OpenRice Index
  
Blacktulip
This is Blacktulip living in Tampines. I am a HR Generalist, work in Tanjong Pagar. I like to hang out in Clarke Quay, Bedok, Tampines. Japanese, Peranakan / Nonya are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food Court, Hotel, Restaurant and Seafood, Steamboat/Hot Pot, Sushi/Sashimi.
Member 32 First(s)
No. of Review155 Review(s)
編輯推介數目14 Editor's Choice
Recommended6 Recommended
Popularity2689 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos502 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant2 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲2 Follower(s)
Blacktulip  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 155 Reviews in Singapore
Still our favorite steamboat Smile Jul 30, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Sichuan | Steamboat/Hot Pot

We have been visiting their Suntec branch since 2001. Managers had come and gone and now even the branch is gone. Since our favorite hang out is gone, we opted to visit their Tanglin branch (only been to their Tanglin branch about 5 times).

 
I must confess that I'm addicted to their soup base especially the spicy one. That was probably what brought us back again and again. Find that the ingredients are very fresh too. And because it was ala-carte buffet, we can order the same thing over and over again without paying additional.

 
The manager back in 2001 told us that to eat the steamboat, we have to mix all 4 sauces together. We remembered till now. Everytime we visit the restaurant, we will delligently remember the sauce.

 
The meal ended with dessert. We have choices of ice cream and mixed fruits to choose from. All of us chose mixed fruits. We really couldn't stuff in anymore ice cream into our stomach and mixed fruits seems to be the healthier and lighter choice.

As for drinks, we normally go for the 8 treasure tea (cold) coz it's refillable. Only change now is that they have started charging $1 for plain water. It used to be free. Other than that, the standard still remains and we will definitely go back for more of our gatherings.
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Beer market stock market Smile May 07, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Bars/Lounges | Live Sports Broadcast

I think the concept is really cool. There is this panel that shows the beer prices. And it changes all the time depending on the demand. Once the market closes and reopen, the price of beer will change according to how much it was sold before the market closes. Yah, it is very much like stock market....except that instead of selling stock, they are selling beer.
Strawberry beer

Strawberry beer

 
I had the strawberry beer. The first one was $12. When I wanted to get my second bottle, the price jumped to $16.80. So I waited until the market reopens (normally, when the price is high, not many people will buy. When market reopens again, the price will go down due to lack of demand). The moment market reopens, the beer was going at $12.60. I didn't hesitate to get my second bottle. It was actually quite fun. On taste, the beer was slightly sweetened. The fruity taste was awesome. For some reasons, fruit beers are always nice.

 
For food, I ordered the grilled pork cheese bratwurst. It's served with home-made sauce, sliced potatoes, onions and seasonal vegetables. The sauce is actually their own black pepper sauce and it is definitely spicy!!! The fat juicy sausages tasted great too. The black pepper sauce added a spicy feel to the cheesy sausages. I don't really like to eat potatoes, but this one tasted yummy. It must be the way they cook it. I would surely go back for another round sometime in the near future! ($13).

 
Spending per head: Approximately $38(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Delicious traditional breakfast Smile Apr 27, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Coffeeshop

Tucked in the CBD area, you will find this little traditional breakfast place. I always love how Ya kun does their watery eggs. It doesn't have those translucent sticky runny stuffs floating in the eggs and it's not overly cooked also. Best of all, they open the eggs for us. There are other places that just gave you the eggs and you have to break them yourselves. Those are good once in a while but I certainly don't wish to dirty my hands much. However, whoever cracked the eggs for me left some shells inside the dish. I managed to pick them out before slurping the entire watery eggs.

The charcoal grilled bread is yummy also. I like how they put the whole slice of butter in the spread instead of using margarine spread.

Who would have known that the then 15 year old Loi Ah Koon would have traveled all the way to Singapore back in 1926 and started this successful business that is springing up all over Singapore and other parts of Asia. His determination brought a normal traditional breakfast to extraordinary heights.

 

 

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Mar 28, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Dimsum Paradise Part 1 Smile Apr 02, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Dim Sum | Roasted Meat

Back at this restaurant again! We took the 12.30pm to 2pm timeslot and boy, was it crowded!

 
Sour and slightly sweetened cucumber to start the lunch.

 
Deep fried prawn with mango roll. Prawn is deep fried without the over powering taste of flour. As you bite into a piece, you begin to feel the subtle fragrance of the mango. Good try if you like fried stuffs that are not too oily. ($4.80)

 
Mini egg tart. Not the best I have tasted in my entire life but the best so far in Singapore. It's cute and tiny and. Would be good if there's a bit more egg custard in it. ($3.60)

 
Steamed custard bun. This is a must-have if you are a salted egg yolk fan like me. I love how the salted egg yolk custard comes oozing out of the bun when you sink your teeth into one of those. Have to be eaten hot. ($4.50)

 
Steamed BBQ honey pork bun. I like how soft the bun is and the tender sweetness of the meat. ($3.90)

 
Steamed cheong fun with prawn filling. I love the softness of the cheong fun. Some cheong fun that I've eaten elsewhere tasted like a whole chunk of flour soaked in soya sauce while this one doesn't. ($5.50)

 
Steamed cheong fun with dough fritter. When you can't decide whether to have another cheong fun or a dough fritter, you order something that has both. Soft on the outside, crispy on the inside. I am surprise how the crispiness can be maintained in a pool of sauce. Recommended! ($4.80)

 
Steamed chicken claw with black bean sauce. Good source of collagen and very very soft on the teeth. Just put it into our mouth and pull out the bones. Not much efforts required to separate the bones and the collagen filled skin. ($3.80)

Continue in Part 2

 
Date of Visit: Mar 24, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

A little piece of HK in Singapore Smile Dec 29, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Chinese | Café | Kids-Friendly

 
Saw this restaurant while we were crossing the road to Centrepoint and since we have not tried this before, we decided to walk in and have a look.

 
For drinks, I had the salted lemon sour plum juice ($5.30). This is suppose to be the chef's selection. Taste not bad actually. Can't say that it's the best. My partner ordered HK style coffee ($2.30). He didn't finish the coffee so I don't think it taste good.

 
I ordered noodle soup with shredded pork and szechuan veg ($6.50). I like the soup base, it's not too strong and with the chili added, it taste superb. The noodle is unlike those la mian you find in Taiwanese restaurants. Their version is much skinnier and on top of that, it's very tangy.

 
My partner ordered fried 'hor fun' with pork in hk style ($8.30). Having stayed in HK for sometime, he said that this is quite authentic. I took a spoonful and I like it. Taste like char kway teow.

Service was quite prompt but you have to request for the chilli separately. They don't come with the food you order and neither will they ask if you need chilli.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 27, 2011 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0