OpenRice Index
  
Blacktulip
This is Blacktulip living in Tampines. I am a HR Generalist, work in Tanjong Pagar. I like to hang out in Clarke Quay, Bedok, Tampines. Japanese, Peranakan / Nonya are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food Court, Hotel, Restaurant and Seafood, Steamboat/Hot Pot, Sushi/Sashimi.
Member 32 First(s)
No. of Review155 Review(s)
編輯推介數目14 Editor's Choice
Recommended6 Recommended
Popularity2689 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos502 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant2 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲2 Follower(s)
Blacktulip  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 36 to 40 of 155 Reviews in Singapore
A stoney affair Smile Apr 05, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | European | Restaurant

 
This little 50-seater tucked in the heart of CBD is a must visit! With the business brain of young owner, Eddie Han, and the creativity of Chef Mark Richards, it is no wonder those who tasted the service as well as the food of Keystone keeps going back for more. Keystone restaurant opened it's doors on 27 July 2011 serving progressive interpretations of modern European cuisine. Techniques like spherification, dehydration and sous vide were used in the Chef's creation. Not to worry, all these techniques do not make your food look aliened. In fact, each dish looks like a piece of art and taste heavenly.

 
First on the list was the Rosemary and parmesan garlic charcoal bread. Don't let the looks deceive you. You take a bite and you wouldn't want to stop. There's a light tinge of saltiness in it...not too much, just enough for you to savour the deliciously warm bread with my favorite garlicky taste!

 
Second on my menu was the Roasted sake Chilean seabass with yuzu fluid gel. I so love the texture of the seabass and the sweetness that seems to have been locked into the meat.

 
Next up was the Green eggs and pulled pork. Flavored with Agria Espuma, Atsina Baby Cress and Tsukiji Seaweed Soil, it gives a simple piece of pork a whole new dimension of taste. Needless to say, I cleaned up the entire plate.

 
Frankly speaking, I'm not really a fish person. So to capture my appetite with so much fish is a job well done. For my main course, I had Norwegian flat white with Chanterelle Fricassée, Smoked Berskshire Belly and Smoked Sea Urchin Foam. Didn't enjoy the bacon when I ate it on it's own coz it's too sweet and crispy for me. But when I tried to take it together with the fish meat, the crispiness actually added abit of texture to the softness of the fish. If the word 'All-rounded' could be used on food, I wouldn't hesitate to use it on this dish.

 
I ended my lunch with the 360 Brulee texture flavored with Caramel Custard Foam, Salted Maple and Valrhona Equatoriale. This is a very fascinating dish, at least to me! Who would have thought of stuffing an inverted brulee into a beautifully-cut egg shell!

The entire experience was a superb one and I'll definitely go back to try out the rest of the dishes on the menu. Special commendation goes to the service staff....they actually address customers by first name! How personalised is that? Did I also mention that they do have private dining options of up to 22 guests?

Set lunch goes at $38++.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  charcoal bread,inverted brulee,pulled pork
 
Date of Visit: Mar 20, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $51.48(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Mini steamboat Smile Apr 03, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Restaurant | Porridge/Congee | Steamboat/Hot Pot

Came here for dinner many years back and thought of visiting this place again. I love how we get to have our own personal hotpot! At times, sharing could be fun but there are just times where you just wish you have your own pot and doesn't need to eat whatever your friends have thrown in. Although there wasn't alot of selection, I thought it was good enough.
Roast pork

Roast pork

 
The roast pork is one of my favorites for the night. Love how crispy the skin is. Some roast pork are so salty that you place one in your mouth and won't want a second piece. This one doesn't.
Laksa

Laksa

 
The laksa gravy taste good. Not the best but I thought for a buffet standard, it's one of the better ones that I have tasted.
Poh Piah

Poh Piah

 
The poh piah is abit soggy. Think we left it there for too long before consuming.

 
If you don't feel like dumping your seafood into the mini pot, you have opt to have the chef cook for you. We chose chili sauce and it tasted yummy. Only thing to note is that they don't cook fish. So you will still need to cook them in your mini pot.

 

 

 
Service was great because they clear your plates very fast.

It was good value for money. No drinks included though (only plain water). However, drinks can be purchase separately at nett price.
 
Date of Visit: Mar 05, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $24.11(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dimsum Paradise Part 2 Smile Apr 02, 2012   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Dim Sum | Roasted Meat

Continued from Part 1

 
Steamed Shanghai pork dumpling. Be careful when you put one of those in your mouth because the piping hot soup in the dumpling can scald your mouth. But trust me, the scalding is all worth while. This little devil is deliciously addictive! ($4.20)

 
Deep fried fish skin with salt and pepper. I'm a big fan of fried fish skin this dish is too salty for me. I didn't like it at all. ($9.80)

 
Deep fried silver bait with anchovies tossed in spicy salt. We were told that this is a special dish (ie. they don't have it all the time) and decided to order it to try. Taste almost like an over priced silver fish. Really, there isn't alot for the price we had to pay. The taste wasn't exceptional either. Totally not worth it. ($9.80).

 
Braised chicken feet with abalone sauce. We were recommended this dish by the waitress. When it was served at our table, most of us had a shock. It looks really scary. The taste wasn't extraordinary either. It was an interesting experience though. Not something I would order again. ($9.80)

 
Century egg with lime sherbet. This dish was a positive surprise. Didn't know century eggs can taste this good. The sour tinge in the lime added a bit of 'live' into the taste while the coldness in sherbet gives it a good twist. So for all those who thinks that century eggs can only be found in congee...you have got to try this! ($8.80)

 
It was so good, we decided to order again. This time, it was another presentation. The century eggs were served in porcelain spoons instead of metal spoon like the earlier dish. ($8.80)

 
Chilled asparagus served with truffle-infused mustard vinaigrette. The sauce made the entire dish taste heavenly. Truffles are expensive for a reason and we know why when you taste this dish. I could just clean out the entire plate all by myself. ($9.80).

 
Mango sago with coconut ice cream. Ended the meal with a cold dessert. Taste ok but I still prefer the mango ice in Hong Kong. ($6.80)

In total, our group of 7 spent $220.69 which comes up to about $32 per person. It takes a long time for them to serve up the dishes though. The strategy is to order the moment you sit down. Although our timeslot is from 12.30pm to 2pm, the bill comes at 1.45pm.

 
Date of Visit: Mar 24, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $32

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dimsum Paradise Part 1 Smile Apr 02, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Dim Sum | Roasted Meat

Back at this restaurant again! We took the 12.30pm to 2pm timeslot and boy, was it crowded!

 
Sour and slightly sweetened cucumber to start the lunch.

 
Deep fried prawn with mango roll. Prawn is deep fried without the over powering taste of flour. As you bite into a piece, you begin to feel the subtle fragrance of the mango. Good try if you like fried stuffs that are not too oily. ($4.80)

 
Mini egg tart. Not the best I have tasted in my entire life but the best so far in Singapore. It's cute and tiny and. Would be good if there's a bit more egg custard in it. ($3.60)

 
Steamed custard bun. This is a must-have if you are a salted egg yolk fan like me. I love how the salted egg yolk custard comes oozing out of the bun when you sink your teeth into one of those. Have to be eaten hot. ($4.50)

 
Steamed BBQ honey pork bun. I like how soft the bun is and the tender sweetness of the meat. ($3.90)

 
Steamed cheong fun with prawn filling. I love the softness of the cheong fun. Some cheong fun that I've eaten elsewhere tasted like a whole chunk of flour soaked in soya sauce while this one doesn't. ($5.50)

 
Steamed cheong fun with dough fritter. When you can't decide whether to have another cheong fun or a dough fritter, you order something that has both. Soft on the outside, crispy on the inside. I am surprise how the crispiness can be maintained in a pool of sauce. Recommended! ($4.80)

 
Steamed chicken claw with black bean sauce. Good source of collagen and very very soft on the teeth. Just put it into our mouth and pull out the bones. Not much efforts required to separate the bones and the collagen filled skin. ($3.80)

Continue in Part 2

 
Date of Visit: Mar 24, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Back for more suckao Smile Jan 29, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Desserts and Cakes

Went to 春到河畔 (River Hong Bao) to squeeze with the rest of those in Singapore. Finished without 30 mins and it was so crowded we decided to leave the place as soon as we got in. Walked down to Esplanade and saw that Max Brenner was quite empty. Decided to have a drink in there. At the same time, I also wanted to introduce the drink 'suckao' to my partner. Needless to say, we ordered the same thing.

 
The presentation this time round is slightly different. It comes with a wooden tray that wasn't present during my previous few trips there. The drink used to come with the milk inside the burner but this time, it came in the container and we get to pour it into the burner ourselves. My partner didn't like it and he said that he don't find anything special about the chocolate drink. But I find the presentation really interesting!

 
Our chocolate drinks.
 
Spending per head: Approximately $9(Supper)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0