OpenRice Index
  
Princess J
This is Princess J living in Toa Payoh. I work in Dover. Italian, Japanese, Thai are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hotel, Coffeeshop and Steamboat/Hot Pot, Ramen, Banmian.
Member 37 First(s)
No. of Review238 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity2700 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos364 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant197 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲85 Follower(s)
Princess J  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 238 Reviews in Singapore
Good Deal! Smile Sep 06, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Hotel | Restaurant | Sushi/Sashimi | Buffet

Bought a good deal to enjoy a $232.85 worth of Teppanyaki with hubby. Our set consisted of:

1) Salad - fresh greens tossed in Jap sauce. Ok, pretty nice.

2) Sashimi - 3 cuts of salmon and 2 cuts of tuna, very fresh and thick slices too

3) Chawamushi with shark-fin - I must say this is the first time I have steamed eggs with shark-fin on top. I am not a fan of shark-fin and I thought that as topping was a little over-the-top. On it's own, the steamed eggs were good.

4) Salmon omelette - the sauce that the chef used to cook the salmon in the Aluminum foil...awesome. I almost asked for a spoon so I would not waste the sauce!! But I must maintain my atas composure mah...

5) Scallops & Tiger prawns tossed in mayo - the scallops and tigers were HUGE! The chef grilled the seafood first before coating it with mayo & this secret sauce = woohoo!!

6) Chicken & Beef - grilled chicken skin side first to get that crispyness. Then chef cubed it together with the beef steak and he glazed it with his secret sauce. Yummy.

7) Mushroom soup - I know... Funny dish to appear in Teppanyaki but I didn't want the Miso soup lah. Mushroom soup is decent.

8) Garlic rice - I always look forward to this dish and always hope chef will give me the bigger bowl!! smile The garlic rice turned out to be a rather big serving and I was stuffed at the end of it.

9) Vegetable - another one of my fav and chef didn't disappoint again with this dish.

10) Dessert - almost too full to move, still with a dessert to round off a wonderful meal! We chose Green Tea ice cream as it was in line with the Jap cuisine. Hubby and I agreed that their Macha is really really good, I can't explain it, it just doesn't taste cheap lor! One of the best I've tasted. smile

I don't think I'll return as it's really too expensive without the discount. But if I have the cash, then BRING IT ON!!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Sashimi, Salmon Omelete, scallops & tiger prawns in mayo sauce, garlic rice
 
Date of Visit: Jul 30, 2011 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Authentic Italian Smile Jun 08, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Pasta

Here to celebrate our anniversary with my favourite cuisine. Read from other reviews that the service is poor so we braced ourselves.
When we arrived, we were seated and the restaurant was only running on 20% capacity for lunch. During ordering, staff was helpful to give advice on the food items.
I was pleasantly surprised with one of the service staff who over to fasten a back cushion for me. That's awfully sweet of him to go to that extra mile for me.
Grilled Eggplant - tender slices of eggplant grilled till soft and then served with melted cheese and tomato sauce over them. Perfect starters!
Calamari - I think this dish fell short somewhat. The batter was soft by the time we ate them and though the serving size was quite generous, I found the calamari rather bland. If not for the tomato dip that accompanies the rings, it would totally tank. I won't order this again.
Ravioli Con Carne - this is our best pasta dish of the meal! Little pillows of soft beef dressed in a strong tasting cheese sauce, something like blue cheese but not. Just really yummy lah!
Before our Squid Ink pasta arrived, we were both offered bibs that they nicely secured on for us. I supposed if the black sauce splatter on you, it'll be quite a nightmare to remove. So thoughtful!!
Squid Ink Seafood Pasta - quite a big plate of pasta that is a whole plate of Nero (that's Italian for black) goodness. Seafood is fresh and generous in amount. The squid ink sauce is very flavourful and every mouth of al dente pasta a party in the mouth!
Spinach Ravioli - very good ravioli with tomato sauce. Not that this is not nice, it IS but this dish does pale in comparison to the other 2 pasta dishes.
You can opt to have a half half of the Ravioli pastas on the same plate. This is what we did so we got to taste more without being too full!!
Tiramisu - a nice generous square of cake. You can really taste the rum in it (nice!) and with the mascarpone cheese cream, a wonderful slab of heaven to finish up the meal.
I dunno why so many complained about the poor service because we have enjoyed very good service, not just from one service staff but all round really. Will definitely be back to savour the rest of the menu!

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Grilled Eggplant,Spinach Ravioli (green) & Ravioli Con Carne (white),Squid Ink Seafood Pasta,Tiramisu
 
Date of Visit: Jun 07, 2014 

Celebration:  紀念日 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Italian Goodness Smile May 29, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Middle Eastern/Mediterranean | European | Hotel | Buffet

So to keep my word that I would bring my hubby here, we came here for dinner.
The buffet spread as many had said, is truly spectacular! It's a brilliant showcase of the awesome cuisine of Italy and then more!
Grilled Lamb Ribs - hubby ordered this as his main and the meat was grilled perfectly, tender and juicy. There is no funny gamey taste and the sides are also well cooked.
Fresh Pasta with Bacon Chunks - I found the fresh pasta cooked al dente and the shape of the pasta is a little special, not long like spaghetti but way fatter! I didn't really like the bacon chunks though. Not my most favourite pasta experience. Should have stuck with my usual favourite and not be so adventurous. Haha..
I remain a fan of this place and have converted my hubby too!

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Selection from the Anti-pasta Buffet Spread,Grilled Lamb Racks over mash
 
Celebration:  生日 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Actually Pretty Darn Good Smile Aug 18, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi | Buffet

The quality of food is actually good!!! I love the spread, especially the authentic dishes and some fusion style. They have the normal favorites like freshly cut Salmon, sushi pieces, tempura selections and Japanese noodles. I love their creative dessert selections...good selection and tasty.

Another plus point is that they change their buffet menu every month. That makes every buffet trip a different experience.

The third plus plus point is the price. Very affordable price for a very wonderful spread.
 
Date of Visit: Aug 05, 2012 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Super Pleased... Smile Oct 26, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | European | Restaurant | Pasta | Kids-Friendly

Bought some vouchers for this restaurant and hubby and I ordered the following to share share:

1) Grilled Portobello with cheese - if you like mushrooms, you'll love this one. They melt the cheese over the mushroom and that combination is heavenly.

2) NZ Mussles with spicy tomato sauce - these mussels are not the local ones which tends to taste slightly fishy. When these mussels are cooked with the slightly tangy tomato sauce, it's actually very very nice.

3) Linguine with Prawns in Pesto Sauce - I actually love pesto sauce but not all places get it right. But Pasta Inc does. Together with the fresh prawns, it's was all eaten - too fast!

4) Fettucine with Crabmeat in Pink Sauce - hub didn't like this as much but I LOVE it! I love pink sauce as it combines both my likes. I aspire to make this dish myself.

5) Grilled Beef rocket leaves - pity the slices were rather thin tho the taste is there.

6) Pan-fried Chicken Fillet - the chicken fillet is breaded and pan fried. Quite a bit of effort to make this dish but the result was very nice.

7) Tiramisu - nothing very spectacular. Normal nice.

Maybe it's a 4 course meal, the portions of each course were rather small. I just wished there was more of each to enjoy. I will definitely return to check out their full portions! smile
 
Date of Visit: Oct 10, 2011 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0