OpenRice Index
  
Alamakgirl
This is Alamakgirl living in North. I am a Engineer, work in Buona Vista. I like to hang out in City Hall, Orchard, North. French, Japanese, Peranakan / Nonya are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café and Dim Sum, Chinese Soup, Sushi/Sashimi.
Member 329 First(s)
No. of Review1524 Review(s)
編輯推介數目35 Editor's Choice
Recommended25 Recommended
Popularity22047 View(s)
Replies in Forum3 Comment(s)
Upload Photos11502 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant1114 My Restaurant(s)
Follow247 Following
粉絲1474 Follower(s)
Alamakgirl  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 1524 Reviews in Singapore
Lunch set Smile Feb 27, 2019   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | Restaurant

Paid a visit to the restaurant for its omakase 5 course lunch set (S$68++) before it would close at the end of the month. I was lucky to get a seat at the counter for walk-in as the place was fully booked.

The meal started with 3 snacks :

 
Marinated olives from Spain

 
Cheese Bread , Aged Comte Cheese

 
Oyster with Smoked Tomato

Wish for more of the mochi like-bread. It was so yummy, Each piece gone in a mouthful.
The smoked tomato was quite interesting in texture with kind of crispy bits.

 
1st Course : Starter
Smoked Mackerel
Horseradish | Cucumber | Green Pea
Although slightly salty, the fish was well balanced by the bland green pea sauce.

 
2nd Course : Starter
Jerusalem Artichoke
Crispy Artichoke Skins | Shimeji | Onion Consommé
Well bodied broth with crispy pieces of mushroom.

 
3rd Course : Fish
Barramundi
Bonito Butter | Baby Leeks | Caramelized Onion
Chunky buttery piece of fish with interesting crispy pops.

 
4th Course : Meat
Pork Tenderloin
Burnt Apple | Coffee Roasted Carrots | Pig 's Ear 's Sauce
Love the crispy textures of the crunchy pig's ear.

 
5th Course : Dessert
Laksa Leaf | Pomelo | Green Chilli | Peanuts
It consisted of creamy coconut semi-freddo, Laksa leaf-infused ice cream, pomelo flesh and tangy green chilli, garnished with crushed peanuts and fried Laksa leaves.

 
Ended the meal with a cup of Flat White (S$6++) which was rich and creamy.
 
Date of Visit: Feb 15, 2019 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Promotion Smile Jan 23, 2019   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

 
Pork Belly Shiokouji (S$24.50++/set, S$19.50/ ala carte)
Grilled Yongenton Silky Pork Belly Marinated with Shio-Kouji
Served with Plain Rice, Miso Soup, Chawanmushi, Pickles for set.
The meat was very tender.

 

Katsutoji (S$23++/set, S$18++/ala carte)
Crispy Breaded Yongenton Silky Pork Loin Cutlet in Steamy Hot Pot (Mellow Soy sauce)
Served with Plain Rice, Miso Soup, Chawanmushi, Pickles for set.
Although it looked mushy, there was a nice crunch of texture.

 

Seiro Soba (S$10.50++)
Hand-made soba
After finished the noodles, there was hot broth (water used to cook the noodle) to pour into the sauce and drink.

 

Pumpkin Parfait (S$8.50++)
Pumpkin paste made from Hokkaido Pumpkin, castella cake, corn flakes, topped with fried pumpkin cubes, milk ice cream, chunky red bean paste, butter cookies, and more pumpkin paste.
Rich and creamy with pumpkin's natural sweetness, plus crunchy texture from corn flakes and honey sweet pumpkin cubes.

Don't forget to check out J Passport mobile application to redeem a complimentary Seasonal Special Pumpkin Parfait at Ootoya Japanese Restaurant (Singapore)

Link : http://bit.ly/ootoya_parfait
- Valid from 8th Jan to 31st Jan 2019
- Limited to one per account per visit
- Minimium order of one (1) meal per pax required
 
Date of Visit: Jan 08, 2019 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Promotion menu Smile Jan 23, 2019   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Western | Restaurant | Pasta | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches

 
Went for dinner during weekday as there was a promotion where every order of main course came with a choice of side and drink/dessert.

 

Flossperity Pizza (S$22.80++)
Arugula, Pork Floss, Bak Kwa
One of the 3 items in the Chinese New Year menu.
Although it was served in a tomato base pizza, one could not taste the usual sour tomato paste's taste in it. It was a more sweeter taste similar to raspberry. The savoury sweet pork jerky and savoury pork floss balanced the bitterness of the arugula quite well.

For choice of side, I have selected Grilled Chicken Salad which was grilled chicken served on a bed of mesclun salad.

 

End the meal with Baked Caramel Banana which was served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and fruit.

Water was served free of charge.

Do come early. Queue could be quite long even on weekday nites.
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 16, 2019 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Brunch OK Oct 23, 2018   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Restaurant | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches | Chinese Noodles

There was both indoor air con and outdoor alfresco dining by the river. As the weather was extremely hot, most preferred the cool indoor.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
The menu was in a newsletter style and quite worn out. Although there was a queue, it moved quite fast. There was free wifi with password written at the cashier counter which I did not notice until I make payment.

 

Kagoshima-Style Braised Pork Cartilage in Fish Soup with Mixian 鹿兒島豬軟骨米線 (S$8.50++)
The soft bones were very soft and the meat was well braised and fork tender. The broth was very flavourful without fishy taste, although it was more on the milky side.

 

Crispy Bun with Condensed Milk 脆嘩奶油豬 (S$4++)
Wish that it was served with knife so that it would be easier to eat. Instead one had to tear it apart with just fork and spoon. Would prefer it with more butter.

 

Almond Milk with Egg White 生磨蛋白杏仁露 (S$7++)
The drink was served hot. Not too sweet without any powdery texture which was usually found in almond drink in cafe.
 
Date of Visit: Oct 21, 2018 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Fusion | Restaurant | Seafood

The place was packed for lunch during Saturday. I decided on the omakase lunch which was consisted of 7 courses (S$97++). My only request was the dessert not to be the restaurant's signature Wild Rocket Chendol which I just had a couple of weeks ago. Ice water was served after placing order.

 
Course 1 : Bah Chor Mee
Negitoro (minced fatty tuna) topped with chopped spring onion and chilli padi, crispy lards, fried shallots, on top of a bed of warm glass noodles.

 
Course 2 : Thai Pomelo Salad
Served with tiger prawns & frozen coconut dressing
The dressing was like a scoop of ice cream and made of coconut, chilli, fish oil, and shallot. It tasted quite lemak. Having it with mint leaf, pomelo, and cilantro, it tasted quite refreshing with hint of spicy and sweetness of fruit.

 
Course 3 : Chilli Crab
Crab cake made of blue crab and spanner crab, served with chilli crab sauce.
The crab cake was packed with nothing but crab meat. Quite juicy and yummy on its own.

 
Course 4 : Hokkien Mee
Fresh pasta cooked with prawn stock, and hae ko (black shrimp paste). It was quite flavourful but a bit too salty for me.

 
Course 5 : Wild Rocket Strawberry Cheesecake
It served deconstructed style in a Martini glass. Creamy without too sweet or sour.
I was surprised that I was served dessert before my main. I later asked the staff who thought I already had it. In the end I went through what I had with 2 different staffs and decided that there was 2 more courses.

 
Course 6 : Black vinegar iberico pork jowl with pickled cabbage and chestnut puree
The meat was quite tender and pulled out easily. Quite appetizing with the pickled vegetables.

 
Course 7 : Lychee sorbet with lychee martini gummy
The sorbet was topped with ginger flower and blue pea flower. Interesting flavours of the light lychee and the slightly stronger ginger flower. Quite refreshing.

Overall the food was not bad but was a tab upset about my course of dishes being overlooked. By the way as the place was full house, it was quite noisy too.
 
Date of Visit: Sep 29, 2018 

Spending per head: Approximately $114.5(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0