OpenRice Index
  
Princess J
This is Princess J living in Toa Payoh. I work in Dover. Italian, Japanese, Thai are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hotel, Coffeeshop and Steamboat/Hot Pot, Ramen, Banmian.
Member 37 First(s)
No. of Review238 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity2700 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos364 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant197 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲85 Follower(s)
Princess J  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 46 to 50 of 238 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Swiss | European | Restaurant | Steaks and Grills

Friends wanted to eat at a French restaurant but I couldn't find a 'pure' French one. Black sheep Cafe has good reviews so we decided to go check it out.

We had a foie gras to start and it was nicely pan-seared and tasty. Good thing it was to share else my calories will shoot thru the roof!!

We also shared the Baked Brie Cheese. It's nice...just wish the starter plate wasn't so small....good size for 2 I guess.

I had Lamb Shank with mash and it was done very nicely. Tender meat that falls off the bone. No funny smell to the meat. Satisfying meal.

Hubby had their Beef tenderloin. It's nice and thick. The cut is also a rather good cut. I just a small problem with the seasoning. I can't quite explain what I don't like about it either. It just doesn't rock my boat.

It's a nice enough place for a meal but personally, I'm not likely to return but would recommend to friends especially if they are in the area.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Baked Brie Cheese
 
Date of Visit: Feb 25, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $36(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

GEM found! Smile Dec 13, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Pasta | Seafood | Steaks and Grills

Finally found a chance to check out Bistro 103 with my colleagues! Yay!! As we were celebrating a nice close to a crazy year, we went a little crazy with the ordering of:

1) Onion Soup - this was their soup of the day with any order of mains. I liked the soup and my colleague who doesn't fancy onion soup found it very nice.

2) Warm Mushroom Salad $7.80 - this was nice with their tiny bits of raw onions for that extra kick. yumz!!

3) Hummus Dip $6.50 - the dip came with slices of bread that you could just spread generous amount of hummus on. Very yummy and healthy too.

4) Salmon & Crab meat Pasta $16.90 - This pasta was very tasty with the generous amount of salmon chunks and crab meat in lovely pink sauce. I'm beginning to love pink sauce, it's the best of the two world - tomato sauce and cream sauce!!

5) Norwegian Salmon Steak $20.90 - the salmon steak was nice, not as good as EWF's King Salmon.

6) Mushroom Spaghetti with Red Pesto sauce $16.90 - My vegetarian friend specially requested for this version and it was great!! I know I should not be stealing from her but it was good tasting.

7) BBQ Baby Ribs $26.90 - Tender and tasty chunks of pork ribs that's better than (I dare say) Tony Roma's.

8) Lamb Shoulder Rack $29.90 - this is easier the best dish of the meal. The lamb was tender and not gamey in taste at all. Very very nice.

9) Pinna Cotta $6 - this is nice.

10) Brownie $6 - warm brownie with ice cream... Very nice.

11) Blueberry Cheesecake $6 - If you like blueberry, this is the one for you! Sweet topping and cheesy cake. Awesome combi!

The shop front really looks ordinary and if not for the good reviews, I would NEVER go in but I am so glad I did!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Warm Mushroom Salad, Salmon & Crab meat Pasta, BBQ Baby Ribs, Lamb Shoulder Rack
 
Date of Visit: Nov 29, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $34(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Restaurant | Seafood

They started our dinner with a shot glass of fruit blend and I must say it's nice and refreshing, good marketing ploy too as 2 friends got themselves a Nice & Green and Red Defender. They said it was good. I'll take their word for it. smile

Between the 4 lovely ladies, we conquered:
1) Crabmeat Pasta - generous peppery crab meat over al Dente pasta. The pepper taste is strong so you need to be prepared. tongue

2) Angelhair Pasta - this one by comparison is tasty but light. I could have eaten 4 plates of this and still feel wonderful! This only meant the serving of this dish is small. tongue

3) Beef Cheeks - a sizable piece of tender slab of beef that's well cooked and very tasty. Served over potato mash that's also very yumz.

4) Sake Cod - ok serving of fresh and very tasty cod. I mean, it's COD! How to go wrong?!?

5) Duck Confit - we expected a piece of rather dry meat but were pleasantly surprised with very tender and very full-flavoured

6) Chocolate Brownie - nice bits of nuts in a healthy-tasting piece of cake. Light but still very nice

7) Lava Cake - a little disappointed as I thought I'll like Lava cake more. Maybe the small lava cake was a let-down but I guess I wasn't wowed by the taste as well.

As it's not in a popular shopping mall, the mall lights were partially turned off from 9pm so good for the tables of couples wanting a EVEN more romantic setting. Not likely a place I'll return without our 30% discount but definitely a place to recommend for folks wanting a romantic spot and healthy eats.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Angelhair pasta, Beef Cheeks, Sake Cod, Duck Confit
 
Date of Visit: Jun 21, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $39(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good with Discount Smile Sep 06, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Buffet

We bought vouchers for the buffet at almost 50% off. So our party of 6 ended our long day of work with a heavy heavy dinner. I didn't try every dish but will share what I tried and liked:
1) Roast Beef - they don't have a craving station to crave the slices for you but they make up with really tender beef slices that's still pink on the centre.

2) Roti Prata - I know I know! Who in the sane mind eats roti Prata at a buffet right. But they make it on the spot and it's crispy on the outside. Plus you eat it with very yummy fish curry and another eggplant dish. It's just very very good combi ok? tongue

3) Pasta - they cook this on the spot too but only have one sauce base - cream. It's not that it's not nice but other than variety of pasta, it would be good to have variety of sauce too.

4) Sashimi - Decent, not your best cuts but it's buffet so don't have unreal expectations ok?

5) Oysters - I don't eat them but friend says it's fresh. That's what counts right?

6) Chicken Soup (Western style) - Not too bad with noticable ingredients.

7) Salted Vege Soup - way too salty to be palatable. sad

8) Dessert - they have a whole counter just for the sweets and the one I love most is the kaya Portuguese egg tarts! The filling is sweet but not too much and the crust is crispy. It's kept warm so that when you eat it, it's just right. smile

There were many other good tasting dishes but I don't remember that all. It's certainly worth my $35.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Roast Beef, Roti Prata, Kaya Portuguese egg tarts
 
Date of Visit: Jul 01, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $35(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good Find... Smile Sep 06, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Pasta

Being a fan of Italian food, I always find myself checking out places with good reviews.

So we find ourselves with family in tow ordering the following:

1) Linguine Seafood Spicy - the original version is not spicy but I love my pasta with kick. So I requested for a spicy version and the chef really gave KICK ah. I suppose it's really the chilli Padi he used as the linguine was flaming with fire and flavour. It's nice, don't get me wrong. The ingredients were also fresh and generous in amount.

2) Penne Chicken mushroom - Ordered this for my children and they liked it enough. I tried some. Creamy and robust in flavour too. Nice.

3) Pizza Diavola - can tell it's made from scratch and cooked in fire flamed oven. Very yummy. First dish to vanish!

4) Pizza Quattro - 4 cheese is really very cheesy. If you love cheese, this is for you!

5) Risotto Saffron Scallops - ordered this for our homekeeper as it was at least rice but she found it too cheesy. I happily ate some of it too. Creamy and the saffron taste was very well infused in this dish. The scallops were also huge and fresh. Very nice, a pity my homekeeper didn't like it.

Not exactly a place I'll travel all the way to but if in the area, I'll definitely return.
 
Date of Visit: Jul 23, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0