OpenRice Index
  
cornflict
This is cornflict living in Bukit Merah. I am a Lab Technician, work in Choa Chu Kang. I like to hang out in Bukit Merah. Japanese, Singaporean are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Hawker Centre, Restaurant.
Member 27 First(s)
No. of Review69 Review(s)
編輯推介數目5 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity1114 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos92 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲33 Follower(s)
cornflict  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 69 Reviews in Singapore
Curry Fish Head (Indian Style!) Smile Sep 08, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian | Fusion

Curry Fish Head

Curry Fish Head

 
Heard much from my friend about this restaurant and decided to try one afternoon. After checking out their menu for a very long time, I finally decided on a curry fish head.

The curry head cost only $25++ and they serve a whole head, good for 2 people, and unlike cheap zi char stalls who give half head. The manager is also kind enough to make the curry less spicy for us.
The fish is fresh enough, and the huge head provides a good amount of meat, and the curry has a really strong indian taste. However, the curry is also incredibly oily; a thick layer of red oil lies over the curry. I'm not particularly health conscience, but I got a little afraid at the oil layer.

Maybe I might think of this when I feel like having Indian cuisines, but it won't be frequent though.
 
Date of Visit: Aug 24, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $35(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

ORTU @ Dallas Restaurant & Bar Smile Aug 28, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Bars/Lounges

It's my first ORTU and I'm at Dallas Restaurant & Bar! It's no coincidence that both the restaurant and I are named "Dallas" because it's a really awesome name! And it's not all just names; this restaurant serves up some really good food too.

About 12 different dishes were served up, and I will explain why this 8 are my favourite.
Lamb Sliders

Lamb Sliders

 
The first dish to be served up is the lamb sliders. These miniature burgers looks rather simple to prepare, with just a minced lamb patty, some sauce and a few pieces of vege, but they taste quite ok
Breaded Mushrooms

Breaded Mushrooms

 
Next up is Breaded Mushroom. There are many restaurants that serve sides similar to this, but none done as well as this restaurant. The mushroom is breaded together with cheese and fried, then served with a little mayonnaise on top. It's so good that the little boy across the table finished 3!
Salt & Pepper Calamari

Salt & Pepper Calamari

 
Served together with the Breaded Mushroom is Salt & Pepper Calamari. It's quite ordinary, but I thing I noted is that it's fried quite well and not oily. But I'm not sure how the salt & pepper came about..
Alabama Pork Ribs

Alabama Pork Ribs

 
Next is Alabama Pork Ribs. I'm not familiar with Alabama cuisine, but it sure taste kind of Indian style to me. The meat slides clean off the bone and the meat is marinated such that every inch is full of flavour.
Chicken Tikka with Coriander Mint Sauce

Chicken Tikka with Coriander Mint Sauce

 
The last platter to be served up is the Chicken Tikka with Coriander Mint Sauce. Months back, I had a meal in a luxurious Indian restaurant and was served Chicken Tikka as well, and to my delight, Dallas restaurant managed to re-create that taste! The meat is well marinated and flavour is just right. Definitely one of my favourites.
Avocado Chicken Parmigiana

Avocado Chicken Parmigiana

 
Moving on to the first main course with a full stomach, is Avocado Chicken Parmigiana. Forget the fancy name, it's basically chicken cutlet baked with tomato pasta sauce and a thick layer of cheese. It's the first time I've taste something like this, and I'm hooked! And to add on, the portion is really huge. In my opinion, this is the best value for money dish in terms of both price and taste. However, I didn't manage to taste any avocado inside, and honestly, I won't even know until I've seen the name of the dish, nonetheless, it's still a fantastic dish.
Beef & Chicken Fajitas

Beef & Chicken Fajitas

 
2nd last up is Beef & Chicken Fajitas. The fun part is where you can prepare your own popiah (for singapore style) or taco (mexican style). I'm not sure if I supposed to do this but I added a little of every sauce, and it does taste kind of weird. Something new and worth trying, but I probably won't come back for this one.
Fiery & Berri Pork Ribs

Fiery & Berri Pork Ribs

 
The last dish is kind of shocked me a little, both name and portion. The portion is quite huge because the restaurant kindly served us a full rack, and having the name "fiery" sends chills down my spine. Half of the rack is supposed to be sweet, and the other half, spicy. But both halves are equally sweet, and not spicy at all, in terms of my low chili tolerance level. Like the Alabama Pork Ribs, it is well seasoned and the meat slides clean off the rib. The only difference is probably the Fiery & Berri Pork Ribs is sweeter, and has the BBQ sauce flavour to it.

Overall, I like the ambiance of the restaurant with nice comfy cushions and excellent service. I've enjoyed most of the food served during the ORTU because it's mostly meat, and meat is my best friend. I recommend this restaurant for celebrating special occasions, and I will be back for the food again!
 
Date of Visit: Jul 28, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Cheapest Ice Kacang in town! Smile Aug 22, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Desserts and Cakes

 
I first saw a long queue in front of this dessert stall. Only 2 things will make Singaporeans queue up, either it's cheap or it's good, or both. Well, this dessert stall happen to serve pretty good desserts at low low prices.

For $1, you can get Ice Kacang, or most other ice based desserts. The ice kacang may not be that huge, but the good taste and cheap price makes it all worthwhile. The ice shavings are quite smooth, and the ingredients below the ice are so plentiful, but the only downside is the lack of sugar syrup.

This is one dessert stall you won't want to miss!
 
Date of Visit: Aug 21, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $1(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Lor Mee Smile Aug 22, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Noodles

 
Got quite tired of eating around my house, so I moved a little further out and came to Tanglin Halt food centre. I never really liked to come here because of the lack of variety of food here. In fact, not many stalls are opened in the few stalls available.

Nevertheless, I still found this stall of lor mee to my liking. Each bowl starts from $2.50, but I opted for the $3 one, and it's packed full of goodies. Inside, there is fish cake, ngoh hiang, egg, 3 layered pork, and pork cutlet, and fried wanton! It isn't the best lor mee in town, but it's good enough to keep me coming back once in a while.

Recommended to try!
 
Date of Visit: Aug 21, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Katsu Curry Udon Smile Aug 20, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Pasta | Ramen

 
Ordered this Katsu Curry Udon at Waraku today, for $15.90++. Prices have been adjusted up since the last time I was here.

What I like about this curry udon is the huge portion of udon and pork cutlet. The pork cutlet feels really solid, but since the fried pork cutlet is left soaking in the curry, the pork cutlet isn't crunchy or crispy when eating it. Maybe they should have left it on a plate or something. Another of my favourite is the curry. The curry very fragrant, and not spicy at all, so it's a good way to enjoy curry without feeling the heat.

Recommended dish to try at Waraku!
 
Date of Visit: Aug 19, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0