OpenRice Index
  
CookiesNCream
This is CookiesNCream living in Woodlands. I am a student, work in Upper Thomson. I like to hang out in Holland, Orchard, Upper Thomson. Thai, Indian, Singaporean, Western are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hotel, Bakery and Curries, Pasta, Desserts.
Member 65 First(s)
No. of Review309 Review(s)
編輯推介數目11 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity2604 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos550 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant10 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲159 Follower(s)
CookiesNCream  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 309 Reviews in Singapore
Cheap Indian Hideout OK May 07, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian | Food Court | Vegetarian

One of the cheapest places to dine at the airport is definitely the staff canteen - which is open to public! The food is not just cheap but pretty decent too. I stumbled upon this indian stall and decided to give it a shot. My side dishes were tauhu sambal, cabbage and spinach. I also requested for sambar (a type of lentil curry) that was poured over the rice.

Tauhu sambal: This dish consisted of cubes of tofu drenched in spices with a hint of tomato. It was meant to be a spicy side dish but the version here did not leave leave tears streaming down my face tongue

Spinach: This side dish was well cooked yet not over cooked. The spices used were mild. However there was nothing that stood out for me

Cabbage: This was another decent side that was well cooked. The vegetables used were fresh.

A piece of papadum and fried chillies were also given to compliment the meal.

I rate this meal 6 / 10

Overall, I did find the meal a little oily. It was nothing to brag about but it did taste decent and even home cooked. The portion of rice was very generous but the side dishes were compromised to the minimum which was the downside. Then again, it was awfully cheap at only $3.50! The food at this stall is suitable for any race or religion as its a vegetarian stall. They also have a variety of other items that look pretty good which I may try out during my next visit smile

Tip: Stalls at the canteen are not 24hours and some even close in the mid afternoon. It's highly recommended to go during lunch time. Also, don't need to worry about seating as there's plenty around, even during peak periods! It is also suggested to patronise on weekdays as I reckon they close on weekends! smile

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  rice
 
Date of Visit: Apr 26, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Best in town! Smile May 07, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Hawker Centre | Desserts and Cakes

I was thrilled to find Lao Ban's Beancurd outlet at Chong Pang Market. For starters, it's the best place to have that stall since the food at that same location is cheap yet amazing smile Also, this is the first outlet in the north! I've been going down all the way to Tampines to buy containers of bean curd! - It was worth every trip but I'm so glad the new outlet is closer to home! Newly opened and one has to already start queuing in line to be served while the beancurd was flying off the chillers. Don't worry though, staff are very quick at serving hence one wouldn't have to wait too long. I have been a fann of Lao Ban's beancurd ever since my sister brought home a container early this year. I love the silkiness of the bean curd that totally melts in your mouth. You can even try slurping it down, it's that silky! Other outlet's tend to make their beancurd too blunt or too sweet and sometimes I force myself to finish the bowl but it's just nice at Lao Ban and has an aromatic fragrance. The best part is, replacing beancurd with a calorie packed slice of cake for dessert is the step to a healthier lifestyle!

Highly recommended to be the #1 for Beancurd! =D I rate this beancurd dessert 10/10

Tip: Don't go home with just one container! tongue
Lao Ban!

Lao Ban!

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Lao Ban
 
Date of Visit: May 03, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $2

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Kaya Toast is a winner here Smile May 03, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Coffeeshop

Ya kun may be famous for alot of things but their kaya toast is definitely the talk of the town. Slices of bread that are toasted to perfection; neither too soft nor hard with melted butter and a generous spread of kaya to make it a winner. This is definitely one of my favourite places for breakfast. However, I do recommend not waiting too long before getting down to business as the toast does have a way of turning cold and soggy which affects the taste by a notch. Best eaten hot with a good cup of coffee. Their ice blended drinks are pretty good too if u feel like a chilled drink during a hot morning. I especially like their horlicks ice blended. It might be a little pricey at over $3 but its great to gulp down on a scorching day!

 

 
Price paid for Ice blended Horlicks with whipped cream + Kaya Toast (2 slices) = $5.30. Highly recommended: 9/10
 
Recommended Dish(es):  toast,eggs,breakfast,coffee
 
Date of Visit: Apr 10, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Lunch gone wrong Cry May 03, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court | Brunch

 
I feel like the standard of this stall has gone down tremendously. I ordered the white rice with 3 sides. The first was potato with black pepper - The dish was extremely plain though the potatoes were well cooked. The second dish was spinach which was extremely horrible. It was very blunt and tasted undercooked. It did not appear to be seasoned in any way either. Last but not least was silken tofu. Again, this dish was quite tasteless. I am very disappointed with both the standard as well as customer service. I was waiting for nearly 10 minutes before the staff took notice and served me. The staff appeared to be in a bad mood and showed no signs of customer service. The food on the other hand was hardly edible. I will not be paying over $4 again for this (even with my kopitiam card, it ended up amounting to $4.50). Not worth the money at all.

Not recommended: 2/10
 
Recommended Dish(es):  none
 
Date of Visit: Apr 15, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Macadamia on the go! Smile May 03, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Ice Cream and Gelato

 
After months, I finally collected enough stamps to redeem my free andersen's of Denmark lifetime membership card! It entitles their members to birthday discounts and 10% discounts on all products. Definitely a treat! They also threw in a free scoop of ice cream when I submitted my visit card for redemption! I decided to go with macadamia on this hot sunny day. I was asked if I would like it in a cup or cone. I chose a cup as it was less messy smile I love the range of flavours available! The ice cream is not too heavy and definitely not too sweet either. The staff are pretty friendly and I must say, the quality of ice cream is top notch! I got a pretty huge scoop! I loved the chunks of macadamia found in the rich vanilla ice cream. Will be patronising Andersen's more once my membership card arrives through mail! smile Highly recommended!

:bowchopstickl: Macadamia Ice Cream 9/10 lol
 
Recommended Dish(es):  macadamia ice cream!
 
Date of Visit: Apr 18, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $0(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0