OpenRice Index
  
chichiewchuen
This is chichiewchuen .
Member 0 First(s)
No. of Review37 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity486 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos42 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant20 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲24 Follower(s)
chichiewchuen  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 37 Reviews in Singapore
Yummy Smile Nov 28, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | Desserts and Cakes | Ice Cream and Gelato | Halal

We ordered the apple pie with a scoop of strawberry icecream. The apple serving in the pie is generous and the flaky crust just melts in the mouth. It it not too sweet and mushy. The apple pie is warm and nice and goes very well with the strawberry icecream

The icecream's texture is fine, not too sweet and the milk taste is good. Some strawberry bits within and are a bit tiny. This costs around $10 but we think it is value for money. Will be back again. Service staff is friendly, but gotta wait quite a while for seats.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 23, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good Lunch Smile Nov 28, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Sichuan | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Seafood

Peony Jade is always my choice for ala cart Chinese food buffet. The weekday buffet lunch is quite worth it. About $40++/pax, Buy 3 get 1 free for credit card promotion. The following dishes can only be ordered once – whole abalone, salmon sashimi, Hk dim sum, fish maw soup, deep-fried soon hock. Other dishes include seafood, appetizers, soups, poultry, noodles/rice, beancurd, vegetables and dessert.

I like the selection of HK dim sum. For the siew mai, the juices burst from each dumpling as I sank my teeth in, and experienced the wonderful chewiness in each bite. For Har Kow, the prawn is fresh and does not have too much of seasoning. The spring roll is very crispy on the outside, though the vegetables could a bit hard.  

I don’t really like the Fish maw soup though as it taste a bit weird in braised hot and sour soup, more sour than spicy. I ordered the crabmeat bouillon with golden mushroom instead, and I like it. The crabmeat and mushroom are generous and the soup is very tasty with all the ingredients, can taste the natural sweetness of the crabmeat and other ingredients.

They also serve chilled lemongrass jelly as dessert. The lemongrass added great fragrance and taste to the jelly.

Serving are fast and staff are friendly. Good for family gathering. Highly recommended.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 02, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Cakes Smile Nov 28, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | Pasta | Buffet | Noodles

I like this place for its desserts more than its main courses. Besides the much sought-after durian desserts, I think the other cakes are also worth a mention.

Besides looking attractive, the cakes also taste very delicious. I especially like the chocolate layer cakes. It is moist with two thick layers of dark chocolate icing/cream. Instead of being heavy, that just makes this cake more satisfying. Combined with the rich dark chocolate flavours, it adds up to a slice of cake that leaves you happily full without being too sweet or sickly. One piece is definitely not enough,. 

The staff clears the table quite promptly and they always have a smile on their faces, which makes it a good dining experience. 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 05, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

value-for-money buffet Smile Nov 28, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Seafood

Agree that the buffet lunch is value for money, at around $30+/pax. There are a wide range of food, and most of them are quite delicious.

I like the fish hor fun. There is generous helping of fish. The fish meat is tender and not overcooked. It is not salty too.The gravy is not heavy handed on seasonings but some may find that this plate leans on the milder side compared to those in HDB zi char.

Would like the recommend the pork ribs too...The meat is not too tough or gluey soft like some shops. The rich honey/sweet taste makes you crave for more.

Staff service could be better...perhaps there are too many people and clearing of plates is a bit slow. Also I have to repeat one of my orders 3x before it was delivered.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 10, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

dessert Smile Nov 28, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | Seafood | Halal | Buffet | Kids-Friendly

Carousel has a huge selection of food. I like particularly the dessert range. The cakes are all very high quality and looks attractive. I particularly like the chocolate slice, the chocolate is very rich and creamy. Very solid chocolate and a bit moist, Heavenly. Can't stop at one piece even if you're calorie-conscious.

This is one of the place I would go for the desserts. The ambience is cosy and good for gatherings. At $40+ per pax it is value-for money.

Service by staff is excellent.Staff also give birthday surprises if you're celebrating a birthday there.

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 21, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0