OpenRice Index
  
Yuki
This is Yuki . I like to hang out in Bukit Timah, Orchard, Jurong East. Japanese, Thai, Singaporean are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hotel, Restaurant.
Member 115 First(s)
No. of Review182 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity1978 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos340 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow2 Following
粉絲82 Follower(s)
Yuki  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 182 Reviews in Singapore
Fruit Rojak Smile Aug 18, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Hawker Centre

 
I came upon this fruit stall today when I brought my child to West Mall for lunch. The stall looked interesting, not the usual type of fruit that you would see. The fruits were all in small slices. There were three different types of mangoes, a yellow/orange ripen type, a green sour type and a yellowish green in-between type. There were other fruits like the jackfruit, jambu, guava, kedondong (a fruit I never heard of) etc. The lady before me ordered something like a mixed fruits in a tub, so I asked the seller what it was. And he told me it was fruit rojak, i.e., fruit mixed with the rojak prawn paste sauce. Interesting, I thought. But I guessed my facial expression might have indicated that I didn't quite like the idea, because the seller immediately told me that the sauce could be substituted with chilli padi sauce instead. My eyes brightened up. That's my favourite. The best condiment for pineapple.
Immediately, I asked for a slice of pineapple and it was $0.80 each. Then I asked how much would the rojak be and the answer was that it would depend on the amount of fruit I chose. I selected some guava and a tiny piece of kedondong just to try. The final amount was only $1.60. He mixed the fruits in a container with the chilli padi sauce.

 
I ate it when I got home and it was good, though it would be better if the chilli padi sauce was a bit more spicy.

 
Date of Visit: Aug 18, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $2

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Korean Charcoal Grill Smile Aug 16, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Restaurant | Vegetarian | Korean BBQ

When I first went into the restaurant, I thought to myself that it's gonna to be expensive. It looked posh. It was lunchtime then, with a few tables of Koreans. If the Koreans were here, it must be good. My hubby and I looked at the menu, thought that it was slightly on the high side but they have sets for lunch. We ordered a seafood set (about $50+, min 2) and beef from the ala carte menu. The side dishes that they served were many and good. We were almost full just from eating the side dishes. The service were great, they barbequed for us. They served the beef first and after we finished it, we waited and they didn't come to help us bbq the seafood. So we took matters into our own hand and started to bbq them ourselves. To our embarrassment, the waiter came with a new hotplate, removed the seafood and placed them on the new plate. We won't suppose to do anything except to wait patiently.
The food was really good but we were too full to finish them all. What a shame.lol
When we got the bill, we were shocked. We first thought that the price of $50+ for the seafood set was per person per set but it turned out that the set was for two persons. The price was very reasonable. I recommended it to one of my friends. She went for dinner which cost alot more. So it's highly recommended to go for lunch. If you choose to have dinner then you should prepare to pay more.

No picture this time.tongue
 
Spending per head: Approximately $60(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Lovely Ambience Smile Jan 30, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Sichuan | Dim Sum | BBQ

This was the second time we came here. We thought we were lucky when we saw empty lots outside the restaurant. After we parked the car, a guy at the entrance told us that the parking lots was meant for the valet parking. Not feeling like swifting the car, we paid him the $3 parking fee to park there.
The Restaurant

The Restaurant

 
This was another of those restaurant converted from old bungalow. Very nicely decorated. Quite and peaceful.
The Menu

The Menu

 
The set lunch menu looked good except for the pork. We requested to exchange the dish for either a chicken or fish dish, but they suggested the beef steak.
Sichuan Hot and Sour Soup

Sichuan Hot and Sour Soup

 
The soup was served first. It was lovely. I have always loved this Sichuan soup. It was spicy but not too sour. It has lots of ingredients in it. The chicken slices gave it an additional texture.
三味色香点心

三味色香点心

 
The fried beancurd with prawn fillings was very crispy with a generous portion of prawns. The siew mai was tender without the scent of pork. The pasty of the Cha Siew Sou was soft, tasty but not salty.
Beef Steak

Beef Steak

 
This beef was really a good recommendation. It was so tender and juicy. A layer of crispy fried pastry (not very sure what was it) was set below the steak. It taste like deep-fried flour coated cod fish. The sauce on the steak seemed to be made of something citrus. The combination was awfully delicious.smile
蒜片杞子枝竹扒时蔬

蒜片杞子枝竹扒时蔬

 
The seasonal vegetable was spinach. The bean gluten was very soft. Not my usual type of food but it was good. Overall taste delicious and rich. Definitely didn't taste the presence of MSG.
鲍汁肉酱伊面

鲍汁肉酱伊面

 
Just one word, 'Yummy'
西式黑糯米雪糕

西式黑糯米雪糕

 
This was good too. A deviation from the usual Pulut Hitam. Much nicer.
All these fantastic dishes for only $38. Definitely worth it.lol
 
Date of Visit: Jan 12, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $38

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Awfully Nice Chocolate Cake Smile Aug 15, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes

This is a very interesting shop. The very first time I went in, I was shocked. It was empty except for a small cashier counter and ice-cream fridge. I wasn't sure if they actually sell anything. My friend recommended me this place, saying that their chocolate cake is fantastic. Quite dear, about $45 per kg, if I'm not wrong. Last year, I ordered a Birthday cake for my son.

 
It was a 2-2.5kg cake,(don't quite remember, just remember I paid over a hundred dollars for it). I think I had to pay about $20 for the design. It was the classic chocolate cake. Since then I had recommended their cakes to many of my friends. Some like the one with Rum. Personally, I don't fancy alcohol, so I didn't try that.

This year, I ordered another Birthday cake from them for my son again. A smaller one this time.

 
They have very limited for the Birthday cake. But the important thing is that it tastes awfully good. Sometimes, you just can't have the best of both world in life.
(The photos' size were quite big, not sure if they could be properly uploaded.)
 
Date of Visit: Jul 22, 2011 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $45(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

My Cozy Corner Smile Aug 15, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Peranakan / Nonya

I have been to this restaurant several times. It's at a little corner on the second floor of Coronation Plaza. As the name suggested, it is very cozy.

 
My child was having tuition at the Plaza and thus we had a little snack there while waiting. This little eatery is always packed with customers whenever I passed by, regardless of the time of the day. It has a great variety of food. On this particular day, we ordered the Mee Siam and Popiah, their signature dish.

 
I am very sorry that this picture of the Mee Siam was not able to fully justify it's presentation, as I took it after I had 'tempered' with it. (Too hungry and forgot to snap the photo first) Nevertheless, it should not affect your judgement that it is very tasty. Normally, I don't like the Tau Pok in Mee Siam, but this one was very special. It was very crispy, very nice, hard to describe except to taste it. It's priced at $3.80 per plate. Highly recommended.

 
I believe this Popiah is the signature dish, as most customers ordered it. It's taste was very special. It wasn't soggy, in fact it has something crispy inside, the overall blending of the fillings tasted perfect. The price might be on the high side for some, $2.20 each, but it was worth every cent of it.

This eatery has many other dishes. Next time I will surely try the laksa.
 
Date of Visit: Aug 13, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0