OpenRice Index
  
panzer
This is panzer living in Holland. I work in Holland. I like to hang out in Bukit Timah, Thomson, Katong. Italian, Peranakan / Nonya, Japanese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, Peking Duck.
Member 30 First(s)
No. of Review49 Review(s)
編輯推介數目6 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity1543 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos85 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲30 Follower(s)
panzer  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 49 Reviews in Singapore
Fuzhou Oyster Cake Smile Nov 12, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre


I am not a big fan of oysters because it tastes too much of the sea but I like to eat oyster omlette and fried oyster cakes. I usually take the omlette sans oysters (strange but true).

This place served up fresh tasting oyster cakes fried in fresh oil. I love the fact that it was chockful of chives, and had some minced meat in it. The fritter was crisp at the edges and warm and tender on the inside tongue
Best of all, the oyster did not have a strong flavour and blended well with all the veggies and fritter smile
I've tried the ones sold in Maxwell but it was rather dark brown, an indication that the oil used for frying has been reused a long time - definitely a put-off

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Oyster Cake
 
Date of Visit: Oct 22, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $2

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Organic Milk Curd OK Nov 12, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Desserts and Cakes

It was my good fortune to patronise this stall on its first day of opening and what brisk business it enjoyed! I went just before the lunchtime crowd and bowls of the milk curd were being snapped up. A good sign of good food and it helps to know that it is made from organic soya beans too smile

I'm in this Almond Milk Curd fad and so far I've tasted it from 3 different stalls including the one here at Momo Desserts.

 
The curd texture is firmer here with a faint almond taste. There is also the original flavour.
The desserts are sold in convenient takeaway containers and the stall is very clean, but I felt it was rather pricey at $2 per portion
Almond Soya Milk Curd

Almond Soya Milk Curd

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Bean Curd
 
Date of Visit: Nov 02, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $2

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Booze on XO Fish Noodles Smile Nov 09, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court | Seafood | Zi Char

Hmmm...Ming Kitchen at Queens Street is just one of the many branches around the island and I was not expecting anythiing great but standard tze-char fare.

 
Nevertheless, it did a decent job of the XO Fish Soup Noodles and when the steaming bowl of hot soup was placed in front of me, I almost went drunk immediately because of the potent dose of XO in it!

The dish itself looked rather bland and I had to dig up the greener veggies to take a nicer-looking photo of the noodles.

 
Boy! When I took a sip of the soup, it was an 'alcoholic's delight'. They definitely did not stinge on the XO and too many a spoonfuls would surely render a weaker vessel drunk. It is definitely NOT a dish for children or those allergic to alcohol.

They were not very generous with the fish slices and just as well cos they were a tad too fishy. I also found the fish skin rather rubbery, a sign that the fish was not fresh.

I would recommend this dish if you just want the booze in the soup smile

 
Recommended Dish(es):  XO Fish Noodles
 
Spending per head: Approximately $6

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0

Vietnamese Fast Food OK Nov 08, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Vietnamese | Hawker Centre

 
I was in a hurry to buy lunch for my children when I chanced upon this stall at Ghim Moh Food Centre.

They had the Rice Rolls all packed and ready to go at the stall and I thought it'd be a refreshing appetiser to our lunch.
Vietnamese Spring Rolls

Vietnamese Spring Rolls

 
The prawns were rather fresh but the overall texture of the roll was rather dry. It was made better by the accompanying sauce which was a bit sourish and spicy.

 
Date of Visit: Nov 02, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $3

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Coffeeshop French Cuisine Smile Nov 08, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | European | Coffeeshop | Kids-Friendly

It's one of my husband's quest to try newly-opened food joints that have been recommended to us. So, we were off to this coffee shop in Queen Street looking for this French food stall one evening and was rewarded by good food.

The place was nothing to shout about being in a coffee shop but the stall was well-patronised, so much so that the Stuffed Chicken Roulade was sold out when we placed our order.

 
The Mushroom Linguine was subtly flavoured by the variety of mushrooms and the pasta was al dente to the bite.
Mushroom Linguine

Mushroom Linguine

 
The Duck Confit Salad was refreshing with tender duck meat and light vinegarette drizzled on the vegetables.
Duck Confit Salad

Duck Confit Salad

 
Aahh...the Short Ribs was something...the meat literally melted in my mouth and the red wine gravy that accompanied it was so tasty and we demolished every drop of it with the comforting buttery mash potato. Bliss smile
Braised Short Ribs and Mash

Braised Short Ribs and Mash

 
 
Date of Visit: Oct 21, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $12(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0