OpenRice Index
  
dcs12m
This is dcs12m living in Tampines. I am a Residence Manager, work in Fort Road. I like to hang out in Arab Street, Beach Road, Boat Quay. Korean, Thai, Indian are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café and Zi Char.
Member 78 First(s)
No. of Review265 Review(s)
編輯推介數目14 Editor's Choice
Recommended9 Recommended
Popularity3662 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos7582 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant175 My Restaurant(s)
Follow28 Following
粉絲342 Follower(s)
dcs12m  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 265 Reviews in Singapore
Charcoal Thai BBQ And Steamboat Cry Aug 14, 2017   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Buffet | Mookata

Jasmine Green Tea

Jasmine Green Tea

 
Thai Milk Tea

Thai Milk Tea

 
Cracker

Cracker

 
Mixed Vegetables Platter

Mixed Vegetables Platter

 
Mookata Set

Mookata Set

 

We had reserved a table of two by using Quandoo mobile app since Charcoal Thai restaurant is a popular place for the younger crowd because of the great location. Therefore, my girlfriend and me walked into this restaurant after finished watching A Family Man in Shaw.


Average Thai ice milk tea was being served as I thought it was a free flow, which the waitress initially told us before we made an order and did not mention free flow drinks only applicable for buffet.

The highlight of this restaurant is Charcoal Thai BBQ and Steamboat with the choice of chicken broth or tom yum soup base, recommended for 2 pax by the waitress. We ordered for the chicken soup base.

The Mookata Set's meat platter contains marinated pork and chicken slices on top of cabbages. Although the portion is quite generous, the meat will stick on the hotpot when grilled especially our luncheon meats had to be eaten in reduced slices because the bottom part had to be screeded off.

We understood that raw egg was provided to dip the meat in before grilling it, but I decided to cook it as half boiled egg inside the soup portion.

Sausages and crab meat were not attractive to us because only 4 pieces were given.

Regarding it's vegetable platter with standard set of vermicell, cabbage and mushrooms, two pieces in small portion of baby corns were being given instead of the whole complete piece of baby corns unable to made our soup in sweetness mode.

The restaurant's call button on our table no. 15 seems to be malfunction because I had pressed for service more than 10 times, but no sound alert being triggered. I suspected the waitress had deactivated our table call button service because we did not order for their buffet dinner. We did not order it's buffet because we do not want to waste food and we felt that it's Mookata set was just enough for our dinner. Due to the unavailability of service crews, I had to top up the peanut sauce and soup by going to their preparation corner for DIY way. I really do not know that why were we being paying for 10% service charge with such kind of substandard service being treated us last evening.

I found that the restaurant is pretty small for all staffs' action to greet and serve all customers with smiling faces. Unfortunately, such expectation cannot be fulfilled. I really hope that all of Charcoal Thai's staffs must attend WDA-Approved Programmes for Professional Development before starting work in the restaurant as the best policy to be implemented in making it simple and easy for customers to return in having their satisfactory meal experiences there.

Thank you for taking the time to read my review!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mookata Set
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 13, 2017 

Spending per head: Approximately $28.75(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Spicing Up The Nation Smile Jul 27, 2017   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Bakery | Burgers and Sandwiches

Fresh Brewed Premium Coffee

Fresh Brewed Premium Coffee

 

Fresh Brewed Coffee With Milk

Fresh Brewed Coffee With Milk

 
Cream Of Corn

Cream Of Corn

 
Salmon Poached Egg Sandwich

Salmon Poached Egg Sandwich

 
Croissant

Croissant

 
Chilli Crab Croissant Sandwich, which they are using real crab meat and this is my second trial because it is great during my first trial on 25 July 2017 8.30 a.m. It's croissant is tastier and crispier than BreadTalk. Unfortunately, their Soup of the Day is always Cream of Corn. If you are craving for a scrumptious chilli crab meal in Singapore for breakfast, hope that you can prefer to visit Delifrance - Award Winning Heritage Croissant. Please request for an official receipt upon payments made because the cashier will not automatically give out to customers.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chilli Crab Set for 1
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 27, 2017 

Spending per head: Approximately $13.4(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Simple Taste Smile May 23, 2017   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Restaurant | Chinese Soup | Noodles

Dry Yong Tau Foo With Noodles

Dry Yong Tau Foo With Noodles

 

As per developer's senior manager's opinion, this is one of the best yong tau foo stall in the CBD. Therefore, both of us were walking there after operation meeting at 1.00 p.m.
Normally, I'll order dry yong tau foo with noodles and paired with the sweet sauce. The result is a savoury bowl of yong tau foo that always leave me so satisfied.
It tasted so awesome and I love the Yong tau foo from Tofu Lane @ Shenton House because this is a popular yong tau foo (beancurd) shop frequented by office workers in the CBD!
Therefore, it is a must try food in Singapore.
Supplementary Information:
Best Yong Tau Foo 酿豆腐
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Dry Yong Tau Foo With Noodles
 
Table Wait Time: 30 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 21, 2017 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Grill House Smile May 23, 2017   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Middle Eastern/Mediterranean | Restaurant | Pasta | Steaks and Grills | Salads

Peach Juice

Peach Juice

 
Carrot Juice

Carrot Juice

 
Lentil Soup

Lentil Soup

 
Mixed Grill

Mixed Grill

 

Peach Juice is a sweet juice that is completely free of saturated and trans fats.
It was a 5-star dining experience. Had the lunch special soup and mixed grill which was a great value because we are using Eatigo, which allowed my girlfriend and me to have 50% discounts.

The lentil soup was a delicious surprise - smooth, not too salty and garnished with a oil and lemon. It was also a whole bowl, not just a cup.
The food was delicious and the service was excellent! Also, we were looking for something healthy, and of course, Mediterranean food offers a lot of choices that don't leave your feeling like you gave up anything. They have an excellent lunch special with Mixed Grill.
Food is well presented and delicious especially the mixed grill (Combination of lamb adana, chicken shish, lamb shish, lamb chop, lamb gyro and chicken gyro. Served with rice & house salad). Hope that all readers will try their wonderful best seller mixed grill!!
Since their staffs are really friendly, we will definately be paying another visit. Well worth it!
Supplementary Information:
Mixed Grill (Karisik Izgara)
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mixed Grill
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 23, 2017 

Spending per head: Approximately $15.5(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Cantonese Cuisine Smile May 17, 2017   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Zi Char


Dragon Bowl has a lovely oriental interior design when my girlfriend, her family members and me entered into this restaurant. Since it opened its door in February 2015, the restaurant is celebrating 2nd anniversary with lucky draw for 3 winners being announced last evening. All of us loved its quality service and cuisine. It is around 5 minute-walk from Lavender MRT station, where we can take good chinese foods at reasonable expenses for celebrating mother's day.
We noticed that this restaurant was full of people who appeared to be locals. Luckily we reserved our table by using Quandoo.
Food at Dragon Bowl is distinctly Cantonese cuisine, so we ordered the set menu for 6 pax. We cannot comment much on tea as the pot of tea had been refilled throughout the whole meal. The braised peanuts and chilli are served after we had been seated.
The Dragon Bowl Three Combination Appertiser has Barbecued Pork With Honey and Marinated Jellyfish. Barbecued Pork With Honey was delicious because of the fat in the middle!
A bit disappointing on their Deluxe Fried Rice With Seafood because it is Singapore Style Fried Rice.
The mango sago were chilled and refreshing upon serving by the waiter. They would be better if they were colder but still very good.
The rest of food are very nice tasting food and extremely value for money!!! I'd recommend their food to anyone who hasn't been there yet.

Dragon Bowl Three Combination Appertiser

Dragon Bowl Three Combination Appertiser

 
Double-boiled Chicken & Conch with Cordyceps Flower Soup

Double-boiled Chicken & Conch with Cordyceps Flower Soup

 
Deep-Fried Prawn With Salted Egg

Deep-Fried Prawn With Salted Egg

 
Steamed Soon Hock In Hong Kong Style

Steamed Soon Hock In Hong Kong Style

 
Stir Fried Scallop With Lao Gan Ma Sauce

Stir Fried Scallop With Lao Gan Ma Sauce

 
Braised 8 Head Abalone With Japanese Flower Mushroom & Broccoli

Braised 8 Head Abalone With Japanese Flower Mushroom & Broccoli

 
Deluxe Fried Rice With Seafood

Deluxe Fried Rice With Seafood

 
Chilled Mango Sago With Pomelo

Chilled Mango Sago With Pomelo

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Steamed Soon Hock In Hong Kong Style
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 14, 2017 

Celebration:  母親節 

Spending per head: Approximately $48(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0