaurant is fragrant and it is a must try dish because it is yummy to the max!

Hopefully you chill, relax and enjoy the amazingly delicious food tremendously as my ex-colleague shown in the above photograph.

Conclusion: A little pricey for the Ayam Penyet (chicken) set.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Tea Iced With Milk,Ayam Penyet Set,Bawal Penyet Set,Crazy Soda,Taufu Telur
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 12, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $15.00(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Coffee Shop Smile Sep 16, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Steaks and Grills

Door

Door

 
Lamb Chop

Lamb Chop

 
If you are looking for cheap western food, you could try Kay's Fiery Grill Express. It's my pleasure to express my feelings with this restaurant via this channel.

Everyone is served french fries, baked beans and coleslaw as side dishes.

I was feeling a little adventurous and ordered the lamb chop because my friend's husband called Ah Bao is the chef in this outlet.

The lamb chop came in three pieces well done and not tough at all parts, which I believe is their speciality.

Chili sauce was being served free flow, so you can squeeze as much as possible.

The coleslaw was sweeter than expectations, which means I like it.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Lamb Chop
 
Table Wait Time: 7 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 07, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $10.90(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0