OpenRice Index
  
zanthrea
This is zanthrea living in Orchard. I work in Orchard. I like to hang out in Bugis, Tanjong Pagar, Orchard. French, Italian, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Bars/Lounges, Café and Desserts and Cakes, Pasta, Ramen.
Member 2 First(s)
No. of Review12 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity69 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos38 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant12 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲12 Follower(s)
zanthrea  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 12 Reviews in Singapore
Excellent Food Cosy Space Smile Jul 31, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : English | Café | Pets Friendly

Despite waiting for 15 minutes on a weekday (and for lunch, mind you), the food certainly worth the wait. We ordered creamy salmon spaghetti and spaghetti served with shredded duck meat.

The creamy salmon spaghetti was very rich, cheesy, and creamy. Well, probably not the healthiest but who cares if it tasted great? tongue
Creamy Salmon Pasta

Creamy Salmon Pasta

 
The spaghetti was served with shredded duck meat. This one was spicy but didn't overpower the overall taste of the dish. It was fragrant and the herb mixture was awesome.

 
For more food pics, follow me on Instagram @zanthrea
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Spaghetti with Duck Meat
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 24, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $25

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good food but quite pricey Smile Jul 31, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Middle Eastern/Mediterranean | European | Brunch

I love the interior of this restaurant. With wooden cart, antique barber chair, and plaster wall, they certainly add some rustic charms to the restaurant.

We ordered red snapper with prawns in creamy saffron sauce. The red snapper was perfectly cooked and the skin was crispy. The prawns on the other hand were overcooked and very difficult for me to deshelled them. I didn't like the cream sauce splashing to my white top while struggling to deshell them sad. The cream sauce was excellent though, buttery and creamy but still light....

 
The beef bourguignon wasn't that good. The red wine sauce reduction didn't taste good and the meat was still a bit tough with so much fat on the meat. Definitey not to my liking.

Overall, I find that the price was a bit pricey (around $40 for the main courses).

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  French Onion Soup,Red Snapper and Prawns in Saffron Cream
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 18, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Great Food Great Place Smile Jul 31, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Bars/Lounges | Hotel | Restaurant | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

Nestled around the vicinity of Little India, this cafe occupies the ground floor of Kam Leng Hotel. The cafe itself is quite small, but cosy, with a bar at one of the corners.

They have different menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We ordered Chicken Parmigiana Sandwich, Poached Eggs with Spinach and Potato Cakes, and the Suprette Burger. My first impression was that the portion was huge!

The Chicken Parmigiana Sandwich filling was very fulfilling and tasty. The french fries was perfectly fried and not too salty.

 
The Poached Eggs with Spinach and Potato Cakes was mediocre, nothing special about it. It was served with slices of toast and bacon streaks.

 
Again the portion for this Suprette Burger was huge. The patty was fresh and juicy, combined with the melted cheese, making it the perfect burger.

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chicken Parmigiana Sandwich,Poached Eggs on Spinach and Potato Cakes,Suprette Burger
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 26, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Creative Menu, Cosy Place Smile Jul 31, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes

When I first stepped into this cafe, I felt like I was inside a tree house. The decor dominates by the wooden features which include a tree in the middle of the room and quirky fridge on one side. The cafe is cosy and it's a great place to hang out.

One thing quite unique about this place is that they change the menu every fortnightly. So everytime you visit, you might find something different on their menu.

We ordered two dishes; beef sandwich and beef burger. The beef sandwich was actually served in burger style with chunks of beef in the middle and taco chips on the side. The beef was tough and it was quite difficult to bite. On the other hand, the beef burger was delicious. The patty was fresh and we could tell that it was hand-made. The patty was juicy and flavourful.

 

 
The highlight of the night was their pies. I tried the chocolate mousse pie with marshmellow on top of it. The pie was nice and it wasn't too sweet either. With their menu changing every two weeks, perhaps I'd go back to this little cosy cafe again...

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Beef Burger,Pie
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 05, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good Korean Fried Chicken Smile Jul 30, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Korean Fried Chicken

It was full house when we visited Chicken Up the other day. The staff was attentive and quickly told us to wait. After a while we got our table. We ordered Nyang Nyum Chicken (Sweet and Spicy Chicken), Pajeon (Vegetable Pancake), Jjangmyon (Black Bean Sauce Noodle), and not to forget their signature Watermelon Soju.

The chicken was delicious. It was crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. The sweet and spicy glaze was pretty nice too. The spiciness was mild, just the way I like it. The pancake was nice, and wasn't oily at all. The one dish I didn't like was the noodles. I find it pretty bland with no seasoning at all.

 

 
The watermelon soju was definitely the highlight of my dinner. It was cooling and refreshing without being too overpowering. They mixed the soju in a bowl of carved watermelon topped with some ice cubes.

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pajeon,Sweet and Spicy Fried Chicken,Watermelon Soju
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 06, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0