OpenRice Index
  
Jellylovesfood
This is Jellylovesfood .
Member 29 First(s)
No. of Review74 Review(s)
編輯推介數目18 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity816 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos2433 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant237 My Restaurant(s)
Follow244 Following
粉絲442 Follower(s)
Jellylovesfood  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 56 to 60 of 74 Reviews in Singapore
49 Seats at Orchard Central OK Jul 09, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Pasta

[49 seats]
Location: Orchard Central Level 8 (Main branch at 49 Kreta Ayer Rd)
This orchard branch definitely is much spacious than the main outlet, with more than 49 seats of course.
Deco: Theme metal. The restaurant uses metal furniture, with wiremesh as wall decorations. Even dish plates & bowls are all metal ones.
Food: Western. Main courses includes a selection of pastas, fish & chips, chicken chop and steak. There's also soups, side dishes & desserts for you to start and end your meal with.
My friend and I ordered Golden Escagots, Tom Yum Seafood Pasta and Cheesy Chicken Chop.
Golden Escagots was served in a small metal bowl. Each escagot is deep fried into a crispy golden ball. Tasted really bland with no dips to go along and each bite into the balls has oil dripping out! Too oily!
Tom Yum Seafood Pasta was quite a surprised choice. The tom yum gravy was really creamy with hint of sour and spiciness that made this fusion Thai + western creation a yummy one! You could see all the tables around ordered this dish smile
Cheesy chicken chop didn't stand out like the Tom Yum Pasta. Although the meat was well marinated but too much tomato aftertaste. Decent but no wow factor.
We didn't order any desserts because we already made plans to go for Korean Bingsu after 49.
Verdict: Decent food and non expensive prices. But not much of wow factor that will let me come the second time unless my friends wanted to.

 

 
Very oily

Very oily

 

 

 

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Coolplay Softserve Singapore Smile Jul 09, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese | Ice Cream and Gelato

[ Coolplay Softserve Singapore ]
Location: Toa Payoh Lor 4, Blk 85B
Situated at Toa Payoh old estate, below a hdb block, it's was standing in the middle of the whole stretch. Location wasn't impressive, you might just walked past without noticing.
Deco: The whole shop was in blue & yellow wallpaper throughout, with cute moustache cartoon illustrations on them. A long bench was placed for customers to take photos against the yellow background. Lotsa interesting props were also provided to you to play around with your camera.
Food: Softserve ice cream on cone or cup. $4.50 for a flavour and $5.00 for mixed. Different flavours are rotated each week. This week they have Strawberry, Heavy Chocolate & Honey Walnut. I bought all 3. The texture of the softserve was smooth & creamy.
For me, best among all is the strawberry flavour softserve. Refreshing plus abit sourish taste from the fruit bits. Felt like eating frozen strawberries smile
Heavy Chocolate tastes dark and intense, chocolate lovers will like it. If you choose the mixed version softserve, it actually balances well with strawberry.
Honey walnut has a nutty aftertaste and halfway through it, the taste that remains in my mouth becomes like gula melaka.. This flavour is too sweet for my liking.
By the way, a cute little piece of moustache-shaped cookie is placed on each order too.
Verdict: Overall experience was decent. Price reasonable and staff was friendly also. I will revisit soon for other flavours if I'm in Toa Payoh hood.

 

 
So many cute props

So many cute props

 
Too sweet

Too sweet

 
Yummy combi

Yummy combi

 
Cute backdrop for phototaking

Cute backdrop for phototaking

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Black and Ink Smile Jul 06, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes

[ Black&Ink ]
A cosy cafe along Changi road. Nearest to Eunos MRT station, followed by 5-8mins walk. The interior deco were mainly in black & white. White marble-top tables with old skool black wooden chairs that we usually sees in aged coffeeshops.
The owner behind this place is Roy. I had quite a long chat with him and heard him saying the mission behind these work that he is doing. Alot of entrepreneurs started cafe businesses because of the current market trend & profits, but he does it to help a certain group of people. People whom are in need of proper help, care and guidance which books can't assist. Conclusion: A small place with a BIG HEART.
The main highlight of Black & Ink is coffee. Although I'm not good in it but when you taste it, you can feel the passion and heart that Roy puts in it. He's a certified barista by the way and he is really proud of his coffee.
My personal preferences are the cakes & pastries served in a cafe. There are quite a variety of them offered in Black & Ink and I could assure you, they're as good as they looked! I ordered a Salted Egg Yolk Muffin and the "Under Table" cake. A savory and a sweet. For coffee, we had a black and a white smile
My white coffee: Smooth and not very acidic, the taste I like it to be. When cool, it has a berry aftertaste that lingers in your mouth.
Salted Egg Yolk Muffin: As coffee is the highlight here, thus main ingredient for this muffin. Initially I thought it's gula melaka till Roy clarifies. And the fillings? Let it flow.. Let it floooooww... The salted egg yolk taste wasn't very over-whelming or salty, thus create a balance with the coffee muffin. It's yum!
Under-Table cake: First layer of cream cheese, then the bananas, followed by belgium chocolate and the crispy base. It's heavenly! The fruit & chocolate blends so well together while taste of bananas wasn't overpowered. Most importantly, it's not too sweet smile
Assorted pastries, danish, buns & cakes are on daily menu. Currently cafe serves new items like burgers, assorted gelato. Gelato flavours changes monthly smile Mao Shan Wang gelato is the highlight of July.
Verdict: Black & Ink cafe is a great place to chill out. Prices are reasonable too. I will definitely frequent here.

 

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: May 20, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dessert Project Smile Jul 06, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Ice Cream and Gelato

[ Dessert Project ]
Location: Blk 22 Havelock Rd #01-673
Decor: White walls with simple "concrete" finished areas around the whole shop. Wooden tabletops & metal chairs.
Service: Boss is friendly but he opened the shop late. Supposed to operate at 12noon but till 1230pm, it's not ready. My order came in only at 1.10pm sad
Food: Other than coffee, I ordered the Nutella Toast. Boss says he get this inspiration from Thailand popular cafe, After You.
This selection comes in a 3inch buttered thick toast (9 cuts), Vanilla & Ferrero Rocher ice cream scoops, Nutella drizzle, crushed peanuts, whipped cream & a strawberry. One share is $14.90 Enough to share among 2pax.
If you are a Nutella lover, this choice is da bomb! The Ferrero Rocher ice cream was so yum too with Rocher bits mixed in smile
Verdict: 4/5 Definitely will come again but hopefully they could open their shop punctually.
I also suggested to Dessert Project, to cut the toast into 12s, rather than 9. So that butter coverage could be more. More BUTTER would taste even better smile

 

 

 

 

 

 
Sinful & Yum!

Sinful & Yum!

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 04, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food tasting at Do.Main Bakery Smile Mar 26, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery | Café

[ Do.Main Bakery ]
By looking at this Bakery name, have you wondered the meaning behind it? Because the word "domain" to me is about "owned","territorized". The great man behind this , Chef Frederic Deshayes, tells us that "Do" represents dough, "Main" means hands. And together, the magic hands created fresh & heartwarming french pastries daily.
On this perfect Wednesday evening, I hopped onto Openrice food tasting bus and came to Do.Main Bakery. When you pulled open the door, the aromatic smell from within pulled your souls away and making me hungry at the same time. Really can't wait to taste the french bread and dishes.
The whole place has simple classic deco, themed of black and white, making the bread and pastries at the counters outstanding. Cosy is the word.
Fellow Openrice members and i were shown to the kitchen, where we could see the sous chefs in action. Chef Deshayes tells us their daily kitchen routine and show us the machines they were using. Woah they were huge and I bet they were very costly too. It was a quick tour, probably Chef Deshayes knows we are hungrrrrry *hahaha*
Thereafter came our first appetizer, Charcuterie Platter with sourdough basket, followed by a salad. This platter consists of Ham, Pork Rillette, Duck terrine w/Pistachios and pickles on the side.

The meat in the rillette was shredded nicely into semi-paste form and served as a good spread on our bread. I put a pickle on it to bring up more taste, as having it alone is abit bland for me.

As i munch my way through the chunks of tender duck meat inside the terrine, the pistachios in it did blend in well to give that additional crunch and nutty taste. This duck terrine was seasoned nicely and feelings I had for it is the same as the ham. I could eat it on its own without any additional carbo. $20 for this platter is rather reasonable to me smile
Next is Four Seasons Salad- The colors they presents on the plate was so pretty that I don't bear to mess them up with my fork! This pretty creation is a combi of lentils, shredded carrots, cherry tomatoes, lettuce and roasted capsicums. Among all, I crowned the roasted capsicums the winner! Soft but not mushy, roasted but not burnt, yums! I can have a few more rounds of the capsicums alone smile The price? $18 per serving.
Third we have the Broken Eggs with Mouillettes. Base is tomato confit, made in-house (4 hours processing time). French ate it the rough way where you pick up a bread stick and swirl up the eggs hard, like a tornado. For me, it tasted rather plain and not salty enough. For $15, it's rather pricey.
After the eggs, we have the Tartiflette with Reblochon cheese and Cassolette oven-baked Escargots. Each serving is $16. Tartiflette with reblochon is a winter dish for the French families. It consists of cheese, bacon bits and potato cubes. If you are a cheesy person like me, then this dish is the right one for you. Indulge every mouthful filled with melted cheese, flavour from the bacon & sweetness from the potatoes cubes. The melted reblochon cheese covered on top kept the ingredients below warm, it warms our tummies when we gulp it down, probably that's why French families love to eat this during winter.
The other dish to brag about is the Cassolette oven-baked escargots. 06 sexy shell-less creatures swimming in tomato confit and topped with parsley garlic purée. The parsley garlic purée is so good and it lingers in your mouth for quite awhile. Initially I still thought it's pesto. As you know snails can be tasteless on its own, therefore this combination of tomato confit, parsley and garlic brings life to this dish.
Finally we have come to the long waited desserts time! Girls love desserts, but after this food tasting session, I realized guys at our table love them as much as we do!!
Chef Deshayes presents us with Lemon tart, Paris Brest, Royal Chocolate cake (Gluten free) and Red Plum Quetsche tart. My favorite dessert among all 4 is the lemon tart. The crust is buttery and not too hard. The lemon curd inside is jelly smooth and zesty. I love it!! Next is the royal chocolate cake made with valrhona manjari chocolate. Rich in texture and crisp at the base, feels like eating dark ferrero rocher chocolate in cake form smile As for the Paris Brest, the choux pastry is covered with so much nuts compared to the sugar studs, giving the choux a good crunch but the praline filling lacked flavour. I've ate more impressive ones elsewhere. Dark red plum quetsche tart is one of Do.Main bakery's hot selling item. Made daily with fresh red plums, tastes sweet with a little natural sourness from the fruit. Although I'm not a die hard fan for fruit tart, but this is worth a try. Prices for cakes, tarts, eclairs range from $5 to $8 each.
This food tasting session ends with a fun group photo. I had a great time and hope the rest too. Thanks Openrice for having us.
I will definitely revisit this bakery. It is a cosy place for afternoon tea, not noisy, good for both business meet-ups and dating too. Food portion is good enough to fill up my tummies as most mains comes with French bread but price wise, mostly reasonable but a few abit pricey. But if compare between the mains and desserts, I still prefers the latter so I will come back again for more desserts.
Bon appetit!
#opensnapeats

#opensnapeats

 
#opensnapeats

#opensnapeats

 
#opensnapeats

#opensnapeats

 
Chef Frederic  Deshayes #opensnapeats

Chef Frederic Deshayes #opensnapeats

 
#opensnapeats

#opensnapeats

 
#opensnapeats

#opensnapeats

 
#opensnapeats

#opensnapeats

 
#opensnapeats

#opensnapeats

 
#opensnapeats

#opensnapeats

 
#opensnapeats

#opensnapeats

 
#opensnapeats

#opensnapeats

 
Group photo #opensnapeats

Group photo #opensnapeats

 
 
Date of Visit: Mar 25, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0