OpenRice Index
  
jankliciouz
This is jankliciouz .
Member 17 First(s)
No. of Review61 Review(s)
編輯推介數目6 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity169 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos787 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant60 My Restaurant(s)
Follow16 Following
粉絲81 Follower(s)
jankliciouz  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 61 Reviews in Singapore
Mad for Garlic Restaurant: Review Smile Jun 07, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Pasta | Steaks and Grills

Recently, I swung by Mad for Garlic with the besties for dinner. I've always heard about this place, so I was pretty happy about checking it out. I went to the one at Clarke Quay, but there's another branch at Suntec as well.

 
Area:

Clarke Quay

Country:

Singapore

Price:

$$

Good For:

Groups / Solos / Friends / Family

Accessibility:

Average

(Takes about 10 - 12 minutes walk from Clarke Quay MRT Station)

Here's the ticker right outside their restaurant, showing the number of Garlic Snowing Pizzas served. The number is still increasing!

 
Some information about Mad for Garlic:

Mad for Garlic is Korea’s first garlic-themed Italian restaurant. The unique concept made its debut in 2001 through Mad for Garlic’s first restaurant in Apgujeong-dong, an affluent entertainment and residential district in southern Seoul.

With its unique and innovative menu with garlic-specialized Italian cuisine and an excellent selection of wines, Mad for Garlic soon became one of Korea's most popular restaurant chains. Rather than having a central kitchen system, at Mad for Garlic, the entire cooking process starts with raw materials in the kitchen of each branch to bring fresh food to the table.

In 2013, Mad for Garlic was voted by Korea Times and Korea Herald as the Best Performing Italian Restaurant concept in Korea.It was a well-lit restaurant though its design bathed in black. I also like how the area is really wide and there is good space between tables, ample 'private' space, good enough to feel really comfortable.

 
Lots of garlic strewn around, just to make a point.

 
Garlic Snowing Pizza ($22.50)

 
Yes! I tried their signature pizza, a sweet type of pizza topped with shrimps, pineapple dice and cheese. Also, of course, not forgetting... the garlic flakes! Surprisingly, it was so garlicky but in an absolutely good way. I really enjoyed this dish!

 
A slice of goodness.

 
Lobster Cream Pasta ($23.50)

This is another signature dish from them, and you'll find no garlic slices here. Why? Because the garlic has been infused in the cream!

 
While this is yummy, but I don't find it very interesting as I didn't really taste too much garlic in the pasta. A tasty eat, no doubt.

Banana Chocolate Pizza ($12.90)

My friends were really hesitant to try this dessert. How does banana, chocolate, icecream and garlic sound to you?

 
I was glad I forced them to order it. It was really good and they turned out liking this dish too!

 
The chocolate was thinly spread on a nice crepe, sliced bananas and garlic filled the dessert. The ingredients went really well together and the crispy, thin crepe did not disappoint too!

 
The Best bit: Garlic snowing pizza, banana chocolate pizza (dessert) and comfortable seating.

Worst bit: Dishes are all detox machines. (Haha!)

Ratings: 7 / 10

Mad for Garlic Singapore 매드 포 갈릭

Location: Clarke Quay branch - Block 3B, River Valley Rd #01-16, The Foundry 179021

Operating Hours: Sun to Thu: 11:30am to 10:00pm / Fri & Sat: 11:30am to 11:00pm

Tel: (65) 6238 1930

Website: Link
Supplementary Information:
Though I went to the one at Clarke Quay, which has closed down, I still really enjoy the food from this Korean born restaurant!
 
Date of Visit: Apr 02, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Alfero Artisan Gelato Review Smile Jun 07, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Ice Cream and Gelato


Hosted in the cozy setting in Marina Square, a couple of bloggers chilled out to lovely gelatos on a lovely Sunday in April, at Alfero Gelato.

About Alfero Gelato:

Alfero Artisan Gelato is prepared with a mixture of high quality ingredients – milk, cream, sugar, eggs, fruits, chocolate, nuts, etc. with a high nutritional value. Italian gelato contains less fat than ice cream, has less incorporated air and is served at a higher temperature (-11 degree Celsius). Our gelato provides a greater flavour experience because there is less fat that coats the tongue, more flavour per spoonful (due to less air), and the taste buds are more alive since the temperature is not so cold as to numb the sensitivity. The lower fat content also means fewer calories to burn.

Alfero Gelato is one of the 16 finalists in the Gelato World Tour's best gelato flavour competition, and that explains my excitement to try it!

Here's a photo from Alfero Gelato, showing the man behind the gelato brand - Marco Alfero - and his gelato entry for the competition (right).

 
(Photo credits to Alfero Gelato)

A side note: Many hotels and Italian restaurants place orders for his gelatos as they like its quality and texture!

 
Why are the tubs all closed? There's a special reason.

The gelato tubs are kept closed to minimise their contact with air, light and the inconsistent temperatures. This helps to retain the quality of the gelatos.

 
I started off with some hot chocolate. It's really smooth and not even that sweet. It's totally my style of how a good hot chocolate should be. When I tasted this, I knew that the chocolate gelato here was not going to disappoint.

 
For the young ones - he's also done up a pure Milk Gelato flavour to suit the taste buds of children. It's really flavoured with milk, but it was too light for my tastebuds and I would still stick with the other flavoured gelatos.

However, the brownie totally didn't make the mark for me, so I will focus on the gelatos instead.

 
He is also very experimental with his products, and to appeal to the local market with the help of a staff, he came up with...

Chendol Waffles paired with Chendol Merdeka Gelato! This gelato flavour was also the one which got him into the top 16 in the Best Gelato Flavour Competition.

Combining the fragrance of coconut milk, freshly squeezed pandan juice, flavourful gula melaka, velvety red beans and smooth chendol (green starched jelly), Chendol Merdeka Gelato is created to commemorate Singapore’s 50th Birthday, which also explains why the word ‘Merdeka’ is added to the name, and the love for local food by the locals.

 
It was an interesting idea, and the gelato was really lovely! But I personally feel that the waffles should be crispier.

Here are the various gelato flavours we tried!

Tested Flavours (Not in order): Pistachio, Dark Chocolate, Yuzu, Passion Fruit, Durian, Strawberry Sorbet, Avocado, Mango, Chendol, Walnut and Bacio (Hazelnut and Chocolate)

My favourite flavours are the pistachio (although I'm not a pistachio person!), dark chocolate, yuzu, mango and avocado! Be sure to try these flavours when you drop by.

 
Looking from the photo above, were you able to spot the pistachio?

No, it's not the cup in the front row, spotting a brighter green. Their pistachio ice cream colour is a slightly dirtier green because there's absolutely no colouring used in his gelatos.

The Pistachio ice cream is hidden here! The green one in the front row is Avocado smile

 
Marco sources and imports the ingredients used in his gelatos from Italy. You can be sure that you're getting the best from your 'simple' cup of gelato, as the distinctive ingredients are from the best parts of the country.

To put it simply, for example, he'll only import from the place in Italy which spouts best pistachios! So much effort goes into a scoop, and only natural ingredients are used, that's why I love their gelato.

 
Another thing I like about their gelatos are that there's no gum added in the ice-cream, that's why it melts faster than other ice-creams.

MELTING~!

 
Finally, my points go to Alfero Gelato as they only sport 2% to 9% fat, as opposed to ice-cream, which has about 18% to 30% fat in it! I'm sure this will be a huge score point for the girls!

Girls, time to enjoy!

Alfero Artisan Gelato (Marina Square Branch)

Location: 6 Raffles Boulevard 02-226A/B Marina Square Singapore 039594

Tel: +65 6338 5828

Operation Hours: Monday to Sunday 12:00 to 22:00

Website: http://www.alferogelato.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/alferogelato
 
Date of Visit: Apr 11, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Miam Miam: New high tea set Smile Jun 07, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Japanese | Fusion

 
Miam Miam had invited some bloggers last month to attend the launch of their high tea set platter for 2. I was lucky to be one of them and we had a fun time at the tasting session!

About Miam Miam

Miam Miam is a casual Artisanal French café-restaurant that brings together a mixture of French Artisanal Cuisine & Techniques with influences derived from traditional Japanese preparation & cooking arts.
Just so you know, they have free wi-fi in the cafe! Yay!

 
The high tea set for 2, launched on 21 April, includes 3 premium savoury and 7 sweet treats, plus any 2 drinks from Miam Miam's coffee / tea menu!

Here's the solo high tea platter for 2 ($26.90).

 
As part of the 2 free drinks offered with the set, we took the Iced Matcha Latte w/ Matcha Softee ($8.80) and the Miam Miam Haze aka London Fog ($6.80).

My heart lies with the Matcha Latte. The softee was just went too well with the latte and it was a burst of green tea goodness!

 
The Miam Miam Haze

~ Earl grey tea with steamed milk and homemade vanilla syrup

 
You have more than 2 people going for high tea? No problem! They also have the High Tea Platter for 4 ($48.90), which includes 6 premium savoury and 14 sweet treats, plus any 4 drinks from their coffee/tea menu!

Just to note that their high tea set menus will be available from Mondays to Fridays from 2.30pm to 5.30pm.

We also tried the Hojicha Pancake ($13.80), the Yuzu Pancake ($12.80) and the Panna Cotta ($7.90).

Hojicha Pancake - Pancake infused with green tea flavour and topped with mochi balls, azuki and hojicha whip. I loved the hojicha whip!

 
Yuzu Pancake - Pancake topped with crunchy sesame crumbs, yuzu jelly and vanilla softee, with yuzu served by the side.

 
Panna Cotta with fresh mix berries compote!

 
Mother's day is also coming up this Sunday, and they have a promotion which is from 8 to 10 May 2015, from 2.30pm to 5.30pm!

Here's how you can participate - Bring your mum to Miam Miam from 8 to 10 May 2015, take a wefie with her, post on Miam Miam's Facebook and enjoy 30% off a High Tea Platter for 2!

Starting this Friday, so GO-GO! It's really simple to enjoy a lovely Mother's day with her, so remember to do that!

Miam Miam (Bugis Junction Branch)

Location: Bugis Junction, 200 Victoria Street, #02-14 Singapore 188021

Tel: +65-6837 0301

Website: http://miam.sg/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/miam.sg
 
Date of Visit: Apr 17, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Bakery


Today, I decided to have the swiss rolls from the famous Rich & Good Cake Shop (裕佳西饼店)! Despite the sold-out all-time favourite (Kaya) flavour, people still joined the long queue.

 
I bought 3 flavours - Mandarin Orange, Durian and Coffee. Each costed $8.

 
One long roll can be cut into 6 thick pieces, just nice for sharing with friends or family!

 
Mandarin Orange Flavour - The mandarin orange flavour was apparent throughout the swiss roll, the cake was fluffy and and the cream, with the zest from the flesh of the fruit was such a lovely combination!

 
Here's a frontal shot of my favourite flavour, out of the 3 which I bought! Really love this!

 
Durian - All time favourite for durian lovers, as the durian taste was strong and aromatic, but yet went well with the cream. Real bits of the durian also upped its overall value!

 
Coffee flavour - hints of coffee filled the roll, but would taste nicer if it were to be slightly stronger.

 
Overall, I did like the 3 flavours, but the mandarin orange flavour really worked the best for me! I loved its fragrance and the fluffiness of the cake. Definitely one of the best swiss rolls in Singapore, and I will be back to try the kaya (and buy another one of the Mandarin Orange Flavoured swiss roll!)

Rich & Good Cake Shop (裕佳西饼店)

Address: 24 Kandahar Street, Singapore 198887

Phone: 6294 3324
 
Date of Visit: Apr 30, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Ice-cream Shack: Dessert Review Smile Jun 07, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Ice Cream and Gelato


Hanging around Bukit Merah recently, I visited the Ice Cream Shack with some fellow food blogger friends, Hannah, Hazel and Eileen.

 
Area:

Bukit Merah (Redhill) / Tiong Bahru

Country:

Singapore

Price:

$

Good For:

Groups / Solos / Friends / Family / Takeaway

Accessibility:

Fastest route: Approx. 11 minutes walk from Redhill MRT Station (EW18)The surroundings were really pretty, as the shop was designed based on the Brighton Beach houses.

 
Really colourful and lovely, it is bound to brighten up your day.

 
Here are the pricings! Quite reasonable~

 
They also have a special 10% discount promotion for secondary school students, available from 2.30pm to 6.30pm on weekdays!

 
You can taste the gelato ice-cream flavours before you decide to buy it. Which was what I did before choosing my 2 flavours to go with my waffles.

 
Earl Grey Lavender

 
Mango

 
Chai

 
Lychee Rose

 
Ice-cream with Belgium waffles

I like that the belgium waffles were airy and really crispy. I realised how some people do not like it like that though. But to me, it's a light dessert which I can order to pair off my meal (probably after eating at the hawker centre nearby! Some maple syrup is also given on the side, but doesn't do much difference to the taste though.

In the process of making the waffles...

 
We paired the waffles with a scoop each of the premium D24 durian flavour and the Lychee Rose. Eat the Lychee Rose before the D24 flavour as it has a really strong durian flavour, which would diminish the taste of the Lychee Rose if you were to eat it after the durian one.

 
I loved both flavours though.

They also have other interesting flavours like pistachio, marmite cheese. I liked their salted caramel as well and earl grey lavender!

We also had the dark chocolate and mango flavour on a cone.

 
Mango was so-so and the dark chocolate tasted more appealing. But if I could choose again, I would rather go with the pistachio flavour and earl grey lavender, though - more unique!Best bit: The pretty environment and super friendly service. Plus the D24 ice cream. smile

Worse bit: None.

Ice Cream Shack

Location: Blk 163 Bukit Merah Central, #02-3605, Singapore 150163

Opening Hours: 11.30am - 10pm
 
Date of Visit: May 22, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0