OpenRice Index
  
Princess J
This is Princess J living in Toa Payoh. I work in Dover. Italian, Japanese, Thai are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hotel, Coffeeshop and Steamboat/Hot Pot, Ramen, Banmian.
Member 37 First(s)
No. of Review238 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity2700 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos364 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant197 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲85 Follower(s)
Princess J  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 238 Reviews in Singapore
What a View! What a Meal!! Smile Sep 15, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Restaurant

Atas friends wants a good lunch as we are all depressed with work. One of us suggested going to the little known TCC at Keppel Bay and the deal is set.

Driving into Keppel Bay, you already feel like you're off to a different country. With the blue skies, beautiful bridge and yachts bobbing in the waters, it's easy to relax and think of how great it'll be to be rich!! smile

I ordered a 2-course set meal for $22.80++ and it included:

1) French onion soup - you know it's not from the can as it was choke full of onion slices and very rich in taste. My colleague who also had this found it too bitter for her. tongue I liked mine tho.

2) Seafood Aglio Olio - reviews have shown that this is a good dish and they're right! The spaghetti is served al dente and well tossed with garlic and olive oil. They also serve it with 2 succulent scallops and 2 tiger prawns, well seared on the sides to achieve the fresh taste of seafood and maintain its juiciness. Nice!

3) Ceylon Tea - came with the set and it's normal tea. Good enough.

They served (free) ice water as well and the service staff are very attentive. Kudos to the team! A most pleasurable lunch indeed.
Seafood Aglio Olio

Seafood Aglio Olio

 
What a View!

What a View!

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Seafood Aglio Olio, French Onion Soup
 
Date of Visit: Sep 14, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

I'm now a FAN! Smile Sep 03, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indonesian

Had to pick up something from Lucky Plaza so decided to try the Ayam Penyet Ria as I have heard much good reviews about their outlets. So hubby and I feasted on:

1) Ayam Penyet Rice set - a huge leg of chicken that is cripsy on the outside and juicy tender in the inside!! As I stuff my face with chunks of the awesome-ness, I wondered aloud how they achieve this?!?

2) Sambal - we didn't order this but the Sambal deserve special entry because it is HOT and very yummy. But it is HOT lor!! I am a spicy lady and even I had to give up! I could only take half of the serving (which is super rare)

3) Kerupuk - they serve a combi of the prawn crackers and the bitter crackers. When dipped in Sambal, it's BOOMZ!! smile

4) Otak-Otak - I expected the usual orange flat ones but their version is more like fishcake, spongy and white. It's nice still.

5) Teh Botol Sosro - good thing I had a sweet drink to help me tide over the super spicy chilli. Nice and sweet and cold. Mmmm...

A really economic meal that's super super yummy! In fact I'll go Lucky Plaza JUST so to eat their Ayam Penyet!!!
 
Date of Visit: Aug 20, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $13(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Brilliant Coffee Smile Jul 22, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Pasta | Burgers and Sandwiches

Had a free day to enjoy a leisure lunch with hubby.

We had their daily set lunch offers and that included a pasta, a soup of the day and a coffee/tea.

We had their Mushroom Soup to start and its served in a large coffee cup - cute. Their mushroom soup certainly tasted homemade and very velvety. Their soup came served with a blob of cream and when you mix it in yourself, it just added another layer of sensation to the soup experience. Haha...

Hubby and I had their Anchovy Pasta and their Kecap Manis Pasta.

I loved the Kecap Manis Pasta as its really quite a familiar home-y flavour. Almost something my grandma would make and I put pasta in it. Delightful!

I thought the Anchovy Pasta a tad too fishy for me. Hubby thought differently as he found the pasta very flavourful. We both thought the serving of pasta is generous and worth every cent of the set pricing.

Coffee here definitely doesn't disappoint at all. I always drink my coffee (Ang mo type or kopitiam) with sugar as it is always a tad too bitter for me. I ordered a latte here and I could just drink it without sugar and really fully tasting the coffee in it!! Wonderful way to end a good meal!!

A most happy find in the Toa Payoh and my new hangout place!!!

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Latte, Kecap  Manis  Pasta
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Pretty Good! Smile Sep 19, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Zi Char


Very enjoyable lunch in a fairly new restaurant, comfortable chairs to cushion my big behind after we feast on all the dishes we ordered. 

I ordered many of the restaurant's recommended dishes and was happily pleased to find almost all the dishes very good! We had:
* Marmite Spare Ribs - very well seasoned pork ribs bits that has meat so well cooked that it falls away from the bone easily. 

• Salted Egg Fried Fish Skin - this dish is very very addictive! Can't stop and super yummy. I mean, salted egg + deep fried crispy fish skin = super!

* Cereal Prawn - I dunno what type of cereal they use but it's super fine. Coats the prawn balls beautifully. Worthy of mention is that the prawns were fresh and large too! 

• 3 Eggs Spinach in Superior Broth - very tasty dish that is a hit with the kids. I lace their rice with the sauce and they happily finish up their rice!

* Tofu with Cai Poh & Pork Floss - soft soft tofu that deep fried and topped with crispy fried cai poh AND floss! Very good combi!

* Golden Medal OTAR Beancurd - tofu pieces that infused with otah taste. But I find the otah taste TOO subtle. My hubby didn't even know it's supposed to have otah taste!!!

* Deep Fried Fish Tail with Fragrant Sauce - the fragrant sauce is very nice but the fried fish was a tad too well fried. A bit too dry for my liking. But I'm a fan of fish so I'll order it again. Heh

• Broccoli with Bean Skin - I found this dish so-so. Not bad but nothing of special mention. 

* "Dong Poh" Braised Meat - this is another award winning dish with their stewed pork. It's so-so, not bad lah...

• Deep Fried Prawn Roll - again, not bad but I have had better ones elsewhere. 

This is a 5-star rating because this meal is with a Groupon discount which made the meal very much value-for-money. Else it's still a healthy 4-star rating! 😊

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Marmite Spare Ribs,Cereal Prawns
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Love the Hokkien Mee!! Smile Aug 18, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood

A church friend recommended this place for our dinner to round off a wonderful weekend serving at church. We reserved a large table for the 11 of us and proceeded to order:

1) Pork Satay $21.60 - this is surprising good. Meat is tender and the little fatty bits makes the whole mouth experience so much more explosively wonderful. Hee...

2) Kung-bao Chicken $14 - a little like black pepper taste. But all good.

3) Garlic Naibai $12 - Generous with tgeir garlic and it's good tasting.

4) Salted Egg Squid $18 - the salted egg coating is solid! If they have deep-fried their squid first, i think it'll be even more awesome!

5) Fried Hokkien Mee $24 - they use seafood to stew their noodles in and that made their noodle very savory sweet! Love this!! Easily the STAR of the meal!!

6) Rib Eye Beef $56 - what is a Chinese seafood restaurant serving a western dish I have no idea but who cares? They did this medium-done version of beef fillet very very well. This is served with a side of wedges.

7) 'Heart-attack' Fried Rice - This dark sauced fried rice is salty and super delicious! How can it not be awesome when they use the fats of the beef to flavor the rice?!?!

8) Hotplate Tofu $15 - this is normal nice. Not bad.

The price is super reasonable and food tasty. Definitely bringing my family here again.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Hokkien Mee,Beef Fried Rice
 
Date of Visit: Nov 22, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0