OpenRice Index
  
Princess J
This is Princess J living in Toa Payoh. I work in Dover. Italian, Japanese, Thai are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hotel, Coffeeshop and Steamboat/Hot Pot, Ramen, Banmian.
Member 37 First(s)
No. of Review238 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity2700 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos364 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant197 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲85 Follower(s)
Princess J  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 41 to 45 of 238 Reviews in Singapore
Great Service and Food Smile Nov 13, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hotel | Pasta | Brunch


Chanced upon a Groupon voucher to have a 3-course dinner for 39++. 

The deal comes with starter, main course and dessert. I choose their lobster bisque which was a lovely seafood-y taste. The soup had bits of lobster which was really nice. It's not too thick which was what I liked. Hubby chose Foie Gras which was nice and all. But the slice of liver over a small toast couldn't compare in size to a large plate of lobster bisque. Hubby pouted as I happily drank my soup!

We all ordered the overnight braised beef cheeks and it was melt-in-your-mouth tasty! The rather-thick piece of meat sat over a bed of mash potatoes. Very very good. 

Dessert was lemon lime sorbet. Very artistically put together and tasty quite good. The small berries were just way too tart. 

The service was very attentive but that's because there was really no much patrons at the restaurant. With the right vouchers, I'll come back again!

 

 

 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hidden Find Smile Jun 15, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Bars/Lounges | Café | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

Came here with parents and small kids in tow so I reserved a table beforehand to avoid disappointment.
For starters, we ordered the Jalapeno Mac & Cheese to share. You can definitely taste the spice of the mac & cheese and it's pretty good. Hubby preferred if they had used Cheddar instead.
For the mains, we ordered:
Southern Fried Chicken - I must say that the seasoning can be pretty spicy for the kids (mine complained a bit) but for us hardy adults, no problem. The skin is fried till crispy and the meat is still quite juicy. It's served with their homemade mash, which is very good, and a side of corn and salad. The dressing of the corn and salad doesn't rock my boat because I don't fancy sour stuff much and I assume others may like that.
BBQ Chicken - Generous half spring chicken that is marinated with their BBQ sauce. No bad tasting and meat is juicy too. Served with shoe-string fries and corn and salad.
Baby Back Ribs - the same BBQ sauce is used to season the ribs. It's nice and meat falls off the bone when eaten. It's good, better than some more established makan places.
Teddy's 100% US Beef Burger - a tall burger with their homemade pattie and bacon strips as the main stars. It's pretty good.
Penne Bolognese - daughter wanted pasta and we tried their bolognese which was very good. Again, you can tell they made their own sauce and that's quite a bit of pride there.
Milkshake Salted Caramel - It's not super sweet so that's great! I can't really taste the salted caramel so that's a small shame.
I like how they attempt to make their food fresh by really making the marinade and sauce from scratch. We'll would be back again to check out the rest of their menu and drink a little this time.

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  BBQ Chicken,Penne Bolognese,Jalapeno Mac & Cheese,Teddy's 100% US Beef Burger,Southern Fried Chicken,Baby Back Ribs
 
Date of Visit: Jun 15, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $26(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Italian at its finest Smile Jun 08, 2014   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Middle Eastern/Mediterranean | European | Hotel | Buffet

Buffet treat from a good friend and knowing my weakness for Italian cuisine, she brought me here.
Where do I begin? The cold spread, cold cuts, the bread selection, cheese choices, the hot spread, the Asian spread (I know...I think maybe for those who come and realize they don't like Italian food actually), the pasta choices, the desserts,etc.
One word. AWESOMENESS! Of course there are dishes I don't like but it's just my personal taste buds. Because my friends who tried those dishes I don't like, find them nice. It's just me I guess. The overall spread is just wonderful.
Service was attentive and warm. Made our dining experience so much more wonderful.
Left bloated with Italian goodness and still craving more!! I'm so bringing hubby here!!! Not for his sake, for mine!!

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Selection from the Anti-pasta Buffet Spread,Grilled Lamb Racks over mash
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Quite a find! OK Jun 24, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant | Steaks and Grills

Shopping nearby and read that Barbacoa got a good review so we popped over for lunch.

Our meal started with:
1) Cream of corn soup - it tasted freshly made, with bits of corn in it still. Nice

2) Traditional nacho - generous serving with cheese and salsa sauce to make it taste good

3) Ribs with Asian Sambal sauce - I found the meat tender but slight on the dry side. I wished for more Sambal sauce for that 'wetter' look and tase. Otherwise, it's good tasting.

Our meal is topped with a complimentary ice cream. Sweet ending. smile Best part of the meal is that for a place who doesn't charge service charge, their service is actually pretty darn solid!!!

We won't come all the way down but if in the area, sure.
 
Date of Visit: Apr 22, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Still good after all this time Smile Apr 20, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | Restaurant | Seafood | Buffet | Kids-Friendly

Wanted to celebrate the completion of our project, and so we decided to go pig out at Olive Tree. It's been a while since I last ate here and it is still generally good.

My favourites include:
1) Okra with Salsa - its really a simple dish with pre-boiled okra with salsa sauce dressing. It doesn't sound like much but the combination was strangely awesome.

2) Mushroom Salad - assorted mushrooms sautéed to perfection

3) Potato Salad - simple fare but very good home-made dressing

4) Mushroom Soup - velvety and smooth and creamy and yummy

5) Broccoli & Cauliflower Gratin - this is the BOMB!!

6) Lamb Shank - this dish is also very very good. It's cooked till the lamb is tender but without the game-y taste

7) Risotto Asparagus - risotto is tough to cook (I should know...I tried and failed) and theirs is cooked till just al dente and flavourful

8) Pan-fried Pork Fillet with Red Wine Sauce - this is cooked as you order so it's served hot and the red wine sauce is a very good compliment to the meat. Really a delight.

Let's just say now I have another favourite place to pig out at will.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Okra Salsa,Mushroom Salad,Potato Salad,Mushroom Soup,Broccoli & Cauliflower Gratin,Lamb Shank,Risotto Asparagus,Pan-fried Pork Fillet
 
Date of Visit: Apr 19, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $40

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0