OpenRice Index
  
averielight
This is averielight . I am a Undergraduate Korean, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Stall / Kiosk, Café and Buffet , Desserts and Cakes, Dim Sum.
Member 1 First(s)
No. of Review10 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity69 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos168 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant10 My Restaurant(s)
Follow12 Following
粉絲426 Follower(s)
averielight  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 10 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Vietnamese | Restaurant | Desserts and Cakes | Chinese Soup | Salads | Rice

A visit to PhoPho during lunch time proved to be a good choice because our food was served fairly quickly.
Refreshing mango salad

Refreshing mango salad

 
The mango salad is artifully made, with thinly sliced green mangoes, carrots and cucumbers with sesame sauce sprinkled at the top. A good start to a healthy lunch.
Pho and fresh sliced prawns in clear chicken soup

Pho and fresh sliced prawns in clear chicken soup

 
One good thing about this dish is that I don't have to peel the prawns. The prawns were fresh and sliced into half. The soup tasted refreshing and light with the faint taste of basil (and lime if you choose to add it in). The portion might be too little for big eaters though.
A typical vietnamese cuisine

A typical vietnamese cuisine

 
Vietnamese rice rolls were okay.
Pho and beef slices and beef meatballs in clear chicken soup

Pho and beef slices and beef meatballs in clear chicken soup

 
Beef combination pho were made in the same clear chicken soup as Pho Prawn. I did not try it myself but my fellow lunch mates had praises for it.

Note: All Pho selections come with basil/herbs, beansprouts and a slice of lime that patrons can add according to their preference.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mango Salad,Pho Prawn,Pho Beef Combination
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 13, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Macarons OK Oct 21, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery

 
I tried Bakerzin's macarons for the first time as it was a gift. Bakerzin is really good at baking cakes, but their macarons fare slightly lower in comparison. And if I were to compare, I would prefer Canele's macarons which are softer and chewier. Bakerzin's macarons were pretty hard, and the flavours were average, but because of my bias sweet tooth, I still enjoyed it nonetheless. Oops. :x
 
Date of Visit: Sep 27, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sweet OK Oct 20, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes

 
Had tea at Canele one Sunday afternoon with mum. Even though she's not a fan of desserts and food that are too sweet, she enjoyed her cake and hot chocolate. Service at this outlet was pretty slow though. And the waiters seem to engage in conversations from time to time, so it took a while to get their attention. shocked

 
Ordered their snow-skin moon-cakes for the Moon-cake festival. The moon cakes were pretty yummy, and a box of 8 mini-mooncakes had 4 flavours (2 of each). You can tell that the moon-cakes were hand-made, because the bottom of the moon-cakes were of irregular shapes.
 
Date of Visit: Sep 15, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

4 Fingers for dinner OK Oct 20, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Fast Food | Halal | Korean Fried Chicken

So we finally checked out 4 Fingers. Even though I'm not a fan of fast food, and probably only eat once per month or longer than that, I really like 4 Fingers because it was sweet (a lil like honey grilled, but crispier and tastier).

We got to choose the type of fries we wanted - seaweed or kimchi flavoured (which was actually just salt and flavoured powder).

 
The chicken wings were rather tough, and dry. I think the drumsticks would taste better.

 
The burger was good, and the patty was juicy.

It was hard to find seating, and the tables were small, and quite congested.
 
Date of Visit: Sep 14, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

1-for-1 Smile Oct 20, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Desserts and Cakes


One word: AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME. (OK so that's three words). Last month, Max Brenner at Esplanade Mall had 1-for-1 lunch promotion for DBS/POSB Credit/Debit card members. And one for one for Max Brenner in my opinion is quite a steal. Since it was 1-for-1, we only paid the price of the chocolate fondue.

It was my first visit and I swore I fell into chocolate heaven. Just let the below pictures do the talking.

 
The waffles were super good, being crispy on the surface and soft-fluffy on the inside. The honey-coated hazelnuts were my favorite. lol

 

 

 
We got to choose two types of chocolate for the fondue set so we had dark and white chocolate. They gave toffee sauce in the middle which was yummy too. Just expect lots of sweetness for this dish.
 
Date of Visit: Sep 13, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0