OpenRice Index
  
Member 2 First(s)
No. of Review11 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity29 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos16 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant20 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲28 Follower(s)
ilovecakehk  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 11 Reviews in Singapore
Grab and go OK Mar 27, 2018   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Bakery | Desserts and Cakes | Burgers and Sandwiches | Salads

Decide to grab breakfast from PB a this little shiny bacon sweet roll caught my eye, there is a chilli version however I didn’t think my stomach could handle heat in the morning. When back at the office I plate and cut the bacon roll, inside revealed a layer of pastry and rolled around egg and herbs.
I take a bite of this delightful looking roll and my first response is that it’s a little too sweet.
It is good but if the amount of honey was reduced and the bread thicker/more dense to complement the bacon and egg it would be a winner. And because it’s too sweet for my palate (yes I know it’s a sweet bacon roll) it drops down to a two star as I won’t be ordering it again.


 

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good brunch Smile Mar 25, 2018   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery | Café | Burgers and Sandwiches

I wake up today craving a meaty brunch and the idea of a bagel pops into my head. A quick Google points me the direction of Two Men Bagel. I head over to the closest branch in Novena. The shop is located on the outside of the shopping centre with seating on the pavement. I look at the menu and there are two choices that fulfil my meaty requirement, the Primal (brisket) or Ribs, I choose the brisket as my substitute for a roast beef Sunday lunch. When I get to order my first choice of bagel the multigrain had run out so I choose the cheddar. After paying I realised the Primal already had cheddar which meant I was getting good dose of double cheese. So I sit down and wait for my order, the seating is on bar stools/table on the pavement or next to the open kitchen where you can see the fresh bagels being made. I didn’t have to wait long for my order and when it did, I opened the wrapping paper to reveal a chunky cheesy bagel with a generous portion of brisket, cheddar and pickle, I was in for a treat. The bagel was fresh, soft and cheesy, it wasn’t my first choice but did go well with the filling. The brisket was flavoursome, juicy and had small bits of fat which added to the flavour, this was all complimented by the sourness of the picked, cheddar cheese and BBQ sauce. I enjoyed every bite of this delicious bagel and was exactly what I was looking for. One comment on the bagel is that I generally prefer the dough to be a little more chewy but that’s a minor preference in what is a very good bagel. I will be returning to try the ribs!

I’ve marked hygiene down for two reasons, even though the staff are quick at cleaning the tables, the cleaning isn’t thorough, from the picture you can see tissues and food on the floor which attracted pigeons. And secondly the bin was full.


 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  The  Primal
 
Date of Visit: Mar 25, 2018 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Rainy donut OK Mar 24, 2018   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery

It suddenly started to down pour so I stopped in Raffles City for a coffee. I stumble across J.Co and order the Glazzy (glazed ring donut) and an Americano to balance the sweetness. The coffee was medium strength with a hint of sourness. The donut not overly sweet but I didn’t like the chewy texture of the dough. It’s OK but not to my taste so I probably won’t be coming again. As for the environment, the seating area was clean and staff helpful.

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Too good to share Smile Mar 24, 2018   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Bakery | Café | Desserts and Cakes

After the a lunch time gym session I walked past Paul’s and my legs just decided to stop and naturally I look at the delicious range of pastries, baguettes, etc. And suddenly my eyes stopped at the tart aux abricots. I order and pay for the tart and return to the office. I wait a time until there were less people in the office before I open the box. I do this otherwise I would have had to share. And this was a very good decision as when I did finally put the first piece into my mouth I just wanted to hide away and enjoy it to myself. The perfect combination of the light sweetness of the custard is balanced by the slight sourness of the apricots and all on top of a buttery and flaky pastry. This was perfectly complemented by a black coffee.

 
 
Date of Visit: Mar 14, 2018 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fish or shape? OK Mar 24, 2018   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fast Food | Halal

Having grown up in the land that created fish and chips I quite often need a fix. Today I stumbled across Long John Slivers. Looking at the menu it narrowed down to the two piece fish combo or the two piece dory combo. When I asked the staff what was the difference between the two she replied one is a fish (dory) and the other is a shape, which made my decision easier, fish. The dory combo meal with fries and drink came very quickly and was hot. At first glance the chips didn’t look good very however when I did eat them they were nice and crunch, they tasted better than they looked. Only complaint is there should be a more. Now for the fish, the batter doesn’t quite have the same texture as the fish and chips from U.K. And the fish which was a good sized portion was little tough. Overall it just edged in at three stars as my fix for fish and fries (I’ve come to accept that it’s difficult to get chips in Asia) was just about satisfied. In addition to my complaint about the portion size of the fries is that the carton that the fish and fries came in was too small, there isn’t sufficient space to cut the fish. And on the subject of cutting the fish the plastic knife was too soft and kept on bending. This is the same in a lot of places and I guess instead of complaining I should carry with me a travel cutlery set which would more environmentally friendly. I marked hygiene as two as the tables even though wiped still has bits of food laying around. And also the floor had lots of shoe prints.

 
 
Date of Visit: Mar 23, 2018 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0