OpenRice Index
  
W.HO
This is W.HO .
Member 13 First(s)
No. of Review48 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity56 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos75 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant45 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲3 Follower(s)
W.HO  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 48 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Teochew | Hawker Centre

I was at the Alexandra Village Hawker Centre on a weekend and I spotted this stall the moment I entered the hawker centre from the carpark.
This stall sells both braised duck items and braised pork items. The braised duck items include duck meat and gizzard. The braised pork items include pork belly, large intestines and more. I also spotted a braised pig’s head at the store front!
I observed that most people ordered the braised duck.
I ordered my own customised set for one, which included braised duck breast meat, 1 piece of tau kwa (beancurd) and gizzard, with a bowl of rice drizzled with braised sauce. It cost me about $6.
I liked what I ate and will recommend this stall to try.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Braised Duck
 
Table Wait Time: 1 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 07, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good Local Fare at Rasa Istimewa  Smile Dec 04, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Singaporean Western | Restaurant | Seafood | Halal

I have been talking to my colleagues about this restaurant for some time.
The restaurant is located on a jetty at Woodlands Waterfront Park and has a good view of the Johor skyline from Singapore. They serve halal 'Tze-Char' dishes, which is rare to find. They have a lot of Malay customers who come for meals with their families.
At a recent conversation with my colleagues, I proposed to head here for dinner and they agreed.
Here are the items we had:
- Salted Egg Crab (Wet): $70. Sri Lankan Crabs are used and they are about 1 – 1.5kg each. We had two crabs done with salted egg yolk. The uniqueness of this dish was that the sauce was ‘wet’, i.e. watery and coated the crab pieces, so you can
- Cereal Prawn: $25: Big prawns coated with cereal. Portions are decent and more than enough for the 5 of us at the table, as some of us had double portions.
- Grouper Fried - 3 Flavours (Mango, Thai Chilli and Lemon): $26. The grouper was butterflied into 2, coated with batter and deep-fried. The fish is then served on a plate and garnished with 3 types of toppings: Mango, Thai chilli and Lemon. Each of the topping imparted different flavours when you eat with the fish and you get to enjoy 3 different flavours with 1 dish! This is also a popular dish amongst other patrons.
- Mee Goreng: $5. My group ordered plain white rice. I ordered this, as I was craving for noodles. No regrets, as it was fried well, with good wok-hei. It was spicy. Portion is good for 3 to share, if you have ordered other ala carte items.
- Curry Fish Head: $24. Served in a claypot, the gravy is thick and cooked with coconut cream. It had a similar taste to laksa, with tau pok, lady’s fingers and brinjal slices. Goes well with white rice.
- BBQ Seafood Combo (Stingray, Cuttlefish & Lala): $28. The Stingray, cuttlefish and La la were barbequed over a flat pan and laden with sambal chilli. Its spicy, but yummy!
The food here is good, and it came shortly after the food was ordered.
There were also a good number of tables filled with large families having dinner there.
The restaurant is located in the middle of a pier, with a great view of the Johor right out the window. After your meal, you can enjoy a nice walk on the jetty or bring the kids to the large children's playground nearby.
A word of caution for drivers: Do put car park coupons for the duration of time you are spending there. The carpark attendants do come regularly to check!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  BBQ Seafood Combo (Stingray,Cuttlefish & Lala),Mee Goreng,Cereal Prawn,Grouper Fried - 3 Flavours (Mango,Thai Chilli and Lemon),Salted Egg Crab (Wet)
 
Table Wait Time: 1 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 01, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good Min Chang Kueh Smile Dec 04, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Hawker Centre

I was at Ghim Moh looking for breakfast and decided to get breakfast for my colleagues in office.
I bought two boxes of the following:
- Peanut: The pancake is slightly thick and the peanut filling falls out of the pancake when you lift it up. The peanut filling has peanuts, sesame seeds and sugar. Not bad.
- Coconut: The same pancake mentioned earlier and orange coconut shavings. The coconut shavings is cooked with red jaggery sugar, which the coconut filling its orange color. I liked this more than the peanut offering from this stall. Try it!
They have stalls at hawker centres across Singapore, including Toa Payoh, so you need not travel all the way to Ghim Moh to try.
After I passed the pancake to my colleagues, they commented that they like what they ate. So no complaints from them!
Recommended!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Peanut Pancake,Coconut Pancake
 
Takeaway Wait Time: 1 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 04, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

A Good Find at Rochester Mall! Smile Nov 28, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Restaurant | Desserts and Cakes | Steaks and Grills | Salads

There is a new restaurant at The Rochester Mall that opened recently.
I came by this restaurant recently with colleagues to try out their food.
Here are the highlights:
- Seafood Bisque: $12. The bisque came with Prawn, Mussels and Toasted Crostini. The bisque is not thick and creamy. Nice.
- Mushroom Soup with Crème Fraiche and garlic croutons: $10. Not bad.
- Seared Sea Scallops with celeraic puree, sauteed spinach & soft boiled quail eggs: $22. We loved it. The scallops were nicely seared and juicy. The quail eggs'runny yolks were a nice touch. Try it!
- Lobster Risotto with watercress and sundried tomato: $28. I found this similar in taste to the seafood bisque. It's tasty and you get half a lobster.
- Slow cooked chicken leg with potatoes and vegetable ragout: $18. My favorite main course. The chicken was cooked Sous-vide, then roasted in the oven to give a nice even browning. Juicy and tasty. The portion was substantial and filling.
- Kurobuta Pork Chop: $30. Simply grilled and served with roasted potatoes & sauteed brussel sprouts. The piece came with the bone on. Quite substantial piece of meat and tasty on its own, as this dish did not come with any sauce. As you eat your way to the rib, you will see the fatty bits, and that was the most succulent part of the meat! I especially loved the fried sage leaves that accompanied the dish. It was delicious.
- Roasted Potatoes: $6. Loved this. It was our favorite amongst the side dishes that we ordered. The potatoes are cut into cubes about 1cm wide and roasted. Tasty and nice!
- Mashed Potatoes: $6. The mash potatoes were nice and smooth. Personally, I would have liked it to have more butter. When I commented to the staff, they said its possible to request for it next time. Good service!
- Tiramisu: $12. This was served in a glass cup and you can see the compnents of the Tiramisu through the sides of the glass. You get to enjoy the cocoa powder, cream and sponge fingers as you dig into the glass. Nice!
- Chocolate Lava Cake with berry compote and whipped cream: $12. The molten chocolate flowed out of the lava cake once it was cut. The restaurant doesn’t serve with ice cream like most other restuarants. You can scoop the berry compote and eat together with the chocolate cake for added flavour.
- Duo Panna Cotta with honey lemon sauce and pistachio: $9. Interesting where there are two flavours combined in the panna cotta – white cream-based flavour and dark brown cocoa flavour. Together with the honey lemon sauce, it was nice.
- Classic Lemon Tart: $9. The presentation was great. You get a nice wedge of lemon tart. The cream on the top is piped like a Christmas tree and flambe. Taste-wise, it was tart and lemon lovers will love this.
The quality of the food here is good and I enjoyed my meal.
The restaurant’s location at Rochester Mall is in close proximity to Holland Village, offering a tranquil environment to dine in without the hassle of car park issues.
Recommended!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Classic Lemon Tart,Tiramisu,Roasted Potatoes,Kurobuta Pork Chop,Slow cooked chicken leg with potatoes and vegetable ragout,Lobster Risotto with watercress and sundried tomato,Seared Sea Scallops with celeraic puree,sauteed spinach & soft boiled quail eggs,Seafood Bisque
 
Table Wait Time: 1 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 27, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Hawker Centre | Noodles

I was at Alexandra Village Hawker Centre one morning and was looking for breakfast.
Most of the stalls were closed, it being 10am.
I chanced upon this stall and it had won an award for minced pork noodles. There was also a magazine article on the stall, titled ‘Not your usual Noodles’. I decided to give it a try.
There was a small pot of stewed sliced mushrooms percolating over a charcoal fire, where the assistant takes your order.
I ordered Mee Pok dry, $3 portion.
It came with fishball, pork ball, minced pork, fishcake, 2 leaves of lettuce and topped with the stewed sliced mushrooms. I spotted a container of crispy pork lard and asked for some. The stal assistant gladly added into my bowl.
The noodles were al dente and delicious. The ingredients were also good portioned, and I had not just noodles, but some of the fore-mentioned ingredient in each mouthful.
The serving size for my order was filling.
No regrets trying this stall and I will be back again.
Try it!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mee Pok Dry Noodles
 
Table Wait Time: 1 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 28, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0