OpenRice Index
  
Tanopen
This is Tanopen .
Member 9 First(s)
No. of Review22 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity311 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos87 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant22 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲18 Follower(s)
Tanopen  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 22 Reviews in Singapore
Very Ordinary Food OK Nov 08, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Hotel | Vegetarian | Brunch

Read this :

Only $8.80 NETT for an All - Day Set Meal, Choose between Fish & Chips, Bratwurst Spaghetti
Olio or El-Camino Chicken Thigh - Comes with Free Flow Of Soup, Lemonade, Tea &
Coffee

Sounds good ? So I purchased some Deal vouchers to try out the food.

Soup of the Day
This taste like the usual condensed soup you buy in cans.

Fish & Chips
This is deep fried dory fish (or the cheap sutchi fish) in bread crumbs. We were served pretty deep brown fish (not golden brown), meaning that the fish was over-fried. 2 pieces, served with straight cut fries.

El-Camino Chicken Thigh
I think this is a better choice that the fish & chip. The brown sauce is quite tasty. Served with a hard chunk of carrot, mashed potatoes & another veg - mine was a piece of broccoli, while my companion's was 2 pods of pea.

My Samsung phone's camera always give very intense colours. Actually the broccoli was quite yellowish with only some patches of green, not the bright 'healthy' green you see in the picture.

Coffee & Tea
Free flow, which you help yourself from the counter. Tea are from tea bags.

Given the ambience of the place, the food is cheap. However, given the quality, it is not enough to lure me back again.

 

 

 

 

 
the not very fresh broccoli wigh yellow patches

the not very fresh broccoli wigh yellow patches

 
 
Date of Visit: Sep 17, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $8.80

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Average Western Food + Dessert OK Nov 08, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Seafood | Roasted Meat

Dined here with family on a Monday evening, so that we do not need to jostle with others, including car park lots.

These were the items we ordered :

Tomato & Bacon Soup $6.50
This was soup of the day. Rich & thick soup, it is so flavourful and chock full of vegetables. While we really enjoyed the soup, we had to stop ourselves from ordering one for each of us, as we wanted to save space for the mains & desserts.

Seafood Spaghetti Marinara $19.95
This pasta is served with prawns, calamari, crabmeat and olives. They were OK to exclude calamari & olives, which my daughter dislike. Portion was big, taste wise ok, though smell of crabmeat is a little strong.

Piglet Pizza $18.50
Pizza with ham, mushroom, onions and mozarella cheese. Dough was biscuit-like and thin.

Barbequed Baby Ribs $19.95
This was about half slab, served with choice of foil-baked potato or fragrant rice. Meat fell off easily from the bones. The downside - not very hot, it was like just warmed from a microwave oven, rather than freshly BBQ'd (or baked in oven) & served piping hot.

Pan-Seared Sirloin Steak $24.95
This was served with mashed potatoes, topped with roasted field mushrooms and green pepper butter. I asked for medium well, about 70% doneness, but it came out quite rare, still very red inside. Again, this dish was just warm, like it had been left standing for awhile before it was served.

While the steak is nothing to shout about, being quite tasteless, if not for the gravy, they were quite generous with the mushrooms. 

Baileys Me! (for that extra zing) $14.95
Baileys Irish Cream Cheesecake and French Vanilla ice cream drizzled with Baileys. The Baileys Irish cream was served separately in a small saucer, to be drizzled over the ice cream.

The Baileys in the cake is quite discernable. With it's alcohol content, a teetotellar may find it intoxicating.

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Oct 27, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $31

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good Food at Affordable Prices OK Nov 03, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Spanish | European | Paella

Went there on a Sunday intending to try the Paella. Unfortunately it was not available in the menu for single portion, but a big platter for 2 or more pax to share. 

We decided to order other items :

Mushroom Soup
This is a must order whenever we were at restaurants that serves this soup. Unlike the thick soup in the picture, what was served was a watered down version. The truffle oil added a new dimension to the taste, enhancing it. When we asked for another serving, we were told that it was sold out. Wondered if the bowl we had was therefore diluted to make up the volume ?? 

Panfried Salmon $17
Served with mash & salad. Tasted OK.

Aglio Olio Prawn $15
Served with 5 large succulent prawns. A little dry though.

Mushroom Carbonara $11
Pasta looked dry like the aglio olio type. Only the mushroom had visible cream sauce, which was plated on top of the pasta, with some cheese shavings. Would have preferred the richer, creamier version.

Wagyu Beef $25
While this was tasty, the cut had lots of tendons. You can see the picture (sorry, if the 'leftover' is a turn off) that about 1/3 of the meat is the inedible tendons.

Molten Chocolate Cake $11
Quite disappointed as it had a weird 'yeasty' smell.

PS : The bill excluded the mushroom soup. Perhaps it was my innocuous question whether it should be thick & creamy (as shown in the picture) that lead to it's cancellation from the bill. The one that we had was really thin.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Oct 19, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $20

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Excellent Food Smile Oct 25, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Sushi/Sashimi

This is a one of the restaurants that opened at Hillv2, a newly opened small shopping mall along Hillview Ave.

The original outlet is at Jubilee Square, Ang Mo Kio Ave 8. The menu looks good, & I decided to give a good friend a birthday treat there.

THese are the dishes we tried :

Kodai sashimi $32
Had originally wanted swordfish sashimi, as both of us love the firm, rich & buttery taste. The chef however recommended Kodai, a small japanese snapper, saying that it was very fresh, very good, just arrived from Japan, & after the sashimi, he would male soup, FOC, with the bones.

So, instead of the run-of-mill sashimi, we agreed to his suggestion. 

The whole platter was so nicely carved & presented, with flowers, rosette sashimi + cavier. 

The flesh is mildly sweet. Not really fantastic. We would still have preferred the richer swordfish sashimi.

Yasai Sarada $4.80
This mixed vegetable salad is a good appetiser, with sesame dressing. 

Wagyu Tataki $26.80
The wagyu beef is said to be from Kagoshima. Nicey done, lightly grilled on the outside & still rare in the inside. 

Wagyu Don $24.80
I didn't enjoy this at all, as the don is too sweet. There was just a few pieces of the Kagoshima wagyu. For Wagyu beef lovers, I think a better choice will be to order the wagyu tataki & savour on it's own, or go with just plain rice.

Sanshoku Dragon Roll $14.80
This is fried king prawn reverse roll with avocado & mango, topped with flying fish roe. Very nicely presented. You get a nice crunch from the fried prawn when biting into the sushi roll.

Ikura Chawan mushi $7.80
Instead of the usual plain chawanmushi, we tried this one, which is topped with salmon roe. Chawanmushi is smooth.

Complimentary Fish Soup
This was made from the Kodai bones. The broth, with it's dashi stock, is clean & refreshing. It is good that Kinsa Sushi made use of the bones & made a soup pot, FOC, as some other restaurants don't.

We were also served 2 other complimentary dishes : 

- a tuna-daikon side dish, while waiting for our food
- a plate of 2 wedges of oranges, for dessert.

This is a restaurant that I'll go back again.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Oct 17, 2014 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $67

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hearty American Classics Smile Oct 25, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Pasta | Steaks and Grills | Brunch

The place is bright and cheery, certainly very inviting. 

True to it's name, almost every main course has a egg item. These are the main course we had :

Veal Sausage & Egg ($12.90)
This comprised of a sausage, scrambled eggs, baked beans , some greens & 3 pieces of pancakes. Every kid's dream plate, light savoury items and pancakes to be enjoyed with 3 different sauces - maple, chocolate & stawberry.

Aglio Olio King River Prawn Pasta ($19.90)
Unlike the picture, which showed a hugh portion of pasta, our portion was however measly. The prawn seems smaller in size too. Taste wise, it is ok. The sous vide eggs was delicately carved, with some patterns on the white.

Pork & Sage Spiked Burger (12.90)
This is a steal at $12.90. A hearty portion of tasty pork patty with egg & lettuce, accompanied with sides of potato wedges & some greens. 

Pink Fisk Steak ($19.90)
This is pan fried salmon. WHile alittle dry on the inside, it is actually quite nicely done, as the top & bottom are nicely browned, concentrating the seasoning that goes into it. Served with some greens and a sous vide egg.

Berries Berries ($6.50)
A smoothies made with berries. A refreshing drink !

We will certainly be back to try other items.

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 24, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $23

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0