OpenRice Index
  
dcs12m
This is dcs12m living in Tampines. I am a Residence Manager, work in Fort Road. I like to hang out in Arab Street, Beach Road, Boat Quay. Korean, Thai, Indian are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café and Zi Char.
Member 78 First(s)
No. of Review265 Review(s)
編輯推介數目14 Editor's Choice
Recommended9 Recommended
Popularity3658 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos7582 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant175 My Restaurant(s)
Follow28 Following
粉絲342 Follower(s)
dcs12m  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 265 Reviews in Singapore
Mooncake Smile Sep 13, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery | Halal

Mooncake Paper Bag Design

Mooncake Paper Bag Design

 
Mooncake Box Design

Mooncake Box Design

 
Baked Mooncake with Double Yolk and White Lotus

Baked Mooncake with Double Yolk and White Lotus

 
The Mid-Autumn Festival is held on the 15th day of the eight lunar month. The moon is believed to be the most beautiful and roundest on that night. The full moon also symbolises reunion of the family. As such, this festival is also called Festival of Reunion.

The Mid Autumn Festival, Polar Puffs & Cakes (West Mall) offers a tempting collection of delectable mooncakes specially created by Executive Chinese Chef, so I bought a box of 2 baked mooncake with double yolk and premium white lotus paste on 12 September 2011 evening.

The popular flavours, the White Lotus Seed Paste with Double Yolk (双黄白莲蓉月饼) comforts the soul - it tastes like the ones your mother would bake at home after dinner while drinking chinese tea.

Freshly made from the finest ingredients, each piece of mooncake (yue bing) is a delectable masterpiece. It is associated with the Mid-Autumn festive period and is an indispensable delicacy in the celebration.

The crust is relatively thin, approximately 2-3mm.

However, the name of the bakery was not imprinted in Chinese characters on top of the mooncakes except for the filling in the mooncake.

Conclusion: The photo show the attractive packaging of mooncakes from Polar Puffs & Cakes (West Mall). I can see that increased demand for mooncakes because only 3 left for this choice during the Mid-Autumn festive period.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Baked Mooncake with Single Yolk or Double Yolk and White Lotus Paste
 
Date of Visit: Sep 12, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $4.95(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Mooncake At The Marriott 2011 Smile Sep 12, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | Buffet

White Lotus Seed Paste Mooncake with Single Yolk

White Lotus Seed Paste Mooncake with Single Yolk

 
I decided to make my Mid-Autumn Festival this year a special one with marvellous Traditional mooncakes baked from the Singapore Marriott Hotel to perfection Perfect gift for my girlfriend at home this festive season due to their most premium ingredients.

I like the way they made their mooncakes the traditional way.

For your information, I had missed the chance in purchasing the coupon from Deal.Com.Sg (http://ilovedeals.sg/deal/6860.html), which I can enjoy 30% off Marriott Mooncakes (Only $40.60 instead of $58)!

Their Part Time Moon-cake Retail Associate are Customer service oriented and I really admired them for being able to work long hours during the period of 22 August to 12 September 2011 (Need to commit at least 14 days) for a rate of $6/hr (weekdays) and $6.50/hr (weekends).

Every year without fail, I'll purchase the white lotus seed paste with single yolk (last year $49 for 4 pcs) compared to this year $56 for 4 pcs from Marriott Hotel for my personal enjoyment or to purchase as gifts for family and friends so that I can please both the young and old friends!

Conclusion: I am going to celebrate a Fruitful Harvest with this sumptuous choice mooncakes from Marriott Singapore. I had eaten a lot of mooncakes already and I am going to buy another box of assorted mini snowskins as a gift later because today is The Lantern Festival ("Mid-autumn Festival 中秋節").
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Traditional Baked Mooncakes
 
Date of Visit: Sep 07, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $14(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Cedele @ The Rail Mall Smile Sep 05, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

Saffron Clam Chowder

Saffron Clam Chowder

 
My friend and I walked around after 11.30 a.m. at my workplace, so it made us tired and thirsty! After that we interested for a lunch at Cedele for taking a break of work.

Coffee.. (for the caffeine addict hehe), so my friend needs a coffee in the afternoon!

I had something on Cedele Own Teas, so I tried Red Rooibos Tea together with Free flow bread because we got place an order for soup.

Sea Bass Tomato Coulis is Grilled Sea Bass with Red Pepper Tomato Coulis, on a bed of grilled Eggplants. Carbo-free Dish.

Didn't take much pictures because we are all too hungry and filling our tummies was the primary objective!

As my conclusion, Cedele, is my favourite dining place! I'm so in love with the food at Cedele! Fell crazily in love with Cedele from the very first mouth I bit into my Sea Bass Tomato Coulis. The other good reason is that there's a branch that's only a 10 minutes' walk from my work place.

I want to try the other vegetarian alternative sandwich, which is the grilled vegetables chutney sandwich and buy a small roll of my favourite organic wholewheat raisin walnut bread during the next visit at Takashimaya.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Carrot walnut cake and Grills & Greens Salad meal
 
Date of Visit: Sep 05, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $20.00(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Bars/Lounges

Soup Of The Day

Soup Of The Day

 
BLooiE's Seafood Surprise.JPG

BLooiE's Seafood Surprise.JPG

 
BLooiE's Bacon Mushroom Cheese Burger

BLooiE's Bacon Mushroom Cheese Burger

 
My girlfriend and I were there to dine last evening because I wanted to eat a burger and it was near my workplace at 80 Hillview Avenue #B1-01 Chantilly Rise Singapore 669576, so we went along and ordered our set meals.

Ambience - With many decoration and nice set-up all-over the place. However, there still have room for improvement.

Value - Worth it in terms of unique place.

Although the service was average, the burger was pretty nice filling too. The BLooiE's Bacon Cheese Burger not only has bacon; beef lovers will be thrilled to know that there is grilled beef patty in it too! The patty is smothered in cheese then served on a fresh hot bun. It sounds sinful, doesn't it? All burgers come with a side of either thick cut fries or potato salad.

Conclusion: It was a Nice Hang Out Place (For example, chill out with some finger food and a can of beer in hand while watching a football match or tennis tournament at the same time), but I felt that the portions there are relatively small. They have quite a wide selection of foods and drinks. Music was okay.

I guess I would like to come back here again since it's so near my office and I still have lots of coupons to be utilised before 31 October 2011. Moreover, the place left me a good impression after we went to the one at East Coast.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  BLooiE's Burgers
 
Date of Visit: Aug 31, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $18.00(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Great For Dinner Smile Aug 25, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Japanese | Fusion

Waiting Area

Waiting Area

 
Scallop Carpaccio

Scallop Carpaccio

 
Chicken Garlic

Chicken Garlic

 
Paella

Paella

 
Chefs Pizza

Chefs Pizza

 
Table Number

Table Number

 
The moment we (my girlfriend and I) spotted the above 4 items on the menu while waiting in the queue at the venue, Ma Maison (a Japanese inspired western café in Bugis Junction, we were sure we'd try these on Friday evening even though this is our first time going to the Bugis Junction outlet.

The Paella (a kind of Spanish seafood fried rice) was good, but it was a bit small for two people. The flavour throughout the rice was very nice, but it was a bit dry. It was my favourite dish.

Ma Maison is now one of my favourite places due to great food & good prices, great service from japanese waitresses and great ambience.

It is very enjoyable restaurant. I like the comfortable setting a lot, feels like we're in an old European restaurant. Very cozy and the dim lighting coupled with wooden furniture & old fashioned upholstery. Perfect for dates at homely atmosphere.

I'll definitely go back to take advantage of the 10% discount for CIMB credit cards holders and had dinner at Ma Maison for trying the other stuff in the menu.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Paella
 
Date of Visit: Aug 19, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $33.39(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0