OpenRice Index
  
cherylchong
This is cherylchong .
Member 3 First(s)
No. of Review7 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity97 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos157 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant7 My Restaurant(s)
Follow292 Following
粉絲83 Follower(s)
cherylchong  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 7 Reviews in Singapore
Japanese Comfort Food Smile Dec 03, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Japanese | Fusion | Sushi/Sashimi | Omakase

 
My favourite part about this was the Maguro, the deep red colour was beautiful and it was amazingly fresh. 

 
Tasted like the usual Salmon Aburi Maki but with added crunch from the lettuce.

 
My favourite was the Shiro Maguro (pictured above). White albacore tuna is now my favourite fish to have raw. Tasted like heaven with every bite.

 
I'm a big foie gras fan so this was superb for me.

 
The Wagyu beef skewer has to be the standout. Not the best cut but decent for yakitori. Thorougly enjoyed these simple skewers. 

 
This was nothing to shout about for me. Rice had a nice wok hei but the pork did not stand out.

 
Omakase at Chotto Matte goes for $100++ onwards, pretty worth it. Nice place to chill after work with friends
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chef's Recommended Sashimi Platter,Foa Gura Unagi Maki
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 25, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $50

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Meatless Dining Smile Nov 19, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Italian | European | Japanese | Seafood | Sushi/Sashimi | Fine Dining

 
We were seated in an 8-seater private room which is free of charge upon early reservation/request. Our palate cleanser was refreshing but the huge chunks of ice cubes makes it hard to digest in one sitting so we did not finish it.

 
This is the chef's special amuse-bouche. A burst-in-your-mouth sesame soya milk sphere, which I found a little too strong in flavour for my tastebuds but my dining companians did love it. The carrot konnyaku with sea grapes (centre) was my favourite. The carrot extract inside the konnyaku actually made it look like raw/smoked salmon and the sea grapes were salty, hence perfect paired up together. The pistachio charcoal crumb was okay but the lotus root was crunchy and flavourful.

 
One of the starters is the Matsutake Cake and its a steamed Japanese mushroom cake with rosemary gelee, golden enoki, vanilla creme and pistachio crumbs. I love the texture but the dish needs more flavour.

 
Another is the mushroom gratin - button mushroom gratin served with Tenesse heirloom potato puree and Belgian endive, focaccia. This was a better choice of a starter because the mushrooms were so tasty paired up with the stringy mozarella. My favourite part however, was the potato puree. Had a taste akin to pumpkin and sweet potato, which I love!

 

 
This is the cubes of duo watermelon, red and yellow - feta, mint gelee, pomegranate, balsamic reduction. I would say its an aquired taste but I liked it!

 
The spring vegetable terrine was just delicious. So flavourful with the aubergines, carrots, mushrooms, peppers in it!

 
This is the snow peat and napa cabbage consomme - refreshing.

 
This is my favourite amongst the entrees. Trio of spheres. Especially loved the centrepiece - fresh wild mushroom with truffle oil and onion in puff pastry. Love the strong truffle taste.

 
Wild rice had an interesting texture which I actually really enjoyed. A heartier option

 
This is the baby garden root vegetables. Being a big big  fan of beetroot, the golden baby beetroot inside here was just a big treat and I loved every crunch and bite of this dish.

In conclusion, I don't think I can ever be vegan/vegetarian. I would choose meat over this any day. However, this meal was surprisingly tasty and the ambience was so nice and perfect that I will definitely come back with my friends. Excellent service staff too.
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 18, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $40

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Affordable Korean Tapas Smile Nov 07, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion

Really love how cozy this place is - tucked away between shop houses at Serangoon Gardens. Ambience is lovely too. 

Great concept done too. First Korean tapas bar in Singapore
Yuzu dressing was heavenly

Yuzu dressing was heavenly

 
I fell in love with this salad because of the yuzu dressing. Really complements the bbq pork belly which was great on its own. My partner despises salads but he really enjoyed this, surprisingly. So, I am not lying when I say that this is DELICIOUS!

 
The beef jowl (or cheeks) were a tad bit disappointing. Garlic was too overpowering and the beef was slightly overcooked and chewy.

 
Spicy Chicken with Ricotta

Spicy Chicken with Ricotta

 
The chicken was really good and the combination of it with tempura chili and ricotta cheese was spot on
Addictive goodness

Addictive goodness

 
A healthier version of the classic chocolate lava cake, this is a delicious and healthier alternative as they use a 10 grain wheat mixture for the cake.

A great hangout with friends or family.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Misugaru Lava Cake,Pork Belly Salad,Dak Kangjang
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 06, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Other)

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sweet Treats OK Nov 05, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Pasta | Seafood

We came here for desserts after a pretty disappointing Bimbimpap lunch at Paik's. I've always loved the interior here and it seemed like they had a lot more staff than they did before so service was a lot better and efficient.

 
Love the London bistro vibes and the bright colours here. 

 
I tried the Raspberry and Chocolate Rippled Pavlova ($11.50). The Pavlova itself was way too sweet. Probably the sweetest one that I have ever tried. Thank god for the tangy sourness from the raspberry and the tartness of the generous blob of cream cheese. 

I have always been a fan of honeycomb and I was happy that there were some drizzled on top. Overall, the sweetness of the pavlova was still too sweet. The plating was visually beautiful, nonetheless. 

 
The Epic Brownie ($11.50) is a chocolate lover's dream. So rich in chocolate that you might feel that it has more of a chocolate truffle texture than a brownie. The added chocolate fudge may be a little too much but the brownie itself was a sinful goodness.

However, we felt that the popcorn added was unnecessary as it might have already passed its expiration date and it is also not flavoured so it added ZERO value to this dish. 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 05, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Unique Soft-Serve Smile Oct 27, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Ice Cream and Gelato

Storefront

Storefront

 
Colourful cones imported from Korea

Colourful cones imported from Korea

 

 
Their soft serve ice creams are pretty sweet so remember to have a bottle of water handy. The Honeycomb ($5.90) was delicious but again, a tad too sweet for my preference.

 
The Organic Cotton Candy ($5.50) was pretty good as the cotton candy itself is salted to balance out the sweetness.

 

 
The rest of the flavours were not bad either and I especially loved the Organic Mixed Grains ($5.50) which was refreshingly delicious. Yum!

Is Honey Creme overrated? Not really. It's worth a try. However, it does not have the addictive taste like Llao Llao. Not for people who do not have a sweet tooth. You've been warned!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Honey Comb Soft Serve
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 23, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $7(Other)

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0