OpenRice Index
  
Yuki
This is Yuki . I like to hang out in Bukit Timah, Orchard, Jurong East. Japanese, Thai, Singaporean are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hotel, Restaurant.
Member 115 First(s)
No. of Review182 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity1978 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos340 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow2 Following
粉絲82 Follower(s)
Yuki  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 36 to 40 of 182 Reviews in Singapore
茶叶蛋 (Tea-leaf Egg) OK Oct 07, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese

A pot of eggs

A pot of eggs

 
Well I know that the speciality of this stall is dumpling. It has a lot of different types of dumpling, but only one of them has chicken fillings. The seller tried to promote the dumplings but I was not in the mood tonight to eat one. Instead my kids and I were interested in the Tea-leaf eggs boiling in the big pot, beside all the dumplings. The price stated $0.70 for one. 3 for $2.10, no special offer like some of the other stalls which sell at 3 for $2.00.
Egg with Shell

Egg with Shell

 
Egg without Shell

Egg without Shell

 
This was the best of the three that I bought. One of the others was still 'fair', not soaked long enough in the tea, while the last was not very fresh, as could be determined by its non-oval shape. There's nothing special in the taste of the egg, couldn't tell the different from those in the Pasar Malam.
 
Date of Visit: Oct 06, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $0.70

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Lee Brothers Otah OK Oct 06, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Hawker Centre

Lee Brother's Otah

Lee Brother's Otah

 
I noticed that there was a slight change in the sign board. It used to be called the 'Lee Wee Brother's otah'. Now it was called 'Lee brother's Otah'. Other than the missing 'Wee' on the sign board, everything else remained the same. I wondered if the brothers had separated.

Anyway, I felt like having some otahs, so I bought one Sotong otah ($0.80), one big banana leaf otah ($1.20) and half a dozen of the standard otah ($0.60 each).
Standard Otah

Standard Otah

 
The standard otah was very tasty. Good to have during a BBQ.
The Sotong in Otah

The Sotong in Otah

 
Nothing special, just added a piece of sotong in the standard otah.
Banana leaf Otah

Banana leaf Otah

 
Opened Banana leaf Otah

Opened Banana leaf Otah

 
Frankly speaking, I preferred the standard otah to this big 'premium' one. This one was a little more moist, the taste of the coconut milk was stronger and it has pieces of fish which gave it a fishy taste.

 
Date of Visit: Oct 06, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $1

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Standard Fishball OK Oct 05, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Food Court | Brunch

sad What could I say. This was the typical foodcourt fishball noodle. But one thing I could say is that it was definitely the healthier choice, especially this mee tai bak soup.

Just another Fishball

Just another Fishball

 
This particular foodcourt has a special corner for children, it also has a special menu for children. This particular stall has a smaller portion for child, $2.50 per bowl. Initially, I thought of ordering that for my daughter but I was afraid that the portion might be too small, so I ordered this bowl as shown.

The vegetable that was added had a peculiar taste, my daugter didn't like it. It tasted a little like 'Tung oh'. Once again, this fishball noodle was a standard foodcourt noodle. Just OK, nothing special.

 
Date of Visit: Oct 01, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $3.50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dulu Kala OK Oct 01, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Peranakan / Nonya

This is the second time I visited this restaurant. This time we came slightly after two, there was only one other table occuppied. It was a hot day, so we started off with this refreshing coconut and aloe vera drink.
Refreshing Coconut

Refreshing Coconut

 
Aloe Vera

Aloe Vera

 
Both of the drinks were not very sweet.

Because our kids couldn't eat too spicy food, so we ordered dishes that weren't so spicy.
Onion Egg

Onion Egg

 
The onion was very sweet. The outer layer of the omelette was crispy and the inside soft.
Special fish otah

Special fish otah

 
One of the specialties of this restaurant. It has either fish or prawn options. We chose the fish otah but it was not the right choice. The fish was fishy. The otah was a little too spicy for the kids.
Sambal Kang Kong

Sambal Kang Kong

 
Nothing much to comment about this. Pretty standard.
Sweet & Sour Fish

Sweet & Sour Fish

 
This dish was ordered specially for the kids, not what I liked. Don't think that it was a Paranakan dish. They have a sambal fried fish that was very delicious. I ate it the last time I came.

This restaurant has some very nice specialty dishes. This time we seemed to have made a few wrong choice.

 
Date of Visit: Sep 28, 2011 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Coconut Tart OK Sep 23, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Dim Sum | Brunch

Yeap Seng

Yeap Seng

 
As the name of the stall suggest, this stall sells all type of Pau Tim, like the various steam pau, fried tim sum, tarts etc..

It was not yet 1pm and the seller of this store was beginning to keep the remaining unsold items. I quickly went over to see if I could get something. The remaining items were not my type except for this coconut tart. Quite a while since I have eaten one. So I bought one. $0.80 each.
Coconut Tart

Coconut Tart

 
I didn't get the chance to eat it until about 9pm at night. The crust was still very crispy, but the filling was too sweet. The filling was made from a mixture of coconut and flour. It tasted a little like a cake. Overall was just an OK.
The inside of the tart

The inside of the tart

 
 
Date of Visit: Sep 22, 2011 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0