OpenRice Index
  
Timelessfacade
This is Timelessfacade . I am a Cashier
Member 68 First(s)
No. of Review356 Review(s)
編輯推介數目72 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity7686 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos697 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant12 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲125 Follower(s)
Timelessfacade  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 356 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Restaurant | Seafood | Steaks and Grills

 


We were having lunch at Wolfgang Steakhouse, which has outlets in New York, Tokyo, Hawaii and now Singapore. There has been alot of hype surrounding the opening of its Singapore outpost but I've honestly never of it. Apparently Wolfgang used to be the head waiter at the legendary Peter Luger for 40 years before his son convinced him to come out of retirement to open the first Wolfgang Steakhouse in Manhattan.

 


The Place

Seated on the 2nd floor of the relatively new Intercontinental Singapore @ Robertson Quay (which took over the previous Gallery Hotel), the steakhouse exudes class and familiarity with its predominantly wooden interior, leather backed seats and limited views of the surrounding Robertson Quay through full length windows. It can get a little warm during the day though if you sit next to the windows.

 


Complimentary Bread

The bread basket consisted of baguette and onion bread. The former wasn't warm and came across as rock hard (not even the butter could save it) whilst the latter was fragrant but rather dry; even worse than the recently inferior one from Morton's.

 


Lobster Mac & Cheese

I think the QC on this was pretty bad. One side of it was overly charred (which gave it a bitter taste), while the other side was nicely done. Overall the non burnt portion was decent; gooey but a tad bland with a few pieces of lobster in it.

 


Sizzling Bacon

This thick cut of bacon came across as chunky with a good meat to fat ratio and a nice, crispy surface. However not as well done as Peter Luger's in my humble opinion.

 


Sauteed Mushrooms

Assorted mushrooms with onions and a whole lot of salt.

 


Pasta Pescatore

Al dente pasta topped with shrimp, lobster, clams and calamari. Unfortunately the marinara sauce tasted a little too watered down and not the least bit spicy (contrary to the description on the menu). Somehow this dish lacked any oomph.

 

 


Sirloin

This was part of the Taste of New York Set from the lunch menu. ~320g sirloin (inclusive bone, which worked out to be about 4 very thick slices of meat). The crisp exterior belied a chewy, medium rare center which was tender and juicy. However it was a little too salty for my liking (and trust me, I have a high tolerance for salt). Thankfully the restaurant's special sauce, a cross between BBQ sauce and ketchup, helped masked the saltiness.

 


Apple Strudel

A rather average dessert with the filo pastry a little too drenched from the sauce and an almost overwhelming taste of cinnamon. The apple slices were on the sourish side but the sweetness from the raisins balanced that out rather well. Nothing in the league of Morton's or Ruth Chris honestly.

 


New York Cheesecake

This was half a portion of cheesecake and came with the Taste of New York Set. To be honest, this was very good and definitely the best dish of the entire meal. Rich and dense layer at the top with a soft, spongy middle. Not overly sweet and better than alot of cheesecakes I've eaten.

 


Key Lime Pie

First time trying a Key Lime Pie and it was decent with the lime curd texture a little gelatin like and not too tart, on a crumbly biscuit crust.

 


Bill

Lunch for the 4 of us came up to almost $300, which isn't very expensive for a reputable steakhouse. Unfortunately food in general isn't too spectacular maybe because of the high salt content (we ordered a burger as well but had to send it back to the kitchen because the patty and onion rings were ridiculously salty. To their credit, the replacement dish was alot less salty). On the upside, service was excellent; attentive, friendly and obliging.

Final Verdict:

Ambience: 7.5/10
Service: 8/10
Food: 6/10
Value for money: 6/10

Overall: 6.875/10

Address: #02-01 InterContinental Singapore

Contact: 6887 5885

Opening Hours:

LUNCH 11:30 ~ 15:30 (LO 14:30)
DINNER 15:30 ~ 23:30 (LO 22:30)

Website: https://wolfgangssteakhouse.sg/
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Hotel | Dim Sum

We deviated from our usual CNY eve reunion dinner venue. But with good reason. We had catered quite a spread from them for our dinner on the first day of CNY so it made more sense to vary the food. And so we settled on Wan Hao @ Marriott Tang Plaza; for the first seating at 6pm.

 

 


Salmon and Crispy Fish Skin Yu Sheng

What was interesting about this yusheng was the addition of fried fish skin, which gave it an added crisp on top of the crackers. However I found this dish to be overly sweet as a whole, probably due to the ridiculously sweet candied kumquat. Still decent nonetheless but definitely a few notches below that of Imperial Treasure Cantonese's in my humble opinion.

 


Braised Fish Maw in Superior Stock with Fungus and Wolfberry

I don't know if it's a good thing or bad thing but this soup tasted alot like Campbell's Cream of Chicken soup, albeit more refined. And it was rich without coming across as satiating. Coupled with a huge piece of dried fish maw (not the fried kind that is usually served), it received positive reviews around the table.

 


Stir-fried Scallop, Coral Clam, Broccoli and Pine Nuts in XO Sauce

The scallops were sizeable and relatively sweet but the broccoli did come across as a tad too soft for my liking. I liked the coral clam though; mildly spicy with a mild chewiness to them.

 


Deep-fried Lobster Meat with Yuzu Mayonnaise and Broccoli

This was an addition to our set and it turned out to be most disappointing. The lobster was coated in an overly thick layer of batter and deep fried; the meat came across as too soft and void of any crustacean sweetness. To compound matters, I couldn't quite make out any taste of yuzu in the mayonnaise. A literal waste of lobster meat if you ask me.

 


Steamed Red Garoupa with Fermented Soya Bean and Chicken Floss

On to the more positive stuff. The steamed garoupa was fresh and topped with fermented soya bean and chicken floss, allowing the mild sweetness to contrast with the saltiness from the soya sauce. I'm not a fish person but I think this was pretty good. Not to mention that it was quite a size and alot of effort went into trying to finish it. And by that I mean belly space.

 


Wan Hao Signature Crispy Chicken

Wan Hao's eponymous roasted chicken. It definitely wasn't as good as Lung King Heen's rendition in my humble opinion but it was very decent. The meat was tender and juicy but the skin could use a little more crispiness. The sweet potato fries atop were pretty good though; sweet, crisp and a tad spicy.

 


Stewed 10-head Abalone, Dried Oyster and Mushroom wrapped in
Beancurd Skin, Black Moss and Seasonal Greens

Not a fan of dried oyster and I think too much oyster sauce went into this dish, giving rise to one huge plate of nausea. Definitely not something I would order again if I can help it.

 


Wok-fried Glutinous Rice and Chinese Sausage wrapped in
Lotus Leaf with Crispy Rice

This sounded promising but failed to deliver. It was almost like eating steamed dumpling with the soft and mushy steamed glutinous rice with a rather strong taste of waxed meat. Topped with rice crispies to perhaps compensate for the lack of texture? This dish lacked fragrance as well. In short, not great. We had a few spoonfuls and gave up.

 


Deep-fried Nian Gao Pancake with Yam Paste

I actually like to eat nian gao (年糕) but this was way too oily and I could taste grease in every bite. I think the least they could do would be to blot out the oil with paper.

 


Chilled Peach Resin with Sea Coconut, Red Dates and Dried Longan

A more upmarket version of cheng tng (清汤). Decent and it was nice to have something cold to end off the meal.

Dinner for the 6 of us came up to about $900, which was surprising given the quantity of food and definitely cheaper than our usual checks at Imperial Treasure. Food quality however, is a case of hits and misses and service, though decent, did seem a little lacking at times. For instance, when the fish was served, they didn't cut it up like the other restaurants. I guess its back to Imperial Treasure Cantonese next year...

Final Verdict:

Ambience: 7/10
Service: 6.5/10
Food: 6.5/10
Value for money: 7/10

Overall: 6.75/10

Address: 3F Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Contact: 6831 4605

Opening Hours:

Lunch: 12PM to 3PM
Dinner: 6.30PM to 10.30PM
Monday to Friday

Lunch: 11.30AM to 3PM
Dinner: 6.30PM to 10.30PM
Saturday , Sunday and Public Holiday

Website: http://www.singaporemarriott.com/restaurant/wan-hao-chinese-restaurant/
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Teochew | Restaurant | Seafood | Fine Dining

It's been a while since our last visit to Imperial Treasure Teochew and since then, so much has changed. For starters, they relocated from Ngee Ann City to Ion Orchard and included the word "Fine" in their name. Oh and they recently garnered a Michelin star. Exciting times.

 


Interior

The place is certainly more upclass now and gone are the days of the rather cramp-ish interior with haphazard seating arrangements. Instead tall glass ceilings allow for tons of natural light and coupled with lots of wood, make for a more relaxing and refined dining environment. Do note that if you sit by the windows during the day, be prepared to soak in some heat; a little hot but still bearable.

 


Double Boiled Fish Maw Soup with Shark Cartilage

This came across as a little starchy and rather sweet. Not quite a fan honestly and rather pricey at $30++ for such a small bowl. The Cantonese restaurants definitely do this better.

 


Doubled Boiled Pig's Stomach Soup with Salted Vegetables & Peppercorns

The soup was a tad too salty from the salted vegetables but I liked the peppery goodness of the peppercorns. Decent soup overall but I can get a better (and cheaper) rendition from one of the Teochew braised duck stalls that I usually patronise.

 


Chee Cheong Fun

Just for the kick of having some dim sum - a rather average rendition with the skin less than silky and a lacklustre char siew filling.

 


Three Kinds of Marinated Combination in Teochew Style

One of the hallmarks of Teochew cuisine, braised meat. We went with duck, pork belly and intestines and it was seriously underwhelming. The duck was thinly sliced and didn't come across as too tough but the gravy was a tad too sweet for my liking. Though the pig intestines were well cleaned, they lacked the crunchiness that I liked and came across as limp. Not to mention the pork belly with its >50% fat to meat ratio that honestly didn't go well with the sauce. The sole saving grace? Silky smooth beancurd slices hidden beneath. Apparently this is the Hong Kong style Teochew braise with its lighter flavours but I've had much better Teochew braise in Hong Kong. ie. Chan Kan Kee or Hung's Delicacies (which I make a point to patronise whenever I depart/transit HKIA).

 


Deep Fried Cod Fillet with Sauce

I had meant to order the pan fried version but made a mistake. Thankfully it turned out pretty good; crisp on the outside with sweet, flaky flesh on the inside. Ladled with mildly savoury sauce with lots of spring onions. Delicious.

 


Sauteed Prawn with Egg White in Italian White Truffle Oil

I usually prefer the scallop version but apparently prawns have substituted scallops for good (still can't quite accept that fact). The singular prawn was quite sizable and crunchy and of course the white truffle oil gave the whole dish a rather heady (and amazing) aroma.

 


Braised Spinach Beancurd with Assorted Mushrooms

Now I've rather biased towards beancurd and it was quite delicious - crisp on the outside while soft and eggy on the inside. Topped with lots of mushrooms and sitting on a bed of spinach. Definitely my kind of dish.

 


Sauteed String Bean & Minced Meat with Preserved Black Olives

The string bean came across as a little too oily but at least it retained its crunchiness without coming across as overly raw. Average dish at best.

 


Teochew Fried Fish Noodles

Stir fried with beansprouts, chives and egg, the fish noodles had a nice springy texture to it but was way too oily for my liking. It was also a tad lacking in wok hei.

 


Sweetened Mashed Taro with Ginkgo

And finally, another ubiquitous Teochew dish, the humble but extremely time consuming to make Orh Nee. It looked dry and unappetising on the outside but was actually smooth, fragrant and moist without being too sweet. A great ending to our otherwise underwhelming meal.

 



Bill

With a $100 discount, lunch for the 4 of us came to about $232 (~$339 without discount), which isn't quite worth the money in my humble opinion. Food overall was acceptable but some dishes came across as too oily. Service was good but seemed to be shorthanded at times, especially when the restaurant was at full capacity.

To be honest, even though I'm quite a fan of the Imperial Treasure group (note the number of times I've been to the Cantonese outlet at Crowne Plaza), I fail to understand how this particular outlet is able to achieve 1 Michelin Star.

Final Verdict:

Ambience: 7.5/10
Service: 7/10 (would have given 7.5 if not for the fact that they seemed shorthanded at times)
Food: 6.5/10 (7.5/10 for the orh nee, beancurd and cod fillet)
Value for money: 6/10

Overall: 6.75/10

Address: ION Orchard, #03-05

Contact: 6736 2118

Opening Hours:


Monday to Friday

Lunch: 11.30am to 3.00pm
Dinner: 6.00pm to 11.00pm

Saturday

Lunch: 11.00am to 3.00pm
Dinner: 6.00pm to 11.00pm

Sunday & PH

Lunch: 10.30am to 3.00pm
Dinner: 6.00pm to 11.00pm

Website: http://www.imperialtreasure.com/restaurant/Imperial%20Treasure%20Fine%20Teochew%20Cuisine-4
 
Spending per head: Approximately $85(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Bars/Lounges | Restaurant | Steaks and Grills | Fine Dining

 


CUT Marina Bay Sands recently earned a star in the 2017 Michelin Singapore edition and we had elevated expectations of a great steak dinner (hopfully even surpassing that of Morton's in Singapore).

 

 


The Place

We were seated in a semi private enclave with just a single table at one corner of the dining room. I honestly don't know what to make of the decor except that it struck me as rather clinical, unlike that of Peter Luger Steak House in New York, which had a cosy and inviting feel to it.

 

 

 


Complimentary Bread

There were 3 rounds of complimentary bread; bread sticks, cheese puffs and an assortment of bread from a mobile tray. The sticks were nice - crisp with a strong cheese taste (tasted like goat cheese) while the puffs came across as light, fluffy and mildy cheesey. From the tray I had the pretzel (love the texture - soft, dense yet chewy but extremely salty!) and the onion bread (moist but a touch oily). So much bread to fill you up!

 


Maple Glazed Pork Belly, Fuji Apple-Yali Pear Salad, Sesame-Orange Dressing

This looked absolutely delicious with a sumptous fat to meat ratio of ~50%. Coupled with a rich layer of sweet maple glaze, it was a sure fire recipe for nausea. Thank god for the sliced apple and pear salad, though sweet, provided a nice refreshing crunch and much needed moisture. I personally think a tarter apple, ie. Granny Smith's, would work better though.

 


Alaskan King Crab & Shrimp "Louis" Cocktail, Spicy Tomato-Horseradish

This was a half sized portion because the chef split the original portion into 2 for sharing. Although I liked the crustecean combination of king crab and prawn together (with a medley of vegetables thrown in), it wasn't spectacular. I've definitely had better.

 


Double Thick Iberico Pork Chop, Rhubarb "Moustarda"

I liked how the surface of the pork chop was crisp (a wee bit to burnt though) while the meat (and fat) retained its tenderness and flavour. The meat was also well seasoned with a faint tartness (probably from the rhubarb). Decent but not as good as Gunther's rendition.

 


Hokkaido "Snow", Tomakomai, Filet Mignon

I had high hopes for this small piece (120g) of premium Japanese steak (heck you would too if it cost $245++) but unfortunately it was disappointing to say the least. Although the marbling was very good, the meat was a little too soft for my liking at medium doneness and it lacked the beefiness that I personally like.

 


Cavatappi Pasta "Mac & Cheese", White Cheddar

It was our first experience with cavatappi (helical tube/cockscrew shaped pasta) but it wasn't a good one. The dish came across as very oily with a mild white cheddar cheese taste. We gave up after a couple of mouthfuls. Bird Bird definitely does a much better rendition.

 


Kaya Baked Alaska

Ironically, the Kaya Baked Alaska was the star of the evening. Reminiscent of a durian shell with its spiky edges, this dessert was essentially coconut cake with pandan ice cream and coconut sorbet encapsulated within a meringue on a crumble base and quickly torched. Deliciously sweet and I love how all the flavours come together to remind me of Kaya. Served with a "side" of coffee crumble.

 


Petit Fours

And petit fours to end off our meal. No great shakes.

 


Bill

The both of us spent ~$508 for a rather dissatisfying dinner. Service was good but food in general wasn't great and I fail to see how or why CUT was awarded a Michelin star. At this price point, I am way more inclined to stuff myself silly at Gunther's.

Final Verdict:

Ambience: 6.5/10 (can get a little noisy and dark)
Service: 7.5/10
Food: 6/10 (7.5/10 for the Kaya Baked Alaska)
Value for money: 4/10

Overall: 6/10

Address: B1-71, Galleria Level, The Shoppes at Marina Bay Sands

Contact: 6688 8517

Opening Hours:

Sun - Thurs: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Fri & Sat: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Website: http://www.marinabaysands.com/restaurants/celebrity-chefs/cut.html
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Restaurant

Bird Bird moved to the east a couple of months back and I chanced upon it while dropping by Cedele (a few doors down) one afternoon a few months back. I was hooked and made it a point to visit shortly after. Just for the record, I have been there quite a few times for lunch/brunch ever since.

 


The Place

Bird Bird occupies a corner unit along Frankel Avenue and parking is limited to the private estate behind (however you are free to park anywhere you like as long as you are able to evade the rather frequent patrols by the traffic wardens). The interior is kept simple with cement screed floors and wooden tables.

 


Cornbread Waffles

At $3 a piece, the cornbread waffles were relatively pricey. But by golly, they were worth it. Mildly sweet with a rather significant corn taste and served with smoked maple syrup. Definitely my kind of carbs. Just watch out - they get cold and limp rather fast so eat them while they are hot/warm.

 


Black Truffle Mac & Cheese

This was delicious; Al dente macaroni coupled with a light fragrance from the black truffle bits and a not too creamily rich sauce nursing a tinge of zest to keep nausea at bay. Topped with shavings of cheese and croutons for an extra crisp.

 


Brown Sugar Bacon Chop

I loved this as well. The thick cut bacon chop was seared and coated with a thin, brittle layer of caramalised sugar; sweet with salty undertones. A little different from the renditions of both Peter Luger and Clinton Street Baking, which do without the evident layer of sugar but equally delicious.

 


Signature Fried Chicken

Our order of half chicken consisted of 5 pcs from wing to breast. It looked absolutely mouth watering but unfortunately I found the seasoning a little underwhelming and not thorough enough. The meat was tender, juicy and moist but the skin was a little bland and lacked the oomph I was hoping for (in this respect, Southern Bird @ Marina Bay Sands does a better job). The signature gravy tasted like runny mashed potato gravy. Maybe the other chickens taste better?

 


Durian Softie Pie

An absolute crowd pleaser, the toasted milk softie had a light browned taste to it without coming across as too sweet. Topped with a generous scoop of durian pudding, white chocolate, sitting on an almond crust base and drizzled with gula melaka caramel for an added sweetness. Delicious and definitely a great way to end off the meal.

 


Bill

Brunch cost the 2 of us ~ $81, which isn't exactly cheap but I think it's worth the price for the above average quality of food in general. Service is decent but just be aware that the ventilation isn't great so you will walk out of the place smelling like your meal. Weekday lunch sets offer a much better value proposition so it would make better sense to go during lunch (you can even top up $5++ for a durian softie!)

 


Truffled Housemade Curly Fries

ps: The truffled housemade curly fries are really addictive; thin and crispy without all the oil (definitely a misperception).

Final Verdict:

Ambience: 6.5/10 (can get a little noisy and ventilation isn't great)
Service: 7/10
Food: 7.5/10 (8/10 for the durian softie)
Value for money: 7/10

Overall: 7/10

Address: 97 Frankel Avenue

Contact: 6694 8270

Opening Hours:

Tuesdays - Sundays
11.00am - 11.00pm | Last orders at 9.45pm
Closed Mondays

Website: https://www.facebook.com/birdbirdsg/
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0