OpenRice Index
  
Sharon ho
This is Sharon ho living in Sengkang. I am a Undergraduate Japanese, Singaporean, Cantonese/Hong Kong, Thai are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Bars/Lounges and Dim Sum, Seafood, Chinese Soup.
Member 15 First(s)
No. of Review102 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity1061 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos302 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant59 My Restaurant(s)
Follow3 Following
粉絲78 Follower(s)
Sharon ho  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 102 Reviews in Singapore
Cheap Cafe @ NTU Smile Dec 31, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Steaks and Grills | Salads/ Acai Bowl

After umpteen recommendations and fabulous reviews from friends, I decided to have my dinner at Pitchstop, one of NTU's cheap and good cafe.

FOOD
Turkey Carbonara - $8.50

Turkey Carbonara - $8.50

 
I ordered their turkey carbonara for a try. It comes with turkey, mushrooms, ham, and most importantly, its creamy and chessy sauce! The carbonara sauce is well-adjusted such that the whole pasta does not have the too creamy kind of feel, and it's moist enough for one to savour it deliciously. Also, you can choose the type of pasta you want to be served.

AMBIENCE

It has both indoor and outdoor seats. But I love its alfresco dinning! A relaxing and beautiful place to chill out with friends after classes!

PRICE

The price is really cheap and does not have any GST or service charge. For a cafe and great food and cheap price, it's really a great hangout that I would recommend and I would definitely come back again!smile
 
Date of Visit: Nov 11, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $9(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Great Food Smile Dec 31, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood

Patronized one of my favourite restaurant for lunch on a fine day...
Shark's Fin Soup

Shark's Fin Soup

 
I love their shark's fin soup. It's very special and unique. I was first attracted by its presentation. The bowl of shark's fin soup was attached to its plate with some wax, and its lighted with fire so as to keep the bowl of shark's fin warm. The soup taste awesome! Not very starchy and has Tung Lok's unique touch to it.
Steamed Siew Mai

Steamed Siew Mai

 
Pork Siew Mai - still taste great!
Samsui Chicken

Samsui Chicken

 
The samshui chicken, however, doesn't taste as nice as the one in soup restaurant. The chicken rice is not that tender, and it's a little uncooked such that the reddish marks on the chicken bones makes one lose its appetite. The chicken paste is quite tasty though.
Fried Dumplings

Fried Dumplings

 
The deep fried dumplings definitely goes well with the mayonnaise sauce. Thumbs-up!

Overall, Tung Lok still has not failed me... I will definitely continue to support them as long as their standard of food remains as good as now. lol
 
Date of Visit: Nov 17, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Birthday dinner Smile Jul 09, 2013   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Noodles

Had my birthday treat at one of my favourite restaurants...

FOOD

 
Tung Lok's Roasted Pork

The "skin" is quite crispy which makes it so appealing. This dish is quite popular and need reservation before coming.

 
Boiled Prawns

The prawns are quite big and fresh. They have a special sauce which tastes great when eaten with the prawns.

 
Pork with fruits

The gravy is abit sour but the pork is quite crispy. Not too bad nevertheless!

 
Fried Golden Mushroom with Kale

I like the fragrance of the fried golden mushroom. Quite crispy and tasty too!

 
Tung Lok's Chili Crab

It was served with the fried buns. The buns were crispy and the chili crab gravy would taste better if more chili was added to it.

 
My birthday cake + Tung Lok's Longevity buns

The longevity buns were actually their custard buns in a different "wrapping".

SERVICE

So I was surprised when the waitress served us the longevity buns together with my birthday cake coupled with a chinese poetry wrote by the chef. Out for so many restaurants I have been, this was the first restaurant that went the extra mile for my birthday celebration, left me with an unforgettable impression. The poetry is mainly a birthday greeting written in chinese poem. The waitresses also sang a birthday song to me personally instead of playing the music on soundtrack. Could feel the sincere wishes coming from them. Kudos to them!

OVERALL

I'd always love Tung Lok's grp of restaurants. They offer great food and service, always portraying a positive side of their reputation and image to the customers. smile
 
Date of Visit: Jun 25, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $50(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fine Dining  Smile Jul 04, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Dim Sum

As a huge fan of paradise group, was curious to try their fine dining menu..

FOOD

 
Slice of Cod Fish with fruits in sour sauce (Appetizer)
I was awed by their appetizer. A slice of Cod Fish! We know that Cod Fish are generally more valuable than the rest of the fish, but they are generous enough to serve it as their appetizer. Great taste. Unique appetizer indeed.

 
Herbal Chicken Soup
Thick herbal soup with strong fragrance of all the herbal ingredients. Nourishing!

 
Beijing Roasted Duck
The duck's skin is cripsy and fragrant, and blends in well with the dark sauce, onions, and sugar. Bravo!

 
Braised TouFu with Crabmeat
The TouFu is crispy on the outside but soft and smooth inside. With the sweet-salty gravy, it makes the dish even more appealing.

 
Prawn with Salted Egg York
I came to realize that all salted egg york of paradise group taste the same. Crispy and full of egg!

 
Deep-fried Durian Ice-cream with mango puree
This is one of the rare desserts I've seen so far. Fried Durian Ice-cream! It's quite crispy, and tastes extremely good when eaten together with the mango puree.

 
Steamed Mashed Taro with Almond Cream in Young Coconut
A mixture of yam paste and almond cream. Taste good. But the almond cream is too thick such that it covered the fragrance of the yam.

 
Chilled Mango Puree with Sago and Pomelo topped with Coconut Ice-cream
A normal mango puree with Sago and Pomelo desert, but the added coconut ice-cream definitely enhances its taste!

AMBIENCE
The ambience is awesome. Our seat was just next to the window seat where we can catch a glimpse of the Marina Bay. It's an ideal dining place during National Day or New Year's Day where one can see the fireworks! Their internal furnishings is also quite impressive. Soft and comfortable seat.

SERVICE
Their service is also quite good. They will recommend you their signature dishes according to your budget. Fast and efficient in clearing dishes away.
 
Date of Visit: May 01, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $50(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dinner for the BOSSES  Smile Mar 02, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Seafood

To try out a special restaurant furnished like a triad, I went to Bosses located in VivoCity. It's dark and decorated in sleek black, which lives up to its name - 黑社会

FOOD

 
I am a fried-rice lover. I love to try different kind of fried rice. To taste their standard of fried rice, I ordered the Chef recommendation - Fried Rice With Seafood In Spicy X.O. Sauce. It's simply delicious! The spicy XO cause spiced up the fragrance of the dish, and I just couldn't have enough of it! mad

 
My friend, on the other hand ordered the chicken chop noodle. Crispy and tender chicken, but the soup was a little bland. Not as tantalizing as the XO fried rice though.

 
Being prawn lovers, we decided to try their egg-yolk prawn for our side dish. It comes with long bean and long thin slices of carrot which adds to its presentation. Fresh prawns and the egg yolk was good. The combination just adds ip to taste explosion! Bravo!

SERVICE
There is this crew leader/ manager who will recommend you the special or chef's recommendation when you are at a loss what to eat. He's quite friendly and really introduce quality food rather than not-as-delicious-food but cost more than it deserves.

AMBIENCE
Overlooking the coast of Sentosa, it's an ideal place to sit in during dinner where you can appreciate the evening/night scenery as you indulge in good food and dine "by the river". A romantic place for couples to dine in! smile

PRICE
It's abit expensice compared to normal restaurants. However, paying a little more for the quality of food, great service, and the beautiful night scenery, what's more can we expect? smile
 
Date of Visit: Mar 01, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0