OpenRice Index
  
Princess J
This is Princess J living in Toa Payoh. I work in Dover. Italian, Japanese, Thai are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hotel, Coffeeshop and Steamboat/Hot Pot, Ramen, Banmian.
Member 37 First(s)
No. of Review238 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity2700 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos364 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant197 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲85 Follower(s)
Princess J  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 31 to 35 of 238 Reviews in Singapore
Hubby's love Smile Sep 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Latin American/South American | Spanish | Halal | Paella

Hub loves Mexican so it's impt to track down another place that is reputed for good Mexican makan. So we heard J's quite the new hot kid along purvis street, decided that we should check things out for ourselves. We order:
1) Beef burrito - the size of the wrap was a tad smaller than what my hub expected but the taste made up for it. A very good tasting burrito.

2) Pan-seared Beef - I had the set and the tomato soup was really very full of flavour, loved it. The beef slab was tender yet thick! Seasoned beautifully such that every mouthful was a pleasure.

The service was impeccable. Attentive, sincere and with a ready smile. Made us feel very welcome indeed. Daughter happened to let out that its my hub's birthday and the waiter surprised us with a birthday cake for hub. It's the thought and sincerity that counts...

This top class service and good food has stolen my heart and would definitely return for more pleasure!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Beef Burotto,Set Lunch Beef Steak
 
Date of Visit: Aug 10, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Surprise Find! Smile Mar 18, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Coffeeshop | Zi Char

Lunch with good friends from church brought us to this tucked away Zichar restaurant of 9 tables. Good service and simple settings. We ordered:

Roast Chicken - crispy skin and tender juicy flesh. Done nicely. Need to dab a bit of salt as I found it a tad bland.

Sum Lor Horfun - fish slices were thick and fresh. Flavour is also good.

Golden Nugget Tofu - homemade egg tofu fried golden brown on the outside. Coated with their own sauce. Good.

Ultraman Chicken - it's essentially fried chicken, tossed in spicy salted egg sauce. Very crispy and tasty. Best dish of the meal.

Omellette with Chay Poh - fluffy eggs with chay Poh that's not overly salted. Very Yumz.

Garlic Watercress - the greens is well sauté and flavourful.

Generally the food doesn't seem to use much MSG, it has that home cooked feel to it. I'll definitely come again to check out the other food with my family.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ultraman Chicken
 
Date of Visit: Mar 17, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

2nd time round still good Smile Nov 22, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

This is our 2nd visit to Sol and it seemed that menu had expended since. Our family ordered:

1) Seafood Aglio Olio - this is nice! Seafood is fresh and pretty generous too. There's also enough spice - got kick!

2) Beef Stew - friend ordered this dish but she didn't finished it as she found the beef too tough for her. the greedy me asked to try it and subsequently finished it. I found it not exactly soft but not tough either. I liked the taste of it tho. And the mash tasted good too.

3) Chicken Curry Hotpot - we ordered this for our help as she has more Asian taste buds. She said it's nice enough.

4) Sol Burger - hubby ordered this again and yes, there was none left for me to try...again! tongue

It's a good place to bring the kids and the food's decent and not that expensive. Will come again. smile
 
Date of Visit: Oct 20, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $20

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Awesome Place Smile Oct 26, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Pasta | Chinese Soup | Salads

Threw a surprise party for a good friend for his 40th Birthday and I asked for the alfresco area behind the restaurant. This is so the kids have a safe place to run around after they are done eating.

We had a long table for 15 and we ordered their pizzas to start and then we also ordered some mains:
Most of their pizzas were great, nice wood-flamed crusts and tasty fillings. Their Seafood Marinara was very good too. I went round to eat almost everybody's plate and my verdict is that they have very tasty food in general.

Another plus point is the wait staff. They are professional and very fair. They treat both locals and foreigners with the same outstanding attitude and service. Kudos to the staff!!

This place has a wonderful mix of good food, nice ambience and attentive wait staff, what more reason do you need to make your way here?!?
 
Celebration:  生日 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Honest to Goodness Good Food Smile Sep 06, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop | Seafood | Zi Char

For our regular get-togethers, 3 of the 4 of us chose Zichar this time round so I hunted around for a good Zichar place.

Reviewers highly sang praises of this humble store and I decided to check it out for myself.

1) Salted-egg Ribs - recommended by the stall keeper and it wasn't wrong. With so many salted egg everything these days, not surprising they will 'attack' the ribs too. The result was a very fragrant and super tasty plate of ribs. It is not overly salted as feared but really flavourful!

2) Cereal Prawns - one dish that I can't really make well at home. My grandma said it's the fire, we don't have those roaring fire these chefs use to produce that wok-Hei. Prawns were decent in size and the generous spicy cereal made good accompaniment with the rice.

3) Youmai Chye - I LOVE youmai Chye, some call it goose vegetable as it's known that geese love them. When fried so expertly with just garlic, the crunch and taste always send me bouncing happily in my chair.

4) Pork Knuckle - didn't think that a Zichar place would serve this. Gloriously deep fried and very nicely done indeed.

5) Prawn-paste Chicken - nice! Better than many restaurants actually. The batter is really crispy and flavourful. Shiok ah!

6) French beans - good wok Hei taste!! Yumz.

7) Old Cucumber Soup - it's their soup of the day and it's very flavourful! Of course there's MSG lah but I wasn't super thirsty after the meal leh...

Not a place to expect aircon or uniformed service staff, just d*** good Zichar fare!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Salted Egg Pork Ribs,Cereal Prawns,Pork Knuckle
 
Date of Visit: Jul 27, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately $19(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0