OpenRice Index
  
Princess J
This is Princess J living in Toa Payoh. I work in Dover. Italian, Japanese, Thai are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hotel, Coffeeshop and Steamboat/Hot Pot, Ramen, Banmian.
Member 37 First(s)
No. of Review238 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity2700 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos364 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant197 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲85 Follower(s)
Princess J  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 238 Reviews in Singapore
Garlicky Good! Smile Apr 13, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Pasta | Steaks and Grills

I've been meaning to check out this place and since we have to come Suntec to buy something, I jumped at the chance and brought the whole family here.

We ordered:
1) Garlic Bread Tower - it turned out to be a very interesting bread! The waitress had to help us 'prepare' the bread. It's a nice experience to watch the 'preparation' and my girls were more excited about watching than eating it. The adults loved its soft and garlicky insides and crusty outside. The garlic is not overpowering but flavorful. Really dunno how they do it but it GOOOOoooooOOoooD!

2) Grilled Pizza - my girls ordered a normal pizza as most of their pizza is spicy. Taste nice with that slight burnt taste.

3) Suicide Rice - as the name suggest, this is a spicy fried rice and they mince the spicy Mexican peppers and added to the rice. The taste is not like your Asian fried rice but still good.

4) Seafood Pasta - this was served with the waitress asking if I'll like cheese on top. I, of course, said yes and she didn't sprinkle those instant cheese flakes found in Pizza Hut. She had a grater and she grated about 5 tablespoons of cheese over my pasta. I was over the moon! The next pleasant shock was the generous and freshness of the seafood in my pasta. I love the taste so much that I'm still thinking about it now!

5) Meat Lover's Creamy Pizza - hubby ordered this and the white sauce is really special tasting here. Hubby liked it but it didn't rock my world like the way my seafood pasta did.

I am so impressed with the quality of the food and wait staff there that I'm kinda hesitant to recommend. Just in case the restaurant will be super overcrowded because the good reviews... smile
 
Date of Visit: Apr 09, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Vegetarian

My vegetarian friend's birthday was coming and I thought we should take her out for vegetarian food that's not indian as she eats that all the time already. Read some reviews and Miao Yi came up with really good praises. So our party of 7 went down and tried all these:

1) Mock Pig $35 - their suckling pig comes with the lettuce and dark sweet sauce, just like the meat version. So I thought it'll be lousy. But it's actually freaking awesome. Can't explain it but it's just awesome tasting.

2) Cold Dish $20 - Likewise, there are about 5 sides to choose from. Each one different in texture and taste. Each very well made.

3) Steam Cod Fish $12 - This dish actually came highly recommended by other reviewers but I personally didn't think much of it. It's essentially tofu with seaweed but it's was only ok in taste.

4) Venison Broccoli $12 - this one deserves special mentioned as I loved the way the 'venison' is done. Together with the broccoli, it's super awesome. I couldn't match all the dishes to the special names but these are good:

5) 8-Treasure Tofu $10

6) Hot Plate Tofu $10

7) Season Veges $13

8) R. Mushroom Stalks $16

9) Match Perfection $18

10) Longevity Noodles $12

After a super full meal, we were ready to roll out of the restaurant. So we asked for the bill and realised they don't charge for service! That was such icing on the cake as they give very prompt and sincere service, which is tons better than some establishments who charge and give crappy service. I am SO dragging all my vegetarian friend's here!
 
Date of Visit: Oct 06, 2011 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $26(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good Dim Sum Smile Sep 06, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Chinese | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Seafood

Brought the whole family down for Fathers' Day lunch and ordered dim sum for everyone. smile We ordered almost all their dim sum items and they were all good. Not OMG-excellent but good nevertheless.

We had Fried Prawn Toast, Prawn Rice Roll, Char Siew Rice Roll, XO Carrot Cake, Beanskin Roll, Steamed Prawn Dumpling, Pan Fried Rice Roll, Spicy Prawn Dumpling, BBQ Pork Bun, Xiao Long Bao, Lotus Leaf Rice, Steamed Pork Ribs, Spinach Dumplings, Gyoza, BBQ Pork Pastry, Steamed Chicken Feet, Fish Porridge, Century Egg Porridge, Stewed Fish & Bitter Gourd beehoon.

Service is prompt and polite so that's nice. We were a large table of 14 and tucked away in a corner of the restaurant. It was quiet and exclusive feeling but we were not forgotten by the service staff so that's worthy of mention.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Lotus leaf rice, Prawn toast, Rice Rolls (prawn & char Siew), XO Carrot Cake, Beanskin Roll, Century Egg Porridge, Stewed fish & bitter gourd beehoon
 
Date of Visit: Jun 26, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $19(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good Job Guys... Smile Sep 06, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Hawker Centre | Zi Char

It was a coincidence that good friends and I suggested this makan place when deciding where to eat. I've been meaning to try and my friends had dinner once there and liked it.

So a table was reserved and on the actual day, we were late and good friends ordered the house specials:

1) Champagne Pork Ribs - it's not coffee ribs as it doesn't have the strong coffee taste but still tasty juicy ribs. Don't think any champagne were used in cooking but taste damn good.

2) Bean curd - it's their own style bean curd and cooked with simply with vegetables. But the bean curd is soft and nicely fried on the outside.

3) Thai Style Fish - this was my absolutely favourite dish!! The fish was pre-steamed and placed on a hotplate. Then they would pour this spicy tom yam-ish clear soup base onto the fish to continue cooking the fish over flames. Awesome dish!

4) Cereal Prawn - nice, average good.

5) Sambal kangkong - also average good.

Will definitely return, just for the Thai style fish!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Champagne Pork Ribs, Thai Style Fish, Bean Curd
 
Date of Visit: Jul 02, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Happy Find Smile May 21, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Restaurant

We were in the area and wondered what's good here to eat...

We read good reviews of food here and decided to come check things out for ourselves! We ordered:

* Chilli Crab Pasta - it was actually rather spicy but over-bearing. The taste was not really like the Chilli crab you get in restaurants but it's still nice. The crab meat was also generous in amount, so much so that there was enough ingredients for every mouthful.

• Red Dot Pasta - this pasta was with Japanese fusion flair. The seafood (scallop, prawns, squid and Japanese fish roe) was fresh and adequate for the pasta. I also liked the familiar sweetish savoury Japanese sauce that coated the pasta.

• Attitude Dude - a double-patty burger with onions and coleslaw and all the other yummies. And truth be told, it was really great from the first bite! Hubby said price for quality, it beat many other burger joints.

• Chicken Cheese Sausage Hotdog - an item from kid's menu but the serving was actually enough for a small adult eater. Taste was good too, the sourdough bun was crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. Sausage was really cheesy and my daughter was so impressed with that! The hand cut fries was also very well fried and seasoned! I have eaten many many fries in my life and this really ranked quite high in terms of taste and texture!

Didn't expect to have had such a satisfactory meal here. Will definitely recommend to friends and family!

 

 

 

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0