OpenRice Index
  
melodyinthemist
This is melodyinthemist living in Choa Chu Kang. I am a Student, work in Orchard. Italian, Japanese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Restaurant and Buffet , Ice Cream and Gelato, Dim Sum.
Member 0 First(s)
No. of Review70 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity1026 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos142 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant53 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲45 Follower(s)
melodyinthemist  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 70 Reviews in Singapore
Time Travel To Malaysia IPoh Smile Jan 26, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Food Court

Ipoh Laksa

Ipoh Laksa

 
Okay listen up if you have been following me with me review, you will know that I do not like to eat spicy food. However, when I was young my parents often travelled back to Ipoh some sort like a business trip and I would tag along with them. I remembered trying my parent's bowl of laksa, ended up burning my own tongue. Aside from burning my own tongue, the aromatic smell from the laksa was indescribable. Until now, the smell continue to linger in my mind whenever I see laska, be it Singapore's style or Malaysia's style. One day, my friend and I decided to head to Malaysia Boleh. I ordered chicken rice and my friend ordered this. It was exactly the same as I saw it many years ago in Malaysia, the smell and the ingredients were almost the same, about 90%. The broth colour with the noodles, totally identical. I tried a spoonful of the broth and I felt like I was back in Ipoh, beside the road tasting the noodles. It was too good to be true, believe me. If you think I am writing for a composition then you have to try it to believe it. The point is, I actually found a bowl of laska that tasted exactly like the bowl I had it in many years ago. Damn, I am going to bring my parents here to try it.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ipoh Laska
 
Date of Visit: Jan 22, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $8(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

A legendary Bowl of Crispy Wanton Smile Jan 26, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian | Hawker Centre | Noodles

A Bowl of Pontian

A Bowl of Pontian

 
Salutation, folks! Anybody craves for cheap and affordable bowl of wanton noodles? Everybody in Singapore should have tried at least once in their lifetime. Wanton noodles stalls are everywhere in the coffee shops, but what is so special about this Pontian Wanton Noodles I am writing about? If you have not tried it, let me tell you about it. Wanton has two types, soup or fried. Coincidentally, I like both versions of Wanton in Pontian. The fried version is very crispy, light and the meat filling is absolutely mouth watering. One small bite of the wanton makes you want to eat another. It is like a chain reaction, you just can't get enough of it. The soup version is also very delicious, cook in the broth to perfection. The thin layer of wanton looks silky and smooth covering the inner meat filling. When attempting to eat the soup wanton, be cautious, it is bloody hot. Once in your mouth, you can feel the smooth wanton skin almost gliding down to your throat effortlessly. I mean, real. It was so smooth and silky that I have to be mindful when I am eating. To be honest, I do not know why people are paying so much for wanton in expensive places when they can get such wanton around heartland coffee shops. Next time, when you are around a mall or coffee shop, feeling hungry and not sure what to eat. Do me favour, just buy one wanton noodle and try it. You will be surprised, because it is the truth.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Wanton Noodles,Wanton
 
Date of Visit: Jan 25, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The Amazing Chicken  Smile Jan 25, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Fast Food | Halal | Korean Fried Chicken

Deliciously Delicious Soy Garlic Chicken

Deliciously Delicious Soy Garlic Chicken

 
The Counter

The Counter

 

Good evening, hungry fellows. Here I am presenting to you a plate of innocent looking chicken winglets and drumlets. First glance of these chicken pieces may not look appetising for your eyes. But wait, I had decided to against my eyes' wish and headed in to order the 6 chicken pieces. Btw, 4 fingers have two flavoured chickens, Soy Garlic and Spicy. I chose the Soy Garlic of course, I was never a fan of spicy food. My innocent chicken pieces looked exactly like the above, nothing special and nothing fantastic about it. However, when I took a small bite on my winglet. MY BRAIN WENT WILD, THIS PIECE OF CHICKEN LOOKS IDENTICAL TO MY HOUSE BBQ CHICKEN DOESNT TASTE THE SAME AT ALL. Friends out there, this taste is something you will never find any else where in Singapore. It is every bit of salty, sweet and tangy taste that coats outside the chicken. The taste is so unique that no other fast food restaurant can compare, yes it is very unique. Believe me, if you tried it and you don't like it, please let me know because so far my friends who have tasted them totally agreed with me. Man, I just can't get enough of these winglets. GIMME 4FINGERS'S WINGS RIGHT NOW, PLEASE
 
Recommended Dish(es):  4 fingers winglet and drumlet
 
Date of Visit: Jan 14, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Ichiban Boshi Smile Jan 25, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

Chicken katsu don

Chicken katsu don

 
Randomly settled dinner with two of my friends at Ichiban Boshi on a weekday night and we were so glad that we didn't have to queue up for it.

As the guys were famished, they ordered two dinner sets which consist of various food, from fruits to soup to individual selected main courses while I ordered a very simple chicken katsu don. Though it is a very simple japanese meal, this didn't disappoint at all! The scrambled eggs complement so well with the tender chicken but the only pity was that I couldn't finish it because the portion is just too huge for my tummy.

Ichiban definitely serves decent japanese food!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chicken katsu don
 
Date of Visit: Jan 08, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Midnight dim sum heaven Smile Jan 25, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Dim Sum

 
Obviously I do not have to introduce this popular restaurant which serves dim sum, not in the morning but throughout the night!

This time, we decided to try more varieties. It is kinda famous for the mee sua kueh, which is a deep fried rice cake that is wrapped in a salty rice vermicelli but I didn't find it fascinating. Whereas, what's the real awesome bomb is the pan fried tofu with pork floss, its texture is just too silky and melts in your mouth! Do also try their salted egg custard bun, hargow and friend red bean paste! lol

Only con of this place, they don't take in reservation and you'll have to wait for at least half an hour usually!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pan fried tofu with pork floss,salted egg custard bun
 
Date of Visit: Jan 10, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0