OpenRice Index
  
Blacktulip
This is Blacktulip living in Tampines. I am a HR Generalist, work in Tanjong Pagar. I like to hang out in Clarke Quay, Bedok, Tampines. Japanese, Peranakan / Nonya are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food Court, Hotel, Restaurant and Seafood, Steamboat/Hot Pot, Sushi/Sashimi.
Member 32 First(s)
No. of Review155 Review(s)
編輯推介數目14 Editor's Choice
Recommended6 Recommended
Popularity2689 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos502 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant2 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲2 Follower(s)
Blacktulip  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 46 to 50 of 155 Reviews in Singapore
Still one of the best thus far Smile Jan 29, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hainanese | Chicken Rice

 
This is still one of the best I have tasted so far. There are other more famous brands but none can beat this one. And of course, the speed it serves the food is amazingly fast! The shop is tiny and they don't seems to have the intention of expanding it.

 
Ordered their salted vegetable soup this time round. The duck taste in the soup is a little too heavy for my taste. I wasn't able to finish it alone though. Would be good to share with another person.

 
I ordered the roast chicken again. The meat is still juicy and the soya sauce is still not over powering the chicken meat.

 
And because I love cucumber, I decided to order additional cucumber to dip with the soya sauce that comes with the chicken.

 
I always believe that besides the chili sauce, how fragrance and soft the rice is will determine how nice the chicken rice is. Their rice did not fail me. It's authentic and taste wonderful.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 12, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $16.50(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Flies around our food OK Jan 29, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Steaks and Grills


Jack's Place was never my choice for western cuisine but since my partner chose it for his UOB rewards, I decided to give them a chance.

 
My partner ordered the steak. No idea what kind of steak he ordered but it was really hard. Maybe because he asked for well-done. Then again, I had well done steak at other restaurants and it didn't take like that.

 
I ordered the mixed grill. It comes with sausage, lamp chop, chicken fillet, beef steak and bacon. The lamp chop has a very strong taste that I didn't like. Bacon was extremely hard and beef was hard as well. The only thing I like about my food was the sausage. ($19.50)

The service in this branch was quite good. If only they didn't have friendly flies that kept hovering around our table, drinks and food. This is one place I would not go back again.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 13, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Muslim hor fun Smile Jan 10, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Hawker Centre | Halal

Hor fun

Hor fun

 
Met up with a Muslim ex-colleague for lunch and since I was at Orchard road, she suggested Puncak which was near to where I had my course. It was lunch time when we met so the place was really crowded. Orders was taken fast but when I called for the bill, it was difficult to get their attention. Quite slow to return my change also. I ordered the hor fun and it was nice. The gravy was thick enough and not chunky. I had tasted some hor fun that still has flour chunks in the gravy. A good portion of squid, prawns and fish cake were added. Not too bad for that price. I paid $3.50. Can't sit for too long to chat because of the crowd.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 29, 2011 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Fish head curry Smile Jan 10, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Hawker Centre | Seafood | Zi Char

Fish head curry

Fish head curry

 
This was highly recommended in another food review website and we decided to try it out since we were at Chinatown for our CNY shopping. The gravy is really watery. Not really to our taste. We had preferred the gravy to be a little thicker. However, I must commend that they put a whole lot of ingredients into the fish head curry. Those I normally eat only has lady's fingers and probably a little brinjal. This one has lots of lady's fingers, brinjals, tau poks, tomatoes and the fish head is fresh. The usual price is $22 but we paid $26. The owner explained that the rise in price was due to insufficient fish in the market. So the sellers increased the price which was then passed on to us, the consumers. Honest but still...the gravy would be better if it were thicker.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 02, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Midnight supper Smile Jan 10, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Restaurant

It was past midnight and we didn't know where else to chill out since some friend just arrived at 11.50pm. Xin Wang at Tiong Bahru plaza closes at 4am so we decided to go there. Surprisingly, it was still crowded at 12am. The only seats left for us was on the outside which we were not really keen. The manager was nice enough to let us sit on the outside and informed us when there was a seat inside. We wanted the aircon.

 
I ordered teh-o just so that I can be kept awake while the chatting is going on. ($1.50)

 
We wanted to order the giant beancurd but it was out of stock. So the crew suggested that we order the small one instead. She said that if we wanted the big one, they can make it on the spot for us but the waiting time would be about 45 mins. We didn't want to wait and opted for the small one instead. Quite smooth. The sugar syrup was really sweet! Towards the bottom of the bowl. The sweetness was overpowering so we gave up the last few mouthful. Not too bad as a mid night snack. ($2.20).
 
Date of Visit: Jan 08, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $3.70(Supper)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0