OpenRice Index
  
carinechua
This is carinechua . I like to hang out in Jurong East. Taiwanese, Chinese, Japanese , Korean, Hongkong are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bars/Lounges, Café, Restaurant, Bakery, Specialised Food Shop and Desserts and Cakes, Dim Sum, Western Food, bubble tea, BBQ.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review55 Review(s)
編輯推介數目2 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity506 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos842 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant51 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲130 Follower(s)
carinechua  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 55 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Restaurant | Chinese Soup

Hey Peeps ! Have you wonder how is Seattle's Chowder taste ?
The chowder that come from State of Washington, US .
Just nice on 9th Aug National Day, it marks the calendar of Seattle Pike Chowder flagship store under the concept of Giojio together with a Giovanni L's gelatos at heart of Marina Parade Central with an al fresco dining area.

 

http://cennds.blogspot.sg/2015/08/food-review-seattle-pike-chowder.html


From far, Seattle Pike Chowder wasn't obvious, i was quite hard to locate the location because its name plate placed at the right corner, a bit of hidden whereas Giovanni gelato was just nice next to McDonald and took up most of the space.

 
Seattle Pike Chowder serves 6 type of Chowders. All the ingredients for chowders are freshly imported daily from Seattle. Bread bowl is locally sourced. That's the name of Seattle Pike Chowder of its Seattle. 

The price range with bread bowl is from $12,90 - $14.90 .
Without Bread bowl vary from $8.90 on wards.

 
I was invited to Food tasting and here are 3 of the chowders we tasted.


New England Clam Chowder

The broth is creamy and rich with Chopped Ocean Clams, Potatoes, Celery, Onion, White Pepper, Sea Salt, Clam Stock, Half-and-half, Butter, Flour. A lot of chunky goodness were filled and soup was served in a hot manner.

I do like the chowder ! It tasted good and best to eat with bread but the bread was not fantastic enough. Its texture is too chewy and it become hard though in a longer time. They could improve more on the bread to serve a better Bread bowl with chowder.

 

Seafood Bisque

Fresh and rich seafood chowder with Salmon, Cod, Crab, Bay Shrimp, Garlic, Black Pepper, Sea Salt, Tomato Basil Cream Broth, Shellfish Stock, Cream, Butter, Flour. It was one of favourite chowder of the night! There were a lot of seafood bites and the smell of its broth was no doubt. All the ingredients went into a savoury mix.

 

 

Smoked Salmon Chowder

A bit of salty and a very strong smokey smell of chowder. Although it has a lot of mixed ingredients such as Smoked Salmon, Cream Cheese, Capers, Potato, Onion, Celery, Tomato, Garlic, Smoked Salt, Black Pepper, Shellfish stock, Cream, Milk, Butter, Flour on its Chowder and it is not as creamy as the other 2 chowders but the essence of smoked salmon was successfully blended in. I didn't like much on its Smokey burnt smell but those smoked salmon lovers are definitely like it !

 
After done with Chowder, we were given a surprise of sweets !
Gelato is come from Germany. There are lot of flavour that impressed me a lot ! And i was confused which one i should to try .

You can choose to use corn or cup . The price range as per below :

Classics is from $4.90 onwards per scoop .
Premium is from $5.90 per scoop ( Pistacho, Peanut butter, Eggnog, Spiced Chai Tea, etc ).

 
There are also alcohol gelatos. The staff is friendly to ask whether we can take alcohol beforehand.  Both sweet alcohol of Eggnog and Amarena are the among of choices. If you prefer lesser stronger smell, Amarena would be good as Eggnog has a stronger alcohol smell

Pitcashio and Peanut Butter were highly recommended ! Both are only available on seasonal.

Spiced Chai Tea definitely can feel the little of bit spicy

 
They also have Ferrero rocher and Kinder Bueno !
Kinder bueno is lesser tasty compare to Ferrero Rocher, the taste is not strong enough compare to its origin snackie Kinder Bueno.

 
After so much tasting, I decide to choose 3 flavour of the night !
Caramel Indulgence, Pistachio, and Amarena .
I like caramel so no doubt for me to choose caramel and is also nice with the peanut toppings. Pistachio is one of the gelatos that have to try ! Its rich and not creamy

The ice cream is melted very fast especially in al fresco dining area.

 
There will be another branch at Fork Canning Center.
I am excited to wait for the launching of its Gelato Spaghetti.
Spaghetti that made from ice cream. Could you imagine how amazing it is !
 
Date of Visit: Aug 13, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

New Revamp Menu Harry's bar OK May 31, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bars/Lounges

From time to time, we heard about Harry's. It has grown become a well established bar and dining place for beers, extensive selection of wines and stylish cocktails.

Recently Harry's has opened a New Outlet at Clarke Quay on 1st May 2015 and more awesome with the launch of new revamp Food Menu !.

Proudly to announce that now Harry's not only a place for drinking but also offering 50 over International selection of Food, prepared by their culinary teams.

Blog Review : http://cennds.blogspot.com/2015/05/food-review-new-revamp-menu-harrys-bar.html

Food Menu is divided into different section from finger foods to desserts.

Let's Start with Beer And Small Plates

Harry's Premium Lager ( HPL )

Since Harry's is known as a well established bar, we shouldn't left out with their Signature Beer of Draught. Cheers with HPL ! ($13) It is not as gassy as other beers and lesser bitter

 
Fish Cracklings

Crunchy Crunchy !! Crackling of eel fish at the price of $13 per serving, tossed with their own spices mix and served with aioli, savory garlic mayonnaise.
The best part is no fishy or unfavorable smell founded.

 
Crab and Potato Cakes

It is not a cakes of dessert but it is a blue swimmer crab and potato cakes with a light crunch, served with a delightful home blended tomato dip. Texture is soft enough and could be your choice of an easy and convenient fingers food at $19 for 6 pcs

 
Harry's Signature Wings

Harry's Small Plates Signature of crispy wings, dressed in a secret spice and served with a sauce that tasted like a sambal belacan but it was not exactly a sambal belacan.
In fact it is Harry' unique homemade chili jam which tends o be more spicy.
All time favorites at the price of $13 for 6 pcs, $19 for 10 pcs

 
Platters for Sharing

Japaleno Steak Sliders

A little sharing with friends and families ($13).
A Grilled steak that cut into a small slice of beef for a juicy slider burger with a charred bell peppers and jalaperio cheese sauce which you give you the heat of the burger instead of spicy

 
Big Plates and Signature Cocktail

Like the structured Menu and the way they serve the Menu Tasting.
At different type of food section, different drink is served to suit for the every taste.

Dirty Harry

Enjoy a refreshing glass of Signature Cocktails of vodka built with brown sugar and lychee liqueur for a flavored fruits and desire touch of lime wedges ($16). 
One of my favorite drinks at the night.

 
Chicken Masala

If you visit an Indian food, masala would be always founded in their menu.
It is a combination of spice blended in Indian Term.
Nonetheless, it is not a curry but a spiced gravy for the grilled smokey chicken that cook together with their own marinated sauce. ($23)
The toasted Charcoal bread is great to soak at the flavourful and unique pot of Chicken Masala.

 
Crabmeat Spaghettini

Tossed Spaghettini with fresh handpicked crab meat in tomato sauce, pine nuts and fresh chili cuts. Tough it is warned with a chili sign, but the spiciness is really not much. The spaghettini was not savory enough and too watery. ( $23 )

 
Come to End of Dessert

Toffee Apple Crisp Tart

Perfect treats for sweet craving with glass of Fruity Moscato ($13.50). A lovely crush pastry topped with thin sliced apple, spread with a mouth watering salted caramel and vanilla ice cream for extra satisfaction ($14)

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Harry's Signature Wings,Crab and potato cakes
 
Date of Visit: May 28, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi | Omakase

Authentic Japanese Cuisine in Singapore since 1995 with the flagship outlet at Tanglin Shopping Center and is also the first to bring in authentic Robatayaki at Akanoya, located in Orchard Parade Hotel. Robatayaki is method of cooking , similar to barbeque which food on skewers are slow-grilled over hot charcoal.

 
They serves most of the Japanese Food included usual sushi, sashimi, bento, udon ( noodle) and other dishes such as fried rice. On top of it, it is also famed for the longest sushi bar in town, offered an innovative variety of over 100 dishes prepared with the finest ingredients imported from Japan. Ingredients and seafood are personally bought by their staff in Japan from the Tsukji market and air-flown to Singapore daily

Pitan Tofu

It is a simple yet satisfying soft tofu. Lovely hick sauce made form yolk of the century egg topped with Crab Stick and Spring Onion is a good choice for appetizer.

 
Shrimp Tempura

A deep fried non – greasy Shrimp tempura is just nice for the choice of fried appetizer. Prawn is fresh and not much flour was tasted

 
Shime Saba

A nice hop on of grilled Saba in the mouth which known as Vinegar Mackerel, a classic dish from Japan and one of the popular fish in Japan. It is marinated with salt and rice vinegar but no worries it neither taste salty or sour but overall is mouth-watering

 
Sukiyaki

The set of sukiyaki comes with fruits of watermelon, light dish, raw egg, slices of beef and light fresh vegetables such as mélange of greens, tofu, shitake, carrots, and glass noodle
cooked in a pre-heated pot with a flavourful broth. The soup was a bit of salty but it was
superb and like the smell and taste of the broth. Some people prefer to dip their meats with the raw egg, but some prefer to let the egg cooked in the soup.

 
Seafood Fried Rice

It is a small portion of fried rice, smells good and served with egg, prawn, and squid. To some it is a replaceable of 1 bowl rice.

 
Wakadori Set

The deep fried chicken is marvelous. Love the juicy chicken meat and crispy skin. The set comes with fruits, soup and light Japanese dish. The Shredded cabbage with a light drizzle plum sauce was nice and sweet praises in my mouth.

 
Look at the mouth watering juicy chicken. It was damn nice fully chicken meat

 
Sushi set with Wasabi

The exclusive sushi set with complete type of salmon was just nice for salmon craving sushi. Shredded cabbage of plum sauce and watermelon came with most of the set. Salmon were fresh as well as the tasty sushi. However, Be aware that it contains wasabi for each sushi. If you don’t want the wasabi, kindly request them not put wasabi for each sushi

 
Chasoba Sushi Set Meal

Noodles are hard and chewy. Texture and doneness of noodles – cold was just perfect and like the sushi a lot.

 

 
Supplementary Information:
Wakadori Set of juicy chicken is worth to try
 
Date of Visit: May 01, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $25

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Old Street Bak Kut Teh Smile Mar 19, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese Soup | Bak Kut Teh

Bak Kut Teh is known as " meat bone tea ", a familiar dish that originated from China
Fujian province. It is cooked with a meat pork ribs in a robust bowl of soup brewed with
various medicinal herbs and spices.
The founder of Old Street Bak Kut Teh, Jason Lim created the perfect formula for its bak kut
teh that is non oily and healthier. Besides, the traditional menu they also offered the innovativetwists of dry version as well as their freshly hand made dough fritters, bean curd, and herbal jelly.

 
Adopted from my blog : http://cennds.blogspot.com

Reaching the place at the good timing with lesser crowd and no queue yet.
We were assisted by their staff to the seat and start ordering dishes thru Ipad.
Different type of sauces are displayed in the middle of aisle bar.
All cutleries are kept in your table drawer .

What to eat :

To satisfy palate of Bak Kut Teh, dough fritter should not be missed out, hence Bak Kut Teh and dough fritter are must to order. Conversely with my friend, i would prefer Noodle - Mee Sua instead of rice.

While went through the menu, we saw the SET menu consists of rice, pork ribs soup, dough fritters, and bean curd for $11 which is cheaper and more worth it instead of ordering per dishes. Without hesitate, we chose SET menu that mainly consists of food we were going to have.

Pork Ribs Soup

Simple yet mouth watering soup of the spices ingredients.
The soup is free flow with no extra cost which assisted by their staff adding to your bowl.

 
Dough Fritters

You tiao is the must to have while eating Bak Kut Teh. The best to eat the Freshly hand made dough fritters is by dipping it into the soup. The skin is crispy and not much oil was founded.

 
Mee Sua - Noodle

Simple yet delicious Noodle, Like the sweet of the mee sua's soup.

 
Dry Bak Kut Teh

This would be the best dishes besides the You Tiao and also my virgin to Dry Bak Kut Teh.
It taste delicious with the spices herbal ingredients and stirred well with fried ginger, lady finger especially the innovative of their specialty dark sauce but it was really spicy .

 
Kai Lan - Vegetable

Besides, the Bak Kut Teh, their Kai Lan is also appetizer with right amount of soya sauce
and cooked in a way that satisfy your veggie crave.

 
Bean Curd

Set meal of Bak Kut teh included the  hand made bean curd was just mediocre.
Soft enough but it was not smooth enough yet of its curd.

 
 
Spending per head: Approximately $12

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dian Xiao Er - CNY Menu 2015 Smile Jan 29, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Beijing | Zi Char

We just celebrated the Fun & Crazy Party of New year on last month.
And Next WHAT ?? CNY is coming soon in another 3 weeks.

Family gathering and CNY festive are just in a corner of all of us.
So, what is your MENU plan for CNY ?
Lou Hei – Yu Sheng is absolutely what we are waiting for on every lunar year.

I am truly honored to be able to enjoy the first Lunar New Year menu from Dian Xiao Er 店小二 Will be launched on this coming Friday 30th Jan 2015 till the last day of CNY.

 

About Dian Xiao Er


Dian Xiao Er is a restaurant, specialty in traditional Chinese cuisine with an unique Ancient inn dining experience. It has been operated for 13 years with the first outlet at Chinatown and subsequent expanding at various shopping malls, reach up to 10 outlets across Singapore.

 
The tasty food is absolutely no doubt with a comfort food in a homely setting, slightly above Zi Char pricing. The rustic ambience features the freshness of their famous signature herbal roast duck which are prepared and roasted daily in their kitchen.

Customer can choose to have a different dining ambience, designed from the traditional Chinese inn to dining inside a rustic timber shed at the foot of a stone cliff .

 

 


To usher the golden year of goat, Dian Xiao Er has specially created dishes for us to indulge for this season. The featuring special menu on Golden Jubilee Year as follow :
- Sauteed Baby Lobster with Pumpkin Sauce
- Prosperous Braised Trotters
- Hongkong Style Chinese Pomfret

To stay true on the delectable dishes and bring the guest to enjoy the most memorable dining experience for CNY season, Dian Xiao Er has put down the efforts in order to come out with a delicious choice for Lunar New Year Menu thru having a discussion with their Chefs and a number of tasting since Last November.


Salmon Yu Sheng


The first meal served in our table. Everyone was WAOW !!~~ large portion of Yu Sheng for 12 pax And included Me !!! was excited to wait for Lou- Hei together.

Sided with a Fresh Salmon, Oil to avoid the dryness of vegetable absolutely it is (not a cooking oil ), Delicious Plum Sauce, and Yummy Crackers.

Do you know what is the correct step to eat Yu Sheng ?

 
First of all, squeeze the lime on the salmon to have a savoury and enhance the test

 
Next then , Put the salmon on top of vegetable

 
Continue on by, Pouring the Oil and Plum Sauce together

 
Lastly, sprinkle the cracker on the Yu Sheng

 
Now is a time to LOU - HEI .. !!!! ~~~ ( shout out all the Chinese Prosperous Poem )
Everyone hand was busy and Let's Lou High High ..

 

 


Shark's Fin Broth with Crab Meat & Conpoy


Special designed for CNY occasion, the luxury dish of Shark’s Fin Broth comes together with Crab Meat and Conpoy - dried scallops serve as a delectable light meal for family enjoy.

For Ala – carte order is only available either with Crab Meat or Conpoy instead of both. So, why not go for Menu Set to have both as it would be much more appetizing.

 


Signature Herbal Roast Duck with 3 Flavours

( Angelica Herb, Ten Wonders, Wild Ginseng )

The signature Herbal Roast Duck is a must try at Dian Xiao Er. The art of duck roasting has been acquired through years of experience. The finest quality of Cherry Valley ducks they use, combined with a traditional preparation technique and modern equipment yield the tasty perfect roasted ducks.

The common signature is Ten Wonder Herbs Roast Duck. Duck is roasted with the herbs and subsequently the herbs will be used for its sauce. The tender and sweetish juicy of its meat especially the crispiness of its skin is really awesome to have more of its ideal roasted ducks.

 

 
From Left to Right : Wild Ginseng, Ten wonders, Angelica Herb

To have a flawless enjoyable roasted duck with a special recipe of its each sauce, Firstly we shall start the secret recipe sauce from :
- Angelica Herb known as Dang Gui 当归 in chinese - the least strong taste and lesser herbal.
- followed by Ten Wonders - my favorite although it is a bit salty.
- lastly followed by the strongest taste of Wild Ginseng - mulberry

 


Sauteed Baby Lobster with Pumpkin Sauce


Special dishes of Golden baby lobster are tossed in delectable thick salted egg sauce and sweetened with pumpkin for a sweet touch. Lobster is easier to come out from its shell when you dig. It is much more convenient to eat with no hassle without the use of hand.

The lovely pumpkin sauce made me couldn’t left out my hand from digging the sauce to eat together with lobster. It is a good choice to satisfy you palates and special created to start off for your sweet note of the year.

Note : It was cooked with Chili Padi hence the spice is there. But, surprised !! i didn't taste the spice at all perhaps my tounge has been freezed by spiciness.
So, Readers !! Please take on note it

 


Prosperous Braised Trotter


Originated dishes from Malaysia, and recommended trotters by their professional chef. It is a traditional dish braised for over a few hours. A tender soft meat well complemented with the savouriness of dried oysters and shitake mushrooms, indulge in the flavourful combination for a traditional feast with family.

 


Hongkong Style Chinese Pomfret


The most prized grade of Chinese Pomfret – Steamed Fish. Rarely, to have this big portion of Pomfret and it is also my first time to see it. Good to have this to start ahead for Lunar New Year occasion as it is a must have for celebratory occasions.

Steamed with ginger in a hongkong style to retain its freshness and tender meat. Although the meat was not soft but the complement of light sauce to accentuate the au nature! freshness of fish and tasty fried onion make the Pomfret to have more flavoursome.

 

 


Luxurious Abalone Treasure Pot


The luxurious abalone as what we have during CNY is served in a pot with complement of soya sauce and braised for quite a some tome together with a tasty dishes of sea cucumber known as Hai sen - 海参in chinese, carrot, sweet – pea, fish maw, and mushroom.

It was a bit dry, hard and raw on some dishes thus it was not really so appetizing but the fish-maw was nice and soft enough. Nonetheless, After gotten our feedback, I believe that before the official launched of their CNY menu, they will make an  improvement on it and serve the best quality for customer to enjoy!

 


D – Boiled Hashima ( Cold )


A chinese dessert prepared in a thin cold broth together with raw sugar, red dates and some Chinese herbs which allegedly has all sorts of health benefits. Generally, hashima is a cheaper version of bird’s nest soup.

It really doesn’t taste anything other than the taste came from midly sweet broth rather than the jelly but it is good for refreshing after a dinner as a light nature.

 


Note
: There is an early bird discount for takeaway packages before 1st February 2015.

Saturday will be the Last day to enjoy the special prices !
Collection : 18 February, between 9am to 3 pm
Order have to be made in – store and collected in the same outlet

Details of the CNY Menu Set & reservation, you could refer to their website
http://www.dianxiaoer.com.sg/

 

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0