OpenRice Index
  
jankliciouz
This is jankliciouz .
Member 17 First(s)
No. of Review61 Review(s)
編輯推介數目6 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity169 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos787 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant60 My Restaurant(s)
Follow16 Following
粉絲81 Follower(s)
jankliciouz  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 61 Reviews in Singapore
The Rösti Farm: Review Smile Jun 07, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

Opened on 2 April 2015, The Rosti Farm opens its doors at the Capitol Piazza! Part of the Once Upon a milkshake team, you can enjoy a rosti and have a wonderful milkshake at the same time!

 
Area:

City Hall

Country:

Singapore

Price:

$$

Good For:

Small Groups / Solos / Friends / Family / Takeaway

Accessibility:

Approx 5 minutes from City Hall MRT StationOnce upon a Milkshake + The Rosti Farm...

 
The simple, Rosti Farm menu, focused on Rosti, of course.

 
Once upon a Milkshake + The Rosti Farm... + Teuscher Chocolates! All under the same 'roof'.

 
Curly Fries with Nacho Cheese ($5 ala carte, $3 if you order a rosti with it)

 
Crispy! It was a delight having it with the nacho cheese, though it didn't wow.

 
The Happy Weekender (Single Rosti: $20, Double Rosti: $23) - Cheddar cheese, german bratwurst (150g, pork) infused with real beer, sauteed mushroom, grilled pineapple, over easy egg

 
It looks as good as it tastes and I love the light sour cream placed on the side. Lovely! But I thought the outer layer for the rosti could have been slightly crispier.

 
The Hardworking Farmer (Single Rosti: $18, Double Rosti: $21) - Swiss cheese, oven-roasted chicken breast (sliced) with creamy sauce, snail sausage (pork), sauteed mushroom, mini omelette.

 
The best bit: The rosti itself

The worst bit: None

The Rösti Farm

Location: Capitol Piazza (NEUE section) 13 Stamford Road #02-31, Singapore 178905

Operation hours: 12pm - 8pm daily
 
Date of Visit: Apr 30, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Restaurant | Brunch

And so, we gathered at Procacci in Customs House on a Saturday morning for a food tasting session. smile

 
Originating from Florence, Italy, PROCACCI Singapore at Customs House offers tranquility and a stunning view over-looking the Marina Bay Skyline. Italian fine-dining cuisine is brought to higher standards with luscious food paired with an extensive selection of premium wines.
On a side note, there are only 3 procacci branches in the world, and one of them is in Singapore! Each branch differ slightly, and for the Singapore branch, it's the first procacci branch outside Europe!

 

 
Posh and elegant interior, very comfortable for dining.

 
You can choose to sit outside as well, for a lovely Marina Bay view!

 

 

 

 
Uova Strapazatta con Funghi ($20)

 
Made up of scambled eggs, saute mushrooms, rustica toast and broccoli. I found this dish to be on the average, though I did like the simple idea of mushrooms and eggs.

Fritattate al Tartufo ($22)

 
One of my favourite dishes of the day! The smooth egg frittata went so well with the white truffle cream! Super yummy! This dish was well-received and we all whacked it as soon as we finished snapping. Teehee!

Pollo Grigliato ($20)

 
I loved the super crispy bacon, eggs and grilled chicken breast. Though I'm not really a ciabatta toast lover, for some reason, but overall, this is another dish that I do like!

Fumo Salmone ($20)

 
Smoked salmon, fried egg, ricotta cheese and ciabatta toast. Have I already mentioned that smoked salmon is my favourite? Lovers of ricotta cheese can try this as well. They were very generous with its servings.

Salsiccia Italiano ($26)

 
My takeaway from eating this dish: the grilled sausages very shiok! I would recommend this dish to those who loves a good sausage in the morning. Also includes rustica toast, fried egg and arrabbiata sauce. Tomato-ey, please. A pleasant eat indeed.

Procacci Delizia ($30)

 
I loved (x3) the scrambled eggs. They were cooked so well and were runny just the way I love them. They also have parma ham included in the mix to pump up the saltiness. Also consists mortadella, taleggio cheese and rustica toast. This is so big, it can be shared by 2!

Uovo Benedetto ($22)

 
We also had the all-time favourite: poached eggs and bacon! Could anything go wrong? Sorry, cannot lor, This dish also consists of caviar! How luxurious please! Plus the addition of hollandaise sauce, super lovely!

Well, let us break it down for you:

 
As you can see, the egg wasn't very flowy, so that's bad news for #eggporners. But of course, I have a soft spot for benedicts, hence this was one of my favourite dishes after all as I already mentioned, yummy!

Here's a photo of me enjoying the Prosecco wine from Antinori Wineyard owned by Procacci (Italy). Enjoy a free flow of Prosecco when you hit $35 on all brunch orders!

 
Cheers to Openrice Singapore and Procacci Singapore, who generously organised this session.

Procacci
Location: 70 Collyer Quay, #01-04 Customs House, Singapore 049323Tel: +65 6532 9939

This is an invited media tasting session.

 
 
Date of Visit: May 16, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Desserts and Cakes | Korean Fried Chicken

A new Korean Fried Chicken store has popped up again! I was nearby and I chanced upon this newly opened eatery so I decided to give it a try. Tongue-in-cheek name made me laugh - Chick and Ken - ChicKen! Lol. Now, on to the food.

 
2 Flavours Fried Chicken ($15.90)

I chose the 8 pieces version, which gives you the option to choose 2 flavours from the 3 choices (YangNyeom, Ganjang and Salted Egg). The 16 pieces version however, gives you the option to choose 4 flavours - but I wonder what's the 4th flavour gonna be when there's only 3 flavours available.

 
That aside, we went with the Ganjang and Salted Egg flavour. It was well divided in terms of chicken parts. For each flavour, they gave us 2 wings and 2 drumlets. I felt that the chicken portions were a little too small. Actually, so did my friend.

 
Anyway, I was looking forward to trying the salted egg chicken as I wondered how it would have tasted. Sinful, I'm sure! I was expecting a deep flavour of the salted egg coated chicken, but unfortunately, it was a little blander than expected.

 
Its flavours were not that rich, I'm guessing it's because of the addition of evaporated milk which somehow decreased the salted egg flavour. The chilli and curry leaves were a good addition for an additional oomph.

I was more surprised by the Ganjang Chicken - simply soy sauce, garlic and mirin.

 
I loved the overall taste for this and its flavours had captivated me more, without being overwhelming on the saltiness aspect. This is one flavour I would recommend if you visit.

Overall, the chicken meat was tender, but I felt that it had lacked the crunchiness that I usually experience with Korean fried chickens.

Artisanal Classic Injeolmi Bingsu ($12.90)

I do give this dish a thumbs-up for its presentation.

 
I feel that rice cakes taste nicer when they are softer. Unfortunately, I didn't like that the textures of the rice cakes here, which were inconsistent. Some were hard, some were softer. Also, there was only a thin layer of the powder on the small rice cakes, and the flavour didn't really appear.

 
The red beans were really nice though. I think there should be more condensed milk given. Maybe a larger syringe would do the trick nicely. Lol.

 
Overall, I did like this dish because the sweetness was well balanced (red bean paste, honeyed cornflakes were lovely) and the crunch level was addictive (crushed sliced almond flakes and cornflakes). The ice was very fine, and really very well done. The only gripe for me was the lack of taste of the peanut powder, which should be the signature taste for all Injeolmi-branded foods.

Also, I did kind of like the fried chicken here, and when I come back, I will still order the Ganjang Fried Chicken flavour.

Chick and Ken

Location: 21 Lorong Telok, Raffles Park, Singapore 049033

Website: Facebook

Ratings: 6.5 / 10

 
Email ThisBlogThis!Share to TwitterShare to Facebook

 
Date of Visit: Feb 26, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Latin American/South American | Mexican | Bars/Lounges

In Mexican, 'Hombre' is 'man' in Spanish or a slang term meaning 'dude'. 'Cantina' means 'bar'. Well. That's really the concept of Hombre Cantina, a Mexican food joint born in September 2013 along Boat Quay, which serves up some really neat drinks.

 

 
Here's a bit more about them.

Hombre Cantina is inspired by the Baja peninsula and its long stretches of remote beaches scattered with fishing villages that embrace a slower, simpler way of life and genuine ‘mi casa su casa’ hospitality. Alex developed a love for Baja and its food through multiple trips down the peninsula as a youngster.
First, we were served chips with 3 salsas, with Pineapple Chile (mild spicy), Fire-roasted tomato (medium spicy), Salsa Verde (Hot). To be honest, I don't find either one really that spicy, but I could taste the varying levels of spiciness. If you can't really take that spicy, I suggest you go for the pineapple, as it's definitely a gentler and milder dip.

 
The Pineapple Chile (in yellow)

 
The Fire-Roasted Tomato salsa (in red) and the Salsa Verde (in green)

 
You can also try the chips with these 3 Chilli sauces, it's really good and spicy! From a milder version to a spicier one, they have it all.

 
The flavour of the nachos were pretty creative and addictive because of its toppings, which is quite an interesting mix: Black beans, cheese, pico de gallo, sour cream & fresh cilantro. The chips used were the same chips they served us with the 3 salsas and I did like the chips as they did not turn soft despite our 2 hour dining session.

 
The quesadillas were really good, served in folded tortilla and grilled with hombre's burnt cheese blend, we had one with braised beef brisket filling and the other filling as Roasted Chicken Thigh. It was very well put together and a delight to have, albeit a little oily.

 

 
Burrito time! This burrito is bound to make you feel full as it is bulky with alot of stuffings in the tortilla. We tried the beef brisket filling and the roasted veggies. My vote goes to the beef brisket filling as I'm more of a meat person, plus I like how the beef brisket filling made it more juicy and satisfying.

 
Burritos are served with Mexican-style rice, black beans, romaine lettuce, pico de gallo and sour cream.

 
The tacos are served with 3 soft corn tortillas wrapped with cabbage & pico de gallo. The food here are quite flexible as you can add on your own fillings and toppings to customise your dish. I liked the Tacos but it was a little messy eating it as the juicy sauce was slapped on top of the taco. But yummy!

 

 
The Salad Bowl, which contains Romaine lettuce topped with black beans, romaine lettuce, pico de gallo and sour cream.

 
Mexican Grilled Corn served with crema, cheese and Hombre's spice blend is also one of my favourite side dishes!

 
The Chicken Chicharrones (Fried Chicken Skin) is best had with lime and their own spice blend (chilli) because it is slightly on the oilier side, Hence, the lime would really help lighten that.

 
Also, try their Fruta. I had the Passionafruit version and I loved it as they used fresh fruit for this with 50ml of tequila.

 
The beers are light and easy to drink. Just push the lemon for an extra zest.

 
I really love this drink, Tamarindo, as it's made with fresh tamarind and chilli. It was very tasty and I will definitely come back for this! This was a real thirst quencher and was really lovely if drank with salt, which they nicely placed on the rim of the glass.

 
They also serve Sparkle Donkey Tequila (distilled double) here. The alcohol level is 40%, and really really strong! I couldn't take this, only for those who can hold their liquor very well, please.

 
For a great place to have alcohol, check out Hombre Cantina. The drinks are really worth the visit.

Hombre Cantina

Location:53 Boat Quay Singapore 049842 (Boat Quay)

This is an invited media tasting session.

 
Email ThisBlogThis!Share to TwitterShare to Facebook

 
Date of Visit: Feb 07, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Beijing | Zi Char

Last week, I was invited to try out 店小二 Dian Xiao Er's Chinese New Year menu for year 2015 at the Junction 8 branch.

 
Let me share their brand story with you.

Dian Xiao Er symbolizes a pit-stop for travelers (customers) to rest and replenish their energy fully before setting off to continue their hectic journeys again. Dian Xiao Er not only provides to the travelers a place of warmth, satisfaction and happiness as they indulge in the delectable dishes, it is also a place for them to interact and build relationships with one another. Dian Xiao Er also symbolizes an element of blessing and fellowship as everyone is brought together in Dian Xiao Er.
What a lovely description for a chinese restaurant. The idea of 'reunion' is important to the Chinese folk and no matter how busy, it is important to congregate and be together during festive periods. And this Chinese New Year, it is important to pick a place where you and your family members can eat and come together in joy and fellowship. Dian Xiao Er's the place to visit.

For the first dish, we had the Prosperity Salmon Yu Sheng.

 
A dish believed to have been 'created' and made popular by 4 chefs in Singapore in the 1960s, a colourful variety of items are put together, and condiments are added over the dish by the server with auspicious words and phrases.

 
To symbolise a sweet year ahead, plum sauce is used as an important ingredient in the dish.

 
It is then mixed by everyone around the table, 'throwing' and 'tossing' the dish as high as possible, while saying auspicious phrases of what they wish to see happen for themselves in the coming year.

The adding of condiments are complete with the small, rectangular crackers poured over the dish, which symbolises 'gold' which are all 'over the floor' (lit.).

 
Why Yu Sheng?

Yu Sheng, literally means 'raw fish' in Mandarin. But as deep as the language goes, Yu Sheng also has a another meaning, which is prosperity and abundance. And that's why it is so important to have this dish during the Chinese New Year.

FYI - Norwegian raw salmon is being used for the Yu Sheng in Dian Xiao Er.

Let us toss to prosperity!

 
The result is a really really sweet and lovely 'salad' that we all swooned over!

 
Shark's Fin Broth with Crab Meat and Conpoy

Smooth, thick broth with rich, generous servings of crabmeat and conpoy (dried scallops). Environmentalists can opt to have Fishmaw to replace Shark's Fin. But do inform the restaurant earlier so that it can be prepared for your table.

 

 
Signature Herbal Roast Duck with 3 Flavours (Angelica Herb, Ten Wonders, Wild Ginseng)

Their signature roast duck is my must-have whenever I visit this restaurant. We were lucky to try all 3 sauces. Unfortunately, you will only be limited to one choice of the 3 sauce flavours for this dish.

 
The reason is simple. Because the duck needs to be marinated right. Dian Xiao Er provides fully marinated ducks in the respective sauces they have. For example, if you choose Angelica Herb Roasted Duck, not only the sauce that comes with the duck would be Angelica Herb, but the duck will also be stuffed with the herb to ensure the meat completely absorbs the essence of it. smile

The sauces are labeled from 'Mild' to 'Heavy'. However, for me, even their 'heavy' sauce isn't really that heavy. It's not overbearing to that extent where you have to stop breathing for a second to regain composure.

Angelica Herb 当归: Mild

Ten Wonders 十全: Medium

Wild Ginseng 泡参: Strong

Honestly, I liked all 3 sauces. But if I had a choice, I will go for wild ginseng as I do like a stronger taste. Not many people like Ten Wonders as it is made using 10 herbs combined. While its flavour is complex, it is definitely palatable for this dish.

 
Wild Ginseng Sauce

Sauteed Baby Lobsters with Pumpkin Sauce

 
I loved this dish. the meat of the golden baby lobsters were well cooked and easy to eat, and the sauce is heavenly too. Cooked with thick salted egg sauce sweetened with pumpkin, it is a little sweet and slightly spicy as well. Best enjoyed with rice as you'll probably enjoy the sauce so much you can just eat it with rice! A must-try!

Prosperous Braised Trotters

 
Braised for a few hours, this dish takes much effort to prepare. The long hours of braising it also results in a tender, soft meat that its flavours has penetrated thoroughly. With dried oysters, shiitake mushrooms and crunchy broccoli, this is a truly flavourful combination, and is also a dish which definitely tastes better than it looks. There's also Fa Cai (or Fat choy) in it, which is the popular black moss, literally meaning 'hair vegetable'. It is eaten as a sign of prosperity due to its name, which also be translated as 'to become rich'.

Hongkong Style Chinese Pomfret

 
The most prized grade of pomfret, Dian Xiao Er steams the entire fish with their recipe which makes it a smooth eat. Though light, the meat was delectable and tender.

 
Luxurious Abalone Treasure Pot

 
Another dish you should eat with rice. This was supposed to be served in a claypot, but for photo taking purposes, they carefully laid it out on a huge round plate. Also a braised dish, the savoury sauce is made with the restaurant's secret recipe, which will see you grinning from ear to ear. The abalones are also chewy and a joy to munch on!

D-Boiled Hashima (served cold)

Double boiled hashima! One of my favourite Chinese desserts. This light and refreshing dessert is just right to end a heavy meal. The hashima was soft and light, and the red date was crunchy. Definitely need to eat more of this for good skin!

 
Prices for Chinese New Year set menus start from $128+++ onwards, available at all outlets from 30 January to 5 March 2015.

Overall, we enjoyed the meal and had so much fun during the food tasting session. Indeed, you need good food to accompany good company and that's what Dian Xiao Er has to offer!

 
This is an invited media tasting session.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 26, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0