OpenRice Index
  
Alamakgirl
This is Alamakgirl living in North. I am a Engineer, work in Buona Vista. I like to hang out in City Hall, Orchard, North. French, Japanese, Peranakan / Nonya are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café and Dim Sum, Chinese Soup, Sushi/Sashimi.
Member 325 First(s)
No. of Review1529 Review(s)
編輯推介數目35 Editor's Choice
Recommended25 Recommended
Popularity22141 View(s)
Replies in Forum3 Comment(s)
Upload Photos11542 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant1119 My Restaurant(s)
Follow247 Following
粉絲1476 Follower(s)
Alamakgirl  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 1529 Reviews in Singapore
Lunch Cry Mar 28, 2017   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Seafood

 

 
The restaurant was located at the second floor of the shophouse. Although it was weekday, it was packed with lots of tourists.

 

 
Menu was a single 2 sided tick list. I was showed to a table by the window. Although there was power under the table, it was not working. So don't plan to charge your hp while eating.

 
Pumpkin Yam Golden Cake 金瓜竽丝糕 (S$4.20++/ 3pcs)

The texture was not bad with its crispy top, but it was a tab jelat if having more than a piece and quite oily towards the end. Taste was one dimension.

 
Squid Ink Dumpling 顺鼓墨鱼饺 (S$4.80++/ 3pcs)

The folds wasn't perfect. One piece wasn't even folded in.

 
Yum Cha Prawn Dumpling 饮茶虾饺皇 (S$5.20++/ 3pcs)

There's holes in the dumplings. I was surprised to find this kind of standard in their signature dumplings.

 
Home-made Almond Tea 杏仁茶 (S$4.20++)

The texture wasn't rich and creamy. It looked kind of like the instant type - sweet and lumpy.

Service was spotty. I was told to go to the cashier when I asked for the bill. I could spot customers with their bills served to them at their tables. Also spotted that the next table of Japanese customers had a piece of plastic in his glass of beer. The staff who cleared the glass blamed on the plastic covering the ice cubes, but did not apologize. One could see clearly that the group of customers was clearly upset. Although the customer was later told by another staff that the glass of beer would be waived from the bill, the damage had already been done.
 
Date of Visit: Mar 27, 2017 

Spending per head: Approximately $22(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Disappointed Meal Cry Nov 14, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Café | Dim Sum | Noodles

 

 
The cafe origins from Hong Kong, was well known for its egg tarts and its HK style 'Cha Chaan Teng' 茶餐厅 feel. It was known to have ran out of egg tarts when it first opened in Singapore. Therefore I was quite surprised that the cafe was quite empty when I walked past it.

I decided to have a light dinner there as the staff told there was still egg tarts available.

 
Beef brisket in soup with flat rice noodle (S$6++)
The beef was very tender, but the soup tasted a tab too artificial sweet.

 
Yuan Yang
(S$3++)
Disappointing drink with xia xia taste. Lucky got the egg tart to help to balance the taste. Added 4 packets of sugar also could not remove the sour taste on the tongue.

 
Egg Tart
(S$1.80++)
Although the crust was flaky, filling was smooth, I would prefer a more buttery crust. I had better ones. Still prefer the ones next to YMCA which I had in Hong Kong.
Overall I was quite disappointed with its food.
 
Date of Visit: Nov 01, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $10.8(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sad desserts Cry Jul 07, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese Desserts | Desserts and Cakes

Along the whole stretch, there are 3 dessert stores selling local style desserts. Yet this one in the middle of the row of shophouses, usually is most popular. It occupied 2 shop units.

 
It was a Sunday afternoon, yet the place was packed and one had to queue up to wait for a table. About 10 minutes, we were showed to a table in front of the counter at the air con area.
Worn out menu framed the table top. The outlet was decorated in a traditional chinese style, with traditional chinese red wood furniture around.
Order was taken at the counter with payment together. Food was later served to the table. So remember to take note of table number before ordering.

 
Mango Sago with Pomelo 杨枝甘露 ($4.50)
Cooling down with a bowl of this. The standard seem to have dropped a lot. While refreshing, the taste was rather watered down. The ice was in little cubes, not shaved ice. Could not taste puree mango in the water. It tasted more like mango flavouring with evaporated milk. The only saving grace was the juicy sweet mango cubes.

 
Gingko, barley, and bean curd skin soup ($3) in cold version
My partner who was having it. remarked that it smelt a bit off and had rather hard gingko nuts (felt like bought off the shelves type).
Maybe business getting too good these days.
 
Date of Visit: Jul 03, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

3 course dinner Cry Apr 04, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Salads

The restaurant was located within walking distance from the Buona Vista MRT station, by cutting through The Metropolis. The restaurant had both indoor and outdoor dining area. The event which I was attending took up half of the indoor dining in area. Please take note the toilet was quite a distance, especially at night when the place was quite dark.

 
We started the meal with broccoli soup which was served in cup. It was difficult to drink with the spoon. It tasted quite rich and creamy.

 
For the main course, we got to choose between Teriyaki Chicken and Butter Seared Pacific Dory with Parsley Rub, which I selected Butter Seared Pacific Dory with Parsley Rub. It was served with Olive Rice, Side Salad and Wafu dressing. Although the Olive Rice was flavourful, I felt that it was too salty on its own. The fish on the other hand was quite bland.

 
Lastly for dessert, we were served swiss roll and chocolate eclair. Not sure if the staffs were rushing to knocking off, as the food was served in paper plates. We did take note that it was past the usual operating hours. By this time, there was barely any air-condition in the room. The swiss roll was quite dry.
Overall the food was not to my taste. Service was barely there. I had to help myself to the iced water.
 
Date of Visit: Feb 12, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Overpriced Cry Mar 24, 2016   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian | Singaporean Chinese | Bak Kut Teh

 
Recently a Bak Kut Teh restaurant had taken over the space formerly occupied by a Japanese restaurant. There was both indoor and outdoor dine in area and all were in air con area.

 
Order was self service style, taken with the ipad at the table.

 

 

 

 
The restaurant served its signature Black Herbal Soup (Malaysia Style) and White Peppery Soup (Singapore Style) for its Bak Kut Teh. It also served the dry version style.
I tried the Basic Black Herbal Soup ($5.90++) for 1 person which required minimum 1 topping as it did not come with any meat. Where got people have Bak Kut Teh without any meat. So topup

 
Pig's Stomach ($2.90++) and

 
Pork Tenderloin ($2.90++). The soup was bland with just hints of herbal taste. The pig's stomach was too thinly silced. The pork tenderloin was over tenderized. There was no natural meat texture or taste.

 
As the soup did not come with rice, so topup Soup Udon in white soup ($5.90++). The udon was more like the chinese style handmade noodle than udon. The white soup was bland with hints of peppery.

 
There was sliced chilli padi, dark soya sauce, light soya sauce to help yourself to.

 
Fried Tofu ($3.90/ half portion)
Served simply with shoyu based sauce, it actually tasted not bad.

 
Overall the food was average and was way overpriced. It was the first time in my life that I have this dish which cost me more than $20.
 
Date of Visit: Mar 22, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately $20.72(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0